GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

The sequel to the best-selling first-person action game of all time, Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. The newest installment in the groundbreaking Call of Duty® series, Modern Warfare 2 features for the first time in video games, the musical soundtrack of legendary Academy Award®, Golden Globe® Award, Grammy® Award and Tony winning composer Hans Zimmer. The title picks up immediately following the historic events of Call of Duty® 4: Modern Warfare®, the blockbuster title that earned worldwide critical acclaim, including 14 million copies sold worldwide; "Most Played Online Video Game" in history, 2009 Guinness World Records; more than 50 Game of the Year awards, including the Console Game of the Year and Overall Game of the Year, 2007, from the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences®
Average Customer Rating:
8.743
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (823 reviews)
10 stars
389
9 stars
144
8 stars
73
7 stars
28
6 stars
16
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
18
623 out of 71587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
Sam99
Location: Rochester, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has so many cool guns, levels, Maps and the Graphics are amazing. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes Call of Duty.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
not bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
jjay
Location: Buffalo, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
not a bad game. campaign isn't that great but online is lots of fun. i love capture the flag team death matches are fun too
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
The Arcade Shooter for Many
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/14
dnlcod3
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not often do you see a primarily multiplayer shooter with an obvious amount of extra work implemented into it. The singleplayer is average at best, with set pieces that fail to entertain, an idiotic storyline, but it is generally fun. A co-op mode against the AI is welcome. It is short, but each mission offers some challenge and new gameplay experience; this allows the co-op to stay fresh without overstaying its welcome. The multiplayer holds the heart of the game, contain a variety of weapons, gadgets, modes, set-ups, customization; point being that it is an extensive multiplayer with a variety of content. The mechanics are well implemented, however this game has flaws. It has terrible client-to-client synchronization, and sub-par graphics for a AAA of 2009. This game would be an 8/10, except the game has the problem of being abhorrently unbalanced; which, for a mainly multiplayer game, is unacceptable.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
my favorite shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/14
Fatymcdonalds123
Location: enfield, CT
This game is perfect for: party gamers
it is my favorite shooter to date and I love it. if you and your friends are looking for some fun then this game is a must buy and I must say you will have a lot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
One of the Best Call of Duty's Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
CoolerOnline
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was extremely well made, especially for how old it is in comparison to several games. much less hacking than on CoD 4: Modern Warfare and much more fun than Modern warfare 3. This was my first Call of duty other than Call of Duty 3 on PS2 and it still is one of my favorite games. Something just feels right when you play this game and the classes are balanced well. One thing i miss on new CoDs is not getting to have a shotgun as a secondary or having to use a perk to do so. All in all, this is a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Best Shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
Bluewitch
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
IMO this is the best of the COD games and one of the best shooters ever - great gameplay, beautiful graphics, and a great online server that still is active. I've spent hours online playing against others and it never gets old.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
My favorite COD game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
JakRatchetarethebest98
Location: San Diego,Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played all of them since COD 3 and it's the best to me. Really fun. I love infinity ward! They make good COD games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
its pretty good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/13
jesseschmidt
Location: wrightstown, WI
well... since it isn't new it doesn't have the same things as the newer ones. I got this after I got black ops 2 and ghosts, there isn't any bots, and there are hackers online and you cant report them, I played team deathmatch and a guy won with one kill and got over 10000 points
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
The game is the best game ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
jrkid88
Location: Ocoee,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well it is a good game because it has a lot of action in it. Also because it has good graphics and gooda good story line.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
dont believe it!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/13
THEONLY1
Location: keansburg,nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
best call of duty game of all time just picked it up yesterday was amazed that it still was online and the amount of people that were still playing it this one seems to have not lost its luster at all fun fun game and well worth the what seven dallors lol
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
BEST MW IN THE SERIES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/13
CFGNinJA1337
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I JUST LOVE THIS GAME SO MUCH ITS THE BEST!
SO FUN! SUPER GOOD GAMEPLAY, MULTIPLAYER IS SOOO EPIC SINGLE PLAYER IS EPIC but they could have made the single player a little more interesting because its like every other call of duty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
MY MOST FAVORITE CALL OF DUTY GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/13
TheGolfer1
Location: Katy, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best call of duty made! Better than Black Ops and definitely funner than MW3! I believe this game is more realistic and the others. VERY FUN! Don't even bother going to the campaign.... The online multi-player is excellent!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
GREAT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
timo2
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Infinity Ward also made a point to focus on both user feedback from the first Modern Warfare, as well as overall balance across multiplayer modes. The class system returns with a set of both new and returning weapons, perks, and the new customizable killstreaks, but despite having well over double the amount of total content this time around Modern Warfare 2 retains its strategic feel across the board. In fact, this is easily one of the most balanced multiplayer games I've ever played, as every strategy has its counter, and players at every skill level can contribute to their team in some unique way. The entire experience is extremely rewarding, and the sheer amount of content will have you coming back again and again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Parents Guide
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
ddog987
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Recommended for age of mature 14+
disturbing content, blood, language, there is a scene where you and a group of men gather round an innocent group of people, and mow them all down, women, families, its emotional for the player, blood everywhere, screaming, gunshots, be warned when playing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/13
baconeater
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved game but... NOTE SPOILER ALLERT! really shocked infinity ward would have shepherd kill ghost and roach. good thing soap killed you SHEPHARD!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
sell you black ops 2 get this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
ssjhippykiller
Location: fredericksburg,va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm out this call duty a couple years ago and I used to enjoy a lot then I saw it I thought it for black ops 1 after purchasing modern warfare 3 Black Ops one in black ops 2 I got sick of the Call of Duty series. Call of duty black ops 2 was such a horrible online experience especially now with all the patches try hard and campers and lag, I took along or break from call of duty. Then a friend of mine suggested I try Modern Warfare two again and for the price of $10 I was quick to buy it the first 10 minutes i played i noticed I was enjoying playing call duty again. it's been a long time since I actually have fun playing Call of Duty. its called the has its own engine on like modern warfare 3 and black ops series. when you die in this game you see why it's fair, it has the best killstreaks of the cod series.'best one being the all mighty tactical nuke(it ends the game and u win! Unlike mw3 disappointing moab) the only thing that I dislike about this game is there are some hackers and that not a lot of people still play online but from time to time I do get in a couple good matches and I had the best time that I had in ages on a call of duty. Infity ward is a shell now of there former selves, but this was when they where the fps kings! I wish more ppl played this one ,but kids will just go out and buy the newest even if its bad. Not to mention this ones campaign is the best of the cod series, no infinite spawning enemies, characters u like, ghosts dies! And best plot twists. Hopefully Infinity Ward brings back good cod gaming with Call of Duty ghosts but I highly doubt it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
BEST COD EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
pieflavoredpie
Location: Reno, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is my all time favorite game. granted is a bit hard to level up but thats wat makes the game last. as for hackers... they suck. ive only been in a hacked game afew times but u can just quit. guns are great. ive grown fond of the vector and the SCAR-L. but ther are many other great thins about this game id like 2 tell u but im l8 4 dinner. ps3 version is way better than xbox.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Not that bad comparing to COD4!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/13
Ny89
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is good, good looking graphics and very nice detailed first person shooter, but, I was never a fan of modern warfare until infinity ward released the first modern warfare back in 2007, then I decided to get it and started playing it for a while. And I just got bored so fast that I couldn't play it anymore. overall, the game is awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Campaign is short, but fun. Multiplayer sucks.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
SlayerOfEvil
Location: Earth, Milky Way
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I agree with all the most recent reviewers, the multiplayer has the potential to be really fun, but the hackers have ruined it. I made a few kills in the game, but was killed off easily a few times, even after unloading a clip into some people. I would like to state to hackers, that your score may be important, but if you can't play the game fair, then your score doesn't mean anything. With that said, if you were to buy this game today, it should be to play the campaign mode. It may be short, but the story is good, and the gameplay is intense.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Off line= fun... Online= Hackers!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/13
Dinosaur8
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The story is short but fun. The spec ops mode is a lot of fun when playing with a friend. The online multiplayer is completely broken... there are hackers in every (literally) I played. I keep trying to play every once in a while but its the same. The hackers have crazy things like unlimited health, one shot kills with hand guns across the map, no aiming shooting etc. I would not recommend this game unless you really enjoy spec ops.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 41 next>>