GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed 2

Discover an intriguing & fascinating new epic story of power, revenge and conspiracy set in a pivotal moment of History: the Italian Renaissance.
Average Customer Rating:
9.467
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed 2
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed 2
A good game plagued by occasionally bad controls
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
Vidi
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When the first assassin's creed came out it was a bold idea from a french developer team called Ubisoft Montreal. A few months later a pc version called the directors cut was made. A year later Assassin's Creed 2 came out yet again reached a new level in imagination. However that's not to say this game is perfect or anywhere near it. Graphically character models aren't marvelous but the detail put into the scenery is incredible. Of course it get rather redundant after awhile and eventually the scenery becomes usually as it should be. Game play wise it does it's job by making free running much easier if you use a keyboard and mouse as the mouse makes it easier to direct your movements and makes it easier to reach the buttons needed to play this game. But I wish the game always ran smoothly. This game while has good platforming it is incredibly easy I mean really easy and the only way you could fail is if you are testing out the place to see what to do or as you will find in about 60 percent of platforming sequences you run up the run wall or you jump off the ledge in the wrong direction or the game introduces a platforming mechanic necessary to finish the area. Also if your like me you hold the space bar and the right mouse key to run faster as you don't have patience and run up the wrong wall or while climbing a building jump off only because you hold down two keys and you aren't sure which one does what even if you read the guide and the biggest problem is that the game is SO REDUNDANT sure it's not a problem but it would've been cool to see more variety in gameplay rather than attack block counter and if you're not a hardcore gamer all you'll use is the sword and hidden blade and for every assassination use the gun. It's also so easy to cheat and spam smoke bombs in stealth assassinations to get an easy kill. Lastly the sound of this game. I would like to say its great but it's only mediocre. Sure the score is great but it doesn't have a lot of variety and you wont listen to it after a while. Sure it works for scenes and gets the job done but it's still redundant like the games game play. Voice acting is good and shows and the actors do perfect voice acting. If you do get this game get the deluxe edition as for only a little more you get sequence 12 and 13 dlc in one package built in. Buy it if you like new variety, want to see what the commotion is about as it's cheaper than brotherhood or liked the first one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed 2
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
JeffMcgaming
This Game Was very good. well except for one or two things. First let me start with the good. The Story moves along very quickly not to say that the game is short but it never feels like your being made to go back in do something. In AC1 you had to do this missions but if you didn't do enough of those missions they would just send you back. In this game there is nothing like that. I also like the Econimic system. In the first game i would sometimes walk to a store person and ask him "how much is this". Hoping one day you could buy in the AC series. Well now i got my wish. However their are 1 or 2 problems the controls are very bad. when ever i want to run i always, by habit, press shift. and that by itself ruins the whole control system. sometimes this would get realy annoying. Also AC1 has this problem as well their is no difficuilty setting. it wasn't such a bad thing in AC1 because it was not really difficult but it wasn't so easy i would never die. However in AC2 the only times i would die is when i kill myself on purpose or when im in the middle of a battle and leave and forget to but pause. so the game is much easier then the first where the first put a little bit of challenge. This did sadden me that i could kill people without tring but it still is satisfing to see a spear go through the enemies chest. The Graphics is always perfect AC1 was very good but AC2 is alittle better which is good because AC1 was already good to start with. So I recomend get this game as soon as possible but be sure you have internet connection which was something a little fusturating about this game as well when i went to my cousins house in another state they didn't have internet connection so i couldn't play. But still none of this changes the fact that this game is very good. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed 2
Best game I have played.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
AssassinsTombRaider
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game. i played through the story twice, and im still hooked, there are lots of side missions and the costume dye was a great idea for the game. I can only say that it is the best game i have played so far, i hope that Brotherhood is just as good, if not better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed 2
DRM not as bad as assumed...
Posted on:2/22/10
Anonymous
I feel the need to comment on the constant internet connection. Ubisoft responded to people's frustration and it's not as bad as people are making it out to be. If you lose your internet connection, it does NOT make you quit the game. It waits infinitely for the connection to re-establish, then starts you off at the last checkpoint. There are lots of checkpoints, so you'll be back where you left off soon enough. If you only lose the connection for a few seconds, it'll just pause the game. While I agree this isn't the best method, it's certainly not as bad as people are assuming.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed 2
Much Ado about nothing....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/10
CarlC
There was a lot of talk about constant internet access related to this game... You need a constant internet connection? REALLY? Hello... this is 2010... Most of us have broadband at this point... lost in all that blathering (and it was just that) was the fact that Assassins Creed Franchise offers a rich and fascinating look at history. While factually questionable at best, it's story is rich in lore and fantasy and offers a glimps into a world that we can only dream about. I had the opportunity to run this game, using NVIDIA 3d technology and was immersed in the level of detail and fun in the gameplay. As someone who is not a KID and rarely enjoys most of the mind numbing stories out there, I give this game an A+. I highly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed 2
Absolutly AMAZING!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
Matt731999
Location: Niles, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You know how people say "Hey, you should get this game." or "Hey, get that game."? Well, I'm telling you to get THIS game because it's absolutely PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!! The graphics are gorgeous and the gameplay is fantastic. If you really want a hardcore killing game, get "Assassin's Creed II".
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed 2
This game is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
Casualpcgamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has a great setting, good story, amazing music, and a perfect look back at renaissance Italy.This game a cornerstone in the assassins creed story. Fun and has alot of things to do while you arent killing gaurds or assassinating templars
 
My Product Recommendations
Fable - The Lost Chapters
9.7 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed 2
DRM - It IS as bad as they say
Posted on:3/2/10
Flagg
Let me clarify all the hype about DRM. It's this simple. If your internet drops, your game is interrupted. Period. I don't care if it's a pause, a DC, or a logout to desktop, It's invasive, stupid, and no game with this scheme will ever grace my hard drive. If you think this is going to go smooth, think again. The point is, no internnet, no play. This is being treated like an MMO without the benefits.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed 2
Wow...
Posted on:2/19/10
Anonymous
When this game came out for 360 i really wanted to buy it for PC so i figured i would wait for it to come out. I didn't mind too much for the gap in releases. Loved the first one and i herd the second is amazing, but from what I've read on kotaku, UBI has gone too far with their DRM. I don't mind companies protecting their games from pirating, but to be required to be with an internet connection 24/7 while playing a game is just messed up. To be expected to have a solid connection while playing would be like driving on a freeway and thinking you'll never have to stop for gas. I love the series but i don't think I'll buy this until it gets fixed or the price goes down to $**, this is not good...
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed 2
An overall brilliant experience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/11
Lucan07
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A great game with lots of fun things to do and new gadgets like the Smoke Bomb, Poison and Flying Machine plus hire able factions including the Thieves who can distract guards by stealing from them luring them away and they fight by your side and can free run, the Mercenaries who use heavy weapons but can't climb or free run, and the Courtesans who distract guards allowing you to slip by. Also to understand Assassins Creed:Brotherhood you will need to play this game as Brotherhood starts literally 40 seconds from where this game ends.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed 2
DRM not as bad as assumed...
Posted on:2/22/10
Anonymous
I feel I must mention - people are getting down on the requirement for a constant internet connection to play this game. While I agree that isn't the best method, some things assumed are incorrect. It does NOT kick you off if you go offline - it waits infinitely for the connection to re-establish. As for saved progress, if the connection is off for only a few seconds, it merely pauses the game. If longer, it restarts you at the last checkpoint - which are many, so you'll be back where you left off soon enough. I agree this isn't ideal, but it is definitely not as bad as people are making it out to be.
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed 2
DRM not as bad as assumed...
Posted on:2/22/10
Anonymous
I feel I must mention - people are getting down on the requirement for a constant internet connection to play this game. While I agree that isn't the best method, some things assumed are incorrect. It does NOT kick you off if you go offline - it waits infinitely for the connection to re-establish. As for saved progress, if the connection is off for only a few seconds, it merely pauses the game. If longer, it restarts you at the last checkpoint - which are many, so you'll be back where you left off soon enough. I agree this isn't ideal, but it is definitely not as bad as people are making it out to be.
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed 2
Cannot Wait!
Posted on:10/24/09
Shaboodles
I am a little disappointed that the PC version is pushed back to march but hopefully it will be worth the longer wait. The first one was a lot of fun to play, taking out herds of guards with only a sword in hand. Like others have said hopefully this one isn't as repetitive. I am excited to play as the new character and the fact that he has 2 hidden blades for double take downs. The graphics look well improved which I cannot wait to see on my pc. I have high expectations for this game and since I am going to wait for the PC version instead of getting it for 360, I hope it lives up to the hype.
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed 2
wow......just wow.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/11
tmrj
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the assassin's creed 2 is a good game with the moves you learn and the wepons. but the graphics are a little lazy. when you kill a gard you and walk through the bodys! but thats not to big thair are some other glitches but in not ganna get in to it.over all its a good game if your ganna buy it dont expect a super good looking game i mean it was made awile ago. i like the game but dont get it befor you get the first becuse thay talk about stuff and you have no clue what thay are talking about. just like batman arkam city thay talk about stuff that happen in the frist one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed 2
Just preordered
Posted on:12/7/09
Shadouoni (Mitchell Wade)
So my B-day wasn't too long ago about a month and i got a whole bunch of money so i decided to blow it off on vidgames. I had played the original assassins creed on my pc and decided that i would preorder the newone btw this is the first time i have preordered anything and so i bought CoDMW2, Assassin's Creed 2, Bioshock 2 SD, and Crysis 2. I have heard great things about AC 2 and i can't wait for it to come out on my pc also i have heard that the pc one is going to be special addition so that is another reason to get it for the pc just can't wait.
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed 2
My Favorite Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
MFCFEMF6311
Location: Macomb, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. I can say that this is my all time favorite game. The graphics are great, the story line keeps me hooked, the controls are easy to navigate and are incredibly responsive, and the replay value on this game is great. HIGHLY recommended game. There are so many hidden, fun missions and places to find. I love the background they give on the area and the history behind the characters and places as you play. It gets you more involved in the gameplay. This is a great series of games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed 2
Crazy fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
RW13
From the very beginning of the game I was hooked! Ezio is an amazing character and it's great that we got to learn his back story unlike Altair. Everything is great about this game and I highly recommend it to everyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed 2
Sorry to those with bad internet...
Posted on:3/3/10
Anonymous
DRM is only a problem if your internet is unstable. It's not invasive since it doesn't record your information, it just checks to see that you're connected. An MMO requires a monthly fee, so to say it's being treated like one is an over-reaction. They should make a better system though, it makes playing while traveling either expensive or impossible.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed 2
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/10
Prosthetics
Despite the obvious uproar about the DRM in this game, it isn't all that bad. Everyone was complaining about how you would have to suckle at Ubisoft's teet in order to play, and how you would lose your progress if the ubi servers went down, or you lost your net, but I have yet to experience any issues with it for a few reasons. 1) Its the 21st century. Seriously, if you lose your net connection constantly enough to tick you off, you should contact your ISP. You are just as dependent on your internet if you are playing the latest greatest FPS such as BC2. 2) Ubisoft has yet to deny me connection. I can see how this will be an issue later on when they decide this game isn't worth the upkeep for servers and that still gets at me, but other than that there are very few issues. The DRM is fairly simple. You start up the game, a small launcher comes up to synchronize your save games (takes 4 seconds), and then the game starts. The connection between Ubisoft and me is established during that annoying Ubisoft logo intro video, so I can jump right into my game.Despite having 3 midterms this week, I still managed to beat the game by friday and am about 1/3 of the way through my 2nd play through.The actual game now;Challenge:If you are a veteran from AC 1 and played it as much as me and can take on a good deal of troops without losing a few bars of health, the challenge in this game only exists if you have to avoid detection. This game doesn't let you completely own by counters any more, as all the counters really serve for is to create an opening. Escaping troops is actually much easier in this game with smoke bombs and the like. You can also jump in the water and basically be invincible unless there are archers.Graphics:Little has changed graphically from AC 1, the only real difference is that there is more crowds in the streets, which I suppose creates a greater sense of realism, but the overall graphics are still the same, as the game models have little difference in overall style, and the city layout is the same with new skins.Length:The game could be a bit longer, it feels the same length as AC 1. And Ubisoft's ideas to not repeat the same cycle of repetitiveness that was presented in AC 1 is lax to say the least. The game still feels repetitive, just takes a little bit longer to sense it.Storyline:Like in AC 1, the concept is cool, but the overall content in how each event contributes to the overall story is not that impressive.Controls:Same overall scheme as AC 1, but there are many things that ticked me off while playing the game. For example, you hit "Q" to select your "weapon wheel" in which you can move around your mouse to select a weapon, but the controls for it are very sensitive, and I find myself selecting my dagger instead of my sword and the like. The camera in some parts is also extremely annoying. You go from viewing Ezio from the rear like in Mass Effect to the camera panning out at a distance and viewing him at an angle....Interface:Similar complaint to the weapon wheel above. Also, you have to pause, click "Inventory" and click an item category to even see what you have in your inventory. I wish there was a button to push, such as I, to see your inventory, not having to click 3 times to even see what items you have for a category.Sound:Pretty good, but not amazing.Overall, the main thing that people have an issue with this game, the DRM, is not that bad, people always just need something to complain about. Overall, Assassin's Creed II is a nice play, but it brings little new to the table, as it is basically just AC 1 with a few new improvements, a cool new looking robe, minor customization, and some combat improvements. Bad? No. Leaving more to be desired? Yes.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tyler123
San Diego
 
Please wait while more information about Tyler123 is loaded.
Additional information about Tyler123 could not be loaded.
awesomly beast
Posted 7/6/11
this game is so epic i can't what for assassins creed revelations
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed 2
it is a great game but has a down side
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/13
swells
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i loved this game but i hate the PC downloaded version because the second i get to a part it freezes and i cant get past it and it makes me vary mad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 next>>