GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero Van Halen

Guitar Hero is back and you get to rock with the ultimate party band, Van Halen! Experience the hot licks and scissor kicks that made Van Halen the legends they are today. 25 epic Van Halen tracks, three scorching Eddie Van Halen signature solos, and 19 guest acts give fans the most comprehensive arena rock set list to date.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Review 1 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
This guitar hero ROCKS!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/09
Deven
I recommend this guitar hero to anyone who enjoys a good challenge.If you liked the metallica and aerosmith versions then you will deff like Van Halen if not more.I enjoy the song varieties and its alot of fun! I also have guitar hero 5 and I love playing that. I've honestly enjoyed Van Halen more than the others because I've always been an Eddie Van Halen fan. The other bands on this game such as jimmy eat world,weezer,and more are also very good but they should have more songs in my opinion added to the game.The songs are somewhat challenging on expert especially Eruption by Van Halen.I had a chance to play it online and its pretty fun.I'm nowhere near to being better than them hardcore guitar hero players hitting every note and not missing but it also is fun as well.Hope everyone has a Merry Christmas!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Part 2.
Posted on:10/6/09
dryan1071
Well I've played about 5 songs so far and it isn't a demo. I have the full version of Van Halen for the 360! So far after I calibrated my guitar I haven't had any problems (have the guitar from World Tour) I was really hoping that they had a system like Rock Band 2 where I didn't have to do much as far as calibrating.. but oh well so far so good after calibrating it. One thing I was confused by but haven't had a chance to research it is that unlike guitar hero 5 where you can use your avatar, there's no choice that i've seen so far to do the same for Van Halen. I really really wish, and am now hoping that they release more Van Halen songs with the Hagar era. I would love to play For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (the whole album would be great) as well as many other songs. I would love a version of Right Now even though everytime I hear that song I want a crystal pepsi. lol I am anxious to see over the next few days to weeks how many others receive their copy. I hope that i'm not the only one and find out that it was sent to me so early in error.. lol. oh well i'll enjoy it nonetheless.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Great Challenge
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/09
Hero Of Time
Got this game free with Guitar Hero 5, received it in about a month and played it continuously for a few weeks. It is one heck of a challenging game with Eddie's insane solos. Glad that they stuck with David lee Roth instead of hagar and whomever their last singer was. Great choice of the Van Halen songs, could have done without a couple of the side songs though. Graphics I think are great, they can only do so well with trying to get their actual likenesses onto the screen. But who cares what the graphics of the character looks like when you are playing the songs? My only complaint though is that it would be nice to have a guitar hero game focused on a band and only have their songs in it. They would have such a wider variety of the bands music on the disc. If you love guitar hero and want the challenge then get this game. WARNING: Playing on Expert level could make your hand fall off!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Easiest Guitar Hero Game Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
MrNinja
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great game. I have played a few of the Guitar Hero games and they are far too difficult as I progress. This is the exception to the rule. It has a bunch of great songs by Van Halen and other artists. The other artists include Queen, Foo Fighters, Tenacious D, and The Offspring. Now on to the setlist of Van Halen songs. There are 25 Van Halen songs and 3 solos on this game, Including Jump, You Really Got Me, Panama, and more. All the songs are from the '70s and '80s, but that's when rock was cool anyway! And 19 songs by other artists, so yeah, this game is awesome. Check it out!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Worst GH of all time
Posted on:12/8/09
ADC
When I bought GH:5 and saw that this was free I was all excited about it thinking cool GH:Van Halen and since GH:Metallica was friggen amazing I figured Van Halen would have to be just as good. Man, I was so wrong and so disappointed when I finally got it in the mail. Just like Obi-Wan in Star Wars said, "These aren't the droids you're looking for." well this isn't the Van Halen you were expecting.To quote one review "Of the 45 tracks included on this disc, nearly half aren't even from the title band. The supporting acts, as they're called, feel like rejects from other Guitar Hero games. What exactly do Weezer, Blink-182 and Fountains of Wayne have to do with Van Halen? Absolutely nothing. These non-Van Halen tracks are pure filler and a piss-poor way to round out a set list. "Worst yet you start off with the old geezer Van Halen of today which are a bunch of old crows like the Stones and have to work your way through the subpar career mode to get the old school Van Halen of the hair band & spandex days. It's a travesty that Activision didn't secure the appropriate rights to Van Halen and now offer up what should have remained free or DLC for maybe $** for $**.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Lukewarm Addition to the Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
Fish
Location: Kelso, WA
I'm a fan of 1980's Arena Rock. Van Halen is certainly a good band and because of this, Guitar Hero: Van Halen had me intrigued.
After a little while of playing this, I began to realize that it was a rather weak game. It adds nothing new to the Guitar Hero series, and goes as far as simplifying the overall gameplay. The whole thing just felt unnecessary.
The soundtrack was below average too. A handful of Van Halen's good songs didn't make the cut; but what was even worse was some of the choices for supporting-act songs. Some of them belong nowhere near a Van Halen soundtrack!
I wouldn't recommend this title. If you're curious for more Guitar Hero tracks, go with Rock Band: Beatles or Warriors of Rock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
A band biography lacking a few chapters
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/10
Brandon Perry
When I pop in a Band-Centric Guitar Hero game, I expect to be treated to a visual and musical time capsule full of all of the band’s definitive moments, a decent collection of their songs spanning their career, and a treasure chest of little known facts, rare memorabilia, and well, some evidence that the band itself was involved with the game. After bringing Guitar Hero: Van Halen to a close, I don’t see my criteria met. Instead, I ran through my third (fourth if I bought Smash Hits) Guitar Hero game of 2009, and after finishing it, I don’t feel like I’ve learned much about Van Halen itself.By now, anyone who hasn’t played a guitar hero game shouldn’t start with Van Halen. If you have this game, you either A) Followed up on the free voucher offer after purchasing Guitar hero 5, B) Are a Van Halen fan, estatic to see them in their own music game, or C) Proving it’s possible to play Guitar Hero all year round, since a new game is released by the time you finish the previous one. If this is your first foray into Guitar Hero, or any music game for that matter, I highly recommend picking up one from the main series in the series first. For the same price as GH: Van Halen, Guitar Hero 5 has 85 songs from a larger variety of artists, while Guitar Hero 4 (World Tour), just a year older, has 86. Since we’re dealing with a band-centric game, expect to hear a lot of Van Halen, and not much else.The same familiar formula of playing is present here, but without getting too technical, Van Halen’s game engine is the same as GH Metallica’s, making it “older” than Guitar Hero 5. This is all well and good, but it’s an odd choice on Activision’s part, because it was released after GH 5. In my opinion, this isn’t as much of a setback, because the controls feel a lot tighter under this engine compared to GH 5. The songs are note tracked pretty well. The difficulty curve steadily rises as you make your way through the set list, alternating with a venue for guest artist tracks, and a venue for Van Halen’s music. There isn’t a point where you’ll ace one song and the following song will be so far over your head you won’t know where to begin. The slider sections, characterized by transparent notes connected by a clear rope, are still pretty useless, because they are just thrown in randomly, or when you reach a very “difficult” section where the game expects you to use it, its just easier to flail on the keys.By now, most of us know what to expect with Guitar Hero, so the only factor that handicaps Van Halen is it’s presentation.I’m betting that Van Halen fans will be disappointed once they notice the game completely omits their bassist of 31 years, Michael Anthony, and their second vocalist who fronted the band for 13 years, Sammy Hagar. While Anthony’s absence can be overlooked (Metallica featured songs from all three of their Bassists, so it could have been done here too), the decision not to include any work from Hagar effectively cuts off the chance to feature any songs from their albums after their last album with original and current front man, David Lee Roth, 1984. All this cutting, trimming and removing results in a setlist that only features 25 of their songs, with 3 of Eddie’s solos. I believe the amount of material they’ve recorded from 1978 to 1998 should warrant more than 28 tracks. Tacked on are 19 songs from guest bands/artists, some who have a questionable affiliation with VH, coming to a grand total of 47 tracks.Don’t get me wrong, Van Halen’s music is decent, and fans of their legacy would quickly find a handful of their favorite tracks here. GH fan’s prayers have finally been answered with the long overdue addition of Eddie’s famed solo, Eruption. Hang ‘Em High, Panama and Jump are all easily recognizable classics, and are a blast to play. Guest tracks like Deep Purple’s Space Truckin’ and Queen’s I Want It All complement Van Halen perfectly, but oddballs like Stacy’s Mom by Fountains of Wayne seem well, out of place.Once you’ve play
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Guitar hero Van Halen was worth the price
Posted on:10/6/09
Xx Cory Gunz xX
I bought Guitar Hero 5 instead of rock band Beatles just for the simple fact that GHVH was FREE!!!!!!!! I got it in the mail yesterday and it is a solid game, nothing ground breaking but yet a good game especially if you liked Van Halen before they became Van Hagar. Runnin with the devil, panama and many other songs from 1984 and earlier albums. Its a small online community now but it is still fun single player trying to handle eddie van halen's solos. This game was worth the 4 week wait and i think any fan of the guitar hero or rock band franchise will be happy if they buy this when it is released in december.
Review 9 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Best of Both Worlds
Posted on:9/11/09
RKB
WOW I am very excited to see VanHalen allowing GiutarHero to create what I think will be one of the all time best games ever(in its genre), after all who hasnt wished that they could burn up the frets as fast as EVH himself. As far as Sammy Hagar's music not being on this game well just wait when the numbers are in I personally believe that the boys will have to do VanHalen 2 for Guitar Hero that will include the VanHalen works from when Sammy joined the band. Kudos on some great choices to the folks at activision as well as Van Halen themselves.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Interesting...
Posted on:10/5/09
dryan1071
I got my copy of guitar hero 5 a couple of days after it came out, and sent in the stuff for Van Halen. I got my copy today and nothing on it said "demo" or anything. I haven't had a chance to play it yet but it looks like the full version. I will post on it soon after I have the time so play it. I was very surprised and called my local gamestop and they told me I was the first to call them and tell them I think I got the full game.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Enjoyed the demo.......but!
Posted on:12/10/09
Anonymous
This one takes alot of cues from GH: Metallica, but that's not a bad thing. I enjoyed the demo, and would actually consider buying if it weren't for one simple fact. Call me what you will, but I will not support a Van Halen game that blatantly ignores one of it's founding members (Anthony), and has no trace of any Hagar era material. Bottom line put all differences aside, and give the fans what they deserve.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
The best!!
Posted on:10/28/09
Anonymous
If you don't have this game yet, and if you like Van Halen, your going to love it when you do. I've grown up with this band and they rock. I enjoyed all the songs that they put on this game. I've played this game more than GH5, but don't get me wrong GH5 is awsome too. In fact all GH games are awsome. It would be great if they came out with other bands like Def Leppard, Motley Crue, Poison or even Kiss.
Review 13 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Cant Wait
Posted on:8/29/09
DirtyDeeds
This game is going to be spectacular. Van Halen is my favorite band of all time. Let me repeat myself, Van Halen, NOT Van Hagar, which is why this game is going to be so great. David Lee Roth will always be the true Van Halen lead singer. And yeah, I cant wait to blast Runnin With The Devil. I will never get tired of playing this game. Im going to have to learn how to play all 4 instruments at once.
Review 14 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
BEST ONE BAND GH EVER! (BESIDES METALLICA)
Posted on:10/23/09
Zak Atak
I got the game for free with GH5 and let me tell you it's a very fun game. So fun that I've played it almost everyday since I've got it. It's fun with some great VH songs. You can't go wrong with that. Also they picked some great songs from other great bands like Queen, Weezer, the Clash, Priest, and more. I love this game and if you're a GH fan you better get this game I guarantee you'll love it!
Review 15 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
DAMN!!!!!!!
Posted on:10/6/09
Triple7Hack
i got this game today and i immediately put the game in. this game is awesome not just for guitar hero, but overall. awesome van halen songs, and great graphics. even if you dont love van halen the way i do, the guest artists are some of the best ive played. i highly recommend this game to any fan of guitar hero, van halen, video games, and anyone who just wants to have a great time. 5/5
Review 16 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
2nd Best Guitar Hero
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/13
Trevor9669
Location: sioux city
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Metallica is the best guitar hero this is next runner up its got good hits on it and though it may not have all their best songs its got a good amount of songs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
At Last!!!
Posted on:10/8/09
Danny Z
GH FINALLY GOT IT RIGHT!!! In my opinion, could there be a better guitarist than Eddie for a game based on a guitar controller?!?! Sure there are guitar greats, don't get me wrong, but VH is my all time favorite band so I am completely biased. But playing this game is like all the years of air guitar and beating on the steering wheel with my fingers has finally paid off!!!
Review 18 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Jump!
Posted on:11/5/09
happi69
I got this game with the buy one get one with guitar hero 5. Great song list 2 of the solos are Wild and hard to beat but makes you feel like eddie himself. at the beginning it has them as their present state but in the end as you play along they have them in their great 80's outfits. it's as addictive as metallica and a must have for the season.
Review 19 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Cannot wait!
Posted on:12/7/09
a first person shooter fan
I am a really big Van Halen fan. This game is going to great! It has a bunch of their good songs, such as Mean Street, Im The One, Aint Talkin Bout Love, Eruption, Runnin With The Devil, and a bunch of other of their best. It is also all from the David Lee Roth era, and he is their true lead singer. This game is gonna be great!
Review 20 for Guitar Hero Van Halen
Very Fun So FAr
Posted on:10/5/09
BOSTONGUY
I was very happy to walk out to my mailbox this morning and find my free GH:VH waiting for me. IFirst off I am very pleased to how quickly i Received mine (Less than 4 weeks) so that made me very happy. So I pop in the disc and everything seemed very GH Metallica which is good....Then i became a little mad when i saw that there was no rock star creator from the menu. So i started career on Hard and the game started....just like metallica it jumps u in to a present day concert starting with eddie jamming on a sig solo and then david and alex and the rest come on stage and kick on panama which leads to an encore of running with the devil. Both were very fun to play. And low and behold the rock star creator popped onto the menu...the biggest gripe i would have had was now gone. This game is by far nothing new for the series besides the fact that it is Van Halen...I am sooo happy they didnt put all thoise crap ballads by van hagar on here...nothing but true rock guitar shredding van halen. i would say the graphics, interface and all that are the same as metallica.....and as i have seen van halen (with david) 3 times, it is very realistic to their moions and actions on stage.i.e.-Metallica. I will give gh kudos for improving the band specific games from the aerosmith deacle...fun game no depth... Long story short...if you love old REALVH you will love this game...if ur a person who thinks vh got popular when drunk sammy took over..first of all ur an idiot and dont know what ur talking about...and second...u will not enjoy this game....i for one...love it....ill give it an 8/10 due to the fact that there is no jump in/jump out party play...but other than that...verrrryyyy good
1 2 next>>