GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition

The final and ultimate installment of the classic Sid Meier's Civilization IV series, offering the pinnacle of value at a new and lower "Complete"edition price.
Average Customer Rating:
9.625
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
Review 1 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
The best PC game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/13
AnimeFanExtreme
Location: hi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't have much PC games, but this one tops all my PC games. Writing this review right now makes me want to play it. The game sucked me in and I could not believe how addictive it is. You research technologies, build cities and buildings, explore, and the best part: declare war and fight! Each map is different, and you can choose what map type you want, you can also choose the climate, difficulty, and your civilization. I have not even played online multiplayer yet, and I'm sure it's fun. If you are going to get this game, get the Complete Edition, because you get 3 expansion packs and of course the base game for a pretty cheap price. The graphics are pretty good, and there are all kinds of units, buildings, religions, empires, and technologies. Also, the AI is awesome. They are pretty smart, some nice, or cautious. Overall, when I am deciding what PC game to play when I'm bored one day, I almost immediately think of Civilization IV.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
One of my all time favorites!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
GaminSince86
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Civilization IV is a must have for anyone into turn based strategy. Its one of the best strategy games I’ve ever played. It’s perfect for those rainy days with nothing to due, but kill time. The amount of lasting appeal is hard to describe. In fact I would go as far to say that it needs a warning label to warn people of how addictive it might be. I can’t even write a review that does it justice, because the game is just to deep to describe every detail in what is involved in building a massive civilization starting with nothing. If your not a hardcore gamer then you might want to stay away from this one, because its not for casual gamers. You need the heart and soul of a gamer to enjoy this strategy game. Ever herd the expression checkers or chess? I’d say Civilization IV caters to the chess type. You can turn the difficulty down to where anyone who can read can play, but its far more satisfying to play where it presents a challenge. I’ve actually had words with the AI before on this game to where it became personal. I know its sad, but true. Imagine spending several hours building a civilization and one of the AI guys decides he wants your whole civilization dead. All your hard work gone in just a few minutes, so yeah you can turn the difficulty up to where things can get a little emotional. Hahahaha you know it’s a good game when it has the ability to stir emotions. Just remember to build walls around your cities and keep plenty of defensive units in them at all times. You never know who might pop out of the Fog of War.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
Sucks You In
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
ctjedi52
Location: Ankeny,IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game turns the casual gamer into a hardcore PC gamer and they will be saying 'One more turn' over and over. I personally think that this game is slightly better than Civ 5. The online is not as great as I thought it was but you can repeat single player and challenge yourself offline because each map is different with different modes,difficulties, and options. Plus it comes with stuffed scenarios and other content. Overall if you are a Civ fan pick up the complete pack because you get regulars and the Beyond the Sword and Warlords expansion packs with it. If you really want Civ 5 too I would but that when its price drops or when they make the full pack. For casual gamers to hardcore PC gamers this is the game for them.
 
My Product Recommendations
Age of Empires III
10 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty + Heart of the Swarm
9 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
monsi123
vestal ny
 
Please wait while more information about monsi123 is loaded.
Additional information about monsi123 could not be loaded.
Nothing but issues
Posted 2/21/12
not worth the the money this game is bugged to the core just type in the name and crash and you get more than you need. bought this opened it and played for 3 hours then it did nothing but crash new laptop re installed more times than i can count, and did every work through possible, 12 gigs of ram,3.8grz quad core processor, 1tb hard drive its not the cpu, its this bad game don't waist your time,
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
A Must for Civ Fans!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/10
Smoogy von Smoogy
Civilization is one of those series that truly never gets old, and Civilization 4 is no exception. The concept of leading a tiny group of people and watching them become more advanced is original and well executed. You start with Stone Age warriors and a small city. Soon you build more cities, your people learn to write, mine metals in the earth, even to conquer the seas! Your cities expand with temples and barracks, and you can adopt slavery, hereditary rule, environmentalism, and many more. You meet other civilizations, some friendly, some not so much! You have peace, have war, and win by cultural might, military might, or winning the Space Race! The best part is, all these choices are yours. Peace, war, religion, and everything else is all chosen by you. The interface makes doing these things a lot easier, though it was way too hard to find quests I was doing. The graphics aren't particularly good, but for the genre as awhole, they're better than most. The A.I. is exceptional, adapting to whatever you do, though on easier difficulties, it's very easy to see their motives. The challenge is perfect, offering options for beginners, and extreme settings for advanced players. The storyline is a little weak in the main game as there is no real story, but in the scenarios and mods, the stories, for the most part, shine. The best part about the game, however, is the sound. From the intro music to the background music, it is one of the best game soundtracks ever created. The voice of Leonard Nimoy can be dark and sombre, and a bit later, happy and upbeat. This is truly one of the greatest PC games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/11
friendofnuttybuddy
Location: Boise, ID
The amount that is in this game is to much to talk about. You can play it for years and still learn something new each time you play it. JUST BUY IT!!! DON"T EVEN THINK ABOUT GETTING A DIFFERENT PC GAME, THERE IS NOTHING BETTER THAN THIS GAME FOR THE PC!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
Loved it since I played the demo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/09
Desrath
I cannot rave enough about this game. If you like turn-based strategy at all, or even if you don't, you owe it to yourself to try this game out. Though I will say right now that I have not played Colonization, I have played the base game, Warlords and Beyond the Sword, and loved them all. I'll go by categories. AI. Wow. I don't think much more is needed. The AI don't just do things similar to the players, they do the same things, and usually better. The AI all take place in careful negotiating, the raising of an army, the cultivating of culture, the bettering of a city, the expanding of an empire and so on. There are I believe ten levels of difficulty for the AI, the lowest being Settler and the highest being Deity. Anything below the fourth or fifth difficulty gives the player advantages when they start the game, then on Noble difficulty they even out with no advantages, and every difficulty after the player is playing against a better privileged AI than himself. Next are the graphics. Once again I was blown away. I played Civilization 3 for a long time before I even knew Civilization 4 had come out, and when I saw the graphics for Civilization 4, I was simply awestruck. Compared to the other games in the series, Civilization 4 is beautiful, with lush environments, rolling waves, trees moving in the wind, animals walking about carelessly, warriors prepped for battle, and so on, and all of this is from a nearly godlike camera angle, looking down on your civilization. Sound. There's background music, there's environment noise, there's the sound of battle, the sound of horns honking when you zoom in on a modern city and so forth. The music first off, changes with each era you proceed, starting with simple tribal drums accompanied from time to time with rattling beads or wooden wind chimes, and eventually leading to old time rock and roll and beyond. The environment noise, as should be expected, changes depending on what your camera is near. If your camera is hovering over a forest, you may hear birds, over a jungle you may hear chimpanzees screeching or jungle cats roaring. Challenge. I'll simply mention I've never beaten the game on the Deity difficulty, I've never even come close honestly. I've barely ever beaten Noble difficulty, and spend the majority of my time on Warlord or Chieftain, two of the lowest difficulties. No matter your skill level, you'll find a difficulty you can beat, one you can't and one that challenges you just enough that sometimes you succeed in great victory or lose in honorable defeat. The interface is nice, but not all of it is explained. I've owned the game for a year or two now, and I'm still figuring out some things, but all of it is more advanced tactics. At the click of a button you can see your military power, economy, culture, research and espionage compared to your nearest rivals. And constantly on the screen you can see how your overall score stacks up against theirs. By hovering your mouse over one of your opponents' names you can see your relationship with that person, how they feel about your nation, and what deals you currently have. You sometimes may also see if they have a certain extreme relationship with another player or AI (such as a title like "Worst enemy of Tokugawa", meaning if you trade with this person, Tokugawa will become angry with you). By clicking on that AI's name, you can enter a trade screen and haggle to your heart's desire, or just give them gifts to increase your relationship. There is no storyline. The entire game is free-play. Which I think, for the kind of game it is, is PERFECTLY fine. Now to the important part, GAMEPLAY. Sure I've said all these wonderful things about the game, but what I've really said so far is "if you like this game, this is what you'll like about it". Now I'll tell you why you like this game. Here's a simplified version of the beginning of a Civilization 4 game. 4000 BC - game begins, you start out with a settler to se
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
Best game in a decade!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
worm178
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The classic Civilization IV is 10/10 alone, but the expansions top it off. This is a game you don't want to miss, even if it's outdated. If you've played this game you know how great it is. All of the features from religions to resources to governments and much more will make you keep coming back for more! This game is good for casual gaming, and hardcore gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Complete Edition
Good game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
MrSmith
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I guess this a game a lot of people want to have, and I think the game gives good value for the money.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.