GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Red Steel 2 - Game Only

Red Steel® 2 is the highly anticipated Nintendo WiiTM exclusive title that will bring players the best sword & gun fighting experience ever on console.Designed for the Wii MotionPlusTM, Red Steel 2 features unparalleled control. Players will pick up the Wii Remote and swing it freely as the sword on-screen follows their precise movement - and even measures the strength of their swing.Red Steel 2 is a first-person-action-game where players become a swordsman who finds himself in an edgy city in the middle of a desert armed with only a sword and gun.
Average Customer Rating:
8.514
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
7
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
32 out of 3786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Review 1 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Best Game Ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/14
bestgamer2014
Location: Greenville,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Your a Samurai/Gunslinger in a time of crisis when people kill your people...the Kusogari. So you want vengeance by any means necessary!!! You can free roam. And explore Caldera and Rattlesnake Canyon. So buy it. It's only 4.99+tax at GameStop
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/10
nizzlynick
if you own a wii, you need this game in your library. it is really easy in the beginning but it does get very challenging later on. the controls work perfectly with the game. it feels like you are actually wielding a samurai sword. and changing from ninja to gun is very quick and easy so the action has no pause. the wii motion plus makes it so if you swing at a 38.75456 degree angle, so does your sword. in other words, it makes the experience feel very precise and smooth. the graphics are superb for the wii's capabilities. the glossy textures fit the game nicely. i did not find the storyline to be very interesting. i just could not get in to it. the music got repetitive sometimes, but that was not a big deal because it went with the game well. this game is taking asian samurai fighting and putting that in to an old western setting. it is a weird concept, but it works just fine. this is a great game that you should definitely pick up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
The wii never looked so good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/10
Earth2292
Red Steel 2 is by far the best game on the wii personaly I think it's on of the best games ever the hit the face of the earth. You play as the last of the kusagari who has a wimpy katana and no speicial moves but evrything gets a whole lot cooler after you defeat the notorius Payn (yes I think it's cheesey to ) any way once you get the sword you can get all kinds of speicial moves including: The Cobra,The Tiger, The Dragon, and the bear it is the coolest looking game on wii with nicley polished graphics I never thought the wii could look this good it's just amazing. the game play is obviosly the greatest part of the game it actually does fallow your evry move it's so awsome tacking people out. I beat the game today and I got it yesterday not that it's such a short game I just played it for hours evry second I could. If you had this game you also woulden't be able to put the controler down, and just a heads up it will hurt your feet for standing so long!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
fun as long as your not lazy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
historygamer
Location: washington,dc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think the controls mostly make sense,the katana is beast,and the storyline isn't too cheesy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
short but amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/10
dessert warrior
I completed this game in about three days. the controls were amazing but almost the the same as the first. the story line was great but the only problem is that once you complete the story you cant go back and upgrade your weapons. other than that an o.k game. the graphics had a good blend of a comic book and other games. the sword play was the best part of the whole experience. the story line was rich but short and the replay value would be a possible 4 out of 5. my over all reveiw. 5 out of 5.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bestgamer2014
Greenville,NC
 
Please wait while more information about bestgamer2014 is loaded.
Additional information about bestgamer2014 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Easy Controls?
Posted 11/2/14
Is there complicating or easy controls?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
What to hope for...
Posted on:2/4/10
ttd rox
Though, the first Red Steel had some glitchy parts, last-gen graphics, and not top of the line controls, it was also one of the first games ever for Wii not to mention the first FPS for the system. With many years ahead of the first one, there should be huge improvements in all those areas, especially with the Wii Motion Plus extension added to give more realistic sword fighting moves. Another thing I've noticed is that from beta gameplay, the sword fighting looks more freestyle than the more "limited" movement of the first one. I think the setting will make this game more crazy than the first. This game looks like it will be going from Asia/respect to Dirty West/badlands. It will also feel more action packed and a game that will make you feel "more in control". I hope for weapon improvements and swords and the game should be very awesome! Lastly, like the first game, it was decently challenging when it came to sword fighting, but not very challenging when it came to shooting. Above all, the length of the first one was very good and I hope it's just as long in the second one.
Review 7 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Very Fun But Short...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
THEMASTEROFGAMING
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a good game. Love the sword fighting; its the best part! The gun sound could be a lot better, especially on the machine gun that you can buy. Grafics could be better too; they were a little plain, not a whole lot of detail...Other than those couple flaws, its a good sword fighting game. What I want to see is Multiplayer so you can dual your friends... that would be cool!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
good but too short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
PWNER
Location: Utah
This game is good but i beat it in a day and it has no replay value. RENT THIS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
great game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
MemyselfandI
this is an AMAZING GAME!!!!!!its controls are FLAWLESS!! its graphics are good,length kinda short but with harder difficulties to keep you playing.and different ways to play. trigger happy moron? or ninja warrior? the choice is yours!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
natopatato
fairfax, VA
 
Please wait while more information about natopatato is loaded.
Additional information about natopatato could not be loaded.
epic!!!
Posted 8/28/11
this game luks so kool!!! like mixing the old west with japan!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
uhm wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/10
venedude
ok this game is absolutely amazing the controls are great the moves are great the cutscenes are great and i love almost everything about this game. the only thing that i dont like is that its too short. i beat this whole game in 5 hours. yep its that short but dont get me wrong it is very fun but you cant even go back into the story once your done with all your money to buy everything u didnt before. u can go back but its a challenge mode and u try and get the most money u can so its kindof dissapointing. i highly recommend this to everyone who owns a wii and likes to play a good game. at first i thought this game would be the best game to come to the wii but because of its lack in length i wouldnt say it is but still get it or rent it i do reccomend renting it if u just want to beat it cuz it only takes a day to beat unless u want to spend your money of course.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
a perfect game i give it a 10/10 and 5 stars!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
david55564
Location: massachusetts, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i first played it i was thinking "this game couln't get better!" then after a couple missions it got even more better! then when i didn't have enough money to get my sword upgraded i was even more exited when i was abule to go back and clear out the whole level for money!!! and the levels were sooooo awsome i loved the one where every "badass in town" was going to come and try and kill you when you were in that forgotten town. and it was also awsome to be abule to have huge sword & gun kills. and at the end i was shocked! and i cant wait to get part 3! very good game its the best game i ever played or ever will! its like the best game in the world!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Way better than the first
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/10
Zombie Monkey
Red Steel was a very fun game that ALMOST hit the mark but had some inherent problems with the controls, some bugs and the overall design of the game. Red Steel 2 takes these flaws, fixes them and manages to improve on all of the good stuff as well. The net result is the game that Red Steel 1 SHOULD have been. Oh well, better late than never! RS2 is a joy to play. I don’t know of the motion control is 1:1 as they say it is, but it seems like it to me. I don’t know how that should be measured, but the game sure feels as if it’s tracking my motion properly. This makes me feel like a true sword and gun slinger, the immersion factor goes way up when the game responds so well to your movements. Its’ great to see that they improved on things and made RS2 so good. This encourages me and makes me excited for Red Steel 3.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
A Game Packed full of Action
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
minihacker101
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is Very addictive and fun.People will enjoy watching you play this game,it's entertainment for every body.If you like the Idea of you fighting with a sword against impossible odds you must have this game!You will become stronger and stronger as you go and eventually you will become unbeatable.I myself has become a pro,I only play on ninja Mode Which is the Hardest Difficulty.Buy this game and enjoy the feeling of being a sword master!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Nice game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/11
TheNintendoFan
Location: Kentucky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok in general this game was very good the gameplay with the technology wii motion plus gives him a great realistic touch and I am necessary to each of the movements that you do with your sword or your weapon. To be a game of wii the graphs are really very good, good landscapes, realistic weapons, the sound is good. It seems to me that must have some multiplayer's class but good the campaign is good but to be a bit short.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Best Game in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
cheesehead1
Location: PA
This is the best game ever! It's very easy and not that violent. You mostly just swing the wii remote around in special movements. This would be a great game for somebody who wants an easy, not-so-violent game, and a good workout. There is a tiny bit of blood that pops up on the screen, but it's mostly just green liquid that comes up on the screen. I LOVE this game and would recomend it 500000%. (way past 100%)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
WAY better than the first
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/10
funny
the first redsteel game was the first wii game i have ever played and i didn't manage to beat the whole game because of my brother trading the game in GRRR but i got this game for my birthday and it is way better than i thought it was gonna be! unlike the first redsteel game, in this 1, you can pull out your sword and use different moves and combos that you learn throughout the game and you can even buy new moves and the boss battles can be way super hard if you picked the hardest diffficulty to play on like me but then i was able to master the sword and block all my opponent's moves with his sword and fight back and i also love using the sword to knock enemies (not bosses, can't) into the air and jump and slash them with the sword and when they fall down, i smash the sword right in their stomach as i fall down after they do and bam they are DEAD and the game has tons of violence and the whole game you don't have to do what you did in the first redsteel game which was sneaking behind walls and shooting when the time is right but in this game, you can just walk up to your enemies and fight each other sword to sword and i may not have beaten the game yet but i enjoy this game a ton!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
don't let the first one discourage you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/10
hobonoob911
Let me start by saying that the first Red Steel was lacking many elements. Red Steel 2 seemed to clean all of them up and make it 10x better. First of all, you get to switch between a sword and gun, allowing more fun in the gameplay. In the first one, you barely used the katana and only on special occasions. Red Steel 2 gets through the smooth gameplay with the Wii motion plus, which is a essential accessory needed in order to play this game. This game has very good graphics for Wii, although they can be sort of "comic book" like. I just got this game today and i am only a few missions into it and there is not stop action. Red Steel 2 is a must buy game for Wii, and one of my favorites. If you see it in stores and hesitate, DONT. DO NOT LET THE FIRST ONE DISCOURAGE YOU!!! GET RED STEEL 2!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Super fun but short
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
nOoBslayer7
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best wii game i have played.Makes you feel like you are in the game.It will probably take you 5 to 12 hours to beat if you are a hardcore gamer,I stayed up all night to try to beat it.Do i recommend it to a friend, of course I do.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
games452
Location: minnetonka, mn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is great i love the gameplay but the grapics arent that good but the sound makes up for it its a lot of fun i would recommend this to hardcore gamers
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Red Steel 2 - Game Only
Buy It, NOW!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/10
Red Slayer
Red steel 2 is one of the best games ever. with the use of the wii motion plus it makes the game so much more enjoyable. You can play the game not facing the sensor bar with the wii mothin plus!!! The fighting is a totally new and wonderful experince. On easy though, it is probably too easy. I beat the first boss in two minutes without the guide book. I had watched a video on the computer of the fight, and I beat him before he was able to use his coolest move. When going into a new area it does take a while. This game is NOT a sword fighting simulator, but it is the best you can get. The finishing moves are spectacular and the power-up system is very well designed. I would highly recomend the game to anyone who loves swords, guns, fighting and having a good time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>