GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition

BCFx - The Doug Williams Edition is a first-of-its-kind game that immerses players in the rich culture, history andpageantry of football game day on Historically Black College and University (HBCU) campuses. The game fusesrealistic, bone-jarring football action created using the Unreal 3.0 engine with two unique new rhythm games - the interactive Halftime Show and Drum Line Challenge. In addition, a wealth of historical data has beenintegrated in the Legacy Museum and dozens of licensed tracks performed by college football's most entertainingmarching bands are included in the game's Jukebox.
Average Customer Rating:
5.2
5.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 1030%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Review 1 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Lacking...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
AJay89
Location: Columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had such high hopes for this game, being that I attended an HBCU and also played on the football team, but this one was just lacking refinement. The graphics were not up to next gen par and the controls were very choppy. If anything, I would compare the gaming experience of BCFX to NCAA Football 04. I just believe they tried to do way too much in a single game. The halftime shows were fun and the title itself had me a little reminiscent of being on that field on game day. The only reason I will be keeping this game is purely for nostalgia.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
DaKing504
Location: Dallas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
man I really like this game its different if you like football and bands its pretty cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
help
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/11
midinght23
Location: Boston,mass
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i really was liking this game because it had all tha black school that ncaa did not,when i played it i was like got dam this game really need some help u cant even pass tha ball right and when u dont do it right the other team get tha ball.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
If You Build It They Will Come
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/10
JJAQZI
Ok, I don't know whats fitting to write by your standards, but this is about getting a second chance to make a first immpression. BCFX made a horable first impression. I mean I understand the concept, but the game as a whole just looks thrown together. When you look at the game of football and then take into account the leaps and bounds that the video gaming industry has made over the years, there is no explanation whatsoever that justify the release of this game the way it is. Look how far the industry has come; from Nintendos 10 yard fight and Techmo Bowl, to XBOX 360 and Madden and NCAA. First of all this is a FOOTBALL GAME, why is the emphasis on the BAND and the HALF TIME SHOW. Don't get me wrong, I love the band and the half time show, but this is a football game and that is where MOST of the grunt work should have been. Second, there are no football teams nor bands that come out of the grass fields before ANY game. The football teams come out of locker rooms, and the bands the bands come form the busses, line up, play while marching on their way to the stands. Third, NO team has the same playbook and NO two players are the same size. You have a decorated college and superbowl quaterback/coach endorcing this game, it should not look like or play like something my 6 year old son would play. Fourth, the gameplay. The wideouts can't catch, the O line can't block, why do they iceskate across the field. Bottom line is this, make a better game. Start from scratch, look at other games that have come before you and take what they did and make it better. Go back and look at previous companys of the PAST, NOT NOW. WATCH the gameplay; the pocket that the O line forms, the way the O line runs out to block on toss plays, the way the defensive backs jam the receivers, the different ways to disguise a defense, the exclusive plays for each team. Add all that with the bands and the half time show, you have an unmatched game for the ages. All I'm saying is if you BUILD IT THEY WILL COME
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Needs Work
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/09
Huge football fan
I really enjoy the game. It's nice to play a football game that is not made by EA. There are some good points and bad points to the game. I like how the recievers catch a long pass in stride, run blocking is nice, playbooks are nice, and the half time show is pretty fun. Now the bad. The game appears to be made as a spur of the moment game. The controls are a little delayed, difficult to switch players, no hard count, the field appears to be short (but it's not), and most of all, there is no online challenges. If you are a gamer who likes to play other people on line, steer away from this game. If you are just a huge football fan (like I am) then I recommend this game. It is fun and there are different game modes. The online part is very important, especially to current gamers, and that is what will ultimately hurt this game. I feel this game had a lot of potential to be better than what it is. I just feel that there was minimal time put in making this game with wanting to produce an average football game. It's too bad, we need another football game, that is not made by EA, to take off and have a series of it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Finally a game that the whole family can enjoy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/09
For-show
My two daughters ages 10 & 13 love the drumline challenge in this game. The Rockband drums worked and played great with the game. I am amazed that you do not have be a gamer to enjoy this game. The halftime band performances are a cinematic wonder. The Guys who ever game up this, must be commented! There is so much in this game - Junk box, Drumline challenge, football, and Halfttime Band performances. The educational component in the Virtual Museum must viewed and studied by all. As a gamer, I have never played a game that was geared to both sexes,all ages as well non gamers-just watch the Halftime in HD. For all of critics out there, if your thinking is one dimensional, this game is not for you for it is a paradigm shift in comparison to the status Q. This game is for the whole family to enjoy so you better be prepared to purchase mutiple copies to keep down the complaining. It has already started and I just purchased the game yesterday.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
The spirit is strong but the football is weak
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/09
Interesting points
I too am an HBCU grad who had high hopes for BCFX. The songs from each team took me back to when I used to sit in the stands and enjoy the band while glancing at the football game (the stands were more exciting - lol ). It is refreshing to see real stadiums that I've visited in the past and present. By far the band experience is the high light of this football game. However, the game play leaves me wanting so much more. This game cannot stand next its competition. It tries to do too much at once, football and band mini game. The animation is often choppy with no momentum (physics is lacking). Receivers run interesting routes with far too many incomplete passes, even when wide open. In all BCFX is a good first, but needs far more polish.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Worth buying only for the Haftime Show
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/09
The Sandz
As an alumnus of an HBCU, I had no choice but to purchase it. I marched in the band and majority of the songs I heard brought back some serious memories! I enjoyed the band experience on the game. By far, its the best feature on there but I like a challenge and the football experience was not up to par. No comparison to NCAA or Madden obviously, but it could have been developed much better. There were many features to the football segment that was left out that made that portion a disappointment. One issue I had with the game is its uniqueness to every school. The only thing I saw different, other than the players and uniforms, was each stadium. Thats a positive but the uniqueness to the band was not implemented. Each band is different. The song selection for each band was unique but the marching style could have been more in tune to that particular band. The graphics were not great. Looked like a Playstation 2 graphic type game. The commenatators were horrible. The band experience was the best feature to this game!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
HBCU Homecoming @ Home
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/09
KoolBrez
I found the lighting and graphic outstanding. The authentic stadiums add realism to the toal experience. The Legacy Museum is very enlightening because of the historical info and the profile it gives on the schools that are in the game. The music is off the charts. Halftime formations and sounds are like being in the stadium. I tried the Jukebox mode in my surround sound and man it was awesome. The whole family is enjoying this game. I have played the football and think the graphics and gameplay are with in the standards of other games. I like the players intensity and the schools' background music. You can actually hear "Neck" and " Cold Hearted Snake" in the background. The HBCU classics add to the realism. I recommend this game to everyone. It is truly an excellent blend of football and showmanship. I give it a 9.5 out of a 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Great Halftime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/09
JSU SONIC BOOM BAND
This game is great if you were in or is in the band.The halftime performances are great.If you have ever been to a hbcu football game ,you will feel at home.The band experience to perform along is great.The game of football is another story.I hate not being able to change my receivers routes at the line of scrimmage.The audibles are preset.The game play is a touch slower than easports.The graphics are ok.You cant make your own schedule in the franchise phase.You cant play online either.The replay system is good.You cannot challenge a play.On defense you cant place the linebackers in coverage.You cant isolate receivers on defense.The game is not bad if you are not a serious fb player.I look for the next edition of this game to get better.The game is not so bad ,its not on the level of ncaa fb by easports.Cant wait to see improvements on next edition.They get a A for effort.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ddddd
baton rouge
 
Please wait while more information about ddddd is loaded.
Additional information about ddddd could not be loaded.
human jukebox
Posted 10/4/11
i love how the stadiums are real the graphics need improvement though and the reicevers do not catch the ball both my parents went to southern so i had to get the game go su do not like grambling
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
MAAANNN, is this gonna come out or what.....
Posted on:9/29/09
BIgboy45acp
I've been waiting for this game since it was announced at Bayou Classic last year. And now its wait, wait, wait....I mean, i understand fix all the bugs and make sure its right, but i'm just about foaming at the mouth waiting. It supports the HBCU, a first, it incorporates a halftime show/ drumline challenge, again a first and an integral part of black college football, and its many years overdue. Great idea, looks good. I cant wait to roll out SU jags and take on all my GSU tiger friends. Our own Classic right here at home. COome onnnnnnn BCFX!!!
Review 12 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
FINALLY! The FCS has come back to football!
Posted on:9/27/09
Sincere
Yes! FINALLY, the FCS has come back to college football. I can't wait for this game. Go Alcorn Braves! Got love for Jackson State too.
Review 13 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Just Come out Already!!!
Posted on:9/25/09
foffury
I have been waiting on this one since the initial release date. I attended Fort Valley State, which has been featured in the videos and pictures. I am ready to play with them Wildcats and "The Blue Machine". This is a buy regardless game, if you attended a HBCU and like Football video games.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Hope we can get It
Posted on:9/24/09
KKPsi 04 IT
So "hopefully" we can get this game next week. If you were a real fan you had this on reserve since June, the first time it was supposed to drop. To be honest I still am going to buy this game because I march for 4 years in college, but I have got to admit, this company is wearing me thin. It looks like it is going to be a great combination of everything I wanna see in a game....football and drumline.
Review 15 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Just 9 days!!!
Posted on:9/20/09
RKAce 7
We are only 9 DAYS AWAY from finally getting our hands on this game. Can't wait to play as Jackson State, Grambling State, and Alcorn State and take part in the Drumline Challenge with The Sonic Boom of the South, The Grambling Maching Band, and the Sounds of Dynamite. I'm just a SWAC and HBCU guy through and through.
Review 16 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Can't wait!!!!!!
Posted on:9/6/09
D.Wise(H-Town)99"
I've been waiting for a game featuring Black College Football halftime shows for years.I marched in a show band in highschool and had an opportunity to get a full scholarship majoring in music because of it.I hope this game opens the door for more spotlight on the talent that is alot of times overlooked in many of the HBCU.Hopefully this gives a sneak peak at the overflowing entertainment and fun that is had at these games.LETS SUPPORT & ENJOY!!!!
Review 17 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Looks great!
Posted on:9/5/09
Peter Patrellii
The graphics looks cartoon like but the jukes look good. This game is going to be all about the Xperience. The halftime show mode looks great! I cant wait.
Review 18 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Solid Football? Hope so.
Posted on:9/3/09
Codzprc
Seeing as how EA has made a mockery out of the NHL with ridiculous "Extra Point" halftime presentations, that take 30secs to skip through - BCFX has a great chance of becoming my favorite football game of 2010. Beating out NCAA won't be easy, but seeing as how this isn't an EA game I look forward to seeing mechanics work. Drumline competitions sound fun but I'll probably end up watching more than playing them, love drum line! Should be a sick game, can't wait for it to come out!
Review 19 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
this game
Posted on:8/23/09
GTime
I think this game is going to be the best game for the black college world. Im just waiting for it to come out. Even though its not like NCAA 10, BCFX has something NCAA has doesn't have: the great halftime show and the beasty drumline competition. I think everyone need to check it out, its the best.
Review 20 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
BCFX
Posted on:7/19/09
The Football Guy
I am really proud that they are giving the recognition to the BCF, i have been waiting on this since the pc game was out giving everyone a taste of what i have been experiencing all my life. I am really hoping that the game gives the Ncaa 10 and madden a run for its money. I say lets keep it going and that everyone needs to check out the game its wonderful. lets not make this the only one because i will support this game all the way to the end. thanks to everyone who was apart of making this game for everyone to see and feel when you are at a BCF game thanks!!
1 2 next>>