GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition

BCFx - The Doug Williams Edition is a first-of-its-kind game that immerses players in the rich culture, history andpageantry of football game day on Historically Black College and University (HBCU) campuses. The game fusesrealistic, bone-jarring football action created using the Unreal 3.0 engine with two unique new rhythm games - the interactive Halftime Show and Drum Line Challenge. In addition, a wealth of historical data has beenintegrated in the Legacy Museum and dozens of licensed tracks performed by college football's most entertainingmarching bands are included in the game's Jukebox.
Average Customer Rating:
5.2
5.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 1030%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Review 1 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Worth buying only for the Haftime Show
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/09
The Sandz
As an alumnus of an HBCU, I had no choice but to purchase it. I marched in the band and majority of the songs I heard brought back some serious memories! I enjoyed the band experience on the game. By far, its the best feature on there but I like a challenge and the football experience was not up to par. No comparison to NCAA or Madden obviously, but it could have been developed much better. There were many features to the football segment that was left out that made that portion a disappointment. One issue I had with the game is its uniqueness to every school. The only thing I saw different, other than the players and uniforms, was each stadium. Thats a positive but the uniqueness to the band was not implemented. Each band is different. The song selection for each band was unique but the marching style could have been more in tune to that particular band. The graphics were not great. Looked like a Playstation 2 graphic type game. The commenatators were horrible. The band experience was the best feature to this game!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
help
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/11
midinght23
Location: Boston,mass
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i really was liking this game because it had all tha black school that ncaa did not,when i played it i was like got dam this game really need some help u cant even pass tha ball right and when u dont do it right the other team get tha ball.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Finally a game that the whole family can enjoy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/09
For-show
My two daughters ages 10 & 13 love the drumline challenge in this game. The Rockband drums worked and played great with the game. I am amazed that you do not have be a gamer to enjoy this game. The halftime band performances are a cinematic wonder. The Guys who ever game up this, must be commented! There is so much in this game - Junk box, Drumline challenge, football, and Halfttime Band performances. The educational component in the Virtual Museum must viewed and studied by all. As a gamer, I have never played a game that was geared to both sexes,all ages as well non gamers-just watch the Halftime in HD. For all of critics out there, if your thinking is one dimensional, this game is not for you for it is a paradigm shift in comparison to the status Q. This game is for the whole family to enjoy so you better be prepared to purchase mutiple copies to keep down the complaining. It has already started and I just purchased the game yesterday.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Great Halftime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/09
JSU SONIC BOOM BAND
This game is great if you were in or is in the band.The halftime performances are great.If you have ever been to a hbcu football game ,you will feel at home.The band experience to perform along is great.The game of football is another story.I hate not being able to change my receivers routes at the line of scrimmage.The audibles are preset.The game play is a touch slower than easports.The graphics are ok.You cant make your own schedule in the franchise phase.You cant play online either.The replay system is good.You cannot challenge a play.On defense you cant place the linebackers in coverage.You cant isolate receivers on defense.The game is not bad if you are not a serious fb player.I look for the next edition of this game to get better.The game is not so bad ,its not on the level of ncaa fb by easports.Cant wait to see improvements on next edition.They get a A for effort.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ddddd
baton rouge
 
Please wait while more information about ddddd is loaded.
Additional information about ddddd could not be loaded.
human jukebox
Posted 10/4/11
i love how the stadiums are real the graphics need improvement though and the reicevers do not catch the ball both my parents went to southern so i had to get the game go su do not like grambling
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Not that I could change a person's opinion...
Posted on:6/9/09
Stefen K.
I understand that people would think this game is racist...but that is if you read this as ALL BLACK FOOTBALL. But the game is called Black College Football..SAME THING RIGHT? Not exactly, HBCU (Historically Black Colleges & Universites) are often reffered to as Black Colleges for short. If there are any white players on HBCU teams, then they will be on the game..(Joey Christine - Norfolk State University, QB; Nick Elko - Delaware State, QB and other players at other positions). It's the same thing when major colleges that are predominately white are on games and the black players are on display. Many HBCU's are not represented well on games historically and then there is a band experience that is omitted all together. This game is a specialized genre. Guitar Hero doesn't have any R&B or Soul of any kind and that is fine. The game is still fun. Lighten up, This is a game....A VIDEO GAME. I hope I helped somebody.
Review 6 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Game of the Year
Posted on:5/26/09
Gamer since 88
It has been a long time coming for this type of game, but now with all things video games are capable of doing with interactive guitar and drums this is the perfect time for this game to be released! Make no mistake, this is not a racist game. It is, instead, a tribute to football and football fans, and a blessing to those who have not had a chance to witness a "Black Colllege" football game. So don't be scared by the BLACK in the title. It's just still a football game mixed with guitar hero for the halftime show, because that is the staple of any Black college football experience. For too long now these schools have been cheated and ignored by video game makers as they don't put the same detail into these schools as they do other schools even though players such as jerry rice, walter payton, steve mcnair and many others have come from schools such as those featured in this game. So get it, support it and have an eye-opening experience to a game that is way overdue. I hope a ps3 version is on the way, but until then i have to find an xbox, because i will be getting this game!
Review 7 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
This game is going to be Awesome
Posted on:6/10/09
The Sandz
This game is going to be really good! Outside of the NCAA Football games that had black colleges in there but the creators never gave the entire black college experience. The bands are a key piece in HBCU heritage. I, myself attended and graduated from a black college and I also marched in the Band throughout my college tenure and I must say that the experience that I had was the most enjoyable one. If you have never been to an HBCU, witnessed an HBCU, or even learned or attempted to familarize yourself with the black college experience, please do not call this game racist. I recall a time when NCAA Football had no black colleges but I still bought and played it. Was that edition of NCAA Football that lacked black colleges your "White College Experience"? Think about what you are saying when it comes to racism. Like the person below just said, its only a video game.
Review 8 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Needs Work
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/09
Huge football fan
I really enjoy the game. It's nice to play a football game that is not made by EA. There are some good points and bad points to the game. I like how the recievers catch a long pass in stride, run blocking is nice, playbooks are nice, and the half time show is pretty fun. Now the bad. The game appears to be made as a spur of the moment game. The controls are a little delayed, difficult to switch players, no hard count, the field appears to be short (but it's not), and most of all, there is no online challenges. If you are a gamer who likes to play other people on line, steer away from this game. If you are just a huge football fan (like I am) then I recommend this game. It is fun and there are different game modes. The online part is very important, especially to current gamers, and that is what will ultimately hurt this game. I feel this game had a lot of potential to be better than what it is. I just feel that there was minimal time put in making this game with wanting to produce an average football game. It's too bad, we need another football game, that is not made by EA, to take off and have a series of it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
HBCU Homecoming @ Home
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/09
KoolBrez
I found the lighting and graphic outstanding. The authentic stadiums add realism to the toal experience. The Legacy Museum is very enlightening because of the historical info and the profile it gives on the schools that are in the game. The music is off the charts. Halftime formations and sounds are like being in the stadium. I tried the Jukebox mode in my surround sound and man it was awesome. The whole family is enjoying this game. I have played the football and think the graphics and gameplay are with in the standards of other games. I like the players intensity and the schools' background music. You can actually hear "Neck" and " Cold Hearted Snake" in the background. The HBCU classics add to the realism. I recommend this game to everyone. It is truly an excellent blend of football and showmanship. I give it a 9.5 out of a 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
If You Build It They Will Come
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/10
JJAQZI
Ok, I don't know whats fitting to write by your standards, but this is about getting a second chance to make a first immpression. BCFX made a horable first impression. I mean I understand the concept, but the game as a whole just looks thrown together. When you look at the game of football and then take into account the leaps and bounds that the video gaming industry has made over the years, there is no explanation whatsoever that justify the release of this game the way it is. Look how far the industry has come; from Nintendos 10 yard fight and Techmo Bowl, to XBOX 360 and Madden and NCAA. First of all this is a FOOTBALL GAME, why is the emphasis on the BAND and the HALF TIME SHOW. Don't get me wrong, I love the band and the half time show, but this is a football game and that is where MOST of the grunt work should have been. Second, there are no football teams nor bands that come out of the grass fields before ANY game. The football teams come out of locker rooms, and the bands the bands come form the busses, line up, play while marching on their way to the stands. Third, NO team has the same playbook and NO two players are the same size. You have a decorated college and superbowl quaterback/coach endorcing this game, it should not look like or play like something my 6 year old son would play. Fourth, the gameplay. The wideouts can't catch, the O line can't block, why do they iceskate across the field. Bottom line is this, make a better game. Start from scratch, look at other games that have come before you and take what they did and make it better. Go back and look at previous companys of the PAST, NOT NOW. WATCH the gameplay; the pocket that the O line forms, the way the O line runs out to block on toss plays, the way the defensive backs jam the receivers, the different ways to disguise a defense, the exclusive plays for each team. Add all that with the bands and the half time show, you have an unmatched game for the ages. All I'm saying is if you BUILD IT THEY WILL COME
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Just Come out Already!!!
Posted on:9/25/09
foffury
I have been waiting on this one since the initial release date. I attended Fort Valley State, which has been featured in the videos and pictures. I am ready to play with them Wildcats and "The Blue Machine". This is a buy regardless game, if you attended a HBCU and like Football video games.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Black College football at its best!!!
Posted on:5/28/09
lbrow531
This game is not meant to be racist in any shape, form or fashion. It's introducing to the masses what the "Black College" football experience is all about. Sure, EA Sports has the market on lockdown with the traditional NCAA Division I schools, but when you play with traditional HBCU teams like Hampton or Jackson State, you feel there's something missing, and that's what BCFX is promising to bring. Playing sports and graduating from an HBCU or Historically Black College and University has been an uplifting and worthwhile experience for me. It's something that I'll cherish for the rest of my life, and to see a game that brings a little bit of that experience to the video game market is something I could not have conceived being made. I'll be the first one in the store to purchase it.
Review 13 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
The spirit is strong but the football is weak
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/09
Interesting points
I too am an HBCU grad who had high hopes for BCFX. The songs from each team took me back to when I used to sit in the stands and enjoy the band while glancing at the football game (the stands were more exciting - lol ). It is refreshing to see real stadiums that I've visited in the past and present. By far the band experience is the high light of this football game. However, the game play leaves me wanting so much more. This game cannot stand next its competition. It tries to do too much at once, football and band mini game. The animation is often choppy with no momentum (physics is lacking). Receivers run interesting routes with far too many incomplete passes, even when wide open. In all BCFX is a good first, but needs far more polish.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Hope it's good. Finally some HBC Love
Posted on:7/8/09
XanderZane
The good news is we are finally getting to play some of the best Black College football teams that you would never see in the NCAA. The bad news is the game is being developed and published by some no name companies we've never heard of. Which basically means the game is unlikely to be as good as Madden, NCAA Football, NFL 2K5 or even Arena Football. I'm hoping I'm wrong, but I have a bad feeling this game is not going to be as good as what's already out there. Even the low price for the game means a lot of the MEAT that's usually in these football games are going to be sorely missing. Bowl games, leagues, dynasty, create a player, fantasy or full stats will probably be missing from this game.
Review 15 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
DaKing504
Location: Dallas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
man I really like this game its different if you like football and bands its pretty cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
blackkobe24-this game is the boom
Posted on:6/28/09
BLACKLYNN24-THE KING OF FOOTBALL GAMES
i can't wait till this game is out to play it on the x-box(360) am a big college football fan of jackso,state tigers fan to am can't wait to play with them&take on all loser the (s,w,a,c) is the best the football team&bands like i said bring it on do't hold on the game let it all out i hope everyone go out a get give it a chance white or black or mixes fan you never know you love this game a at the same time learn something about black college football team we do have white player in the s.w.a,c to so stop hate on this game can you seen out so demo on the game for your fan if you can b,c f x-i would love to have am still going to buy the game just to playfootball&a be in the band for once in my life i did't get a chance to go to college but i love college football i just got home from the army good luck on the game stay strong&do your best.it not about black or white or mixes it about have fun with family&friends on the x-box(360) i hear the game love great&plays very well so go out a get it for once try something new beside madden-or that sorry butt game n,c,a,a game< stay hard&a play fair go tigers(jackson,state it in jackson,ms for the fool who do't know about us we bring the pain so bring it.holl-blackkobe24 see you on the field man bring your stick it on come by sometime am waiting for u
Review 17 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
This Will Be Something Different From The Norm
Posted on:6/21/09
MCM Inc.
I can't wait either for this came to come out. I was going to purchase it when it was only for PC. Then I caught wind that it is coming out on X-Box and soon other game system formats. I can never understand why people get upset when someone comes out with a concept that they don't understand. And i guess i'm not supposed to. Because we are all different physically and mentally. I still enjoy playing games such as NCAA, Madden and other "mainstream" games. But now, here comes a team that creates a game for those who can appreciate it. I can't relate to the NCAA division one. I never attended those schools. I can relate to the NBA and NFL because HBCUs have had many athletes that went on to the pros. I went to a HBCU with some famous brothers (to me and others who know) that went on the NFL and CFL. I am proud of their accomplishments. But maybe others have no reason to be proud because they have so many atheletes that have gone to college, the pros and success. But this game will give those who didn't attend a HBCU a glimpse of what college life from another perspective. The Black perspective. The games. The teams. The spirit. Hopefully it would dispell some of the myths that others perceive about the Black plight. Who knows. You might want to actually want to attend a HBCU school or a football game. Unless you're scared. And there should be no reason for you to be that.
Review 18 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
BCFX
Posted on:7/19/09
The Football Guy
I am really proud that they are giving the recognition to the BCF, i have been waiting on this since the pc game was out giving everyone a taste of what i have been experiencing all my life. I am really hoping that the game gives the Ncaa 10 and madden a run for its money. I say lets keep it going and that everyone needs to check out the game its wonderful. lets not make this the only one because i will support this game all the way to the end. thanks to everyone who was apart of making this game for everyone to see and feel when you are at a BCF game thanks!!
Review 19 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
MAAANNN, is this gonna come out or what.....
Posted on:9/29/09
BIgboy45acp
I've been waiting for this game since it was announced at Bayou Classic last year. And now its wait, wait, wait....I mean, i understand fix all the bugs and make sure its right, but i'm just about foaming at the mouth waiting. It supports the HBCU, a first, it incorporates a halftime show/ drumline challenge, again a first and an integral part of black college football, and its many years overdue. Great idea, looks good. I cant wait to roll out SU jags and take on all my GSU tiger friends. Our own Classic right here at home. COome onnnnnnn BCFX!!!
Review 20 for BCFX: The Doug Williams Edition
This game is by no means racist
Posted on:5/30/09
Iceman87GT
I have not played this, nor do i think i will ever play this, mainly because i have no attachment to the black colleges it represents, and its gameplay looks lackluster compared to NCAA football from EA. Some on internet boards have accused this game of being racist citing that if there was a white college football experience the game would be banned, the truth couldn't be farther from this. For those who don't know there are a slew of Black Colleges that were created to further the education of those who were otherwise not allowed to attend college (due to segregation). Eventually most of these schools formed football teams once again only playing against other black colleges due to segregation. Over the years marching bands established a niche unlike those at main-stream colleges. With some schools the band is what everyone comes to see (more for the lower level teams), this game takes you to through the black college football experience literally, as you not only play football but you play the half-time show, using controls similar to the Guitar hero Franchise. I assume that the band part is also used to gain momentum or pump up the ground in order to gain an advantage throughout the game but i know for a fact that you play the half-time show. There is no white college football instead there is mainstream that obviously has more than just one race. However there is a Black College community and it definitely is a different experience than your run of the mill college football game, and the publishers wanted to share that with the fans of these colleges while making it a truly unique experience, who knows if i ever see this cheap enough i may buy it to enjoy a different kind of football game.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>