GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

The sequel to the best-selling first-person action game of all time, Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. The newest installment in the groundbreaking Call of Duty® series, Modern Warfare 2 features for the first time in video games, the musical soundtrack of legendary Academy Award®, Golden Globe® Award, Grammy® Award and Tony winning composer Hans Zimmer. The title picks up immediately following the historic events of Call of Duty® 4: Modern Warfare®, the blockbuster title that earned worldwide critical acclaim, including 14 million copies sold worldwide; "Most Played Online Video Game" in history, 2009 Guinness World Records; more than 50 Game of the Year awards, including the Console Game of the Year and Overall Game of the Year, 2007, from the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences®
Average Customer Rating:
8.047
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
14
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
32 out of 4374%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
I am talking about the PC Version.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/09
A WoW Player
Well, concerning Singleplayer (I haven't got past it yet.) .. It is wonderful. Like many people, the no dedicated-servers new got me down. I still bought the game, but with the idea of forgetting multiplayer... Infinity Ward, in a way, got the PC fans very sad, and angry. With their changes 2 weeks before the Release, that being sad (In my Opinion) , If you exclude this fact, and try to take a look on the Singleplayer side, it is wonderful, Graphics are very nice, Smooth Gameplay, not to complicated, Very entertaining. Also, the storyline is good which is a good second part to the First one (Which i really liked). The fact that you see some men's from the first one, when they have an older look, is awsome. Well, in general, it's a good game, except for Multiplayer, To be honest, Multiplayer (PC Version) Is screwed up (excuse my language) But it is a true fact.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
WOW :( THIS NOT GOOD
Posted on:10/21/09
CaPta1nStBbNs
Like it says I am very disappointed that when I am going to preorder this game. I see that it will not have dedicated servers. FAIL. The industry will lose tons of money if they cut dedicated servers out since most people will not buy these games since they have played Xbox live or some other gaming console that requires a host which could mean a long distance for you which usually makes you lag. Therefore the game will not be liked for long periods of time since many people cannot afford to buy DLC as they would like. I will not support any of these games and will ultimately kill my gaming in this side of the market. I hope there is a change and see how the gamers care about none laggy servers which makes great gaming experiences for all and not go back in time with lag servers your almost there for the ultimate gaming device and you want to give up? Anyway, I am done ranting when I hear different then I’ll buy till then I am going to look for a good game to invest in.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Concerning
Posted on:7/27/09
Yellowhound
The game looks awesome, every pixel is right, every gun feels great and nothing else feels more realistic. What concerns me is the frame rate. I had frame rate issues with the first COD4 on both my friends Xbox360 and My PC is over qualified for playing the game at 60 fps, and the 360 is a Elite that was bought 3 months ago. My PC is quite literally top of the line not even a year old. it was meant for gaming with the Corei7 in it along with the GTX280 it should of ran it smoothly, but i had a few performance dips. I don't know if it was because of the graphic engine on the game, the compatibility with Vista 32-bit (Yes i run 32-Bit because 64-bit has terrible comparability with lots of programs) or something else i had running which was virtually nothing except for Avast Security and Windows Sidebar. If they know about the Frame rate issues then hopefully they will fix it. Don't get me wrong though the game is still good. I can not say anything about COD4s PS3 version because i have never played it on the PS3.
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Great game! ONLINE ONLY
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/10
Amankilla11 (x box gamertag)
Ok COD has made an amazing game. If you like online play. The story mode is so short i beat it the very first day. It's not very long or interesting. The online play is amazing as well as the Special Ops these make Modern Warfare the great game it is. The special ops are hard and very interesting especially when you get further along in them! The Online play is great with MANY different game types and maps, plus DLC makes it even better. Cod of Duty Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that you will stay up all night playing with friends and people you don't even know i would HIGHLY recommend this for all you gamers out there but as i have said it is mainly for online play but the online play can get very addicting with many great guns to choose from as well as perks and other gadgets if you like playing online all night with your friends and people you don't know i would highly recommend this for it's amazing online play!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
H4CK
 
Please wait while more information about H4CK is loaded.
Additional information about H4CK could not be loaded.
THE BEST GAME
Posted 1/15/11
I love the CLS on this game has the best guns join clan A*TX my name is JOHN_ATX_58
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Its a love hate relationship
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/10
mw2$$$
Well first off i gotta say that this game jus wows me in so many ways. In good and bad ways. My opinion on this game is good either way. Yea it laggs, yea its jus not fun to play sometimes because of hackers and campers and noobers, but there is always gonna be bad guys in life and we jus gotta move on and forget about them. But to be real, somtimes its jus fun to noob. Everyone noobs but they jus dont admit it because ppl make it look like your garbage if you do so. Also i believe if IW never put the nuke on mw2 that there wudnt be so much campers. Ppl want the nuke so bad that they will hide in a spot the whole game jus to get it. When its really not that big of a deal. Ive had multiple nukes. and i got tierd of them after the first 20+. but i jus continued to do them. but anyway i believe that everyone loves mw2 and hates it at the sametime
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Great Game but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
THEGAMER423
Location: Loves This Game!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest games ever created. There is only one problem. Nobody on PC plays its multiplayer! The game had great multiplayer and great campaign, but I don't always like to play Campaign. If i were you I'd get Black Ops instead (unless you LOVE multiplayer) The third party download source most PC players have (it is Steam) Which is always a plus. Overall great campaign but nobody plays multiplayer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Battlefield Bad Company 2
7.6 out of 10(108)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
No dedicated servers
Posted on:10/29/09
mrclawz
With the exclusion of dedicated servers from MW2 and the advent of the matchmaking IWNet, this game is officially dead before it even began. I cancelled my pre-order for this game shortly after the announcement that dedicated servers would not be included. Several other friends and clan members also cancelled their pre-orders as well. Without dedicated servers, you are subject to IWNet's matchmaking policies which not only take server selection out of your hands, but it also limits you to playing on their servers, or on servers hosted by people on residential connections. Gone is the ability to play in a competitive environment on a ladder, as is the ability to use modifications. Mods are present on 80% of all servers still running COD4 or WAW. Without a viable multiplayer that we the players can control, there is absolutely no reason to purchase this game. IW has lost my money for this game and probably for all future releases.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
This is the best Call of duty so far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
XFunWIthSnIIpezX
Location: Williamstown NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thank heaven i didnt get rid of this game when i do an annual clean out of my games blacks ops was the biggest let down of the call of dutys modern warfare1 just plain sucked at world at war was pretty good im glad i kept this game it is the best ever Call of Duty games i have ever played im getting it for my PC very soon and i cant wait for Modern Warfare 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/09
True-Shot
First off, I think this is an amazing game! The storyline is kinda confusing, switching different characters in different units in different places of the world, but is still very fun. This game has a good challenge, and is packed with action filled moments which will always be amusing. I believe there is 17 missions, most of them are pretty quick, and takes about 5-7 hours depending on you're play style. It will probably take you 8-10 hours to do it on Veteran difficulty, which is very hard. Then there is the Spec Ops mode, which are short 5-7 minute levels which challenge you to defend a target, infiltrate a camp and different things like that. There is plenty of Spec Ops missions which will keep you awake for weeks. Then there is the awesome multilayer! First off, I seen a lot of reviews complaining about no modding, or too many hackers and glitchers, those are all lies. Sure, there is hackers in every game, but I've seen 2 hackers in the last 3-4 days. There is 70 rank levels, and by earning XP from challenges and killing enemies you can advance you're rank from Private to 5 Star General. There is a vast array of weapons, attachments, and camouflage to unlock for you're weapons with the cool "Create a Class" feature which allows you to select you're Primary, Secondary, Equipment, Grenade, Perks, Killstreak Awards, and Deathstreak awards. All-in-all, this in incredible game with good graphics, good sound, very realistic, and action-packed story mode and Special Ops. Thanks for reading, and I hope this review helps you make a good gaming decision.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
mlg
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
youngmike
Location: east stroudsburg,pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this game when it first came out played it and was stuned by the graphics the mp and sp. i know there is alot of hacks and cheaters on this game but thats not the games fault. so for all those haders on the game u should rethink about what ur saying. hands down this game is the by far the best game out there that i played. i have preorder cod black ops horrible don t buy it to the bad servers to the bad graphics and weapons. mw2 is so much better that i play it rather than black ops and so are others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
H4CK
 
Please wait while more information about H4CK is loaded.
Additional information about H4CK could not be loaded.
QUICK SCOPERS
Posted 1/15/11
join clan QSM*
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Another cancelled preorder...
Posted on:11/5/09
N0face
Just like everyone else here, i was shocked to hear what they did to Multiplayer.If anyone played Gears of War 2 on Xbox and saw how poor their matchmaking system was, trust me, you DO NOT want to go through with this on MF2. My buddy and i would sometimes wait up to 10-15mins just to play 1 game!!!No idea how the wait times, queues, etc will work in MF2, but no dedicated servers? What a slap in the face to the dedicated PC fans that have been following this franchise for many, many years.I guess the single player will still be good, but for any PC veteran, the multiplayer is where the replay value is for any FPS game.I've been gaming online since Quake 2, Counter-strike and Tribes 1 days. I never in my wildest dreams thought PC gaming would go downhill so fast like this. Decisions like this make me never want to buy/upgrade/own any new parts to a PC anymore. Such a sad, sad, day. Hopefully they will change their minds down the road with a patch, but i doubt it. Consoles are where the money is now in gaming unfortunately and PC gamers are left in the dust...
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Connection Issues Ruin Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/10
Bobbake
The game is mediocre at best and the way that multiplayer is handled is the worst I have seen on a PC game. If you want to join a friends game forget about it, your friend must quit his game than you two join a "party" and then go to a game... Come on what kind of design is this? Maybe a wait for open slot would have worked not very hard but I mean really does anyone think that this was designed for PC? Once you get in a game connection issues are constantly booting people from game. If your in a large party it happens more often than not. The host migration fails half the time... I know it is like a broken record but all the new problems that have risen in this game compared to previous installments would not be an issue if dedicated servers were implemented. Bottom line COD 4 was a much superior game, IW really dropped the ball here I will not be purchasing another COD game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Better Than COD4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/09
Anthony LaScola
I don't know about everyone else but I refer to this game as COD6. This is the 6th installment to the franchise and I am pleased with what Infinity Ward has done to beef up the modern combat. The single player mode takes you in a large variety of locales and throws you in a mixture of battles where you play many different roles on the battlefield. There are a few surprises as well including a mission where you play as the bad guy. It's very graphic! In my opinion the single player experience is awesome but it is short lived as well. You will spend a lot more time online trying to unlock all kinds of weapons and upgrades to outfit your soldier and even snazzy up your gamer tag within multiplayer. There is a huge variety of weapons including an array sidearms and explosives. You can even upgrade to use two of the same weapon in each hand (akimbo) online. One upgrade from COD4 is the radio call for special airstrikes such as the predator missle which you can guide into any one player or group of players. I could actually go on for a while about multiplayer but lets just say there is a lot more to offer in COD6.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Boycott MW2 - DO NOT BUY
Posted on:10/22/09
bullitt
The recent announcement of no dedicated servers for PC, along with the tone used by IW, is a slap in the face to PC users who loyally supported the COD series up to now. It was announced with barely 3 weeks before launch, and the reasons given behind it are shaky at best. Our protests, both reasonable and passionate, have fallen on deaf ears. The ONLY way to get the message across to IW and Activision, is to hit them in the pocketbook. As much as everyone wants to try out MW2 after the success of COD4, the PC community must stand together in solidarity and refuse to buy this game. If you have a pre-order, cancel it. IF by some miracle cooler heads prevail and IW changes their mind and puts in dedicated servers in a later patch, THEN and only then should we consider it. I'm a huge fan. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. But I've decided to hold off as well and not buy this game.
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
AWESOME!!!!!
Posted on:11/8/09
SGTRapter
Okay, first of all there is no dedicated servers. I am not a clan gamer, and all I want to do is level up, kill some dudes, get ridicuosly lucky kills,ect. So that does not effect me one tiny bit. I know that Spec Ops is going to be epic, because me and my bro got two compputers in one room, and co-op in COD 5 with him was very very fun. The single player is going to be a blast, I saw at least twelve or more missions confirmed missions somewhere. There is soposivly is going to be a meseum once you finish the campain that lets you test all the guns ans there are going to be diamramas of all the missions that you can shoot the guys inside of them. Single player...check. Spec Ops...check. Multiplayer...CHECK! A bit pricey but, it's going to be worth it. To all you geeks(clan gamers) No dedicated servers is not going to ruin it. Stop bawling you geeks. GO INFINITY WARD!! See me on the battlefield
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
swgamersarsan
Location: potland,oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best COD game yet I love it takes about 7 hours or more for me at least the replay value is pretty good as well I like it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
i highly recomend this amazing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
DanManShootingMan
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fantastic. the sounds and graphics are great and realistic. the gameplay is some of the best iv ever seen/played. i started playing this game 2 years ago and i still love it. i would recomend this game to anyone who likes shooting games. best for hardcore gamers, casual gamers, and sometimes even party gamers. this game is the best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
MW2 = Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/09
Dan2deez
The Single Player aspect of the game is very short, about 5 hrs. The lean feature that has been removed is hugely missed. AI can lean and cover but player can not. This game is a huge step backward in the COD series. All the features that made Call of Duty a hugely successful game have either been modified or removed completely. This is unacceptable. The Multiplayer aspect of the game is also disappointing. The matchmaking takes too long to set up games and the intermission can be 1-3 minutes long. Hosting is done on a P2P basis meaning that peoples home connections will be supporting the game being played. This gives the hosting machine a huge advantage in the game and connecting players will have lag. If the host leaves the game, then the game stops and a new host is chosen taking time from playing the game. In the end, this game could have been so much more if done properly. Maybe several patches can bring it to life or even make it playable to the point of actually having fun. Im sorry but I have nothing good to say about MW2 in its current state. Maybe next time, if there is one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
SP is short but good, MP is plagued with hackers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Stonehenge
Location: Arkansas
I enjoyed the, albeit short, Single Player campaign, and was enjoying the Multi-Player campaign until I ran into hackers (it WILL happen sooner than you may think) that will not go away no matter how many patches are released. You get the whole gamut of hacks: wall, aim-bot, XP increase, and XP penalty hacks. IF It wasn't for the hacks and the lack of any way to reset your own MP stats, I would have given this a higher score. Activision dropped the ball on this one, and then repeated the take your money for a broken MP model with Special Ops.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Du Gal?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
Breivik
Location: Norway
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I just bought Modern Warfare 2, the game. It is probably the best military simulator out there and it’s one of the hottest games this year. I played MW1 as well but I didn’t really like it as I’m generally more the fantasy RPG kind of person – Dragon Age Origins etc .and not so much into first person shooters. I see MW2 more as a part of my training-simulation than anything else. I’ve still learned to love it though and especially the multiplayer part is amazing. You can more or less completely simulate actual operations.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>