GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories

The story follows Harry Mason, who wakes up after a car accident to find that his daughter Cheryl is missing. Harry will wander the snowy streets of Silent Hill searching for answers of her disappearance, but when the world freezes over, he will need to escape the lumbering demons that haunt his steps. Harry will need to navigate both worlds to discover the truth; not just about his missing daughter, but also the type of person he actually is. Choices players make will shape Harry Mason, as well as the people he meets and the places he visits. The enemies evolve as well, taking the form of the player's deepest fears.
Average Customer Rating:
7.333
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Review 1 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Silent Hill: Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/10
SonyFanMan
OK! I love the Silent Hill games, 1, 2, 3, 4, They were all great games, But Komani has disappointed me in the last couple of Silent Hill games. Silent Hill (one) was great it was the best Horror game to come to date in 99' Silent Hill 2 was the best by far, the atmospheric music, the incredible story line, and going through the mind of James. Silent Hill 3, was another great game, figuring out Heathers past, when she ended up through the nightmare of Silent Hill. Silent Hill 4: The Room, It was a good game to team Silents' ending. the story line was good. Now!!! Silent Hill: Shattered Memories, I was so excited when the game first came out, i rushed to Gamestop to buy it, I was like "Yeah! a re-make of a classic" but sadly i was very disappointed, I popped it in to my PS3(60gb) played through the first 30 minutes of it, and started to fall asleep. Silent Hill Shattered Memories was more like Tylenol pm mixed with Nyquil. Silent Hill lost it's Horror Feeling... Lame!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
from a first time silent hill player
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/10
evil resident
since this is my first silent hill game, i would have to say it was decent. though its definitely not worth the $30. wait for the price to drop if you want to play it. personally, i thought this game was way too short. i probably finished it in 5 hours or less. the challenge was not anything special. the puzzles weren't hard at all, mostly things that a 12 year old could come up with. the storyline, however, is phenomenal. it played out like a movie, and kept me hooked throughout. the ice world and semi-scary chase scenes added to the greatness of the storyline, but overall it was great. i wont spoil, but the ending was a real shocker if you haven heard much about the game. i was really amazed towards the end of the game. get this game if your in for the storyline, music, and creepiness. its not scary, and its not action packed, but its a good enough game that i will probably play it through a couple more times. buy it USED.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
From a Die Hard Silent Hill Fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/10
Capt. Picard
I have played and finished every silent hill game... seven to date including shattered memories. I love the franchise and each game. When I first heard that Shattered Memories was going to be a "re-imagining" of the original I wasn't too exited. I thought remake, and the original is an exellent game that doesn't need a remake. However I was mistaken, Shattered Memories uses the character names and the prospect of a father looking for his daughter in a town called silent hill after a car crash. That's it, everything else is different. It IS a new game. You will not be able to predict the events because you have played the others. The story is fresh and the characters are both intriguing and realistic. The game has a good flow to the action and the story. There is no combat in this installment. There are no "bosses" And the puzzle solving is... different. What happens is that the world freezes, and these creatures that cannot be fought or killed appear and try to kill you. You must run away, if they grab you you must throw them off. That's the limit of the interaction you have with these creatures. However the chase is challenging (at least for me). You can easily get disorientated in the ice world because ice will close off certain areas and open new ones, so the map really isn't useful. The puzzle solving in this game is very interesting. I wouldn't necessarily say it's challenging... but it is fun and some of them will make you think. However there are other that some people will think is stupid. They often deal with the cell phone and listening to voice mails. Others deal with calling a particular number to get info on how to proceed and yet other have to deal with hunting for objects, mostly keys. Keys are usually in the room you need them in, However some of them are not particularly obvious and yet other you will find before you realize you need them. The graphics and engine are exellent for a ps2 game, but I guess not that great compared to current gen games. The voice acting is superb, and the music is the best in the series in my opinion. Akira Yamaoka has done the music for every silent hill game and even the movie, he is a genius and has truly outdone himself here. There is also a new psychological element, you will periodically be assessed by a psychologist who will ask you questions. You will also be required to complete little exercises. You answers and solutions will determine some of what happens in the game and of course in true silent hill tradition which ending you will get (and yes there is an exellent ufo ending with a surprising and hilarious guest appearance that every true fan will laugh at). I'm sure some of you reading this have heard of the game adapting to you and so-on, This is true and I think it does a great job of this, however it does not make the game scarier. It will adapt the character harry mason to be more like you and the other characters change as well to reflect your personality along with dialog and the ending. Shattered memories is not really scary or graphic. It's creepy, atmospheric, and psychological with a great story and amazing music. All-in all, this is my favorite silent hill game. It is so very unique in what it does. And the ending (of which there are many) totally caught me by surprise. I would totally recommend this game to every silent hill fan, and fans of the survival horror genre. Or evan those who like a really good psychological thriller. You don't need to have played the other games in the franchise to play this one, so don't let that deter you from trying out such a unique game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
hmm...
Posted on:8/11/09
doom gamer
I'm a big fan of the Silent Hill series and ive beaten all of them (except Silent Hill Origins) but this one looks the most terrifying. One thing concerns me though. It doesn't seem to have any combat. In the other ones you fought the creatures and killed them by kicking them... while it wasn't the most impressive finisher at least you could still kill them. In this one it seems like your just running away the whole game. I hope that isnt the case because the fighting adds so much to the game and how are they going to have terrifying bosses or anything if you can't fight? I think the fact that the game adapts to be as terrifying as possible for you specifically is great but the enemies changing doesn't do much if you cant find new ways to try and kill each new one. Like say with grey children you can just charge and attack but then with the dogs you want to wait till it does its jump attack then get it from the sides or behind. That would really make the game for me so i hope they put something like that in the game too.
Review 5 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Luigi's Mansion for PS2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/10
SupaGamer
I'm a newcomer to Silent Hill and this is the first of the series that I have played. I didn't expect anything good, but I was prooved wrong. The game is kind of like Luigi's Mansion(Every time you press X Harry calls for Cheryl), looking around finding clues, but when it comes to fighting, you're no better off than Professor E. Gad. This game is more of a puzzle and challenge game than it is about fighting monsters, but I think that's the entire point. From what I heard, this is a Re-Imagining of the original and most of the fans did not like it. Since I am new to SH I just enjoyed it. The game is pretty fun and you get a rewarding feeling after every puzzle you solve. When everything freezes over, I'm scared. The Nightmare segment of the game involves you running for your sweet old life from hell's demons. It got repetitive after a while, but then it got real hard, real fast. What I especially like about this game is the psychological feel of it. The psychiatrist at the beginning sets a creepy tone to the game, and you must find out yourself who you really are. This game plays you more than you play it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Best Survival Horror Yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/10
animecomixguy
Shattered Memories is an amazing game on so many levels. Just for the record this is a very different game from your typical Silent Hill game. The one main difference is that there are no weapons in this game. That's right no weapons. All you have to work with is a flashlight and a cell phone. So if/when an enemy jumps on you all you can do is shake them off and keep running. It sounds very strange but it works great. It makes you feel very fragile when you can't fight back. The controls for this game work beautifully. I had no issues at anytime while playing. They were very responsive and felt comfortable. The production value of Shattered Memories are very high. The graphics look great! There aren't even to many jagged edges in the game. The voice acting and music are all top notch. The voice actors give a strong performance, and the music sets the tone for every scene. This game also has an amazing story. One of the best parts about it is the therapist who analyzes you throughout the game. He will ask you questions, and depending on your answers the game will change. In theory the game works to give you the best experience taylored to your liking. Also you could go back and change your answers in a different play through to get a different experience. I would reccomend this game to anyone who loves survival horror, or just a great story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories 4 Life
Posted on:8/4/09
SILENT HILL FREAK!!!
This game looks like the best game ever (aside from Silent Hill 4: The Room). I love the idea that they removed combat because how is someone going to feel scared if they are bound to feel invulnerable with an arsenal of powerful weapons. I love the idea to run for your life instead of just gunning down your enemies. I love the new psych profile system. The game 'watches' your every move and looks for your deepest fear and tries its best to intensify it. Every move that you make, literally changes the course of the game, even if its a small change. This game looks like it has Playstation 3 graphics and its only for the Playstation 2, Playstation Portable, and Nintendo Wii. I like that they didn't make it for the Playstation 3 and Xbox is because they took the game back in the day and more people can afford and enjoy the game. You don't have to be a Silent Hill fan in order to fall in love with this miraculous game, it just comes to instinct! I haven't played any demos of this game, but I have seen the trailers and some gameplay and Konami took this game to an all new world of Survival Horror and I mean that in the best way possible. Keep going with the great work Konami and thanks for the best games ever made... The Silent Hill series!!!
Review 8 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Silent Hill:Shattered Memories
Posted on:10/12/09
Fiveplusfour
I'm very very excited how this game will turn out, But I'm also fighting that feeling in the pit of my stomach that it may flop like Silent Hill:Homecoming. The different take on the classic first game, drew me The very second. To the new Harry who looks more vulnerable than the more manly Harry of the first game, Or maybe the way Dahlia and Cybil are depicted(The first thing I thought when I saw her was that Maria from the 2ed game had returned) Depending on the questions you answer in the beginning of the game. Also that the game seems to be more along the lines of Hide and seek than shoot and run, You've been used to. Like I said, I am very excited about how this will turn out. :) don't upset me.
Review 9 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Cant wait for this game
Posted on:10/27/09
jsm042589
Ever since i saw this game online a couple months ago ive been wanting it. I really love how there seems to be no combat it makes it much more frightening than all the other ones. Although i do hope there will be a way to kill the enemies, not by weapons in your inventory, but maybe by using the environment, like finding gasoline and a torch/lighter, or maybe picking them up and impaling them on a fence or metal pipe, or possibly even locking them in an inescapable room, i think that would make the game more fun for me, also scarier. There wont be any pausing the game to look for the right weapon in your inventory, youll have to look around your surroundings to find the right weapon while your being chased. And the fact that your choices determine the characters appearance/personality is an excellent addition, it could make the story different each time you play it through. All in all i am very excited for this game no matter how it turns out, because theres not that many horror games out there anymore that arent action oriented, fancy guns dont make a game scary at all, the sense of being helpless (which is what the sense of this game seems to be) is what makes a game terrifying, so if this game will be able to make me scream like a little girl then i will call it a success.
Review 10 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Good for the silent hill series,But lacking in small terms
Posted on:6/10/09
loopdaed
Being a fan of the survival horror genre for quite a while, Silent hill series is number 2 in my list of favorite horror games, The graphics,gameplay and even the rich storyline,i heard of this after playing and finish SH:Homecoming,And after seeing the previews for this game and being told it was a possible remake of the first original silent hill game,I gotta say this would be probably the least of the good games the series has to offer,Im not entirely impressed though cause of the lack of game combat,Not to mention its missing a nautral feel to this that makes it both fun,creepy and challenging in the process. But still, i'll be willing to give this game a try
Review 11 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
This game sounds pretty cool
Posted on:11/4/09
nobeac
The features in this game sound pretty cool. It sounds like they stepped it up a notch instead of having it the same old style interface and stuff. The only thing I hated about the SH games is all the fog. Did they put all that fog into these games because they had to hide all of the programming glitching that took place? Or was it a differant reason. Regardless, they could have had a better game if it wernt for this stuff, because it made it so you couldnt see much of the board you were on. That was the only complaint, other than the lag of controlls but that is a differant story someday.
Review 12 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
terrible...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/10
reviewer#8675309
Let me first start by explaining how Shattered Memories is played. First of all, unlike previous silent hill games, there is no inventory. Why? Because you will never have to carry anything for further than two rooms, and you will never need to carry more than one item at a time. This is mainly due to the fact that there are no puzzles. There are moments where a 12 year old might have to think for a few seconds, but nothing that one quick stroll around the room wont solve. Most answers will literally be written on the wall 3 feet from you. Also, since not many objects are interactive (be it movable, open-able, pick-up-able etc.) anything that you can interact with has a huge white arrow pointing at it to make sure that you cant miss it, taking what little difficulty this game had and crushing it. Second, unlike other SH games, there are no weapons. This is because there are no enemies to fight. When you go to the "nightmare world", there is one enemy type everywhere and all you can do is run until it switches back to normal SH and they're gone again. With no ammo to find, enemies to kill, or puzzles to solve, you may wonder what actually happens in this game. Well its pretty simple; nothing. You pretty much just walk around either following characters to their homes, or to where ever the map points you to until its done. Along the way, you can collect "memorabilia" which does nothing, call phone numbers you see around town which just gives you a weird phone message, and take pictures with your camera phone of static to see hidden images, but this is all just filler because none of it changes anything. Every once in a while, you will be pulled from the game to a therapists office where a meaningless character asks you to color a picture or build your fantasy school schedule. Yes, those are real examples, that's how uninteresting they are. These were meant to "analyze you to make the game more customized to you" however if they change anything at all, I couldn't tell. Since there is clearly no game play involved, one would assume it either had amazing graphics or an amazing storyline to hold it up. Sadly it has neither of these. The graphics look like a launch ps2 title which is pathetic, even for a Wii port, and the story is so lacking that I'm not even sure if there is one. The final straw of this horrible game is that its not even scary. I wouldn't expect it to give nightmares, or make me scream, but the previous SH games were at least creepy. They had an awesome atmosphere that always made you watch your back, and you constantly had this lurking fear that something was going to jump out at you. With no enemies to jump out, and nothing scary in the scenery at all, it just seemed like a normal town with fog issues. Even the "nightmare world" is bland, unchanging, and unimaginative; its just a frozen version of the town. No more wire cages or blood covered spikes or creepy, inhuman looking carcasses, just ice. In the end, this game really just felt like "my first horror game" for children. Just enough "spooky" things to make the kiddies feel like it was scary and they were brave, and nothing too hard so they don't get frustrated. If you liked the previous SH games, stay away as this will only make you feel bad for the series as it dies its horrible death.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
monsterhead69
swainsboro ga
 
Please wait while more information about monsterhead69 is loaded.
Additional information about monsterhead69 could not be loaded.
UUUUUGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!
Posted 2/19/13
let me start by saying i love absolutey adore the silent hill franchise, but i cried like a little girl after someone ran over her puppy after playing this "game". disappointed doesn't begin to describe this wretched feeling but i can say that i was warned at gamestop...no weapons just a cell phone, don't even use my own phone this much.....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
simply awesome
Posted on:6/10/09
Anonymous
When I heard that they were doing a re-make of the original Silent Hill for the PS2 I was thinking: It's about friggin time. althrough I'm a fan of the original I think that this up-dated version is goiong to be really good and it gives me an excuse to buy a PS2 again. I'm more of a fan of the silent Hill series the Resident Evil, So I'm definitely looking forward to Silent Hill: Shattered Memories.
Review 14 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Sh: Shattered memories! :D
Posted on:12/5/09
:/
My favorite part about this game besides the fact your helpless against the new monsters... It's for the Ps2! I just hope it doesn't flop like homecoming or origins. : (btw... the reason they had the fog was so that they could hide what was about to happen ahead. A survival horror game where you can see what is going to happen before it does? Wouldn't make you jump as much now would it.)
Review 15 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
SH: Shattered Memories for the ps2
Posted on:1/9/10
HorrorFiendsRus
I am soooo elated that this game is coming to the PS2 platform. I am totally excited to play this game, I can't WAIT!!! lol anyways, I am glad that there is a wait at all. I have to prepare myself to be scared the pants off of. Will I be able to sleep nights? ha ha Let the horror of Silent Hill continue, 1/19/10, it shall begin...
Review 16 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
maaan
Posted on:12/10/09
awesome game #2
the wii version is out so great of konami to realease it on the playstation probably gonna give it more of a challenge then the wii version cause i read on the wii version is to easy so at least konami made this price cheaper so ppl dont have to waste buying it again
Review 17 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Posted on:6/10/09
AdrianG88
Ever since I heard about this game in April, I have not stopped checking the internet for updated on this game. I can't wait for this game. I 've been a fan of the series since the original. I have so many high hopes for this game.
Review 18 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Shattered Dreams
Posted on:12/6/09
Uchi
I LOVE all the SH games and was happy to see that the PS2 was going to bring this game out. I can't wait for its release and I'm sure it will not disappoint. Long live SH and its makers.
Review 19 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Awseome Silent Hill ROCKS
Posted on:1/10/10
Ghosybusters
I cant wait for this to come out next next week for me and i am so excited i know i wont be dissapointed because well... its SILENT HILL