GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories

The story follows Harry Mason, who wakes up after a car accident to find that his daughter Cheryl is missing. Harry will wander the snowy streets of Silent Hill searching for answers of her disappearance, but when the world freezes over, he will need to escape the lumbering demons that haunt his steps. Harry will need to navigate both worlds to discover the truth; not just about his missing daughter, but also the type of person he actually is.Silent Hill's debut on the Nintendo Wii makes the fear more real than ever before. Players will be drawn into the mysterious town using the Wii Remote as a flashlight and a cellphone as they search for clues. Choices they make will shape Harry Mason, as well as the people he meets and the places he visits. The enemies evolve as well, taking the form of the player's deepest fears. Silent Hill promises to be more terrifying than ever, also bringing the fear to PS2 and PSP.
Average Customer Rating:
8.261
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 2383%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Review 1 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
shatterd memories...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
zach123
Location: New york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I enjoyed this game very much, it keeps you on your feet just waiting for whats going to happen next! it profiles you like your really the charicter, with an extreamly great story, id deafenetly recomend this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
The best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
nintendonerd27
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Silent Hill :Shattered Memories, is the best video game I have ever played. It's a horrifying game with a brilliant story!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Not Bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Moondo75
Location: TN
Though the game lacks combat (something i hadnt come to terms with until half way through the game, i was still worried that i overlooked a crow bar or something near the beginning), it is actually way more fun than i thought it was going to be. Very creepy, and a good story line. I like silent hill homecoming better though, because it is scarier and has combat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Completely Entrancing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
Indianmoon80
Location: Nashville,TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
An incredible game! I found the movement and control of the game to be very lifelike. The story line is deep and captivating. It is very easy to figure out what to do next.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Nightmares! : O
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
Timothy85
Location: Findlay, Oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been a long time silent hill fan, i've never had nightmares from any game before.. but after reading that psychology warning, silent hill somehow wound up scaring me beyond my wildest thoughts. no, but seriously, i can't seem to bring myself to play it if i'm alone and i think possibly the fact that i can't fight back in the game. the only option i have is run. kinda makes it more realistic in the fact that if it were to REALLY happen, no one in their right mind would try to stand their and fight these beasts/creatures like they're some superhero crime fighter. I'D RUN FOR MY LIFE as well. lets just say for those who havent played it, if you play it at night, fully dark room, surround sound, and you first encounter the 'evil'.. it lets you run from them and it says 'press this to look beind you' .. i was thinking to myself, "no .. no thanks, i dont want to see whats chasing me down this dark ally i'd much rather just get away" then.. soon after i had to stop playing it.. anyways, i'm extreamly pleased with what Wii has done with the silent hill story/saga yet i too wish i could some way 'fend' for my life.. like a wooden board or pipe or something.. guns are a little much for dream world perhaps, but we will see what happens next time they put a game out : ) i know i'll buy it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Wicked Tight
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
slopunk22
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great survival horror game, it's just like playing a psychological thriller movie. Very few games keep me playing just to see what comes next, but this one does it. It has clever puzzles and is very thought provoking, with a top-notch storyline and high creepyness factor. If you're all about the FPS/ResEvil type game, don't bother.
The controls are easy to pick up quickly. If I had a complaint, it would be the lack of variety in enemies and items/weapons during the "Nightmare Scenes". There are different endings based on your psych analysis, but you probably aren't going to play it through again, so buy it used. This game is a blast. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 7 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Get ready for an psychological roller-coaster ride!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/10
Natalia Lianne
At first, I was wondering whether this game would be worth it, and dear, it was just amazing. Most games this days are just shoot, kill, move along. This game has a more psychological aspect to it; which not only relies on your ability to pass the game, but your decisions affect the game directly. Although it is not a canon game, you cannot help but wonder if it was as it is very closely related to the previous Silent Hill titles. The endings are still varied depending on your gaming, but the ending twist will leave you wondering long after. The soundtrack is amazing as always, Akira and Mary really did an explendid job bringing more emotion to this game. Although there are times were the Wii control is difficult to respond, it closely matches what one would do in real life, another reason this is a more psychological game than just an action one. Definately worth it, you will not be dissapointed:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Best Silent Hill game since 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/10
VidyaLady
I've been a die hard Silent Hill fan since the first game, and I'll be honest- when I first heard about this game, I expected to be disappointed. People called it a remake of the first, it wasn't made by the original team, and [no offense, wii fans] it was for the wii. I didn't expect much, especially after the "meh" feeling that Origins and Homecoming left me with. I was completely wrong. Playing this game was the biggest and best surprise I could have ever hoped for. The story was amazing, not a remake, but a "re-imagining"--and they pulled it off perfectly. It was involving, the graphics were amazing for a wii game, the voice acting was great [almost too good for silent hill, honestly], and the controls were perfect. I've never done too well with the wii's motion controls but the movements required came very naturally to me. And above all of that-- the story. I cannot say enough good things about this story. It's really intricate and psychological, and--aside from giving amazing insight into the series' characters in a new way--it's very personal. The psychological profile changes your game. The things that you look at change your game. The specific buildings that you enter change your game. It's about 5-6 hours long, which sounds short, but it has 6 different endings overall [the last two are REALLY hard to find, but worth it] and it is totally worth it to play over and over again just to find out more details about the story. The AMAZING story. If you love silent hill, and you wonder what Harry and Cheryl would have been like portrayed in a different light, or if you just like psychological stories....better yet, if you like good games-Go out and buy this. Now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Not what I expected, but a pretty good game overall.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/10
SHFan85
When I saw a Silent Hill was coming out for the Wii I was excited. I have been a fan of SIlent Hill and was glad to see the Wii releasing some popular franchises finally. I bought the game actually thinking it was a remake of the first SIlent Hill for PS one. I was wrong. It has the same basic beginning as the first one, but the beginnnin is pretty much the only thing that is the same. Besides the character's names, the storyline is totally different. The storyline is probably the thing that kept me in intrigued the most. I kept playing to figure out who people were and also who the character of Harry Mason actually is. The graphics are some of the best I have seen on the Wii to date. Graphics have never been the biggest issue with me but they were still awesome. The sound and music were awesome. Very good sound effects and the music fits right in with the other Silent Hill games. The only thing I was very disappointed about was the lack of combat. When you encounter enemies all you can do is run. You never get any weapons ever, at all. I found myself groaning in disgust when I entered the Nightmare world. Yet I would keep playing just so I could find out what happened next in the story. The only thing I was disappointed in was it didnt' seem to explain some things in the game. I might just have to play it a few more times and get different endings. But it didn't seem to explain who some of the people you ran into were and waht they had to do with Harry. Or the fact that in the Nightmare stages it was all ice. Maybe they explain these things in other endings but wish I could of found ot some of it. Replay value is high considering there are a few different endings you can get. I think the endings vary on how you answer the therapist during your sessions. (Yes you get to talk to a therapist throughout the game at various points and answer questions.) I found that kinda interesting as well. Gives the game more depth and character as you can change your answers everytime you play. The length is not bad either. About 4 or 5 hours depending on how much exploring you wanna do or what not. The puzzles are tricky but not so hard that I found myself getting frusturated and upset everytime. I believe that is how puzzles should work. I like the idea that I didn't have to backtrack so much to solve a puzzle. The solution was usually right there in the same room with me. I also liked the cell phone aspect of the game. You can use Harry's cell phone to call numbers you find or take pictures. It also supplies you with a map. It is a lifesaver if for some reason you are stuck on a puzzle. You could call numbers you found on the wall or papers or listen to voicemails you got on your phone which would mostly be big clues to the game. The map was good too for the Nightmare stages where you can easily start runnin around in circles and get lost. Overall I would rate the entire game a 7.5 or an 8 here. If you are true Silent Hill fan and appreciate the wonderful stories they tell then I would reccomend this game for you. If you are looking for a game where you get to shoot or stab enemies and don't care about story then you will be severly disappointed over this game. I am not disappointed by this game really. The only thing that was irritating like I said was the Nightmare stages. Not my favorite. I did find myself enjoying the exploring the dark hallways and streets more then the Nightmare stages. So if you love exploring and puzzles more than fighting and action this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/10
churroman13
it was my first silent and I thought it was a really good game. I have played other silent hill games and i though this one was better because it used the advantages of the wii. everything was great except the lack of combat. the storyline was interesting and had a lot of twists. four different endings gave it an even greater storyline. the sounds and graphics were flawless and creepy. it had a lot of challenges due to the confusing puzzles and being unable to defend yourself from enemies. it was not too long or too short. the controls are slightly difficult to use at some points or it was just me or my wii. the AI was outstanding. the camera view was just right. it was full of scares. I am a big fan of horror games and i recommend this game to all horror game fans.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Awesome, but not for everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/10
DGG12
As you can see from a majority of the other reviews posted on this site, a lot of people are not enjoying this game due to its spin from the original ideas that Silent Hill carried. This new game has moved away entirely from combat (yes, there's no bosses) making it mostly a puzzle game. Once the player has gotten over that fact (which obviously, a lot of review writers haven't), I feel that it is the coolest direction that they could have taken Silent Hill. Not wanting to ruin the plot, I will just explain that the game relies a lot more on the psychological side of the person, including sections where a psychiatrist examines your responses to questions, which actually affects the visuals throughout the game. Things like what his house looks like, the colors of people's clothes, and even people's responses and actions towards harry change as you answer things differently in the psychologist's questioning, making the replay of this game NEVER old. The psychological direction that is being taken in these games is cool, not relying on the jump scares as much as the pressure of suspense. Pros/Cons Challenge - The game is not hard. There isn't a way to increase the difficulty of your puzzles, and the only challenging parts are the nightmare sequences - where you run from enemies the whole time. However, it makes a nice recovery, considering that most replay is merely going after the other endings, and not for a huge challenge. Graphics - I was THOROUGHLY impressed with how good the graphics were, especially for a Wii game. If it was an XBox or PS3 game, the graphics would be better, and I'd have been happier, but it was amazing for the Wii. Length - Again, its not very long, taking me an evening of 4 hours to beat. But the replayability of the game makes up for how long it is. I mean, do you really want a 20 hour game to get all the endings? There's a good 4-5 different endings Storyline - Silent Hill took a new direction. No more cult, all psychological thriller. But this ISN'T a bad thing. Even as a long time silent hill fan, I LOVED the plot, and the multiple combinations of endings make me want to go back for more. Overall, the plot is what carried this game. Controls - A little clunky at times, and the puzzles try to utilize the Wii remote functions. I don't think it was necessary, but it was still pretty neat. The controls added a cool aspect to a game that was primarily on Playstation controllers for years. It spices things up. Interface - Other than a lack of health bar, the interface was nice. It is simple, and relies mostly on the cellphone, which you pull up with the (-) button on the remote. From the cell, you can see the map, call people, take pictures and access some settings. It is a neat little add on to the game. Sound - Again, blown away. The music is great and adds tension. The other cool thing is that the remote acts as your cell phone. Make sure you have volume up on your remote, since all the cell phone calls come in through the remote's speaker, making you lift the speaker to your ear (my little brother was laughing at me for that). Overall, This game is awesome. Some Silent Hill fans will be distraught over the lack of a cult, no more lead pipe and handgun, and no more staring at red sheets of paper to save. It's a neat reboot of the series, and it deserves more credit than people give it. I really hope that future silent hill goes more into this stuff. AND, if you really want that cult stuff, play Resident Evil... They seem to be going more into that kind of story now.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
One of the best Silent Hill games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/10
SHFan
Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a unique,chilling, experience. This game is a horror/exploration game, not meant to just be ran through. You must look everywhere and do everything possible, not because the game demands it but the story does. The game can be rushed through in under 5 hours, getting down to around 3 if your know what your doing, but the way you play this game is part of the experience. As you follow Harry through this adventure the game will learn and change the world around him. Which make it almost absolutely necessary you play through this game twice or three times to get the full experience, you will be astounded at how much of the game can be different. The controls are amazing, this game was truly made to work on the wii-mote. Sometime while in a nightmare and being attacked by the shrieks can cause so much panic one can flail the wii-mote around and have little success, it takes concentration and obvious actions rather than the fastest most brutal ones possible. This game shows the true graphics capabilities of the Wii, absolutely gorgeous, the pictures do not do justice. The major complaint are the shadows which seem to have a body of their own, a touch which can add to the creepiness, if a slight pull from the realism. While not insanely challenging, and you cannot die, there is an aspect of understanding you have to pull from each scene, a challenge in itself. Additionally the nightmare sequences are meant to be confusing, requiring you to quickly get a grasp of where your going and remembering where you've gone, though it's not uncommon for you to get lost and go in circles until you try something new or pay attention. Overall this is a great game requiring a more unique play-style of thinking and exploration rather than a quick bolt through, additionally it is almost necessary for you to play two or three times (easily adding to the length of the game, but having enough of a difference in each play to keep your interest). This game is for those who loved Silent Hill 2, but less so for those who enjoyed the fighters of the series (The Room and Homecoming), and it's for anyone who enjoys creepy atmosphere and true psychological horror.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
What's going on with that radio?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
The Dog
As a fan of Silent Hill, I dont want to be too critical about Shattered Memories. Like the two titles before it, it has it's pros and cons. First pro: the atmosphere is much more inspiring than the last installment and the story came close to recreating a feeling of dread that's similair to the original. The con to that point is that if you've been a fan since it's original release, you may be extremely disappointed with the new direction as it completely avoids the idea of a cult, the town's myth about a god and variety of demons reflecting the character. The biggest let down in Shattered Memories is how extremely short it is. Unless you struggle to find your way through the nightmares, you can expect a game length of about 2 or 3 hours. There is a good re-play value to it however if you're eager about seeing the multiple endings and changes that occur each new game. I admire the effort to create a new horror experience in gaming but I dont believe it should've been used in a Silent Hill title because it watered-down the experience more than anything. Silent Hill has always been known for its depth in story line, challenging puzzles, variety of monsters and mysterious atmosphere that left more questions than answers for a player, forcing him/her to use their imagination to create their own theories. I dont feel that Shattered Memories was loyal to anything from the original Silent Hill concept that made it unique in the first place but it's a great add-on for those who are still loyal to the franchise either way.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Not the best game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/10
Britters
I was not a big fan of this game at all. I felt that the length was far to short as I was able to clear it in less than five hours. The puzzles were far to simple for my taste and I didnt have trouble solving any of them. However the storyline was very interesting and was one of the only things that kept my interest. The only other thing that I thought was interesting about this game was that everytime you play through something changes. Other than those two things this game was a huge disapointment for me. I mean come on you cant even try to kill any of the monsters, you just run away from them the whole time. There arent any weapons to be aquired or anything just a flare and some objects you can knock down to hinder the progress of the monsters pursueing you. Another disapointmet for me was that it was not a scary game at all, on any level. I mean Ive played Silent Hill games before and they scare the crap out of me and this one didnt even make me jump once. I can see the interest for some players but this game just wasnt for me and I would not recommend it to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Short, But awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
James Walsh
I got Silent Hill: Shattered Memories for Christmas. Sense then I've ran through it three times, each time I ran through it something was different. For example: Whenever you get to the gym at the school and you meet Michelle, She'll be wearing a dress. Each time I played through, she had a different dress. First play through she had a Red dress, second she had a pink one, third time, it was a brown/grey dress. As stated above this game is quite short, I can clear it in about six hours. The replay value for this game is amazing, everything you can do will alter something. Random example, If you focus on things which could be referred to as 'Perverted' your monsters may appear a bit more "Phallic". The user interface is pretty awesome, the cell phone idea is great, pull up the phone with - cycle the menu's with the control pad on the Wii-mote. The features are as follows: Camera, Phone Book, Gallery, Messages, Dial, Save Game, Map, Settings and one other option which I can't recall right now. All of the sound effects from Harry Mason's cell phone come from the Wii Remote's built in speaker. (Unless you set it to come from the TV). At first the nightmare sequences may be a little bit hard as well as the puzzles but as soon as you get used to them it's an amazing experience. Overall, without spoiling the story (Which is great by the way, a few twists here and there) Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is a great game. I give Silent Hill: Shattered Memories a 10/10. Summing it up in a few words, Short, But Awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Worth playing just for the story line
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/09
iam4pe
It took a little while for this game to get going, but it has a great story! The game could've been improved with some more consistent challenges. The most challenging parts were the chase scenes with long bouts of exploring in between. Exploring was fun, but if you're looking for constant battle, this isn't it. The graphics/animation were great! I wasn't satisfied with the length primarily because the replay value is terrible. Even though the story line changes slightly so much of the rest is the same that you just don't want to do it again because of the lack of action in between the chase scenes. The storyline is great though! The controls are good except in the chase scenes they take some getting used to; for example, it tells you to just swing them off but it isn't responsive to the left. The sound was great except during the chase scenes. An annoying, high-pitched, tinny sound shrieks through the wiimote. Dreadful. The $** price tag is a bit steep considering the replay value is null; however, I'd do it again because it is worth the trade-in value difference.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
AMAZING game, with a few let downs
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/09
Linkfreak
I've been waiting for the newest installment in the Silent Hill series sense July whe I heard of it. It was positively amazing, but there were a few let downs. The challenge on the game was very good. It wasn't extremely hard but no push over either. The no-combat style really adds to the challenge in that you have to run around dodging the...well the one enemy you encounter in the whole game. Graphics were by far some of the greatest I've seen on the Wii to date. They really add ambience to the game. The few places you come across where the sun is shining really makes you feel like nothing is going on and you're taking a care-free stroll through the snow. but come the freezing over and screaming, and it really creeps you out. Not horribly terrifying though. The freezing over of things just doesn't give the same horror feel as something run down and falling apart and the enemy you encounter, while scary at first, becomes really repetitive later on because of the very minor aesthetic changes such as a few boils on them later in the game. Now we come to my biggest problem to the game; the length. The game is by far way too short with a capital W-A-Y. I had friends come over to celebrate the arrival of this game and it was over before we got sleepy. I went through this game in about 6 and a half hours. When the credits came up, I truly couldn't believe it was the ending. the storyline was a tad confusing. I managed to follow it, but with great effort. Make sure you don't have friends laughing about how the game scared them while playing it cus you won't understand a thing. Trust me. The controls are really responsive. I have nothing but good things to say about them except that there were some instances while running a nightmare sequence were I meant to dodge a creature and Harry starts walking calmly sideways. The flashlight was very responsive and most of the running and walking were on point. I really thought the way they took advantage of the Wiimote as a phone and alert system to creatures and memories was pure genius! Thumbs up that this didn't turn out like other horror games I've played. The overall interface of the game was great. 1 point off for one tiny thing I didn't like. The cell phone. Generally it was pretty smooth and I enjoyed calling random numbers but the problem I had was checking my map while in the nightmare sequence. You get lost rather quickly during those and you need to check your map. Harry puts it away a little too slowly sense he has to back track to the main menu before he can put it away. but other than that, the menus and the way everything is stored and clearly marked in your phone is a thumbs up. The soundtrack for this game is positively stunning. Very ambient and calm or bone chilling when the need arises. I truly regret not pre-ordering the game to get the soundtrack cd. It was very well put together and adds greatly to the overall gaming experience. Overall, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the best game for the Wii out to date. It deserves your time. It would gain a perfect 10 out of 10 from me if it wasn't for the fact of the game length. That was a big let down. For the full game price they're charging, I wouldn't recommend buying it. Maybe later if it gets a price reduction. If you don't mind short and sweet games though, head to Gamestop now and demand this game. Go on. You know you want to.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Good, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/09
gingerfishlover280
...Not a very good Silent Hill game. It does incorporate the Wii features very well, but lacks the Silent Hill feel. I also don't think you can call it a reimagining of the first one. All they really have in common are the chracter names. The story line differs a bit. Taking out the combat was a bit of a risky move, especially with only one enemy. It makes it seem like a Pyramid Head monster all over again, except he screams like a girl and gets really annoying. The pros is the use of the Wii remote as a cell phone and a camera. The psychology thing was pretty cool too. The graphics are beautiful and Akira Yamaoka has once again amazed us with the soundtrack. The cons are the lack of variety in the enemies, the Otherworld is just not scary, the game could be beaten in 4-5 hours, the puzzles are simple, and is it just me, or is the map on the phone a real pain? This is the best horror game out there for the Wii, but I wouldn't quite deem it worthy of the Silent Hill title.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Good Lord.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/09
Reunech
Buy this game. Do NOT listen to hecklers, they OBVIOUSLY have no idea what they're talking about here. The game is superb. Don't come into this game thinking that just because it's silent hill on the Wii that they filled it full of references to old games. Oyramid head is not in this game. He shouldn't be in this game. It wouldn't make any sense. That being said: the game is a psychological thriller. It REALLY gets into your head and messes with yout brain. You will be frightened, and if you take the time to appreciate the symbolism and meaning in all the gameplay after you're done...you will be chilled to the bone. It's a fantastic game, this is a Silent Hill that will take the series out of it's recent downward spiral. The sights, sounds and sequences all come together to truly bring you an exhilarating experience. I cannot make that clear enough. You truly need to play it to appreciate it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Mother of Re-invention
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/09
Nerg@nog
This title is spectacular. Those familiar with Silent Hill will immediately note that this game has taken the series in a completely new direction, one that should be applauded. This game, unlike past titles, offers no weapons to defend yourself, making encounters with enemies very tense. This game is not so much a resident evil type survival horror, but more like a well developed choose your own adventure novel. The game is fairly linear, but has branching story arcs and elements based on decisions you make. Its not just your choices that effect the game, but the way you play the game itself effects different aspects of the characters you meet and the places you go. The profiling system that the game utilizes effects the game, and the way you play it. Being constantly aware that the game is profiling you leads to the player making choices and playing the game in an entirely different way than one might had they not been aware of this fact. It almost feels as if the game itself is watching you. The graphics of this game are also very nice, the classic flashlight has never looked better nor been more responsive. This mechanic adds tons of ambiance to an already very moody game. The story is twisted and keeps the player guessing, while intrigue is built through an ever more confusing scenario. One of the best stories in the series. For those looking to play a rehash of previous Silent Hill games, they will be sorely disappointed. Climax studios has reinvented the way this type of game is played. With some bold choices in game play, excellent voice acting, and very atmospheric graphics, Climax has done this series justice. This game is a must play for anyone who loves a good psychological thriller, or for those who just love a good scare.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>