GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories

The story follows Harry Mason, who wakes up after a car accident to find that his daughter Cheryl is missing. Harry will wander the snowy streets of Silent Hill searching for answers of her disappearance, but when the world freezes over, he will need to escape the lumbering demons that haunt his steps. Harry will need to navigate both worlds to discover the truth; not just about his missing daughter, but also the type of person he actually is.Silent Hill's debut on the Nintendo Wii makes the fear more real than ever before. Players will be drawn into the mysterious town using the Wii Remote as a flashlight and a cellphone as they search for clues. Choices they make will shape Harry Mason, as well as the people he meets and the places he visits. The enemies evolve as well, taking the form of the player's deepest fears. Silent Hill promises to be more terrifying than ever, also bringing the fear to PS2 and PSP.
Average Customer Rating:
8.261
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 2383%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Review 1 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Good, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/09
gingerfishlover280
...Not a very good Silent Hill game. It does incorporate the Wii features very well, but lacks the Silent Hill feel. I also don't think you can call it a reimagining of the first one. All they really have in common are the chracter names. The story line differs a bit. Taking out the combat was a bit of a risky move, especially with only one enemy. It makes it seem like a Pyramid Head monster all over again, except he screams like a girl and gets really annoying. The pros is the use of the Wii remote as a cell phone and a camera. The psychology thing was pretty cool too. The graphics are beautiful and Akira Yamaoka has once again amazed us with the soundtrack. The cons are the lack of variety in the enemies, the Otherworld is just not scary, the game could be beaten in 4-5 hours, the puzzles are simple, and is it just me, or is the map on the phone a real pain? This is the best horror game out there for the Wii, but I wouldn't quite deem it worthy of the Silent Hill title.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Biggest SH fan here
Posted on:10/7/09
tevil
First my thoughts went "oh maaaaaaaaaan no combat" but then I sat and thought back to the times me and my buddy played through all the games, looked at each other and said "why are there so many weapons in Silent hill? Whos leaving these guns around?!?!?!" well the stealth in the game is going to bring an aspect of realism to the fact that these monsters are undead beast so shooting, hitting them, and stabbing them wont be much use. This is also something never quite explained in the first series... HOW ARE WE KILLING THE DEAD! But i always attributed it to the mystery of silent hill. So really the non combat is going to be a refreshing new step in a direction often questioned by many. Now the possible negatives. I am hoping they don't mess with the original story too much. In honesty the changes in the story are what killed the movie for hard fans. Harry went from driving through to living in the town (unless this is part of the mystery?). I will definitely be playing it but lets hope for the best
Review 3 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Nightmares! : O
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
Timothy85
Location: Findlay, Oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been a long time silent hill fan, i've never had nightmares from any game before.. but after reading that psychology warning, silent hill somehow wound up scaring me beyond my wildest thoughts. no, but seriously, i can't seem to bring myself to play it if i'm alone and i think possibly the fact that i can't fight back in the game. the only option i have is run. kinda makes it more realistic in the fact that if it were to REALLY happen, no one in their right mind would try to stand their and fight these beasts/creatures like they're some superhero crime fighter. I'D RUN FOR MY LIFE as well. lets just say for those who havent played it, if you play it at night, fully dark room, surround sound, and you first encounter the 'evil'.. it lets you run from them and it says 'press this to look beind you' .. i was thinking to myself, "no .. no thanks, i dont want to see whats chasing me down this dark ally i'd much rather just get away" then.. soon after i had to stop playing it.. anyways, i'm extreamly pleased with what Wii has done with the silent hill story/saga yet i too wish i could some way 'fend' for my life.. like a wooden board or pipe or something.. guns are a little much for dream world perhaps, but we will see what happens next time they put a game out : ) i know i'll buy it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Get ready for an psychological roller-coaster ride!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/10
Natalia Lianne
At first, I was wondering whether this game would be worth it, and dear, it was just amazing. Most games this days are just shoot, kill, move along. This game has a more psychological aspect to it; which not only relies on your ability to pass the game, but your decisions affect the game directly. Although it is not a canon game, you cannot help but wonder if it was as it is very closely related to the previous Silent Hill titles. The endings are still varied depending on your gaming, but the ending twist will leave you wondering long after. The soundtrack is amazing as always, Akira and Mary really did an explendid job bringing more emotion to this game. Although there are times were the Wii control is difficult to respond, it closely matches what one would do in real life, another reason this is a more psychological game than just an action one. Definately worth it, you will not be dissapointed:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Not the best game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/10
Britters
I was not a big fan of this game at all. I felt that the length was far to short as I was able to clear it in less than five hours. The puzzles were far to simple for my taste and I didnt have trouble solving any of them. However the storyline was very interesting and was one of the only things that kept my interest. The only other thing that I thought was interesting about this game was that everytime you play through something changes. Other than those two things this game was a huge disapointment for me. I mean come on you cant even try to kill any of the monsters, you just run away from them the whole time. There arent any weapons to be aquired or anything just a flare and some objects you can knock down to hinder the progress of the monsters pursueing you. Another disapointmet for me was that it was not a scary game at all, on any level. I mean Ive played Silent Hill games before and they scare the crap out of me and this one didnt even make me jump once. I can see the interest for some players but this game just wasnt for me and I would not recommend it to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Best Silent Hill game since 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/10
VidyaLady
I've been a die hard Silent Hill fan since the first game, and I'll be honest- when I first heard about this game, I expected to be disappointed. People called it a remake of the first, it wasn't made by the original team, and [no offense, wii fans] it was for the wii. I didn't expect much, especially after the "meh" feeling that Origins and Homecoming left me with. I was completely wrong. Playing this game was the biggest and best surprise I could have ever hoped for. The story was amazing, not a remake, but a "re-imagining"--and they pulled it off perfectly. It was involving, the graphics were amazing for a wii game, the voice acting was great [almost too good for silent hill, honestly], and the controls were perfect. I've never done too well with the wii's motion controls but the movements required came very naturally to me. And above all of that-- the story. I cannot say enough good things about this story. It's really intricate and psychological, and--aside from giving amazing insight into the series' characters in a new way--it's very personal. The psychological profile changes your game. The things that you look at change your game. The specific buildings that you enter change your game. It's about 5-6 hours long, which sounds short, but it has 6 different endings overall [the last two are REALLY hard to find, but worth it] and it is totally worth it to play over and over again just to find out more details about the story. The AMAZING story. If you love silent hill, and you wonder what Harry and Cheryl would have been like portrayed in a different light, or if you just like psychological stories....better yet, if you like good games-Go out and buy this. Now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Worth playing just for the story line
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/09
iam4pe
It took a little while for this game to get going, but it has a great story! The game could've been improved with some more consistent challenges. The most challenging parts were the chase scenes with long bouts of exploring in between. Exploring was fun, but if you're looking for constant battle, this isn't it. The graphics/animation were great! I wasn't satisfied with the length primarily because the replay value is terrible. Even though the story line changes slightly so much of the rest is the same that you just don't want to do it again because of the lack of action in between the chase scenes. The storyline is great though! The controls are good except in the chase scenes they take some getting used to; for example, it tells you to just swing them off but it isn't responsive to the left. The sound was great except during the chase scenes. An annoying, high-pitched, tinny sound shrieks through the wiimote. Dreadful. The $** price tag is a bit steep considering the replay value is null; however, I'd do it again because it is worth the trade-in value difference.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Awesome, but not for everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/10
DGG12
As you can see from a majority of the other reviews posted on this site, a lot of people are not enjoying this game due to its spin from the original ideas that Silent Hill carried. This new game has moved away entirely from combat (yes, there's no bosses) making it mostly a puzzle game. Once the player has gotten over that fact (which obviously, a lot of review writers haven't), I feel that it is the coolest direction that they could have taken Silent Hill. Not wanting to ruin the plot, I will just explain that the game relies a lot more on the psychological side of the person, including sections where a psychiatrist examines your responses to questions, which actually affects the visuals throughout the game. Things like what his house looks like, the colors of people's clothes, and even people's responses and actions towards harry change as you answer things differently in the psychologist's questioning, making the replay of this game NEVER old. The psychological direction that is being taken in these games is cool, not relying on the jump scares as much as the pressure of suspense. Pros/Cons Challenge - The game is not hard. There isn't a way to increase the difficulty of your puzzles, and the only challenging parts are the nightmare sequences - where you run from enemies the whole time. However, it makes a nice recovery, considering that most replay is merely going after the other endings, and not for a huge challenge. Graphics - I was THOROUGHLY impressed with how good the graphics were, especially for a Wii game. If it was an XBox or PS3 game, the graphics would be better, and I'd have been happier, but it was amazing for the Wii. Length - Again, its not very long, taking me an evening of 4 hours to beat. But the replayability of the game makes up for how long it is. I mean, do you really want a 20 hour game to get all the endings? There's a good 4-5 different endings Storyline - Silent Hill took a new direction. No more cult, all psychological thriller. But this ISN'T a bad thing. Even as a long time silent hill fan, I LOVED the plot, and the multiple combinations of endings make me want to go back for more. Overall, the plot is what carried this game. Controls - A little clunky at times, and the puzzles try to utilize the Wii remote functions. I don't think it was necessary, but it was still pretty neat. The controls added a cool aspect to a game that was primarily on Playstation controllers for years. It spices things up. Interface - Other than a lack of health bar, the interface was nice. It is simple, and relies mostly on the cellphone, which you pull up with the (-) button on the remote. From the cell, you can see the map, call people, take pictures and access some settings. It is a neat little add on to the game. Sound - Again, blown away. The music is great and adds tension. The other cool thing is that the remote acts as your cell phone. Make sure you have volume up on your remote, since all the cell phone calls come in through the remote's speaker, making you lift the speaker to your ear (my little brother was laughing at me for that). Overall, This game is awesome. Some Silent Hill fans will be distraught over the lack of a cult, no more lead pipe and handgun, and no more staring at red sheets of paper to save. It's a neat reboot of the series, and it deserves more credit than people give it. I really hope that future silent hill goes more into this stuff. AND, if you really want that cult stuff, play Resident Evil... They seem to be going more into that kind of story now.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Good Lord.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/09
Reunech
Buy this game. Do NOT listen to hecklers, they OBVIOUSLY have no idea what they're talking about here. The game is superb. Don't come into this game thinking that just because it's silent hill on the Wii that they filled it full of references to old games. Oyramid head is not in this game. He shouldn't be in this game. It wouldn't make any sense. That being said: the game is a psychological thriller. It REALLY gets into your head and messes with yout brain. You will be frightened, and if you take the time to appreciate the symbolism and meaning in all the gameplay after you're done...you will be chilled to the bone. It's a fantastic game, this is a Silent Hill that will take the series out of it's recent downward spiral. The sights, sounds and sequences all come together to truly bring you an exhilarating experience. I cannot make that clear enough. You truly need to play it to appreciate it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
I will say...this looks like a winner for the wii..
Posted on:8/7/09
joshua m.
I will say it..I'm a sucker for wii controls...and I'm a sucker for survival horror..and a sucker for Silent Hill. This game and along with the grudge are two games I am very looking forward for the wii. This game is a big re-imagining of the original silent hill and to people who hate the idea that it seems to be set in the present you gotta remember..its a remake with different aspects than the original. I personally think the idea of no combat will make it more challenging. Recently have been replaying the silent hill series as well as a very nice Silent Hill L4D campaign...And this looks like the best thing to come to the series yet..but I still need a silent hill game to replace SH4....I really need to break that in half and burn it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Scariest Yet?
Posted on:11/11/09
9802
First off, it's not a copy. The base premise (looking for your daughter) is the same but other then that it can be completely different. The game adapts to your darkest fears in an attempt to make you cry yourself to sleep in a well lit area. The game story is changed like, in the game your driving through, while the movie you live there, this one is a bit of both. The waitress/bartender/cop in the restaurant/bar/diner (depends on you) tells you that you live in town, after you walk into town from your car crash. Though I will miss the pipe (which would be helpful) it will be a rush running and hiding instead. There is a little bit of attacking but it's actually just defense moves that would stun even the creatures of silent hill. The phone helps draw the story more fluidly while still being... well... Silent Hill. I can't wait to get it and freak out for the next couple months...
Review 12 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Not Bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Moondo75
Location: TN
Though the game lacks combat (something i hadnt come to terms with until half way through the game, i was still worried that i overlooked a crow bar or something near the beginning), it is actually way more fun than i thought it was going to be. Very creepy, and a good story line. I like silent hill homecoming better though, because it is scarier and has combat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
One of the best Silent Hill games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/10
SHFan
Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a unique,chilling, experience. This game is a horror/exploration game, not meant to just be ran through. You must look everywhere and do everything possible, not because the game demands it but the story does. The game can be rushed through in under 5 hours, getting down to around 3 if your know what your doing, but the way you play this game is part of the experience. As you follow Harry through this adventure the game will learn and change the world around him. Which make it almost absolutely necessary you play through this game twice or three times to get the full experience, you will be astounded at how much of the game can be different. The controls are amazing, this game was truly made to work on the wii-mote. Sometime while in a nightmare and being attacked by the shrieks can cause so much panic one can flail the wii-mote around and have little success, it takes concentration and obvious actions rather than the fastest most brutal ones possible. This game shows the true graphics capabilities of the Wii, absolutely gorgeous, the pictures do not do justice. The major complaint are the shadows which seem to have a body of their own, a touch which can add to the creepiness, if a slight pull from the realism. While not insanely challenging, and you cannot die, there is an aspect of understanding you have to pull from each scene, a challenge in itself. Additionally the nightmare sequences are meant to be confusing, requiring you to quickly get a grasp of where your going and remembering where you've gone, though it's not uncommon for you to get lost and go in circles until you try something new or pay attention. Overall this is a great game requiring a more unique play-style of thinking and exploration rather than a quick bolt through, additionally it is almost necessary for you to play two or three times (easily adding to the length of the game, but having enough of a difference in each play to keep your interest). This game is for those who loved Silent Hill 2, but less so for those who enjoyed the fighters of the series (The Room and Homecoming), and it's for anyone who enjoys creepy atmosphere and true psychological horror.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
What's going on with that radio?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
The Dog
As a fan of Silent Hill, I dont want to be too critical about Shattered Memories. Like the two titles before it, it has it's pros and cons. First pro: the atmosphere is much more inspiring than the last installment and the story came close to recreating a feeling of dread that's similair to the original. The con to that point is that if you've been a fan since it's original release, you may be extremely disappointed with the new direction as it completely avoids the idea of a cult, the town's myth about a god and variety of demons reflecting the character. The biggest let down in Shattered Memories is how extremely short it is. Unless you struggle to find your way through the nightmares, you can expect a game length of about 2 or 3 hours. There is a good re-play value to it however if you're eager about seeing the multiple endings and changes that occur each new game. I admire the effort to create a new horror experience in gaming but I dont believe it should've been used in a Silent Hill title because it watered-down the experience more than anything. Silent Hill has always been known for its depth in story line, challenging puzzles, variety of monsters and mysterious atmosphere that left more questions than answers for a player, forcing him/her to use their imagination to create their own theories. I dont feel that Shattered Memories was loyal to anything from the original Silent Hill concept that made it unique in the first place but it's a great add-on for those who are still loyal to the franchise either way.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
A poor reimagineing effort
Posted on:7/4/09
TheZombieWithTheGasMask
I've ben a very big fan of the Silent Hill series sence the year 2000 and to be honest the last few games have been dredful. So as a fan i am going to say that this one will follow along that path of horrible and not horrifieing, already there are many flaws with this game. Seeing has the first Silent Hill game took place in 1987 i can't seem to understand why Harry now has a cell phone, and now that the stroyline is all messed up why does Heather in Silent Hill 3 use a payphone instead of a cell phone seeing has that game takes place in 2003. I know i'm complaining and what not but as a fan i have that right. i'll be preping myself for this one seeing has my little brother is going to buy it and force me to play it, has part of loseing a bet..My memories can't be shattered enought from this point on
Review 16 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
A Waste Of Time & Money!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/09
Familyguygrl
This game is horrible! I just bought it yesterday and I already beat it! Where do I start? The storyline is boring, its so predictable. The enemy is not scary at all and yes I said Enemy because there is only one enemy character in the whole game, it shows up multiple times but its not even remotely scary. What happened to the nurses? Or Pyramid Head? There is a hospital but no nurses!?! The no combat stinks but the game is so lame you wouldn't even need the combat anyways. And the characters you run into-I'm still confused about what they have to do with the storyline! This is one of those games where you go "that can't be the end" and then it is! The only thing that was in this game that reminded you it was Silent Hill was Toluca Lake! I have been a S.H. fan for years, but no more after this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Nervous Anticipation
Posted on:8/24/09
Toluca Lake Boat Rentals
I'm really being optimistic with this new Silent Hill, like I was for Homecoming. Homecoming was alright for what it was, and of course it wasn't as good as The Room but in my opinion Silent Hill 2 is the best and it probably always will be, but that's just my own opinion. If there isn't any combat in this game then I'm a little disappointed. It's going to be easy for this game to become just a Silent Hill mutation of PS2's Haunting Ground, and while Haunting Ground was great, it didn't hold a candle to the Silent Hills on PS2. I'm just hoping that this game isn't a huge disappointment although I'm a sucker for all Silent Hill and Wii controls, and I know I'll enjoy it at least to some extent even if the game does disappoint. Here's hoping that it will be all we hope and more!
Review 18 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/10
churroman13
it was my first silent and I thought it was a really good game. I have played other silent hill games and i though this one was better because it used the advantages of the wii. everything was great except the lack of combat. the storyline was interesting and had a lot of twists. four different endings gave it an even greater storyline. the sounds and graphics were flawless and creepy. it had a lot of challenges due to the confusing puzzles and being unable to defend yourself from enemies. it was not too long or too short. the controls are slightly difficult to use at some points or it was just me or my wii. the AI was outstanding. the camera view was just right. it was full of scares. I am a big fan of horror games and i recommend this game to all horror game fans.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/17/09
LightandDarkSoul
Now, I'm new to the Silent Hill franchise having only played Silent Hill 4: The Room. But I must say I can't wait to get this game. The graphics are amazing for the Wii platform, and I like the re-imagining of the first game. Many of my friends have told me about the first game back when it was released on the PlayStation. So I'm familiar with the storyline with gameplay videos and the movie. I've seen the demo for this game and I'm even more amazed that this game actually utilizes the Wii controls into the game. This will definitely be new experience for me. Also I must say I like the fact that you aren't able to fight back; only run and evade. This gives a more realistic situation in my opinion. I'm glad I pre-ordered this game, I'll definitely enjoy the music.
Review 20 for Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
I'm Definitely Going to Pre-Order
Posted on:6/18/09
ghostoftomjones
This version of Silent Hill for Wii is technically a copy of the original Silent Hill game for Playstation. However, the extra touches added to the gameplay, including using your Wii remote as a flashlight and your nunchuk as a radio are all too enticing. The story follows the same basic characters, Harry Mason and his daughter Cheryl. But one of the best things about this game by far is that the combat was taken out of the game. I think it's safe to say that the combat in Silent Hill games has never been very strong even at its best. To actually omit the combat from the game is a daring step, but I have a feeling that it will definitely add to the fear which is what Silent Hill is all about. I will definitely be pre-ordering this game. I'm actually very excited.
1 2 next>>