GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only

Living room legends will rock any way they want in Guitar Hero® 5. The entire set list is at your finger tips from the start, featuring genre-defining hits from some of the biggest rock artists and bands of all time, including The Rolling Stones, The White Stripes, Kings of Leon, Tom Petty, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Santana and Vampire Weekend. You will take complete control as Guitar Hero 5 allows you to personalize and customize how you experience music by being able to play with any in-game instrument combination -- multiple vocalists, guitarists, bassists and drummers, in any game mode. With the game's all-new Party Play Mode, getting the band back together has never been easier. You can now jump in or drop out of gameplay seamlessly, without interrupting their jam session. Elevating the Guitar Hero® series to new heights with unmatched social gameplay, an enhanced style, new in-game artists and more rock legends, Guitar Hero 5 features new surprises and challenges that will fire-up long-time fret board fanatics and create a new generation of addicts.
Average Customer Rating:
7.545
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
5
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 2268%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
All time favorite Guitar Hero
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
BMan17
Location: Edinboro, PA.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this one out of all the series! The tracks are all awesome. A mix of old skool and modern put together. You can even create your own rockstars. I recommend this game for any of you GH fans out there, or just hungry for some cool songs while gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Different, strange, blank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
FirstOption
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is weird. Has some good tracks, terrible, tracks, and covers just about every genre. The problem? No matter what genre you "usually" listen to or play this game becomes boring. It doesn't focus on any specific genre which in my own opinion hurts this game the most. Their are few people who listen to every genre, and most that buy a guitar hero game expect metal, hard rock, classic rock. This game tried to copy Rock Band it seems. Also the Career Mode is pretty boring. It's the same as the others. Play a song, play another song, play another song. Then eventually you beat the game. Plain and simple, this game will cover maybe 10-20 songs of your interest and after you get bored of those 10-20 songs, your done playing this game. If you like almost every genre, you may fit perfectly in this game. If your new to Guitar Hero, I suggest Warriors of Rock, Guitar Hero World Tour, or any of the 3 Rock Band games. As this may be the most disappointing of the series
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Mixed Up.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
MrNinja
This game has both the best and worst track list of any Guitar Hero game. I personally like to be able to play a good mix of classic and modern music that's fun and challenging. Most of the modern music in this game sucks and it gets way too hard, way too fast. The only reason this game is good is that all the music is unlocked from the start in Quickplay. That means that you can automatically play the 50% of songs that actually rock! The career mode is much better than in World Tour, by which I mean you get to choose single songs to play instead of groups. Also there are no Guitar Battles in career mode. I wish they had taken a hint from GH3 and made the songs all good whether they were easy or not.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
This is guitar hero 5!?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
TehFlame
Location: OH
ok,this game is NOT worth your money.Not the worst ive played,but not what I expected of Guitar Hero 5.The songs are OK but there isnt much of a selection.Its annoying and repetitive.After you finnish the campaign theres NOTHING to do!Not enertaining anymore.How could they mess up Guitar Hero?!They needed better songs,and better graphics.It seems they didnt finnish this game completely,and they needed to add more to it.Overall,the game is OK,but not really what I was hoping for.You CAN buy it if you want to see,but if you want a good guitar hero,try world tour or Guitar Hero III.Come on Activision you can do better!I'm disipointed in you! 3:
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Not Hardcore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/10
A Ultimately Dissatisfied Customer23
Okay, I know I may not speak for everyone, but for me personally, I enjoy playing hardcore metal/rock songs on Guitar Hero. No one wants to play some weak slow songs. They want to rock out by playing a nasty solo, or dirty riffs. Include Avenged Sevenfold, Bullet for my Valentine, Metallica, Van Halen, Disturbed, Slipknot, All That Remains, etc. If Guitar Hero does that, it will be an awesome game. I just cannot stress enough about how weak Guitar Hero is continuing to make their setlists. Its annoying me. They have some good tracks on here that would be acceptable on a hardcore game. Those include "Looks That Kill" by Motley Crue, and "Sweating Bullets" by Megadeth. Those are some bands that deserve to be on a Guitar Hero, as well as the groups I mentioned earlier. Look at Guitar Hero: Van Halen. That game is FILLED with hard songs with amazing solos. Metallica a little less hard but still a good game because of the genre. Please Guitar Hero: INCLUDE MORE HARDCORE SONGS.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Not bad, just a different song list
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/09
Karolisr18
Alright, I have 2 other guitar hero games, world tour and 3, and I basically know what kind of songs they put on there. This game is top notch, great graphics, and I like that you can complete challanges, but the only thing keeping this game from being the best guitar hero is the song list. Half of the artists I did not know, and the songs were not that good from them. I had about 15 songs that I liked and actually enjoyed playing from the 85, and this never happened from the other guitar hero games. But excluding that this game is very fun. I recommend it, just look over the song list first and see if you like the songs or not. The challanges, such as "whammy for 30 seconds in a song" I really enjoyed, they were like little achievements in the game and kept me playing until I got the best score.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Really enjoying this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/09
KaylaBradley
First off, I'm a huge fan of the GuitarHero franchise, so my review could be considered bias, but okay. I bought this game when it first came out and have really been enjoying it. I think the song catalog is the best they've come out with yet. No matter what instrument you favor, you're sure to find songs that are challenging and fun in this bunch. The career mode is a good bit better than it was in World Tour as well, with side challenges for each song on different instruments. I think the career could have been a little more interactive, but i'm not gripping because i'm really just into playing the music. I've heard people suggest that it should have been more like RockBand's career, but I don't think so. RockBand's career, while interactive, became so repetative that I just got bored and moved on. The level of customization of your rockers has improved tremendously as well. You have full control over must outfits and their colors, ect. Obviously, the highlighting note in this game is the party play. Personally, I think it is the most ingenious thing ever. My friends and I have been playing these guitar hero games at gatherings for awhile now and finally it has been made simple! Overall, I think it is a great game worth picking up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Great Game If You Want to Try A New Soundtrack To Your Life
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/09
Mr Poe
Guitar Hero 5 is a great game, though it does have its few setbacks. The story mode is simple, yet challenging. Instead of just playing a song and going to the next one, there a special challenges that can rise your star number from 5 to 8 or 9! These challenges are of a wide variety, including bass, drum, guitar, mic, and even band challenges that are avaiable from keeping a 4x multiplier, streak, or just the highest points! The graphics are nicely done for this game, with a more polished look than previous guitar heroes. There is also a new feature called party play, which allows you to play a song without failing and you or your friends can join in or drop out without even restarting the song! The sound quality is great, with a real surround feel to it. But now that i'm talking about sound, let's talk about... the soundtrack. Yes, i know everyone says it sucks. BUt think of it this way: there a great songs to listen to, but not to play to. sure, you might find great songs,, but not songs that are so fun, you want to play them again and again. In my opinion, half of those songs shouldn't even be in a guitar hero game. There is a huge range of variety from elton john to even children of bodom! Well, now let's talk about the multiplayer. there is a new option to play, rockfest(think of it as faceoff with more variety and fun) and the returning band vs. band. Offline multiplayer is a blast to play with, but online multiplayer..meh. The interface was a bit hard to get accustomed to. When choosing songs, it sucks that you have to be quick to choose a song because it's an every-man-for-himself battle where the fastest get to play their song. Hopefully the next game everyone gets an orderly turn. it also sucks that you pick the dificulty before you know what song your playing. oh, n a funny thing is that you can play with your avatars as well. Well hopefully this has helped you in buying this game or not. Generalwise guitar hero 5 is awesome and deserves a 9, but since the soundtrack is meh and not that fun(and the game is to have fun playing songs you enjoy) im afraid i will have to give it an 8.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Please read
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/09
0WN3D
Guitar Hero 5 is the fifth main installment in the Guitar Hero franchise. It bests any Guitar Hero game made before it in the fact that you can play as a band, friends can play as the same instrument, the graphics are phenomenal, and the setlist is enjoyable. In this case, quantity is quality, because each and every song on the game has been a hit at some point in time. For those wondering why the creators don't use more recently made songs that people have heard of, it's because people don't want to be playing Miley Cyrus, Taylor Swift, Hollywood Undead, or some other annoying "band." The creators listed what songs are in the game on the back of the box, and there's also a list on the GH5 page on this website, if you haven't heard of any of them, put the box back down or just forget about buying GH5. This game is for music fans, if you're not into real music, this game isn't for you. All of the bands/songs in the game are well known, and I've heard of each of them at least once (while only being a teenager), so for me, I love this game. It's fun to play and the songs are a giant step up from the other Guitar Hero games. I'll be playing GH5 for a while yet due to the mini challenges in each song. What a spectacular game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Who are they?!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/09
K1MB3R1Y
That's what I said when I read the artists to 95% of the songs. Guitar Hero games seem to be going further and further back in time with their music choices, my grandma knew alot of the songs and thats bad. There are alot of songs in this one but quantity doesn not equal quality. I like the whole avatar as your rocker thing but you can't customize either a new avatar or a regular rocker which is pretty lame as it is. I found myself falling asleep while playing this game rather then Guitar Hero 3 which was amazing. Overall it's an ok game not at all what I was expecting but it keep you busy for about an hour every now and then. My friend and I play it and together it makes it a bit more fun but still in my opinion the next game neds to have more modern songs in it and an amazing create-a-rocker/avatar editor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Music Geeks Welcome... All Others Run Away!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/09
Chewie6804
This is BY FAR the worst setlist in the Guitar Hero series since Guitar Hero 2. Why is it that music geeks are in charge of making the setlist for these games? I don't think there are 10 songs in the entire game that I'd listen to on my Ipod. In fact, I'm not sure I recognized more than 15 artists in the game. Also, it doesn't help that there are very few worthwhile songs to buy online. Even if you're able to find some songs online, they don't integrate them into the Career Mode at all. You'd think that they didn't even LOOK at Rock Band 2, see what worked for them, and putting at least SOME of it into this one. I'd go into the some of the positive aspects of this game, but why bother? The game might have a good interface and features, but there's no reason to play it the songs suck. I'm glad I got in on the free GH Van Halen offer. It's the only way I keep from cutting my own throat for buying this piece of crap. STAY AWAY!!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
A well put together title
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/09
OzCueball
Pros: Good, large set list to choose from. Graphics Drop in Drop out play Responsivness You can save and title playlists Cons: Interface is too similar to that of Rock Band Can't use created characters from World Tour (that one really steams me up) Challenge: To me it's just as challenging as the previous games. No harder nor easier. Graphics/Animation: Top notch in my opinion (especially since i'm playing on a basic ilo tv). A large step up from World Tour. The notes look crystalized and easier to see. Character Animations are just as good as previous games. Responsivness: Again no better or worse than World Tour or previous games. Respose is as expected. Sound: Perfect. Better if you have a surround sound system to play on. Controls: Really goes hand in hand with responsivness. Interface: Really one of the only complaints i have about the game. They really went for a more Rock Band interface than sticking with their own ideas. It'll take me a bit to get used to but i'll get it. Song Variety: It only took me a half hour to play the songs i'm already familiar with, but as i play more songs i enjoy more and more of the game. Verdict: 9/10 The game is just as good as World Tour. All of the songs sound great. The graphics somehow always seem to get better than the previous year's title. The savable playlists is a great feature cuase it's easy for me to forget which songs i like playing all the time. I would really like to be able to use my World Tour character i created, but thats a pritty picky feature to complain about.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
smurfyeah
 
Please wait while more information about smurfyeah is loaded.
Additional information about smurfyeah could not be loaded.
Posted 12/23/10
i had RB2 before any of the guitar hero games and then i bought gh5 and its amzing, theres songs and bands ive never heard of like "One Big Holiday" which is an amazing song i just bought warriors of rock and its not as good as 5 but its still alright and i want to buy RB3. i played RB2 the other day cause i havent played it in months and i played the hardest song on the game and didnt fail but on guitar hero i fail on the higher difficulty songs(yes i play on expert) so just sayin my pick is gh over rb
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Love This Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/09
XxXOne_with_xbox
I am a really big fan of Guitar Hero and when i heard about this game I was so excited. I also found out that it if you buy it on the month of september you would get GH VanHalen which is a good offer. The challenges were hard to understand at first but after a while I found them fun. The fact that you can have a band of avatars is just amazing and having the ability to crate a rockstar from the main menue is great than to rather create one during the carrer. The graphics are just simply amazing and the songs are great, as well the fact that some great artist are featured in it. I simply enjoy playing as Carlos Santana and also playing as Kurt Cobain. So now I must see you guys later and go play GH 5 the best in the series. P.S. Neversoft rules thank you for creating this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Not good. ...at all.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/09
Dandy Neville
Well, I might be bias because I am a major fan of the Rock Bands. I tried GH: World Tour when it came out and I wasn't exactly impressed, it did have good songs on it though. Then GH: 5 comes out and I purchased it. Man, talk about degressing, this game is a downward spirel. It seems that it was quickly thrown together and shipped out in order to give Rock Band: The Beatles a run for it's money. That's all. The songs are absolutely disgraceful. No effort was put into this game at all. If you like to sing, forget it. You hear the actual singer's voice and not yours, at all. The only thing that I thought I was kind of neat was at the start you could throw yourself directly into a song. But for me, sixty bucks to do that, not worth it. I highly recommend that if you think you might want this game, just keep walking. It is a complete waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 15 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Still the Same Problems....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/09
pribnasty
If you are looking for a "new" breakaway from Guitar Hero: World Tour, look further. I know you have no idea who I am or what I know, but I will let you all know that the problems that I personally complained about WT remained unchanged. I will start with some basics and work up. 1.) Song Selection: Good, at best. Although there is great diversity, my question remains this: "Why choose some of the most obscure tracks by some of the biggest artists? Or, better yet, why choose some very Obscure artists at the expense of greater ones? Example: "All Along the Watchtower" by Bob Dylan. Great song, terrible version. Why not Jimi Hendrix, Dave Matthews, etc.? Playing the acoustic guitar part in a basic strum pattern = boring. Another example: Queens of the Stone Age. Play it and get back to me. 2.) New Features: I will give them credit for this. The new features of "Battles" with differing types such as "Elimination" make the competitive play much more exciting and "truthful" compared to its predecessors and the competition. 3.) Calibration: This was a pet peeve of mine. The calibration function is terrible. Regardless of any changes, first of all, the calibration menu resets the counter to zero, even if you don't want to change video or audio (maybe one or the other only). Then, if you want to adjust video, even "tapping with the beat" doesn't cut it. It seems to round it out to some obscure number in ms (miliseconds) and, if you are really good, maybe even figure out what the latency is in ms. If you can tell just by looking what the difference between 11 ms and 12 ms, you are a much better person than I. When it comes to audio, there is no audio calibration. You can adjust by holding down the up/down strum bar to adjust it manually (again, in ms). So basically, there is no "tap to the noise" to get the best result for your TV/Audio System. 4.) Graphics. I do like the graphical updates, so the action is much more "real". There is one TERRIBLE part, however. The drums....The bass drum is a slightly broader Silver Line than the actual divider/fret marker is. This makes it visually unappealing and difficult with someone with poor vision to interpret. Why not orange? Why not pink? Flourescent Green, I don't know. Why the same color? 5.) Gameplay. Because of the poor design of the calibration mechanism, it has a direct effect on gameplay. The music will appear to be out of sync with your video and vice versa. During speedier parts/sections, the ability to stay "in rhythm" visually becomes awkward and then (at least I do) get out of sync and its over. Ugh. Overall, I would give it a 60% rating, simply because it is nothing new and the features I hated about World Tour remained unchanged.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Much Greater Than I Expected!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/09
Scott-O
Well first off I'm going to say I wasn't planning on Guitar Hero 5 to be much more of an improvement from GHWT besides new songs, venues, and new competitive game modes. Well I can say i was wrong. Now to get to the game. The sound and song variety are great mainly a few songs felt boring, but other than that its a great setlist, Graphics are great aswell as the challange, controls of course are great but why wouldn't they and the interface is great too. The menus are easy to navigate through unlike in GHWT. The famous musicians featured in the game like Kurt Cobain and Johnny Cash, look real. The online play is much better and to have 4 people playing on the same instruments is a great thing too. The new competitive modes are fun to play also. Another great thing is if you buy the game now you get GH Van Halen free. So even though you need to mail your receipt and redeem your owner id on the back of the game manuel and print a paper with a bar code and with that receipt and paper you also need to send in the sticker on the front package, than wait 6 to 8 weeks, its a great do for 2 games for the price of one. GH 5 is the best gh game in the series well since harmonix stopped making the gh games after 2. If you want a great music game that has been released this year, look no further than GH 5, its as great as either one of the Rock Band games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Finally!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/09
Gitarfreek
I've been waiting for so long for a game to come out like this. I know guitar hero world tour came out, but it wasn't that interesting! But when I found about this one, looked at the trailer, and it looked so great!!. The graphics, more special features, and better gameplay audio. The best part is that it comes with a limited time offer of a free Guitar Hero Van Halen(also coming out December 21st). This is totally worth buying a guitar hero game like this. Couldn't keep my eyes off of it, so I beat the whole game in 2 days. What a great game!!! I even bet that Dj Hero won't beat this game, because when people play guitar hero, they love the guitar playing, but know people are going to expect more guitar hero games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Not What I Expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/09
0WN3D
After playing GH: WT I felt let down, and I felt that Guitar Hero was losing its touch. When I heard about GH5 I wasn't very enthused, but I still preordered it because of the 2 for 1 deal. When I came home from school on the first I saw the bland boring game box sitting on the table, so as soon as I finished my homework I threw the game into my Xbox hoping for the best; and the best is what I got. The graphics are truly much better and nice to look at. The first thing I did was go to rock star creator. As I was looking around in it I noticed you could even create an avatar, whereas I thought you would just be able to use your own avatar. Also, my avatar was in the character selection section without me having to add it or anything, which was nice. In character creating, it feels like they decreased the amount of things you can do to your character, but the process goes by faster I guess. After creating my rock star I went to career, made my band name and logo, and went to play a song. What took me awhile to figure out are the challenges. There is a challenge for every song; they are for the bassist, guitarist, drummer, or/and vocalist to complete. Only one instrument is chosen to do it, unless it says it's for the whole band. I was under the impression that you needed two players to be able to do a challenge, but I was wrong, which was awesome. So if you're really good at playing all the instruments and you don't know anyone that is as good as you, you're able to do them by yourself, unless of course it's a band challenge. Okay, back to the graphics. The graphics are very good, they're definatly a step up from the previous games. It's much nicer to look at, however it may be a tad bit too shiny. The songs are excellent, I wasn't sure if I would like them but I'm impressed. I'm having fun playing classic, funky, rock, and metal songs. There's also an 11 minute classic song, but it just felt so right playing it that it didn't even matter it being classic. GH5 is also very much like Rock Band 2. Anything you can find in Rock Band 2 you can find in GH5 (i.e. instrument difficultiness, how many stars you're getting, and being able to gather star power while in star power). However the way Activision added in their own style, and in the end it came out very good. Also, the song creator is much better and easier to use. This is a must buy! There's no way you'll beat this game by renting it, there's just to much. Now I'm going to get back to playing GH5, thanks for reading!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Not What I Expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/09
0WN3D
After playing GH: WT I felt let down, and I felt that Guitar Hero was losing its touch. When I heard about GH5 I wasn't very enthused, but I still preordered it because of the 2 for 1 deal. When I came home from school on the first I saw the bland boring game box sitting on the table, so as soon as I finished my homework I threw the game into my Xbox hoping for the best; and the best is what I got. The graphics are truly much better and nice to look at. The first thing I did was go to rock star creator. As I was looking around in it I noticed you could even create an avatar, whereas I thought you would just be able to use your own avatar. Also, my avatar was in the character selection section without me having to add it or anything, which was nice. In character creating, it feels like they decreased the amount of things you can do to your character, but the process goes by faster I guess. After creating my rock star I went to career, made my band name and logo, and went to play a song. What took me awhile to figure out are the challenges. There is a challenge for every song; they are for the bassist, guitarist, drummer, or/and vocalist to complete. Only one instrument is chosen to do it, unless it says it's for the whole band. I was under the impression that you needed two players to be able to do a challenge, but I was wrong, which was awesome. So if you're really good at playing all the instruments and you don't know anyone that is as good as you, you're able to do them by yourself, unless of course it's a band challenge. Okay, back to the graphics. The graphics are very good, they're definatly a step up from the previous games. It's much nicer to look at, however it may be a tad bit too shiny. The songs are excellent, I wasn't sure if I would like them but I'm impressed. I'm having fun playing classic, funky, rock, and metal songs. There's also an 11 minute classic song, but it just felt so right playing it that it didn't even matter it being classic. GH5 is also very much like Rock Band 2. Anything you can find in Rock Band 2 you can find in GH5 (i.e. instrument difficultiness, how many stars you're getting, and being able to gather star power while in star power). However the way Activision added in their own style, and in the end it came out very good. Also, the song creator is much better and easier to use. This is a must buy! There's no way you'll beat this game by renting it, there's just to much. Now I'm going to get back to playing GH5, thanks for reading!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Guitar Hero 5 - Game Only
Almost like a Track Pack
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/09
No_Way
I was looking for this game to be the new Band Experience game that will redifine the franchise. No ! It's more like an improved World Tour with new song. New things like the playing a song right at the menu is a cool thing if you want to play a song fast just before going to work. I like the way to save band member. It's greatly improved. Many new Vs mode are really cool. The new animation after the song are nice. You can now play with your avatar. The drop-in and out is not an amazing feature but i'm pleased it's in. Some little challenges to do in each song in carrer mode. Negative things : -Sounds is really low, a little bit less than World Tour and certainly less than Rockband. (I mean, the sound is at 35 with GH5, 30 with GH:WT and 25 with RB) -The inferface of the menu. You don't see all your choice, you have to drop down -You can play some of your downloaded track from World Tour but you have to go on Xboxlive and patch them. Why they haven't put these patch on CD ?? -Selection of songs is good for everyone but not challenging (other than 1 or 2 songs). So this game is made for a larger audience and i can understand that but Expert is really easy. -It seem the note are smaller when played with 2 players than World Tour with 2 players ?? -The red background when you are going to lose is not very bright and if you are concentrated in the song you just don't see it (tested with 2 others players and they have the same comment) I haven't tryed the Mixjam or the Song Creator yet ! I recommend this game for some looking for new song or new to the game. For hardcore fans, sad but true, this is just not the challenge your are waiting for, or wait for good downloadable content before buying it !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>