GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Scribblenauts

Scribblenauts is a completely original gameplay experience that anyone and everyone can pick up and play. Developed by the innovative and creative minds that brought the world Drawn to Life, Scribblenauts takes handheld gaming to the next level.Using the Nintendo DS touch screen, help Maxwell reach the Starite by solving a series of puzzles ranging from easy to challenging. Catch the Starite by writing down any object you can think of and watch it come to life. Try another word and watch as a completely different scenario unfolds. With your stylus and imagination, the possibilities are endless... what will you write?
Average Customer Rating:
8.977
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
11
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 out of 4395%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scribblenauts
Review 1 for Scribblenauts
Almost Perfect!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/09
Teriyaaki =)
Awesome! Just plain awesome. The gameplay is really fun. You can pretty much type anything into the DS and the game will form that object directly into the game play. You will find similiar things in different form, for example, if you put "BOAT" it will come out a small sail boat and if you put "nao" (which I did not know it was a ship) it comes out this "Pirates of The Caribbean" looking ship. There are over 10,000 words, i think 22,000 words now that you can enter it. The puzzle are really fun and there are a lots to do! A total of 10 maps, each containing about 20-22 maps If i remember correctly, half are puzzle and the other half are action. When you first play, it makes you go through a small tutorial that will teach you everything. They are different avatars you can play, like alien, zombie, bride, pirate, robot, etc.. everything in the game you buy with "ollars" its money. You also buy the new maps with that so dont worry if you cant beat it and move on because you can buy them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Scribblenauts
Fun, but can get old if ur not careful
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
Bumble
Location: Herndon VA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was my first DS game ever and I was so excited because people kept telling me that it was gonna be great. I looked all over online to find a game I thought was going to be worth it, then I found this. Yes, it's fun, but challenging sometimes. When you start out, the levels are super easy and lotsa fun. But later on I'm so clueless on what to do and have to rely on the computer to get ideas for stratagies. So yes, I would recommend this. It has a guide on how to do it in the beginning which helps a lot. But there are some bad things bout this too. If you play it everyday, like me, it can get old super fast so don't do that! No matter how much you like it, it will get old. I's also kind of expensive for what it is. I'd look for some bargains and deals if I were you, used isn't enough. 27$ is too much for this game. Also, don't get all excited about the 200 levels thing.. because they're super short.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Scribblenauts
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/10
GamerReviews1713
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not surprised that this game has won over 30 medals. Including the best original game. It has unique game play unlike any other game. The object of the game is to complete the levels by typing in things. Or if you wanted to you could just stay at the main screen and free play (which i did most of the time). You don't have to be a hardcore gamer to play this game. I think this game suits all ages and personally it might be my favorite DS game. And if i were you i would pre-order the new one coming out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scribblenauts
Most original game of 2009
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/09
daxflame44
I have to say this game is definatley the most original game since Katamari Damaci. The developers should be proud of making the most fun and original ds game in a while, a good while. while the almost completely stylus controlled control scheme will frustrate you out of your god forsaken mind, you will enjoy the family freindly and intreaguingly creative puzzle design and surprisingly intense action levels. The concept is simple, insert word, bring word to life, solve puzzle/finish action stage. Theres a par limit, if you stay under par you get extra ollars(currency used to buy costumes, music tracks and new worlds) and merits. Merits are basically standard acheivements found in a 360 game or a trophy for you ps3 owners. Anyay, amazing game, I reccomend Scribblenauts 100% for any DS/DSI owner. I'd give it a DS/DSI game of the year award if I could.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scribblenauts
Scribblenauts; I'm having mixed feelings.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/10
pearpearthe14th
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got Scribblenauts for Christmas last year. And at first I thought it was great. Now, I really like the playground feature, but I don't really like the actual levels. Which is pretty bad, since that is kinda the point. Most of the levels are way too hard. And I find that instead of being "creative" with your words, I actually pretty much use the same items, such as "shovel" and "wings" all the time. But here's the good thing about it: it's absolutly awesome to play with friends. (Not much fun by yourself.) So I guess I would recomend this game if you are really smart and want to try and beat really hard levels. Or if you just want to goof around. Cause' it is actually really fun sometimes.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Scribblenauts
GREAT!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
charizardisme
Location: arvada, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is so awesome!!!! you play as this kid, who wants to collect these things called srarites, and you have to do all these task-like things to get them! there are ten levels, each with like, 30 puzzles. it can be hard at times, but if i got stuck i just looked up the answer on the computer or called my cousin. It's very addicting, and complex. However, I would not recommend this game to kids under the age of 10, it would be too hard for them. and the graphics looked like a kid drew them, but overall, it is AWSOME!!!!!!!! great game, i would get it if i were you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scribblenauts
Gets the wheels turning
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
mamaleon
I purchased this game for a kid turning seven. He's quite intelligent and likes to solve problems, and is a relatively new reader. This game is FANTASTIC for him. Trying to come up with impressive new ways to solve problems and unlock new scenes has been a lot of fun..... and we are all looking for turns with this game. The graphics are okay...mostly cute. The game is rated E10+, but younger kids that can read and are thinkers will definitely enjoy this game. I thank the salesperson that recommended it. We are all enjoying watching the words we type in come to life before our eyes! Very cool. Users imagination comes to life and the results are sometimes as we planned, and sometimes they are surprising. I am looking forward to learning how to create out own entries in the game and enter their capabilities (that is, if I understood the game's capabilities properly). Sounds like fun, and the possibilities would be endless.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scribblenauts
Great fun and teaches you to spell better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
pokeman4512
What I love about this game is that it's really fun, and it serves as a spelling tutor. My sister received this as a birthday gift and loves it. The only reason it's rated E10+ is because you can write anything (except proper nouns and adjectives). This is a great game for ALL ages, and a great spelling tutor.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Scribblenauts
Awesome game! Totally recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/09
Review Bob
This game is totally awesome! I recommend it to people who like to use their imagination. The graphics are not the best but the game play is awesome. A ton of objects can be used and the start screen lets you play around and experiment with objects you can use in the game. My favorite part in the game is the puzzle levels because your hints are more straight forward and they are fun and interesting. The only thing that is a bit hard about it is that it is all stylus based so if you don't like using the stylus it is not that fun. Another thing that is a bit bad about the game is that if your touch screen is not well calibrated it reads some letters really weird like if I put R it reads K and it kind of gets annoying after a while if you keep on using the paper but it is really fun after you get the hang of it. It is cool how you can write the letter and you can also just type it. I totally recommend this game to anyone who likes to imagine!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Scribblenauts
Well...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
...this is a great game. It utilizes the true power of your mind, in ways that, if you have not played this game, you probably don't even know exist. The graphics are cartoony goodness and the levels are incredibly varied. You can also, make your own custom levels. There are limits to what you can write: no person's names, or swear words, sorry to disappoint. No David Bowie fighting The Devil with a tommy gun for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scribblenauts
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/11
jzippy
Location: chitown
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is freakin weird it has all sorts of strange things to type in if u say gun u get a gun if u say nuke you get a nuke if u say god u get chocolate thunda and then god but all in all it is great for all gamers these types of games are usually for people with a very strong and exotic taste for games i would reccomend this game to every child in america i have a 4 yr old brother who likes to play this game while this game is strange and at times difficult it still teaches the young at the same time i wouldnt say hardcore gaming but its kind of like the lego games for xbox 360 you always have to think hard and open your mind to every possibility in my opinion for this game exceeding levels 1-2 there truly is no easy way out its think big or go open the object of each level is to find starites and capture them for a bonus its a game that very very very veyr very very smart people should play it is truly a game for everybody :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Scribblenauts
Exelent Game, A MUST buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/09
Ultimate_Ninja no Jutsu
This game has put my imagination to the edge and beyond. Over 220 challenges, 22802 words, and more. This game is addictive and fun. Sure the graphics are a bit childish but that makes it more fun. I have spent hours playing this game only to feel like I was playing for only minutes. This game is probably the MOST fun I have had in years! There has been so many times I just get lost in the game. I would recommend this game to ANYONE! Weather they are age 10 to 100. Scribblenauts has to be the best game of the decade. I recommend you play this game with your ds plugged in at all times. It is that much fun. It even allows me to do all the things that I have always wanted to do but were deemed too demented or crazy. Either knocking down bottles with a bazooka, or rescuing a cat from a tree by chasing it with a chainsaw. Turning grandma into a vampire or zombifying the president. AND THAT'S NOT EVEN IN THE GAME YET!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Scribblenauts
Best game for the DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/09
Disney Toon
This game was the best game I have had. All most anything you put in will most likely come up. The only thing I did not like was controls. I wish they had it where you could use the left, right, up, down keys. That would have mad it easier to contol. I highly recommed this to anyone. Of any size shape or age. This game was just out standing. Anyone with a good vocaulary would be good at this game. The graphics and animations was outstanding. The sound was very nice and had good quily. Also if you get this game it does not save. To save you must go back to the title screen and then it will save. The make your own game was easy to make but had one downfall. If you want to kill someone and get the star that way it wont happen. You must find the star or get passed them. I hope you get this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Scribblenauts
it is very creative a lot i love it soooo much.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
brookie
Location: minnesota mn
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
well it needs more stuff to type in like ankleasoarus it is a cool dino i love its my fav but it does not have it !!! :( well the game is very sweet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pearpearthe14th
 
Please wait while more information about pearpearthe14th is loaded.
Additional information about pearpearthe14th could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Huh?
Posted 10/17/10
What exactly is an ankleasoarus??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Scribblenauts
Scribblenauts
Posted on:9/1/09
Anonymous
Scribblenuats is a Puzzle Action game where you can litaraly right down andthing that isent copyrighted or tredmarkd like Mario and Mickey Mouse wont be in the game. the action levels are like you already see the starite (Witch are like the things you get when you beat the level) and you can youse anything to help you, in one of the action levels there is a starite stuck in a tree so you can youse anything like an axe, chainsaw, wood chipper, a ball to through it down, a ladder, Lumber Jack and an axe and many more then in the puzzle levels you have to do something to get the starrite. In one Puzzle level theres a Policemen, Baker, Docter, a fireman if i'm right and it sayz that give two of them what they would use in there hand so you could do anything like Tazer for the Policemen, Scalpole for the doctor, Garlic for the baker, and firehose for the fireman. Theres also a level creator where you can put down anything to go into your level and you can make like a bear afraid of grass or something and it has Wi-Fi and Local Wireless so you can send your freinds your levels.
Review 16 for Scribblenauts
Almost time!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:9/11/09
Walnut
This is the game i'm most anxious and excited about this year - forget ODST, or MW2, or any of those other big-name games. Scribblenauts. That's it, nothing else compares. Ever since I saw the hands-on demo for this on Xplay, I've practically been dreaming about this game 24/7. I was an early adopter of the Nintendo DS, and I have a grand total of THREE games for it...four i suppose if you count the metroid demo that came in-box, two of which i bought within two months of getting it. So for the past, oh, two years is it? My poor DS has been sitting in a drawer in my kitchen, utterly neglected. But it's savior has come in the form of an awesome little boy in a sweet red hat, ensuring months of play time with my dusty old hand held console. Tuesday cannot come soon enough, and I'm sure this game will be beyond all our expectations. Good luck thinking of what you'll write in first!
Review 17 for Scribblenauts
It is Excellent!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/10
Scribblenautfan
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is great, I think everyone should by it. It is a time killer, I passed it completely in about five months! The game play is pretty good. It is educational which is good for kids, and good for adults! When kids play this game, they are having fun and are learning at the same time! Puzzle levels, and action levels are in this game! Puzzle levels make you think, you have to do or write certain objects to pass puzzle levels. Action levels are easier, and the Starite, which is obtained to pass the level, is always visible somewhere in the level. The sound is very good. The only bad thing about the game is that the graphics are not very good at all. Although the graphics are bad, the game is still fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Scribblenauts
Long Lasting Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
LightningDuck
Location: St Louis, Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game a year ago and I still love it! The concept of writing anything you want (at least almost everything) is truly brilliant! Super Scribblenauts will be a hit to. There is soooo much good things about this game, I can barely write anything about it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Scribblenauts
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/09
WHYDOYOUCARE
This game was great. The music really matched the gameplay and it sounded really fun and playful. The controls were the worst part of the game. You click where you want him to go and some times it doesn't work like it will take a few clicks or he'll go to far and fall. The game does as it advertises and contains like a million words which can lead to some pretty epic battles. I had Abraham Lincoln with a mini gun fighting zombies. This game will entertain you for a long time. I played with the title screen for hours! the title screen is a giant sandbox mode where you can do anything. The game was quite challenging and some of the levels can take a very long time to beat. Overall I'd would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys creating things solving puzzles and making god fight cthulu. What are you doing still reading the review? Go get this game you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Scribblenauts
Possibilities almost endless.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/11
xXGamerTamerXx
Location: Alabama
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
A great game for anyone with a creative mind. The game challenges the intelligence of its player in many ways. There are multiple levels an even different versions of each level. Fun and definetley addicting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>