GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Demon's Souls

Beautiful, compelling, and at times unforgiving, Demon's Souls is the hardcore RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features define your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance the single-player game. Unprecedented in its depth and subtlety, peerless in its relentlessly challenging gameplay, Demon's Souls is the ultimate action RPG.
Average Customer Rating:
9.035
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (209 reviews)
10 stars
129
9 stars
40
8 stars
8
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
181 out of 20090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Demon's Souls
Review 1 for Demon's Souls
Best RPG Game on PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
Soulsssss
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me point out first I'm not a hard core gamer, I can never beat even Megaman, and Ninja Gaiden sigma is too hard for me. Demon's souls, however, is exceptional mind blowing game for me. The first time I heard about this game, about its difficulty, it absolutely would not be on my list. But I order it anyway, based mostly on reviews from people that have played it, and that was my best decicion.
Story
In DS, the people in different realms/worlds are corrupted by demonic souls, some looking for salvation, some worship corrupted “saint”. They want 1 thing, soul of the sane one and that’s you. When you kill them you collect their souls (currency and exp) and eventually fight against the archdemon. Most of NPCs still have their sanity, but barely, each have a story to tell, that will make up the plot for this game. If you are expecting something like Mass Effect or JRPGs in terms of story or dialogue this is not it. However, the game has a very dark and immersive atmosphere. It just sucks you in and makes you believe.
Combat
You can equip one-hand weapon, a shield on the off hand, or you can dual both weapons, or weild both hand on a weapon. You can roll, sprint, stepback during combat to chain up attack or dodge. Different weapon can be deal more or less damage to a pacticular enemy.
Online
Greatest and unique. If you loggin your PSN, you will be playing online. You can see white shadow of other players online playing their game. You can summon a blue(player) to help you, or become a blue help other to gain back you body. And yes, you have 2 forms, body with full HP, and soul with about half HP with more stealth. The interesting point is you can or can be invade other players’ game.
In conclution, Demon's Souls is one of the best games on PS3. It has a great atmosphere and addictive gameplay that makes you come back, even after you died for the tenth time in the same stage. Unfortunately it is not a game for the impatient. Just take a look at the cover art of the game. You see a lone, battered knight, who is about to give up. That's Demon's Souls for you. If you are willing to take the challenge, victory will be very satisfying.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Demon's Souls
how to give yourself a migraine
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
Awesome272
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Demon's Souls is a game that absolutely loves to punish you and the game kicks off its relentlessly unforgiving behavior as soon as you put the disc in the tray. But don't get me wrong despite its difficulty Demon's Souls does deliver, its story is interesting, the combat and gameplay are fluent and very responsive unless your like me and hit the heal button by accident every five minutes, and with a game like Demon's Souls wasting health is probably not the best way to progress. In my opinion Demon's Souls is a game that we can learn to appreciate, a game that drops you in an area with little no guidance, and half of your health expecting you to prove that you don't need a health bar is clearly a game that does not mess around considering the fact that most enemies take off half your health in a single hit, but I degrass. All in all if your looking for a game that asks you to bash your face into a brick wall till either you or the wall are still standing then Demon's Souls is perfect for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Demon's Souls
A hardcore knife in my face...the good kind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/10
Sjaelsosidhe
Location: Madison
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Demon's souls is by far one of the most rewarding games I have ever played. I can't remember the last time i stood up and threw my controller into the air knelt down and thanked God for what can only be described as a miracle the way i did after beating some of the bosses which proved to be a particular knife in my face (ie flamelurker). Yet, I believe one of the greatest achievements of this game is the versatility of the gameplay. Depending on the weapons you choose, you will have a completely different experience, and not only that, the drawbacks are realistic. I wouldn't be able to count the number of times i swore because i couldn't use my two handed sword in a tunnel. And while the gameplay is superb, the soundtrack could use some amplifying, although it does do its job in making for a very lonely experience. The graphics do an excellent job and overall Demon's souls was one of my favorite games ever, even though, at times, it nearly made me want to kill myself.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cam358
Hollister, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Cam358 is loaded.
Additional information about Cam358 could not be loaded.
Great Game
Posted 11/27/10
I can't believe this game is rated M. ESRB, you need to re-rate this game, NOW. But other than that, this game is still great.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Demon's Souls
Punishing, but rewarding!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
Qster
Location: Marysville, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Overall, Demon's Souls is a very hard, yet well made game. The game is especially difficult in the beginning, but with each death you learn from your mistakes. The story itself is of the kingdom of Boletaria being overrun by demon's that came after a thick fog rolled in, so you have to lull the Old One back to its slumber and save Boletaria. The story isn't very deep, but each level has its own very interesting story to tell. Once you get further in the game, you will get better armor and weapons and will most likely never want to put it down. Graphics and art style is very well done overall, but the frame rate does go down a bit during huge blasts of fire and explosions, but should be forgiven.
Pros: -Lots of replay value.
-Beautiful levels that tell their own story.
-Rewarding gameplay
-Lots of secrets to find
Cons: -Frame rate can get a bit choppy.
-Played-out quotes and campy dialogue.
-Sometimes annoying multiplayer.
-Harsh beginning.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Demon's Souls
One of those exciting skill grinding games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
CJG888
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To start off when i first played this game i got so frustrated. I mean i looked up gameplay vids and skill walkthrough before i bought it, but it just wasn't enough. Well after i took my time and patiently learned how to play, the game became more fun and easier. I mean there are people who use magic, and arrows to strategically beat the game. Well im a blood thirsty Temple Knight. You don't need to be a ranged guy to be good at the game. The top soul earner is a soldier with two big stone blades. The intense difficult gameplay is what makes gamers come back for more hunger for souls. Graphics are amazing compared to most rpgs. Music is amazing (funniest is 4-1's boss in my opinion.) Bosses hold a great challenge where you can either kill them by yourselves, or tear threw them with other soul hungry gamers. Well mostly this games is very difficult, but very fun. I only recommend this game for gamers who have the time and skill to beat this game with the class you choose to conquer with.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Demon's Souls
Too poorly designed to call great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/09
Jack'EmUpBaby!
In a nutshell, this game is too poorly designed to call great. No save points which means losing any items or souls gathered during the course of countless minutes of time invested, enemies respawn EVERY time a player dies, which means when death occurs, you go ALL the way back to the very beginning of whatever level in progress. And most enemies will CHASE you, so a player does not have the luxury or running around them. I cannot determine if the game is even worth continuing, granted it is good, but if it means doing nothing but the same things over and over, and maybe having to quit your job to get through it, it is probably not worth playing. The game lasts, but not in a good way, whoever designed it is either sadistic or stupid. The game is hell, the more I play, the more I realize it is probably a lost cause. I hope I continue playing, but it does not look likely. I never mind a challenge, like the old King's Field games, but this is shear nonsense, there is challenging and foolish.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Demon's Souls
Beautiful
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
panama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First thing I must cover is the challenge as this is not your average, forgiving RPG. This game comes from chewing you up, spitting you out and demanding you to come for round two! The ambiance and music is beautiful and sets the mood for each level perfectly with eerie melodies and creepy background noises making you go "what was that?!" Just when you think its safe to stop and give your inventroy a quick check you'll find another demon on top of you ready to kill you where you stand! The online play is verry nice and even adds slightly to the enviornment seeing phantoms of other players darting every which way, or finding the blood stain of an unfortunate adventurer acting as a way point and a warning. All in all a good game for those seeking any REAL challenge out of their games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Demon's Souls
Too frustrating...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/09
Manshoon
This is a great game with one big flaw, it's too difficult. I know everyone has already been saying that, but it's true. It's not just the fact that it's difficult, it's the way they make it difficult. You can easily be killed in one hit by a boss. I played it for 5 hours last night and got absolutely nowhere because this dragon kept breathing fire on me and killing me instantly. There were no clues or tips how to slay the dragon, or even slip past it. SO I ended up playing the first level over and over and over and over and over. All the enemies you've killed respawn!! Sure it gives you the chance to earn more souls, but it makes it take forever to get back and claim your body....all so you can be killed again in one hit by an invincible dragon. I'm getting very sick of this great game very quickly because I die so often and have to play the same darn thing over again. This could have been the game of the year, but it'll be mediocre instead of great because of the extreme frustration involved.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Demon's Souls
One of the best RPGs on the PS3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
Dorby5826and360
Location: Littlestown, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Demon's Souls is an action role playing game that is made for people who have a lot of patience and skill. The combat in Demon's Souls has a little bit of a learning curve, but once you get used to it it feels great. One aspect in Demon's Souls that was advertised a lot is that it is unforgiving. This is true, you will die and you will die a lot. The game rewards patience so when you battle a boss you could die, but if you do not give up you will receive items and souls that will help you immensely. When fight on the game you should not repeatedly attack the enemy because if you just button-mash you will lose your stanima quickly and not be able to block and in the long run, die. Timing you attacks and blocking constantly will help you get closer to victory. If you are a person who wants to play a video game just to help time go by this game is not for you. But if you are a person who is patient and likes a good challenge than play this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition
9.5 out of 10(27)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Demon's Souls
Another typical Atlus game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/09
GrateGamer
After hearing the Hype about the game i have seen that is basically that, hype. More of the usual its a great game cause everyone says its a great game mentality. PS3 now has its own Halo. The game controls are horridly bad, layout for things should be custamizable. The game is hard yes, but only because of poor choices on the implementation of things and systems that work poorly together. Targetting being numero uno. I have died So m,any times because i clicked R3 and targeted some guy to my left or right and far away while trying to lock onto some beastey in front of me chewing my arm off, stack that with the problem of targetting through a doorway and some levels are death traps making completing them more luck than any kind of skill. Then there is the alarmingly high rate of being killed by things in another room, i have had spells take me out when cast through walls, spears and arrows also have done this. Overall its a decent game like most Atlus ones, but a game that still needs Alot of work, like most Atlus games.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Demon's Souls
ANNOYING !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/09
SteveO2
Guess I am not a true hard core gamer!!! lol...this I accept...hey I am just an old guy with time on his hands...Hey but I am pretty darn good !!! I play the games mostly for fun and yeah the challenge has to be there to get that feeling of accomplishment right???? This is a good game...no doubt. Come prepared to be killed a billion times and starting over a billion times !!! You learn and predict and the game becomes easier each time...but your enemies become stronger ha ha. You have to find the best character that is good for you. The hunter was mine because he can be far range and close up. Patience is key!!!! leave the adrenaline at the door!!! Take some valium if you have to...you'll need it!!! ha ha Darn you also lose you life quickly when you take a hit!!!! I played it up to a point and have to trade it for Drake's fortune ha ha...My Dr told me my BP was high!!!...Demon Souls is hard on the controls too!!!!! Hey but I reccommend it to all my youger buddies.....I meant annoying in a good sense.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Demon's Souls
Perfect for those looking for a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/11
BonesJustice
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
---Gameplay--- Its a very strategic hack & slash game that requires patience, timing, and learning from your experiences. The difficulty can range from moderate to extremely hard. You will die in this game. Unfortunately, the more you die, the more difficult the game becomes. All enemies are capable of killing you but you are also capable of killing them. Its just that you may need to block or evade first and seperate enemies from the pack. Also, there are a lot of traps and times where you may have to fall to a lower platform without being able to see it. When you die, all your souls (money & experience) leave you and stay as a bloodstain where you died but you have only 1 chance to retrieve them. Also when you die, you go all the way back to the beginning of the level and all enemies respawn. Any doors or pathways you had open though will remain open. If your online, you can get help from others but you can also be invaded by other players at any time who will most likely try to kill you. On the positive side though, this game is all about rewarding you for the level of risk you take. Higher difficulty means higher reward. There are over a dozen bosses which are epic in battle. Each act/look very differently and you will feel a sense of huge accomplishment when you defeat each one. There is plenty of variety in combat so don't be afraid to play as the class of character you want to play as or change it up. Every class can equally get you through the game and yet play differently at the same time. ---Graphics--- The environments are large and well detailed. Each enviroment is pretty gloomy looking as if a nasty battle or slaughter had taken place there. There are many animations for each character/creature in the game that are all very fluent and look believable. ---Sound--- Epic music for an epic game. The music fits right in for each boss fight as well as each cinematic. The sounds from each action fit right and gives a greater sense of grasping you into each level of the game. ---Lasting Appeal--- Your first playthrough can take from 30-45 hours to complete and there endless playthroughs. The difficulty can frustrate some though too much and unmotivate them from ever beating the game so I only recommend for gamers who can handle high difficulty games. The narrative story at first is strong but seems missing in a lot of areas. To warn you, this is a necessary spoiler, but the ending is very short and disappointing compared the rest of the game. It is better you know that now before you experience it yourself. ---Overall--- It is a great game that really gives a sense of accomplishment the farther you get. The game feels very fresh with the way it is. ---My Advice--- I strictly recommend Demon's Souls for those looking for a challenge or can handle high difficulties. The game can be too difficult especially for casual or newer gamers. For those hardcore gamers, this is a buy. For those unsure, rent it. You will know within the first hour if Demon's Souls is for you or not. Anyone who liked Champions of Norrath, Baldur's Gate, or Diablo would love this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BonesJustice
New York
 
Please wait while more information about BonesJustice is loaded.
Additional information about BonesJustice could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
1 more thing...
Posted 2/16/11
Demon's Souls also auto-saves very frequently. Every time you pick up an item, change around your equipment, open a door, enter an area, die and so on, the game will auto-save. If you exit the game through the XMB menu as fast as possible as you die, you can avoid an auto-save but poor timing may lead to corrupted data. So basically every mistake you make is pretty much unreversable by reloading the data. Its great for starting off exactly where you left off when you load the game but will make you deal with any mistakes you have made. There is nothing that makes the game impossible to beat, just may make it more difficult.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Demon's Souls
A great game, if you like dying in games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
RobotSpider
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me preface by saying that I gave this game a good rating. I take nothing away from the masterful graphics and sound, or the in-game interface. I would recommend it to my hardcore gamer friends. I do, however, take issue with the fact that this is not a game for your everyday gamer. This game is geared, very specifically, to a group of hardcore gamers who love nothing more than to spend hours and hours, being killed only to respawn and try again... and again... until reaching the ultimate payoff of finally vanquishing your foe, only to be met with a much more difficult foe. It's unfair to say that the game is only for kids who are too young to have experienced any real life stress or that it's for gamers with a bit of an emotionally masochistic side, which were the thoughts I had while playing the game with great futility. My gaming experience was akin to picking up Black Ops a few months after release and thinking, "You know? I think I'll try my hand at multiplayer and see how good I am," only to have my brains painted on every nook and cranny of each multiplayer map which had been scrutinized and studied by each and every player that trained their sight on my n00b forehead. So I came to a very sobering conclusion. I'm just not that good at Demon Souls, or many other games, for that matter. I'm a dude in his 30's with a job, a mortgage, a wife and 2 dogs. Being good at a game doesn't carry the same weight it used to when I was a kid. Don't get me wrong. I still love games, and I'll still buy a metric ton of them. But I know my limits. And I'll just move aside for the hardcore folks to play through. More power to you. Have fun with this game. And bring tylenol.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheSpaniard
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about TheSpaniard is loaded.
Additional information about TheSpaniard could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
I wholeheartedly agree
Posted 9/30/11
I'm in the exact same boat as you. Late 20's, mortgage, wife kids...Games like these can be extremely satisfying...and extremely irritating. When your competition is mostly children with no jobs, failing grades and all the time in the world to invest into "pwning" everybody else who tries their luck at games like this, it kind of sucks the fun out of it all. It would be nice if the play field was even, but at our age, that would mean giving up all of our time, our jobs, and our relationships. To be blunt, you need to be quite a loser to be good at these games. The sad part is, i'm not even trying to be insulting...that's just how it is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Demon's Souls
Hard Core
Posted on:6/29/09
jack_black_91
I have been playing this game since the release in February and this game is BRUTAL. In fact, the tutorial during the beginning of the game it is inevitable that you will die, immediately after your death you'll be sent to the Nexus where you'll meet other people who have lost there bodies and are in soul form. This is where the adventure truly begins. And what an adventure it is, I've clocked over 60 hours just for the main story. You fight giant bosses that are the size of skyscrapers. The game is very unforgiving during the course of the play through you'll collect souls for demons you slay, the number of souls you get from each enemy varies. As you gather souls you can spend them to buy herbs, weapons, upgrades etc, when exploring if you die you lose all your souls and if you have your body you lose your body and start and the begging of the level and you are returned to your soul form. Overall I enjoy challenging games like this that take time to overcome the difficulty. Warning not for pampered gamers.
Review 15 for Demon's Souls
No One Saw it Coming
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
GpB217
Location: AK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
No commercials, no marketing & no surprise; Demon's Souls is by far the best game this generation. In order to conquer this hard, fun & satisfying adventure you'll need to leave notes warning other players, summon other players(up to 2/3 if you summon a invader) & look up boss fights on youtube as well as get help from your friends till you can hold your own. I platinum'd in this game & loved every second of it. I have about 170 hours of play & I still go about & rebeat it. PSN has been down so I beat a section or 2 every now & then, as well as play some other games I'm working on. I shouldn't have to say to much more, I mean come on now it's only $20 bucks - what've you got to lose/think of all you'd gain. A must buy & anyone who didn't give it a chance is a complete casual gamer who doesn't deserve to play such a fun game as well as it's spiritual successor, Dark Souls, which is out late this year in October.
 
My Product Recommendations
Dark Souls Collector’s Edition
9.4 out of 10(70)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Demon's Souls
This game is crazy hard, and crazy rewarding.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/10
Buckeye181
Location: Columbus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the hardest game I have ever played, and parts of it creeped me out more than any other game I have played. But after I got the hang of it, it became incredible. I have only beaten the game once through, but there is much more to do on my next playthrough. I will definitely pick it up again after giving it a breather. The challenges of Demon's Souls are intense and unforgiving, but I have never had a greater sense of satisfaction from defeating a boss than in playing this game. This game registers on an emotional level, and leaves a lasting mark. Plus, the online component is refreshing and polished. If you are looking for a real challenge, Demon's Souls is for you, and the rewards will be great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Demon's Souls
Great Game but Tough!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/09
Darkmage
This is an incredible game, but to say it is a challenge is an understatement. It's tough! I have played 5 hours already and have not beaten the first boss. The first challenge is that until you beat the first boss, you cannot go up a level and increase your skills, you get whatever skills/magic your character had when you created it. You can buy new arms/armor etc, but no character changes. Once you beat the first boss you find that Demon's Souls has the most unique system for raising your level and for buying equipment. There is no money system, souls are your currency, you use them for leveling, buying healing pots, new equipment, upgrades, repair, etc. So managing your souls is important. All in all this is a fantastic game, it is hard, frustrating and will make you angry, because dieing causes you to lose your souls, but that is the true charm of the game. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants an RPG that is not just mash the R1 button.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Demon's Souls
This is the game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/10
Greenfoodgames
This game is just flat out awsome!!!!!!!!!! I got it expecting an average game - I was wrong the game is awsome. You have many charecter classes to choose from and a bunch of weapons to choose from and customize. Armor may seem limited but when you get into the game you realize it's not so cheesy there actually is a fair selection with speed or just brute benefits. The game is not some super hard game - just unforgiving, like man do I really have to do all that all over and with less life now when they just jacked up the difficulty becaused I died. The game is not a breeze through game either it has some tough challenges but all can be overcome by any gamer who puts a resonable effort into it. Do not think about this game just get it, and the second playthrough will match the reputation but do not be scared off by this game because of some insane difficulty - it can be beat by anyone with resonable patience. This is a great game buy it and enjoy, the game is well done my only question - When can I play Demon's souls 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Demon's Souls
Really Good RPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
Cattmann
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You'll hear people saying that this is the hardest game that they've ever played I agree that it's difficult but its difficulty is more bark then bite. You'll run into extremely creative bosses great landscapes and weapons, and you'll probably become head over heels addicted to it if you stick with it. I will say I died a lot of times while playing this game though none of those deaths happened to anger me (With the exception of being knocked of a bridge or something like that). The hardest part of this game is the begining. You can be slaughtered while trying to find a way to beat a certain boss. Although usually after being killed once or twice you'll know what to do by instinct. I'll finish the review by saying Demon Souls was the best RPG since Oblivion and it definitly was one of the most rewarding gaming experiances ever. If you think your up to the challenge go ahead and try it you might just end up finding one of the best games of your life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Demon's Souls
Unfortunate Death
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/09
Pirra
Initially I've read lots of reviews about this game and most if not all recommended this game, so I picked it up. I can't really call myself an extreme avid gamer but I do put alot of time into playing video games. This game is unbelievably hard and I mean hard. The challenge in the game is simply amazing, you have to watch out every step of the game because you might get killed by a pack of wolves behind a corner. It gets frustrating when you are almost done with the level and something kills you out of nowhere. This means rerunning the entire level to the spot you ded to reclaim the souls; if ou die alng the way to the blood stain, you lose everything. When you finally complete the game, if you can, feeling of completion is much greater than any other game I've played before. This game requires time and many deaths, so get used to dying and make it part ofyour gameplay. Take your time, enjoy the game and trust me you wontbe dissapointed. Goo Luck
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>