GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing

Join Sonic and SEGA All-Stars in an all-new, high-speed, racetrack showdown! Explore stunning new circuits including Sonic Seaside Hill, Curien Mansion and Blizzard Castle as you zip around medieval castle ramparts, hurtle under lush rainforest canopies and tear through bustling cityscapes. Jostle against 20 challengers including Super Monkey Ball's AiAi, Amigo from Samba and the evil Dr. Eggman in your unique character vehicle. Stay ahead of the pack by dodging traps and launching outrageous character moves such as the invincible Super Sonic or the Banana Blitz assault of monkey balls!
Average Customer Rating:
8.857
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Review 1 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
this game is really goood!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/10
okiwill
i just got this game a couple days ago, because i saw the price had gone down, my first impression was how awesome the graphics are and how nice and easy the controls are. but just because the controls are easy does not mean the game is easy, there are three different levels of hardness for single race and grand prix. it was very easy to win on the easiest mode, but i tried it on hard and it was just as challenging or more as mario kart wii. there is no battle mode, which it would be cool if there was, but the racing is great, and its totally fun online and multiplayer. there is mission mode though which consists of 64 missions that get harder as they go on. when ever you win a mission or race you get miles which you use to get new characters, music and courses. Each character has only one car but no characters have the same one so there is a pretty good variety of vehicles but you cant customize them at all. overall this game is really fun and has great graphics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Better than Mario Kart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/10
Sonic FAN 18
Sonic and Sega All-Stars Racing is THE BEST RACING GAME EVER (compared to Forza Motorsport 3). I love every second of playing it. The challenge is ...varied.On easy, it's challenging for a toddler.On normal it reminded me of Forza Motorsport 3;but on hard it was insane!It was insane fun! I was dissapointed a little bit in the vechile variety,but I enjoyed the space ship and Banjo and Kazooie (which is a 360 exclusive).I did enjoy how instead of vechile variety, you had different stats.It mixed things up.I was kind of sad that there was no vechile customization to begin with;the use of exclusive characeters to the Wii and 360 versions did make up for it though.I loved how they added Metal Sonic (which is only on the 360 and PS3 though)in the mix. The graphics are awesome (especially on the 360).I could see real detail in everything.I could hear everything in amazing HD. The tracks took my breath away.There's a track for every difficulty;the DLC for the 360/PS3 version made a awesome track! Over all if you are a Sega fan,Sonic fan, or racing fan I would buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Mario Who?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/10
blizzardschill429
So I've never been a huge fan of Sonic, however, this game intrigued me as soon as I saw it. I am a huge fan of Mario Kart and have been ever since my Super Nintendo days. This game has exceeded my expectations and i have been successfully satisfied. Now speculations before this game were made due to Sonic and Sega All-Stars Tennis and I am here to say do not make your decision to buy this game off of the tennis version. This is its own game and could possibly impress most better than Mario Kart. A few reasons I love this game are... 1. Drifting is a lot easier 2. The controls are PERFECT and SIMPLISTIC 3. Banjo-Kazooie is in the game... need I say more 4.Graphics are beautiful A few, MINOR, flaws.... 1. Multiplayer lags at times and some players skill levels overly exceed the rest (ranking system could be good?) 2. The game does take some getting used to which can cause it to be frustrating from time to time 3. The game doesn't show the cars stats like Mario Kart would 4. No customization... PERIOD Please heed this warning, don't waste your money renting this game. Go all out and buy it because it is worth every penny. Excellent work SEGA. DLC some time would be nice though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Good Kart Racer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/10
onmas97
Sega All Stars racing is a kart racing game that borrows a lot from mario kart. The controls are good and simple, sometimes you forget how to use power ups but it's common. The graphics look pretty good at some points but overall the graphics are pretty toony. The sound is pretty good, the music is awesome and the power ups sound cool when someone gets hit by em. There are many tracks in this game, but you'll see similarities if you've ever played mario kart. You can't customize your ride or anything which is pretty dumb, and you never unlock any other karts which is even worse. It's not a challenging game , unless you get far in the challenge maps. When you play multiplayer, just like any other game, it gets kind of framey because to much is happening at the same time. overall if you like kart racers or just racers at all, then go buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Will Buy This
Posted on:2/13/10
Wardlaw
This is the closest i will get to getting a game like this without having to buy a Wii. I played the demo and at first it did feel a little unfair but as i played the demo over and over again it felt a little bit more balanced. Now after I get this just a couple more months until Split Second comes out.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
game informer is way off in their review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/10
ratiffshabang
This game is amazing. yes, the concept is taken from Mario Kart, however its executed a lot better. The tracks are very well designed and several provide a very big challenge. I am blown away that Game Informer gave this game such a low review. Makes me think they have some kind of bias for anything mario. The only thing that i agree with them on is that you don't have a choice of vehicles for each character.. but the benefit here is that each character has his/her own individual intagibles. In other words, the characters with motorcycles have more handling but less top end speed than some of the cars, yet the cars don't handle as well as the cycles. Personally i enjoy having to choose the characters to fit my driving style rather than the vehicle. The controls on this game are a lot more enjoyable and comfortable than Mario Kart. I also like the fact that drifting is an essential key to success for the game, where as in Mario Kart its not as much of a focal point of the game. My only semi "beef" with the game is that i didn't know how the majority of the characters were, but thats mainly because i didn't play much of anything on the Sega platform. Its really a very minor complaint. All in All this is my favorite game on the 360 and have a hard time puting it down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
lului
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game and i recommend that u should play it ! also great price everyone should try it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
better than mario
Posted on:2/12/10
dsi player1234567
This game is great it has great graphics and good cars and other features.The stages are awesome and they are great characters and best items in the game to use. I play it today and is really great and beautiful graphics. Well in the xbox console you can use your avatar is really great and funny. Well im not saying anymore you will see it by your self.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
very bad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/10
sportlover5098
man this is bad. They basically copied mario kart and it is 10 times worse. In mario kart it is to easy to pass but in this you can't win if you start from the back, unless you have a perfect race. The announcer is so annoying i would mute it, i mean he reminds of the announcer from ridge racer, the one in the 1990's. The cars are just plain stupid. i hope that they never even try to make another sonic racing game, they should stick the action/adventure games. Some of the characters in this are also very strange and i doubt that anyone has ever heard of them or seen them before. Some of the tracks are ok but most of them are just plain pieces of crap. If u have a wii, please save you some money and give yourself actual fun by playing mario kart.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
After Demo Speculations
Posted on:2/9/10
Sonic428
This game has a lot of potential, it plays much smoother than Mario Kart Wii, when I steer I don't feel like I'm going right off the road, and drifting isn't a pain to do. Items aren't horribly unbalanced and won't punish those who are in front for doing good, or those in back doing bad, such as a Blue Shell. The entire game is random, getting an All Star Move won't make or break a game, it makes your character faster, yes, but not enough to make you go from dead last to first place. Banjo & Kazooie's inclusion in the game isn't frowned on either, they feel like they were meant to be in the game, and, again, their all star move isn't a make or break deal.
Review 11 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Its a 6... trust me.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/11
MRJAYinPA
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is about as average as a game can get. Not too good... not too bad. Let me explain. First are the Graphics, plain ol Sonic the Hedgehog graphics nothing spectacular. Next is the Gameplay, its a cart racer... sloppy handling and a turbo button, thats it. Then theres the sound, well it sounds like Sonic the Hedgehog with a cast of Sega characters and thats it. This was a cool game if you have kids, if you are a kid or if you suck at real racing games and you want something fun. Overall the replay factor for me is NONE cause Im not gonna play this game again. This is a GOOD game but its not a 10 or 8 its a 6... trust me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Gamers... Start you Consoles!
Posted on:2/7/10
blizzardschill429
Personally I love the fact that Sega is trying to "out-do" Mario Kart. I only have a 360 and so I've been longing for some Mario Kart action. I am also a huge Banjo-Kazooie fan and the fact that they added those characters into the game makes my anxiety rise even more. The cars look sick and so do all of the characters. The graphics look similar to that of Mario Kart and so do the tracks. Lastly I think they should post a finalized list of characters on here so everyone can see the excitement thats in store. I can't wait and neither can my girlfriend.
Review 13 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Another Sonic Game?
Posted on:2/20/10
GameCriticJosh
Sega superstar tenis was awful the controls SUCK and so does the GAMEPLAY, Sega give up on sonic time for a new idea! But Banjo and (forgot the bird name) are awesome characters. The N-64 game was awesome, the only thing im looking forward is Banjo and his bird.
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Looks really fun!
Posted on:6/18/09
PrimeFusion99
Now I know most people are now thinking "this is a Mario Kart rip-off" but if you think about it all kart racing games are the same. Also people are already comparing this game to Sonic Drift and Sonic R, but they can't really do that considering those two games were made over a decade ago and All-Stars Racing is being made by a different company. But from what I've seen this looks like a fun racing game for every consle.
Review 15 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
The best all star game for ever
Posted on:1/18/10
dsi player1234
I love sega all star racing, but this game is amazing for xbox you can play with your avatar and has banjo kazoie. Also sonic is one of my favorites characters in the world but the games is still cool. I will buy it for the xbox 360 and it will be fun.
Review 16 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Few things...
Posted on:8/7/09
<Nu^^ber1$on!(F@N>
Ok first, don't get me wrong, I am a huge fan of Sonic, but I think Sega is trying to beat Mario Kart.... Second, Why would sonic need to be in a car when he can run 10 times as fast as one? Well, we will all have to see when it comes out...
Review 17 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
i hate mario kart now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/13
bikeman11
Location: malvern, AR
step aside mario this is the next big thing in raceing i love this game it is beast no proplems i can play this game for hours
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
looks really fun
Posted on:12/24/09
ob3lix01
This is the kind of racing game the 360 needs. It reminds me a bit of Mario kart. I cant wait to play it online. Now I usually dont play racing games with the exception of Dirt 2. This game just looks fun & i know i will be buying it.
Review 19 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Great Sonic game for kids!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
Btb24
Location: Memphis,Tennessee
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Christmas eve I got this game I thought I would be kinda boring I mean I love Sonic he is the best. But even though I thought I was going to be boring I was wrong this is my favoriite racing game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Xbox 360 version
Posted on:12/21/09
Anonymous
I was thinking about getting the ps3 version. But now that I know it has banjo and kazooie in it (my favorite game characters) i decided on getting the xbox version!
1 2 next>>