GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box

Puzzle master Professor Layton and his apprentice, Luke, have stumbled upon anothermystery. It's up to them to navigate their way through numerous puzzles to determine who - or what - caused the death of Professor Layton's mentor, Dr. Schrader. Was it themysterious Elysian Box, rumored to kill all who open it? Professor Layton and Luke find aclue that begins their adventure: a train ticket for the Molentary Express.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Review 1 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Best story line!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
JeremyGxxx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall I'm pretty happy with this game. I don't really like puzzle games that much either. Some puzzles were ridiculously hard for me, even with help. The graphics and sound were great! I especially loved the voice acting and the music. The best part about the game is the story line. You just never know what will happen next! This game definitely deserves a 10/10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
It is a worthwhile game to pick up and experience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
shadowsworn
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I started the series when I was 13 years of age, and ever since, I can't put it down! the gameplay is very straight forward, being that it's most all puzzle, and the style of graphics makes the game this much more fun and exciting. The best element of the game, however is it's story. Being the person I am, I NEVER play a game unless it's story is actually good, not as if it were written by a 7-year old (e.g. hunger games). This story was smart, emotionally touching, and altogether an amazing and unique gaming experience everyone worldwide should try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
An awesome puzzle game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
Criez
Professor Layton is a puzzle game series that will always have a place in my heart, especially this one. The professor and his cute, occasionally annoying self proclaimed assistant tackle again another mystery, this time the eerie box that seems to cause death. If you love puzzles that tickle your brain, it's a wonderful game to play. All of them are unique, ranging from word play to slide puzzles to carefully studying pictures. Along with great music and a heart-touching storyline, this puzzle game in the series is one of my top favorites.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
It's the Professor. What else do you need to know?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/11
CoolOne
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Like the first Professor Layton game, this one offers a variety of puzzles for the puzzle-minded. It truly is a sequel to the first, as you will meet at least some characters again. Once you build a camera in one of several minigames, you get additional minigames related to the camera, which can be a little frustrating at times. Otherwise excellent all around.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NoonebutMark
Metro Manila, Philippines
 
Please wait while more information about NoonebutMark is loaded.
Additional information about NoonebutMark could not be loaded.
Posted 3/18/12
Is it greater than Apollo Justice:Ace Attorney?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Can't Wait for The Next Professor Layton Adventure!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/09
Nocht2late
Another great game! I like this one even better than the first. It isn't quite as difficult, but still, very challenging indeed, and I found that I whizzed through it in no time, because I couldn't put it down. The graphics are fantastic and there is more verbal interraction between characters than in the first game. Lots of new and interesting puzzles. There is the old woman's shack that holds all of the puzzles you couldn't complete, and I think you'll find that she will be wanting for more puzzles than you give her. I recommend this one highly and am already waiting impatiently for the next one. if you find yourself spending too much time trying to figure out the puzzles in the first game, you will have a much more enjoyable time with this one, but don't get me wrong, it is challenging, . The top screen shows you where you are going, and you can plan your moves better with its presence. It has quite a spooky theme, with lots of things going on. You are having to figure out the mystery while completing puzzles at the same time. In addition to that you have three or four other "background" games you can pop into and play at the same time, and as you go through the maze of Professor Layton's mystery you can win pieces that belong to these other games and that make it quite interesting. All in all it is an A-plus all the way. I think if you liked the first one you'll love this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Unique and amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/09
Zoov
This game has such an interesting storyline. The combination of cut scenes and puzzles makes this game almost like a television cartoon/mystery that the player gets to take part in! The puzzles are very fun and challenging, but very doable. I can't stop playing because of my interest in how the story will end. The art of the game is great too. The odd shapes of people, color scheme, and attire of the people really adds something to the sophistication of the game. It is easy to lose track of time when I play the game, it's a comfortable interface. and a simple control scheme. I never bought Professor Layton and the Curious Village, I just heard about how great it is. When I saw this game coming out I did ample research, including reading, watching gameplay videos, and gazing in awe the simple trailers. It might even be true that it's the delightful music that made me buy the game. I would recommend this game for anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Beauty in a Box
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/09
Goose
I want to begin with something I believe is underrated. Professor layton and the diabolical box uses the graphic ability of the DS to the MAX. It is beautiful, anime quality animation and cut scenes that are just as worthy as the game itself. Play wise the game is the challenge you desire, you will not get every puzzle correct on the first try. The point system is an interesting take. The puzzles are fun for all ages, from tweens to adults and back again. You do not need to be a lover of puzzles to love this game. There are elements of action, adventure, and even role playing. The mystery behind the diabolic box and the familar twist of anime style characters are fun for all. I would definately purchase this again ,and recommend to anyone wanting to play a brain teaser with a twist.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/09
That one girl
Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box is phenomenal, great for anyone who loves mystery or puzzle games . The mysterious story (much like the first, Professor Layton and the Curious Village) takes many unexpected twists and turns and has an ending you'll never see coming. It has great graphics and videos along the way make the story jump off the screen, with fabulous music every step of the way. The great new puzzles are the best part, ranging in challenge level, they are wonderful and fun for teens or adults. There are familiar characters from the last chapter of the series making appearances and a lot of new and interesting characters along the Professor and Luke's journey. This is a great game that I would recommend to anyone, no matter what types of video games you enjoy, you'll definitely enjoy this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
As good or better then the original
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/09
all aroung the world gamer
Professor Layton and the Diabolical uses the graphics of a handheld system to the best ability! It is simply amazing to watch the anime cutscenes. I have no issue with the controls or the interface. The sound effects are very good and are very distinct. The puzzles in this game feel fresh and like a change of pace. There are 150 puzzles that are all very challenging. One puzzle is worth 120 pictocrats (if you know what those are)! You should probably play the original first and if you liked the original you will love this one. I have only 1 issue and that is that a run through on this game (not doing EVERY puzzle was about 12-15 hours) However, there are downloadable weekly puzzles. These will be a lot of fun and will add gameplay time. Oh and the story is amazing! I like the story better than the original. I cant wait until the third game and until then this is GREAT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Two Games in One
Posted on:8/15/09
Emme
I've been waiting for this game since last year when I first played The Curious Village. If you've never played it and you like puzzles, you'll love it. Don't forget that The Curious Village has a bonus game in it that you can unlock with a code available in this new version!
Review 11 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
THE WAIT IS KILLING ME!!!!
Posted on:7/23/09
Layton Crazy
The first Professor Layton was soooo cool! I can't wait for the new one to come out! I also heard that this a trilogy and there will be another Professor Layton series after this one is finished making a total of 6 Professor Layotn games I CAN"T WAIT!!!!!!! :P
Review 12 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Finally the long awaited release...
Posted on:7/9/09
3dpenguin
Professor Layton & The Curious Village was a hit here in the States and in Europe but up until now has been the only Layton release leading many to ask Level-5, why? Well no answer has ever been given but at E3 this year Level-5 did confirmed the release of Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box later this summer, nearly 2 years after its release in Japan, with promises of the follow up games later on, currently there are the 3 innitial Layton games, and now there are 3 prequels being produced, one scheduled for release this fall in Japan, and 2 in planning, so we can look forward to more of these popular puzzle games in the future even if there is the possibility of a long wait in store for us. About Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box: 150 Game Puzzles 33 Weekly Puzzles Puzzles spread over several different locations and a train is involved in the plot Characters beside Luke and Layton which were introduced in The Curious Village will make appearances in some manner through out the game.
Review 13 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Prof. Layton 2
Posted on:7/3/09
Twilight Destroyer
To all the professor Layton adicts out there, i'm stoked for this game. The first game blew my mind after my uncle showed me it. I'm litteraly overflowing with excietment for this game. I can't wait.
Review 14 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Omg, i am soooo pumped!!!
Posted on:6/29/09
That one girl
After finishing Professor Layton and the curious village, it left me wanting more. And finally the wait is over, i'm getting it the day it comes out, and hopefully it won't be the last of this series. Maybe this time they won't all be robots in the end? lol
Review 15 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
This is gonna be great!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/20/09
The World Ends With Me
The first Professor Layton was the best riddle game for the DS hands down, and this game is going to be even better! The story appears to be better than the first, and I hope that the riddles are going to be even better. I hope to see more of the bad guy from the first game and way more cartoon cut scenes, which will hopefully be longer that the first's. For all of those Professor Layton fans out there, this is going to be BIG!
Review 16 for Professor Layton & The Diabolical Box
Finally, the wait is over... for now
Posted on:6/7/09
pikminmaniac
I knew that the Professor Layton series would be a trilogy, and now the second game has trollied along. The sequel to Professor Layton and the curious village, the diabolical box is another mind crunching, puzzle solving game with hopefully another good storyline. I have waited quite some time for this game, since I just loved the first game. It seems that this will have some good cutscenes, along with a more adventerous Professer and sidekick Luke. We should see some puzzles from the first one with a new twist, along with dozens of new ones. If you like to get wrapped up in a good mystery with great characters, puzzles and riddles, this is the game for you.