GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing

Join Sonic and SEGA All-Stars in an all-new, high-speed, racetrack showdown! Explore stunning new circuits including Sonic Seaside Hill, Curien Mansion and Blizzard Castle as you zip around medieval castle ramparts, hurtle under lush rainforest canopies and tear through bustling cityscapes. Jostle against 20 challengers including Super Monkey Ball's AiAi, Amigo from Samba and the evil Dr. Eggman in your unique character vehicle. Stay ahead of the pack by dodging traps and launching outrageous character moves such as the invincible Super Sonic or the Banana Blitz assault of monkey balls!
Average Customer Rating:
8.25
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Review 1 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
nintendega
Location: columbus, oh
This game was at the top of my list of "games to be bought" for my birthday in january. I got it and imediatly i was hooked. the compilation of all the charactors was amazing, but i still wonder why NiGHTS wasn't invovled? I never played that game much but i still know it was a famous SEGA game. The fact that Alex Kidd was brought to 3D was shocking in a good way and i hope it means they have plans for the original SEGA mascot. and they even had room for one of my favorites...Billy Hatcher!!!! I really wish they could have brought Banjo-Kazooie in like they did on the 360 version, Diddy Kong Racing was my 2nd favorite Nintendo 64 game behind Super Mario 64 (where they got there start not many people know that but its true)even ChuChu Pilots!!!! Also featuring Beat (Jet Set Radio) B.D. Joe (Crazy Taxi) AiAi (Super Monkey Ball) Amigo (Samba De Amigo) Bonanza Bros (Bonanza Bros.) And many many more. One of the best things is is you get "credits" from winning (and even losing) races and you buy extra tracks , charactors, and music that way instead of having to do any tasks er anything. Any way great game good online play unless its late at night of course (this isn't CoD where everyone plays at 75 hour or more intervels) great charactors, tracks and even music from the games (the best music is from Samba De Amigo of course). Great game must buy for Kart Racers and SEGA fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
Littelbigreviwers2
Sonicc and Sega all stars racing is a perfect game it's fun the music was great the only thing was the shop. The shop was very annoying because all of the stuff cost so much. That and all the stuff in the shop were so cool I had trouble picking what
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
What did you expect "SEGA"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/14
OreoMilk
Location: Earth, Milky Way
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great for SINGLE PLAYER who is into games of this genre. Please note this game does not compare with the experience you get with Mario Kart. As for someone who is looking for a multiplayer experience "I do not recommend". The multiplayer (racing) is not consecutive, you pick one race then its over.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
the man
Posted on:2/24/10
awesome
I pre-ordered this game and i love sonic games because ive played every sonic game there is! So if any of you guys want info ask me PS. SONIC RULES!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Blast
Austin,TX
 
Please wait while more information about Blast is loaded.
Additional information about Blast could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
QUESTION
Posted 11/7/10
Hey what would you say about the game SONIC COLORS!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/10
ilikenintendo
Ahh... Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing. A fantastic kart racer with tight controls, great graphics and lots of variety, SEGA has created a challenger to the king that is Mario Kart. Most of the tracks are based off of SEGA's games i.e. Sonic the Hedgehog, Jet Grind Radio, Billy Hatcher, etc. There are 24 characters to unlock, many recognizable, yet many obscure. Each character has an all-star move that you can get when you're in one of the latter positions. The graphics are amazing for a Wii game, up there with Mario Kart. Sometimes the frame rate can become a little choppy, but most of the time the graphics are outstanding. The controls are almost perfect (I don't use the classic controller, so I'm just speaking for the WiiWheel and the Wiimote and nunchuk.) The controls for the Wiimote and nunchuk are perfect, but the controls for the WiiWheel are slightly stiff, making more difficult to turn. In single player, the modes are Grand Prix, Single Race and Time Trial. Anytime you win or perform well in a race, you are awarded with SEGA Miles, which you can use to buy characters and tracks for the single race mode. One small complaint I have is that the tracks that you pass on Grand Prix don't automatically become unlocked but I guess that adds some replay value. One thing that I like that Mario Kart doesn't do is the announcers. They usually have funny comments to say and inform you on the race. The game is challenging for more experienced players, but isn't too easy for the newcomers to the game. Overall, Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing is a fantastic game and I would recommend it to any fan of the kart racing genre.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
The most successful a Mario Kart clone can get
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/10
hekifier
The good: great sense of speed; brilliant level design, great variety of tracks; excellent graphics, no matter which version you get; special all-star move gives each character a unique advantage The bad: online matches are based on the rules of a single player; level designs are scaled down during local multiplayer; not the best choices of other Sega franchises; underwhelming items; music from classic games would have been nice For years Sonic has been thought of as a competitor to Nintendo's Mario. They were both unique mascot characters that have their own strengths and weaknesses, as Sonic's strength is speed. So it's highly unusual that the Sonic franchise has never had an experience of their own to compare to Mario Kart for so long, with Sonic R and Sonic Riders falling dead in their tracks, and then they just now in 2010 take a successful stab at the racing genre to celebrate not only the Sonic universe but that of the entire Sega history. Sonic & Sega Allstar Racing is a worthy answer to the Mario Kart king of kart racers everywhere. First of all, there is a good sense of speed in the action, the ability to watch the level whiz by is so true fitted for the Sonic license. The levels are also very unique to one another, ranging from the traditional Sonic green field zones, haunted lairs, highways, jungles, casinos, arsenals, dancing monkey cities, lava and ice mountains, and more. They are a pleasure to look at, colorful, and full of detail. There are also an adequate variety of racers and rides that they drive in. All your favorite Sonic characters, plus Amigo, AiAi, Ulala, Joe from Crazy Taxi, Zobico, and Opa Opa. You'll see karts, bicycles, airplanes, hover crafts, bananas, four wheelers, and Opa Opa drives through itself! Each character also has a special all-star move should they do poorly in the race, which could easily turn the tide of the results. The graphics are very impressive, even the Wii version looks very similar to it's HD counterparts, but once two or more players join in details are removed from the track so the system's hardware can handle the action. But there were some misses as well as hits out of the key aspects of the game. First of all, online matchmaking involves either creating your own match or joining another person's match, which that person does all the decision making for the match, as far as track, number of laps, and AI opponents, instead of a voting basis like in Mario Kart, which makes online mode feel pretty tight. Also, each character can only be picked by one person, which may mean if your favorite character is already claimed you'll have to choose another one. Also you can't use the All-star move in online mode, and the other items feel underwhelming. If you're a certain distance from the second place player there is almost nothing they can do to catch up, adding an item that targets the first place player would add some balance. Other than the game-play itself I have found some complaints on the character roster. I understand the numerous Sonic characters, Monkey Ball, Amigo, and Crazy Taxi. But seeing the Bonanzo Brothers and Alex Kidd was a disappointment. Knowing that they could have added better known characters like Toe Jam & Earl, Golden Axe, and maybe even the Gunstar Fighters would balance the roster a lot better. It's also a disappointment that Metal Sonic is now down-loadable content on the PS3/360 versions because the Wii's storage limits doesn't allow down-loadable content, and Metal Sonic should have been a playable character on all versions from the start. And although there is decent music to be heard, it would have been nice to hear gems from the genesis days like on Sega All-stars Tennis. There have been many attempts to create an answer to Mario Kart, and still today there has never been a game to succeed in being better, but Sonic & Sega All-star Racing stands a fighting chance. It's a highly addictive racing game that is a must have for Sonic fans e
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Looks fun!
Posted on:1/14/10
erikagiggles
I can't wait to use Billy Hatcher in this game!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
It will be awesome.
Posted on:2/18/10
kevinmario003
I am a fan of Mario and Sonic, Mario Kart Wii was a relly fun racing game, aspecially the wifi capabilities, but it needed the charecter's specific item like in Mario Kart Double Dash(Mario, fire balls; Yoshi, giant egg). Unlike in this game, it does have the charecter's specific super star move(Sonic, Super Sonic; Tails, Tornado), and since it has secret shortcuts each track, and the super star moves, every race will be a very close one. It has about 24 tracks to Sonic's Sea side hill to AiAi's jungle. The only bad side is that every game of it on differrent consoles are different. In Xbox360 it has a special charecter which is Banjo-Kazooie, and the same in the Wii, you can use your Mii or yor avatar on the Xbox360. The Nintendo DS and the PS3 are the same game, no special charectes in it. So chose wisely wich game your going to buy.
Review 9 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
It will be awesome!
Posted on:2/22/10
ayelbeth
Just telling you, it will be awesome, I hope. I pre-ordered it and I have high hopes this is going to be a good game. Some people think it is copying Mario Kart but I think they are. They are copying but Sonic style. Sonic and Sega All-Stars Racing, I think will be the best racing game for the Sonic series!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Not going to work out
Posted on:1/25/10
GamerAaron
As a lot of preview buzz's say, this game will be better than mario kart. but mario kart has over 10 years of experience with there games. while sega made less than 10 racing games. and to the fact how some people said that everyone gets there own item and mario kart never gave their own items to their characters, in MKDD (Mario Kart Double Dash), every set of characters (2 partners that were originaly suppost to be partners, got there own item except for Donkey Kong and Diddy, Bowser and Bowser Jr. and King Boo and petty pirana. they used items everyone can use for a special item. This sega game is most likely gonna be like the rest of the Sega group games. you would might as well go spend your money on mario kart than this game, but thats my opinion
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Looks cool. but...
Posted on:7/28/09
seraphimdreamer777
It looks like it will be fun but it don't look like they have a far enough character selection from the Sega universe to really say Sega All Stars. The graphics look awesome but like I said where are iconic characters such as Rolf (Phantasy Star 2),Ecco the Dolphin,Axel(Streets of Rage),Shinobi, Ax Battler(Golden Axe) or Max(Shinning Force). Then again these characters may be hidden or they might not even be in the game at all but I think they put Sega where it is today as an iconic company. And plus with exception of the Sonic characters who are icons of Sega's greatness the others did not appear till Sega fell into being a third party company. Such as Monkey Ball,Samba de Amigo and anyone else to appear as Sega trademarks facing the fact that Genesis was the golden age of Sega.
Review 12 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
a very interesting arcade racer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
metaridley
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the better attempts on the racing genre in a very long time and i mean a very long time.This brings memories of all the old sega games considering it has lots of old characters but the only characters in the roster that will be familiar to todays gamers will be the sonic characters but there are so many others such as ryo zobbika opa-opa aiai amigo and many more.The gameplay feels a little forced but the graphics are nice the music is great but really is dumb is the announcer who is so annoying "oops looks like aiai is having a monkey of a time" it doesn't kill the experience but it sure does make you want to mute your TV for all eternity.this is a great racer for all the sega fans of the 90's.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
SONIC & SEGA ALL STAR RACING! Can't Wait!
Posted on:2/19/10
MARIOKARTWiiFanatic08
Hey Everyone, I just wanted to say I cannot wait to this game comes out on Tuesday coming because I love the idea of a Sonic Racing game with also Sega Characters as well I think it's going to be fun I have the March Issue of Nintendo Power it talks about the game saying its a great game and it got an 8.0 so I think that is great score. I will be online and trying to unlock as much as I can at a time really think it will be fun though I am a mariokart fan which I love Wii version and the other mario kart games. This looks fun but doesn't look as good with online with just only 8 player mode no friend vs that just strange I hope to see that option. Well anyways I cannot wait to play the game. Enjoy.
Review 14 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
good for about one month
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/11
gamerboy12345
Location: Baltimore,Maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game was for my birth day this game was quite impressive for about 1 month . after all the sega racers they didnt have a story line which is stupid and you have to but every thing which is kinda ridcoulis and was un cool. you couldnt buy any karts which i think was the most compliant but you do have super powers which is cool. but this game got boring and was nothing else to do except for free race which eventually got boring this game is okay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Fun for Everyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/13
Gorilla7735
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is one of my favorite games of all time that I recommend for everyone! Racing with friends, family, and yourself will never get boring! There are tons of fun characters and courses to play on and race on! You can even race online with people far and near! With some different racing modes that are all fun! And don't worry, If you get up out of your seat right now and go to your local game store and buy this game (Which you really should do right now) You'll still have a life! Now go buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Sonic back on track!
Posted on:12/28/09
Jix Hedgehog
This game is shaping up to be pretty spectacular if all the recent interviews, previews and trailers have anything to say about it. The games balancing system has been tweaked so you won't be punished for playing well (unlike Mario Kart Wii) A steering wheel peripheral has been spotted, so steering controls are in and hopefully improved over the loose-feel & hard to control steering in Mario Kart Wii. Can't wait for February! I have to decide which version to buy :)
Review 17 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Good game coming soon!
Posted on:8/28/09
Mike148th
I dont think i know this game is going to rock because everyone loves a good ,fun and enjoyable Kart racing game. I know people are saying that sonic is copying mario but he's not its just another kart racing game adding to the hundreds of others like Crash tag team racing,Kirby Air ride ,Pacman world rally Etc. So what im trying to say is that this game will be awesome and i think you should get this game whether your a Sega -Sonic fan or not it will be fun.
Review 18 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Sonic is Racing toward the Spotlight
Posted on:1/8/10
Sonicfan93
Sonic and sega all-stars racing is going to be the best kart Racing game ever.! This is not a copy of Mario Kart people this is the game Sega -Sonic and Kart racing Lovers have been waiting for. You cannot compare this to mario kart Wii. Sonic and Sega all-star Racing is going to be So cool!~I love every Sonic game ever invented! Sonic ROCKS!
Review 19 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
high speed awsomness
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
jake345
Location: mcallen
mario kart wii has allways been on the top 10 games for wii since 2007 but know sonic an dsega all str sega all star racing i s here and i recomende dit to race afns and sega fans the characters inculed sonic billy hacter and weirdly alex kidd . the trackare classic . and the game itself is a kart racing fans dream .
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Not that good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was okay though it appealed to become more boring each time I played it. Mario Kart is way more better than this. Besides I found it to quick and short as the DS version too. The only good thing about this game are the variety of nice courses and characters. Other than I wouldn't recommend this.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>