GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Front Mission Evolved

In the future, the world is a changed place. Technology has advanced. Countries have merged into massive geopolitical blocks. But one thing, sadly, remains the same: Humanity's appetite for war. When a terrorist attack destroys one of the USN's prized orbital elevators, the military is mobilized to eliminate the threat. Dylan Ramsey, a young engineer, finds himself quickly caught in a swirl of destruction, conspiracies and crumbling alliances. Experience his story in this high-octane third-person shooter. Choose from dozens of weapons and wanzer parts to customize your unit, and blast your way to victory. When you think you're ready for a new challenge, join the ranks of online pilots for intense multiplayer battles!
Average Customer Rating:
4.25
4.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Front Mission Evolved
Review 1 for Front Mission Evolved
Hence the name Front Mission " EVOLVED "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/10
xXmobiusXx1
Location: Union Grove, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok, yes it is not the turn/strategy based RPG anymore, but square headed in a good direction with this game. Mechs are meant to be piloted not commanded, Front mission should have always relied on the player's skill and not by chance. So basically this game is good, not the best, but better than most of the next gen mech games out there. You have all the elements that where in the previous Front Mission's but now in real time fast action game play. The graphics are good but just blowing off metal and revealing the hydraulics isn't realistic but innovative, they could have added the ability to actually blow off the arms, legs, and heads to cripple the mech also could have incorporated weak points like the joints to slow down the mech or stop it. But that is the only thing that this game is missing, it has great multi player and also has down-loadable content possibly in the future new missions or possibly a new story add on who knows. But if you love fast paced mech action this game is for you
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Front Mission Evolved
Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/10
Kenji
Location: Avon, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My initial impression on this title is that of disappointment. The turn-based tactical/strategic part I enjoyed most about this series in the past is completely gone. This had once been the most differentiating and enjoyable part of the game and now the game largely feels like another "run-and-gun" shooter. If you are new to the series and don't mind- you may like this title. If you loved the previous Front Mission games however, you may want to hold off on picking this one up.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Front Mission Evolved
Another series "Fixed" by Square Enix
Posted on:5/26/10
zod799
This is typical of the new Square Enix....take a great series, that wasn't broken, flush it down the toilet... then create something new using the same name. They used to make good RPGs, now they just replace old concepts that worked, with new concepts that don't always work. New ideas and concepts aren't bad, but don't use an old game series as your testing grounds. I was going to pre-order this no questions asked, but now I will wait to rent it, simply because it is no longer the strategy/tactics style Front Mission that I knew.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mcgyvrsn
 
Please wait while more information about mcgyvrsn is loaded.
Additional information about mcgyvrsn could not be loaded.
Posted 9/12/10
Square Enix isn't even developing this one. The problem is that Square Enix ISN'T fixing the games. Most of the worst "Square Enix" games are the ones that are developed by other studios.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Front Mission Evolved
look's interesting, let's see more please!
Posted on:11/19/09
Tarheel757
seen some of the game screens & game play for this title. always been a fan of mech type games, i.e. gundam, armored core,& etc. I hope the environments are totally destructible, also look's like this title feature some huge bosses & hope the game play is top notch. can't wait to see what else this title has to offer. square-enix normally don't produce disappointing titles.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JKitty
 
Please wait while more information about JKitty is loaded.
Additional information about JKitty could not be loaded.
Where have my RPG's gone Square?
Posted 9/17/10
You know I'm begining to think Square is abandoning their RPG fanbase and it's seriously irritating. Don't get me wrong I'm sure this will be a good game but at the same time it's just another Armored Core clone now... Third Person Shooters are about as far from what this game was as can be. Sure it has on-line play.. just what the RPG community wanted.. to get owned in the face by someone screaming profanities at them. Thanks Square... really appreciate the thought.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Front Mission Evolved
Very interesting
Posted on:9/17/10
Sula
Location: SoCal
It might be a sin to say I've never heard of the series, but I must say this looks like a very interesting game. When I took a look at it, it had me when I found out about the cutomization, and how much detail you can put into a Wanzer. I'm also a fan of the fast paced, third-person action, giant mech fights it's provided. (I also read someone talking about Gundam. Yay Gundam!) Um, from what I know, the enviornment isn't as great as like Bad Company 2, where it's destructible, and it might seem a tad out of scale. However, that's really the only issues I have with this game.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Front Mission Evolved
Woohoo!
Posted on:12/17/09
Darkvatican
I think I got a little TOO excited watching the videos and reading about this newest Front Mission title... ;- ] I've been playing the Front Mission games since the very beginning and this newest title looks to be a great new installment in the series. After the disappointment of FM5 not making it stateside and the debacle of FMO's first-person play style {they turned FM into MechWarrior... :-( } , I am very pleased to see the newest title will be coming to us in the States as a 3rd person shooter. I'm horrrrrrrible at 1st person, but I can handle 3rd person without TOO much pain. ^_^
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Front Mission Evolved
I am very disappointed...
Posted on:6/18/10
Anonymous
I loved Front Mission 4. I was very disappointed when Front Mission 5 did not make it to the US. And I have to agree with those who say that this is not Front Mission. I wish Square Enix would come out with an updated version of their strategy game instead of trying to come up with a new game using the Front Mission name.
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kenji
Avon, IN
 
Please wait while more information about Kenji is loaded.
Additional information about Kenji could not be loaded.
Posted 9/28/10
I wish I would have seen your post before I picked up the title. You were right on.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Front Mission Evolved
Overall decent game
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Front Mission is a series that I have liked and played for a long time since it came out in the mid 90s so I was definitely excited when I heard about it becoming available on PS3. I have to say that this title didn't really meet up to my expectations. I felt that compared with the level of artistry of other games being pumped out now it just didn't stack up. I think overall it is a decent title that they definitely could have done more with.
Pros: I liked the customization of the wanzer machines. Also, the amount of firepower you could pump out was cool too; between the bullets, missiles, and melee weapons there was a lot of action going on. In addition, there is a FPS aspect to the game where you could get out of the wanzer to secure buildings. The game mechanics and sound were good.
Cons: Two main things I look for in a game are the story and cast of characters. I felt the plot was not told very well and it ended up being very confusing. When characters were introduced or lost, it was melodramatic. In addition, the graphics were definitely not up to par with other action games.
This game is probably best for fans of the series or people who just want to blow a lot of stuff up. If you are looking for a good action title there are better ones out there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Front Mission Evolved
Should be good
Posted on:9/25/10
Kenji
Location: Avon, IN
I have been a fan of Front Mission since playing the first version on Famicom. Front MIssion has been able to provide many many hours of challenge and enjoyment even as the game ported to newer consoles such as PS1, PS2, and now PS3. The depth and gameplay has improved over time. I have also been a big fan of the Fallout Series on the computer and love what they have done when they brought it onto PS3 (Except all of the freezing in GOTY edition) and integrated real time combat with a turn based system (VATS mode) which has been an absolute blast. If this game is as fun as any in the past, or even if it mixes turn based and real time combat, I feel that as long as it keeps its depth of the ability to be able to customize wanzers to your individual playing style and strategy, this game will be worth the buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Front Mission Evolved
Gundam Lover? Great Buy!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
DeeReal8082
Location: Columbia, SC/ Bamberg, Germany
This is a great 3rd Person shooter with lots of weaponry to choose from. I haven't played the previous versions of Front Mission, so I can't speak to how this measures up in the lineage, but I thoroghly enjoyed it. There is a lot of customization available, and I do mean a lot! This includes the way your Wanzer (i.e. your "Gundam"--that's what I like to call them): including the color, the gloss, decals, loads of weapons, shields, weight, jet pack, body type, armor, I mean it goes on and on! And what you do matters in comparison to what you mission will be and the enemies you will face. They do give the option of preloaded choices if your not interested in spending the time to customize. LET ME WARN YOU: IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE IDEA OF GUNDAMS, THIS GAME MAY NOT BE FOR YOU. But I like the idea of firing rockets, shooting high caliber shells, bazookas, or straight up melee on another robot! One thing I don't like is that you can't fly continuously, or at least for a longer length of time. This game presents a challenge to you. It's not too hard, but I did need to consult an online walkthrough for one section. I bought the game when it was $19.99, so it's a steal for less than $10 now! And this game offers you a mulitplayer! It's a fun game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Front Mission Evolved
Forget the reviews, just go and get the game!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
ndngrl30
Location: Lumberton, North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think this game is getting a bad rating in reviews. It's way better than people are saying. I'm a hardcore gamer. I'm a computer tech, while I'm trying to get my degree in video game design. Trust me when I say that this game is better than people are telling you. The graphics, sound quality, and the total experience is great. Every other Front Mission game was awesome; why shouldn't this one be the same. I think it's the best of all of them. Just go out and try it; you'll love it. My suggestions is; if you see a game with bad reviews, go get the game and play it for yourself because chances are you'll like it and not care what everyone else has to say about it. That's exactly what I do. JUST TRY THE GAME YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Front Mission Evolved
Ehh.....
Posted on:8/16/10
Bean17
I've never heard of this game before, and I just watched the trailer. It just looks someone trying to copy Transformers. With the robots shooting giant machine guns, destroying every heavily armed human vehicle with ease and rolling around on wheels or walking regularly, it looks like a Michael Bay wanna-be created this. Also, the storyline revolves around one human that gets stuck in the middle of it all, just like Transformers. I don't have just negatives things to say about this game though. The action and destruction does look fun. If this ends up being a sandbox game that gets good ratings, there's a good probability of me investing in it. But we'll see.
5 of 93 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
xXGhostXx
 
Please wait while more information about xXGhostXx is loaded.
Additional information about xXGhostXx could not be loaded.
?
Posted 9/19/10
uh it looks nothing like transformers? it looks more like a gundam game.
Customer Avatar
30yroldgamer
 
Please wait while more information about 30yroldgamer is loaded.
Additional information about 30yroldgamer could not be loaded.
Its been around for awhile.
Posted 9/18/10
Can't see how they are trying to copy transformers since its a mecha that has no sentiant mind of its own, its just a giant robot they pilot not unlike how todays military controls a tank, i remember buying Front Mission when it first came out in 1995 on the Super Nintendo had the import, Front mission second came packaged with the FF7 japanese import as a demo disc i remember playing it thinking why won't they release this awsome game in the US at the time, i had to wait untill the year 2000 to even play a english version of Front mission.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Front Mission Evolved
Evolved?....
Posted on:2/3/10
Badlucknbulltez
evolve - undergo development or evolution. As we all know "change" isnt always a good thing. This is not Front Mission this is blasphemy. How do you go from a SRPG to this….. very disappointing. Good thing I still have FM4, as this franchise has been flushed down the toilet.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Front Mission Evolved
ROBOTS MAKE THE WORLD GO ROUND
Posted on:9/25/10
Sunflat
Location: Reno, NV
OMG looks good. im not like a nerd, but robots are awesome, defently getting this game. front mission involved. heehee! still i dont get the title,
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Front Mission Evolved
I'm Excited......
Posted on:9/11/10
Ghost2989
Location: Riverview, FL
Even though this was an amazing RPG I believe that it would work a little better for those TPS players who haven't had a decent TPS game since Lost Planet 2. Not to mention the multiplayer for this is going to be EPIC!!!!!!!.......
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Front Mission Evolved
overall good game
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
rotcz
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this was a very good game, even though it wasn't that long, it had a lot of exciting gameplay that kept me on the edge of the seat. i would have to say the length of game was rather short, you could beat it within 5-8 hours on normal difficulty depending on how good you are. but overall it was a good game to play, graphics were good, gameplay was awesome. if your looking for a game to buy, i would recommend this to anybody, and it's only $20.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Front Mission Evolved
awesome
Posted on:5/4/10
Anonymous
I've been a fan of front mission since the original, and i am totally glad they changed it to a third person shooter, strategy games are fun but one battle can take over an hour, i cant wait to play this thru then online.
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Front Mission Evolved
Turn based to shooter
Posted on:3/8/10
bk_rause
If I remember front mission 4 is a turn based rpg, like early final fantasies, but this looks like a good version of the horribly put together armored core series. This could be good since Armored Core's only strong point was customization. This will be good while I wait for a good next gen Gundam game.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Front Mission Evolved
liked it a lot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
SciFiShooterGuy
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
wanzer mode is pretty cool, but i felt like when you are no in a wanzer than it kind of lacks a little extra punch. i like 3rd person shootrers alot, and i would recommend it. also, the sound of the weapons is amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Front Mission Evolved
it is a good game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
12ace12
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you have a ps3 you should get it. IT IS NOT THAT HARD. But it is very fun and cool. I like it. it is very cool. highly recommend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>