GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Supreme Commander 2

Experience brutal battles on a massive scale! In SUPREME COMMANDER 2, developed by Gas Powered Games, players will wage war by creating enormous customizable armies and experimental war machines that can change the balance of power at any given moment. Take the role of one of the three enigmatic commanders, each representing a unique faction with a rich story that brings a new level of emotional connection to the RTS genre, or fight the battle online. Where do your loyalties lie?
Average Customer Rating:
6.143
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
11 out of 2152%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Supreme Commander 2
Review 1 for Supreme Commander 2
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/12
16nflp
Great game. Nothing bad about it. It has many great features and story mode is cool. I think it is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Supreme Commander 2
Not as good as it looks
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/12
Joey3245
Location: New York, NY
there is no infantry, which annoys me a lot because i like the classic infantry, cavalry(armor), artillary idea. The Steam engine is annoying, its really laggy and slow, there are like 5 real units per race and then everything else is an experimental which i really dont like since they are impossible to kill and one experimental unit can kil 10 regular without even trying. The AI is ok but they are just annoying, the game is really confusing and not very fun. I have to get updates everytime i want to play, even when i dont play it online at all, I hate patches. The upgrade trees are wierd and require research to get, which takes forever. Overall this game isnt good, Starcraft 2 is much better if your looking for an RTS and Shogun Total War is also really good. Just dont get this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Supreme Commander 2
I don't see how people can't like it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
chiknwingding
Location: Pineville, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game, in my opinion, is WAAY better than C&C and is very good in gameplay and everything else. Some people say that he storyline is horrible, but that doesn't really effect me since I just play on the skirmish and online. The story line isn't really a big concern. I just play it when I'm bored.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Supreme Commander 2
Great...but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/11
GeneralM99
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story is extremely slow and confusing until you get later into it. It forces you to play as a certain faction first, then another and end with the Cybrans. You should definitely try out the originals, they are ten times better then this. Overall, the gameplay is about the same as the last game, the graphics are much better and the sound and music is again amazing. However, the story development needs more work.
 
My Product Recommendations
Supreme Commander Gold
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 5 for Supreme Commander 2
look out gamerz, here comez awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
fiddlegammer11
alright here comes the best game eva, anyway herz a shout out to all of the peeps that think this game is the best eva u rock 4 ur good reviews. anyway the graphics might not be as good as the first but the graphics to me doesn't matter at all since the campaign is awsome and a good storyline. along with the campaign the units and multiplayer maps and experimentals and ect. but i honestly i think the unit count is very low there should be a higher unit count because people have things to do units to make and probably alot of them too and places 4 them to go like in others bases and stuff.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Supreme Commander 2
Best RTS game made so far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/10
Commando38
This game is the absolute best RTS game you can play. And I have played alot of RTS games, so I know what I'm talking about. This game has very good graphics, and they will be even more enjoyable the more you paly the game, considering that you notice things like shadows cast by the terrain, and details such as distortion coming out of a walkers exhaust pipes. This game also has an amazing command system. There are more controls and options you can use to make your army do anything imaginable. This game also includes extra experimental weapons, which they balanced much better than on the first one, and actually have a general purpose rather than to walk into the enemies base and kill. And most people have heard that the nukes on the second ones are pitiful compared to the first. The difference is that on the first one, it was a bright light and smoke covering a large area of the map. On this one, it might be only a little bit smaller, but it is insanely detailed, in the fact that an extremely large portion of the map gets lit up in red, and things are actually moving with the explosion as they would in real life. When it touches water it makes steam and jets it into the air, so nukes on this one are much more enjoyable to watch, regardless of what you've heard. All in all, 10 stars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baddger
 
Please wait while more information about baddger is loaded.
Additional information about baddger could not be loaded.
Posted 11/6/10
it realy isn,t its gat all kinds of new stuff and yet this game is awsome
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Supreme Commander 2
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/10
CoD4 Veteran 13
I don't know why people don't like this game, because if you like real-time strategy or RTS, this is the game to get. I usually only play online and play skirmishes to get better or if no one is as good as me because I can destroy anyone. I am a veteran at Call of Duty Modern Warfare 1 and 2 so don't try and kill me or fight me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Supreme Commander 2
good, but a little disappointed
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/10
TheGamerGalore
What Gas Powered Games have done here is amazing, this game is packed with more units, new features, less glitches, and a lot more excitment. what i was really taken with is that there is no +mass or -mass anymore, its all based on real numbers. the tech tree feature is amazing, allowing you to upgrade old units to make them more lethal later in the game. a lot of the good things are still their like the cybran ships being able to crawl onto land. however, the story is disappointing, character extremely lack any sort of personality and emotions. also, for high end computers, this game has surprising lower graphics, units like the UEF titan look a little bit more like legos, even though some units have good deatil, others are flat out bad, although you have to appreciate that they are trying to let computers with lower hardware able to run this game. online play and skirmish mode are fun.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Supreme Commander 2
SC2? or sometihng completely different?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/10
agent00aa
Supreme Commander 2 is different than it's "predecessors", i say it should just have a completely different name slapped onto it. Then i would of not had any quarrels with it, because i wouldn't be expecting something so different than what i knew. Now i own both of the "previous" games and they are both excellent, and so when i found out about this "sequel" i ran out and bought it with out much looking into it, i knew it had a different maker but i figured how bad could they have possibly made it... i mean it's Square Enix! Now don't get me wrong it is a good game, but i was expecting to buy SC2... Not SC2 revamped... i couldn't just jump into it, i had to learn the new feel to the game. In SC2 you now get to your good units by having to research most of them, and experimental units are really not that great, yea they are all based of the old games models but i think that most kinda suck comparatively... like the experimental units, for so called "game breakers" as they were know for in the old games, u can make them with very little ease and there not nearly as effective as they use to be.... which i guess is the trade off for it, but even hordes of units can crumble in no time it seems. Regular units are just knock offs of the original ones and are only really good when you upgrade them via research. However i do think the research is a cleaver aspect of the game and the brand new units/structures that were added are a nice touch, but it does usually take awhile to get to them in the research tree even with the research facilities which u can build to increase research income. completely Also the variety of units is gone there use to be at least 2 sets of everything... a lower cost, lower tech versions, and the higher end units, which i prefer the variety of them because they all had there uses, lower tech units could be used as cannon fodder, as your high end tech marches on, or even if you had to come up with an army quickly. All that said i do still play it as i've gotten use to it, but i am still disappointed, if you are looking for something different to play with a somwhat familiar story, then you would like the game play; especially online to which it seems that it was made for, but if your expecting the feel of the original game then i would say go play one of the old ones...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pjboston14
Boston, MA
 
Please wait while more information about pjboston14 is loaded.
Additional information about pjboston14 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/24/11
Dude, you have to download the game from the disk to your computer. That's why it did not work.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Supreme Commander 2
So where is the GAME?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/10
AikenAidan
Got my package, installed it and got a STEAM POWERED program that starts itself every time I start my computer [no option to turn that off] and emediately takes me to thier online site with only options to buy games. The was NO GAME on the disk. No information saying that it is an Online game only [no information saying it is even an online game on thier site.] I tried to check out the Forums, registering for thier forum kept takeing me to other sites. These other sites required me to reister. This repedative nonsence went on for 4 diff registration that finnaly returned me to the STEAM forums. Unfortunately I still wasn't allowed to access thier forums. No tech support, no contact information ,no game.. No reason to even consider getting this product.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Supreme Commander 2
This is the WORST SC game peroid!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/10
Kyoungblood
I own both Supreme Commander and Forged Alliance and find both games superb. When i head there was a Supreme Commander 2 coming out of course I ran right out and got it. I can honestly say this is one of the worst war games period. My reasons include the fact you must unlock a LOT of stuff to even consider playing the quick battles. There's only 6 maps, yes i said 6. The fact you cant even choose what side you want to be on until you unlock the ability, and the WORST part is you cant even see a simple overview of the maps when you are selecting them your basically better off throwing darts at your comp screen to decide what your gonna do rather than actually getting to decide anything at all about the battle ahead. The point I'm making here is don't Waste your money... This game isn't even worth getting if it cost 2.50.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Supreme Commander 2
dont touch it? i think i will
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/10
TheGamerGalore
played it today and i've never played a better RTS. im lovin it every step of the way and although its a little bit more 'cartoonish' than the last one, its still definatly a fun epic story lined game. it beats AoE, UaW, and matches EtW, and C&C. i really love playing it and my slightly old system can handle it perfectly. i was a little disappointed, i though the requirements would be a little higher and i definatly see a decrease in the quality. overall, 8 out of 10. AWESOME game. right now, im a little concerned with the new unit the cybranasourus rex (yeh, i probably spelled that wrong) it seemed a little like an out of place character to be put in the game. its still a pretty cool unit and theres so much more upgrade. the most important is the eco that they had. the last one sucked and was full of glitches. this one is MUCH more stable, its brings the good parts of halo wars and not the sucky parts (because seriously, halo wars sucked) buy NOW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Supreme Commander 2
Another Dissapointment of 2010 Gaming
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/10
SumoSpike
The frist two games of this year that I was waiting for were Supreme Commander 2 and C&C4. Both are god awful. Supreme Commander 2 is missing the best elements and nuances of it's two predecessors. I actually think that TA was the best of them all. Sad that games just get worse and worse as they come out with new titles. What happened to the unit types??!! There is not nearly as many unit types as SC or TA. Plus, what happened to the recycling of plants and rocks... the environmental resources you could live off until you got your resource production up and running? And why are there so few multiplayer maps? I have an idea. Take the Total Annihilation engine, give it some new graphics,new sound, a new story line and new unit types... and don't change anything else...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Supreme Commander 2
Sorry I'm having a hard time speaking its so Awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/10
Deathsprophet
Don't know what the other guys here are talking about, the game is great, ya sure they took out some of the things the sup com pros loved, but the thing is, more people want to play RTS so you can't expect a newbie to grasp every concept of the game, unlike the pros. If they left some of the things from the old sup com in, it would be so unbalanced it wouldn't been as fun to play for the newbies. Alright so lets get down to buisness, the storyline is great and the graphics blow sup com 1's out of the water, while supporting older computers that don't have as good of processors or graphics card. Win, Win situation. At least thats what I think, and that is why you're here isn't it ?? They added a new research screen to simplify it and added a whole bunch of new features like building add ons and new experimentals. FYI to all aion illuminate fans, they don't have naval anymore. I know, ouch right? Well I think we'll live. On to sound. They did a really good job with the music this time, its about 10 times better than sup com 1 and the sound effects really match up and exceed what you think they will sound like, when lets say someone gets blown up by a nuke or someones commander goes into meltdown. For all those hard core gamers out there, the 10 hour battles have gone away, I know, sad right? Well they replaced with a shorter even fiercer model of online game play, that really seems to fit, and when I mean shorter, I mean average of two hours. You can still build those big armies just faster. One thing I wanna finish up with is the Interface. They kept a lot of the interface from sup com 1 and FA, but also added the research screen which I talked about earlier. It works like this: You need research points to buy any sort of research upgrades and those research points automatically come along, but you can build research facilities that increase the speed at which you get them. You can spend research points on things like, personal shields for your units, or new buildings, sight upgrades, radar upgrades, and new schematics for buildings and units. Big FYI for all those 360 gamers lookin at this. The 360 version of this game is just as good if not better than the PC version.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Supreme Commander 2
Do not touch this game with a 10-foot pole
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/10
Bumzab
Make no mistake - this IS Supreme Commander Lite. It almost feels like a very weak demo of SupCom 1, but worse. Even with the new research trees, you'll still end up with no where near the amount of units to choose from that you had with SupCom 1 and its tiers. Yeah, sometimes the tiers were annoying to work through and it took far too long in most instances to get anywhere close to maximizing your faction's potential in a single match in the first one - but this "sequel" has completely gutted it altogether. You'll likely end up mashing your mouse button or hotkey to churn out more of the exact same units.. over... and over... and over again because there's barely anything to choose from for unit diversity. The game requires the Steam client and an internet connection just to play. While it's true that most people these days have an internet connection, it's a rather unfortunate decision not only because you're excluding gamers but also because of potential happenstance scenarios. Steam goes down? Sorry, you're out of luck. A few years down the road and something else happens(such as one of the companies going out of the business or whatnot) and you can't go back to play it for old times sake? Again, out of luck. Move to an area with limited connectivity? Same thing. I wish developers would stop going with this route, as it's very short-sighted. The graphics are significantly worse than the first one, even on the highest settings. There are ONLY small maps, and no larger maps to choose from. In the first version you had a large selection of maps, in SupCom2 there are around 10-15, and all of them are the same size pretty much. I want to be clear one more time about the gameplay here: This is not a merely "different" approach. I'm pretty open-minded and I'll try just about anything. This is a GUTTED approach to the first version's gameplay. It takes many of the great features out, and doesn't replace them - it does away with them altogether. Fewer units with no tiers or variety. Smaller selection of maps with almost no size difference in any. Worse graphics. Weak experimental units. Gameplay consists primarily of unit churning and zerg tactics. I gave this game the benefit of the doubt because the first one was so great. Please, don't make the same mistake I did. Do not buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ihatesteam
steam free location
 
Please wait while more information about ihatesteam is loaded.
Additional information about ihatesteam could not be loaded.
STEAM!?
Posted 9/14/10
alright so i bought this game but it wont work. it brings up this steam program that has to update itself and whatnot befor you play, no problem but i live in the hill and im forced to have dial-up. so i havent played the game yet cuz it wont complet instalation and i cant give a report on gamplay...but i can assure you steam will find its way to ruin this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Supreme Commander 2
Tons of fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/10
nonxaznxboi
If you like multiplayer or lan-parties add this on to the list because you get a lot of fun in that little box! There are many nay-sayers but i really don't know what the heck they are talking about. Graphics are great, simple neat menu, intense tug-of-war games because its hard to dominate players that are sneaky!... It runs great on both my desktops and even my laptop! So if you have a decent machine you can easily run this game because its not demanding at all. Very fun to play against you friends and the online is pretty intense. Single player story is good and easy to get into because you dont need to have played the originals to understand whats going on or anything. As of right now you can save $** if you buy it which makes it even more worth the money. 10/10! pick one up maybe ill play against ya!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Supreme Commander 2
SC 2 - mediocre game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/10
Kerican
There were so high hopes for this game, as SC 1 and FA had left me hungry for more games like TA, yet unfortunately the wait would lead to disappointment. For those who enjoyed the similarities between TA and SC1 will be the biggest disappointment here. The economy of the previously mention games is utterly gone. No worrying about balancing energy usage and mass income with building and firing weapons, its all been removed. Its now a simple straight up, build up army, build base defenses, go conqueror enemy. Also gone are the tech levels, and weaker starting units, and teching up. Instead its replaced by research points that gradually come in much like all the other resources. Without that element nothing really stood out in the game. Without the challenging economy, the campaign portion of the game becomes simple, build defenses, build army, repair defenses occasionally, attack enemy. Musically nothing really stood out, there may of been a couple times when I stopped to notice it, but again nothing inspiring. Storyline it also seems kinda lacking, it comes off like a Final Fantasy storyline mashed into brief conversations between 18 missions. There just simply is not enough there to make a great story, which once again left me greatly disappointed. Graphically the game was nice, and the small scale compared to SC1, meant I could actually stay somewhat zoomed in, to actually see the units, and not just commanding by click on the small icons. The movies were decent, just way to few of em to tell a good story. The game controls fairly well, being rather simple game now, its easy to pick up and get right into. Those with SC1 knowledge will have no trouble picking it up, as the mechanics are still basically identical to the first. Those used to Starcraft or C&C type games might take a bit longer but overall its not a hard game to get into or to start playing. The game probably has some strengths in multiplayer, as the unit balance does seem good, but I have not done any of that yet. Overall SC2 is not a bad game, everything seems to work, the game loaded smoothly, the game had no noticle lag, or slowdowns, but there is just nothing in it that simply makes it stand out. The game itself was fun to play through, and I did enjoy the limited story, and I may still by the sequel when it comes out (of course the ending had a cliff hanger for a sequel... what game doesn't do that no a days) yet this probably won't be a game I will touch all to often again now that I have beaten it. My suggestion is wait for the price to drop on this one if you simply want to see the continued storyline from the first, as the game offers very little of anything else to draw players away from other games.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Supreme Commander 2
Way to destroy the best RTS series ever made!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/10
Cycephenom
First there was Total Annihilation; superb, deep, endless strategy, constantly evolving, hundreds of different units, quick to learn hard to master. Then Supreme Commander and Forged alliance; made Total Annihilation (TA) larger with a better AI, beautiful graphics and much of the same elements that made TA great. Then Supreme Commander 2; What the hell happened here? You took almost everything that made the first two stand alone and dominate and tossed it out the window. My only guess is you tried to dumb this game down to the likes of a C&C or a Craft game so it could appeal to the zerg boys.... probably thanks to Square's involvement. Really Chris Taylor how much did it cost to convince you to kill your baby?! Graphics went from sci-fi futuristic to cartoonish. Threw out the unique resource allocation and made it a click and buy system with a "Research" resource which is another Craft game move that sucks. Took out almost 60% of the different units in the game an dumbed base creation and defense down to arrow towers CRAFT again!. All the maps appear to be zerg/rush maps. Threw out the tier system... Sheesh I can go on and on but I won't. Bottom line: If you loved what made Total Annihilation and Supreme Commander unique and fun, you will hate and loath this game as I did. However if you owned any Craft game or C&C and thought the above mention games were too complex, strategic, and epic for you, then give Supreme Commander 2 a try! You should feel right at home in this slop show.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 19 for Supreme Commander 2
Nothing like the first two!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/10
DemonWolfC6
Okay, so yeah, it's pretty much like the first two in the basics: the three factions, the basic units (Some of the basic units are straight out of SupCom 1 and Forged Alliance), and one big war. On almost everything else it's completely revamped. Upgrading has been replaced with "Researching", which really adds more hassle to the game, but also adds a new era of customization because instead of just going up levels 1, 2, 3, and Experimental, you can have multiple branches of different customizations, depending on your favored style of play. You can even simply upgrade what units you have instead of the old "send oldies to suicide to make room for the new guys" strategy. Actually, it is BETTER to keep the oldies instead of suiciding them, because the longer they stay on the battlefield, the deadlier they become thanks to experience now. The much-famed and even moreso whined-about economy that made SupCom 1 and Forged Alliance so famous (or infamous, lol) has been DRASTICALLY simplified, which on one side makes the game easier to play and a lot less worrisome, but on the other side it makes the game harder because now you can no longer make/build units/structures without first having the resources available, instead of just having that drastic omni-slowdown from the first two. The epic battlefields of the first two games are... well.. gone... No more will you have the massive wave upon wave of units swarming towards your opponent across miles of territory, because they'll now practically be right at your back door. Or front door, side door, or wherever they are positioned on the map. That's one drawback, but makes for much more interesting, heated, and faster-paced battles. The graphics are OUTSTANDING. So detailed you can almost see the individual bolts and weld lines on your ACU in close-up mode. And no more resource-clogging like FA was notorious for, the game runs smooth as silk if you have good enough graphics cards. (My dual ATI ASUS EAH4860s can barely run FA smoothly on even low graphics, but they effortlessly controlled SC2 on the highest graphics settings) I haven't gotten too far into the storyline yet, but it seems to be good so far. You actually play named characters in this game, instead of the generic "Commander" of the other two. It looks like an interesting storyline, and the voice acting is decent. The voices fit the characters. All-in-all, this game is not it's brothers, it doesn't have that epic scale quality to it, nor the complexity of the resource system (that complexity is now embedded in the Research system). It's beautifully redone and expertly made, I just wish they could have increased the epic scales to keep with SupCom tradition.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Supreme Commander 2
A fun RTS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/10
Anonymous
So far I've enjoyed playing SC2. there are a handful of differences between it and its predecessors both good and bad, The battles aren't as big as the ones from Supreme commander, but they are still brilliant, the new research is fun, as well as expanding buildings with tactical add on pieces even if they are minor one's, and the fact you can replace your ACU without permanently losing it now, and the new upgrades for the ACU, and units. Most of the cons I've found so far are, requiring steam, the smaller battlefields, and other minor problems which may be fixed eventually in updates. It lacks the feeling of the original game but its still fun to play I'd recommend to everyone that they try the demo on steam first before deciding. Overall I rate this 7 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 next>>