GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Golden Sun: Dark Dawn

A classic role-playing game branches out with a new look, countless adventures and heroic battles. The game picks up 30 years after the first two games in the series left off. At the end of Golden Sun: The Lost Age, the heroes succeeded in bringing the world-healing power of the Golden Sun back to the world of Weyard. In the years since, the immense power of the Golden Sun has changed nearly everything. Continents have shifted. New countries have emerged. New species have appeared. But the world is now imperiled by a new threat. Psynergy Vortexes, which suck the elemental Psynergy from both the land and power-wielding Adepts alike, are spreading across the world. The new generation of heroes - the children of those from the previous games - are drawn into the mystery behind the vortexes, as they cross a chaotic world that is succumbing to a new evil.
Average Customer Rating:
8.712
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
19
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
70 out of 8088%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Review 1 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Finally, something that brings me back to the DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/10
RoboticOperatingBuddy
Location: Spring Hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay, first off. The first two were huge hits in my eyes.
The story was gripping, the lore legitimate, and the characters had solid back stories. You could always know whats going on and would actually WANT to know whats going on in them. Which is something I can rarely say for RPG's.
The gameplay was classic, and amazing too boot. And I hope that they keep that here in the next installation, which I am greatly looking forward too.
So far, I can tell that it'll be a continuation of what happened from the second game. Which is something that's been pestering me ever since I beat the final boss in Golden Sun: The Lost Age.
Vale gets completely turn into a crater, everyone is okay though... However I always wondered what happened to the townspeople that seemed to have been missing from the final cut scene.
But, meh. NPC's are a dime a dozen.
But, all I can say is. I HIGHLY doubt the game team at Camelot will disappoint this time around.
This will be something I get on the second it's released.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
befree
missouri city
 
Please wait while more information about befree is loaded.
Additional information about befree could not be loaded.
amazing
Posted 11/24/10
i played the first game, and i have to say it is one of the best role-playing games on the Nintendo hand-held series other then Pokemon. However, i didn't play the second game so i hope it will not be to much as a trilogy but just another series. but even if it is n the series, i will still buy it and enjoy it because it is amazing!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Outstanding RPG
Posted on:6/15/10
Sekirei Kazuki
I love RPG games. I've always been a fan of the Tales Series for the other consoles, where the combat is Real Time. However, before I ever heard of Real Time Combat, I decided to try this game on the whim, back when Golden Sun first came to GBA, because I was bored of all my previous games. I first sought it as a regular FF type of game, but I was wrong as they involved different mix of spells depending on a special creature called a Djinn. There are 4 types of Djinn, Earth, Wind, Fire, and Water. These Djinn can be set or unset, depending if you want to utilize their pre-skill, then unleash a powerful summon. Golden Sun mixes in a perfect combination of something we've never seen before, with the natural of summoning. If you love RPG games, you will LOVE this game. I've gotten all summons in the Golden Sun Lost Age, and I still play it because of all fun it is. It has some puzzles and neat spells as well as summons. Golden Sun DS is scheduled to come out in Early Nov 2010 :)
Review 3 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Pathetic, A HUGE Letdown.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
DeafNinja771
Location: Jacksonville Fl
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I was and still am a fan of the Goldensun series through GBA, But this game, It hurt me mentally just to play it. Somehow the graphics are worse than on the GBA. The gameplay was far too easy, there was no amazing fights like on its previous versions because the enemy ALWAYS died too fast. Its like this game was made for children. I gave every rating a 1 because I can't give it a 0. The only reason graphics got a 2 is because the fight scene graphics were decent but because of the blocky, blotchy, and overall oddly shaped graphics I feel that a rating of 2 is generous. This game possessed no challenge. Leveling up, better gear, dinjin, these are things that hardly mattered since the fights were so easy. I believe the game could be beaten naked, that is without any gear at all. I hope to witness and enjoy future masterpieces like its predecessors and avoid another embarrassment like Golden Sun: Dark Dawn. I will be looking and hoping for another title from golden sun, I haven't given up on the series quite yet.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
It's been years, and the wait is finally over!
Posted on:9/29/10
TrancePacifica
Location: Wausau, WI
I've heard of this game coming out for close to a year now, and they finally got the title. I seen the preview for the game the other day at GameStop, I paused at what I was doing, and looked up at the TV they have set up. Let's just say I am AMAZED at what I seen. I grew up with Golden Sun, I recall getting the first one when i was around 13-14, and the second one a year or two after, can't remember. I loved the games and I hoped for another one, after all these years, it finally happened! If the two GBA Golden Suns were that good, I hope for this one to deliver as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Good Story, Bad Sequel
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
nemzep95
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved this game. It had amazing gameplay, incredible graphics, and the story in this individual game was really good. My only problem with this game (dropping it from a 10 to a 9) is the fact that it doesn't really continue Golden Sun: The Lost Age. Sure there are a few things related to it, but overall it doesn't really answer any questions that it created in relation to what happened in TLA.
*SPOILER ALERT*
It answers a few questions, but poses more than it answers. They made it seem like the ending would explain everything about what you most wanted to know, but it didn't really explain anything. It was, in my opinion, the worst ending I've ever seen in a game. It's a cliffhanger in which you fall to a perilous death. It implies a couple things, but it jumps over things that could make better.
*END OF SPOILER ALERT*
Overall, this game was awesome, and had it's own good story. However, as a sequel it didn't really continue the previous story as well as it could have. I have to wait for yet another sequel to have my questions answered.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Just like the first two games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
GoldenSunFan
Location: Apple Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is an amzing game. The graphics are great (keeping in mind that its on DS) for the DS. The sounds are the same. You still get that funny sound when you jump, and the 'beeping sound' when you pick and option. The battle system has improved a lot. It's smoother and prettier now. The spells and summonings look wonderful, and the game still doesn't tell you EXACTLY what to do like in the first two. I haven't been able to put it down for very long. You can definatly play this game without playing the first two. It tells you what happened in those ones in several different ways. SUMMARY: Great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Fun, but is very long and is repetitive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
Ryu13
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very fun. The graphics are not the best, but they are pretty good for a portable system game. They are in 3rd dimension, in case you do not know. The music sounds like it could be from older games, but it's not a big issue for me. Definitely not as good as Dragon Quest, but it is another good RPG. A few problems are that when you change armor, it is not visible in the world view, or in battles. Only the weapons are visible, which is a bit of a disappointment. It has some scary sequences and frightening looking monsters, like zombies and bosses. I am saying that about my own frights; other things might scare you in this game, like the music or monsters. Just giving you a heads up. I will not give spoilers for the end of the game, but the end of the game is left hanging. It will probably lead off to the next game. I'm assuming the first part of the game was led from the previous games' ending. So if you don't mind the ending to be hanging, or it to be very long and a bit tedious, then this game is okay for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
A great series is born anew
Posted on:10/15/10
PsynergyMaster
Location: Red Deer, Alberta
So the first two games in the series were amazing, they had a great story, a coulorful cast of characters, amazing abilities and insidious yet heartfelt characters. It brought handheld RPG's to a whole other level. The character development through out the two games (one full story, two games) was superb. This game is not a remake of the first two, it is more a sequel seeing as it takes place after the events of the first two. This series is awe inspiring and from the brief but amazing preview it looks like the improved on the already sturdy foundation. In my opinion this game is a must have for any RPG fans or people wanting a great game for the DS. I already have it on pre-order and I can not wait.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
beaytiful game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
an excellent game, and it's well worth your time and money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
AMazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
Synystter90
Location: ALabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Aw i use to love this game i remember growing up playing the first and second one it was the only games i bought for my GB i was so hooked on it i even got my entire class in school to buy this game lol im looking forward to this new one been wating so long i may even buy the first two again just to get back into the story. If anyone here has ever played this game i think we can all agree on it has an amazing story line, incredible characters, sometimes tough puzzles at times lol, and all around tremendously great game am i right!?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Back into gaming at last!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
Jkfire
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a fan of the Golden Sun series for upwards of 8 to 9 years, I am looking very forward to getting back into the world that has taken countless hours away from normal life and Gameboy battery life. The new features in the game for the DS look very promising, even when their has not been a lot of information leaked on the game itself. I have not been gaming in a while but I know that I can always count on Golden Sun or the Lost Age to suck me in for a couple hours here and there. I truly feel this series is not talked about enough and not a lot of people know a ton about this fantastic little gem of a game (I guess it is not so little as this is the third game in the series). This entire series is extremely fun, even with random battles. It has an extremely expansive world for that on a handheld system, tons of loot, a lot of secrets, a very well done story even for a JRPG, a beautiful soundtrack (which I still listen to this day) and a cast of amazingly in depth characters and settings. I have very high hopes for this game as the other two were priceless and amazing. I can't wait until the end of November as I will finally have an excuse to whip out the DS once more for some old school Golden Sun fun that I have been so longing for ever since the 5th grade.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
It's pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
Criez
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a huge fan of the first two games, and was rather hyped about the third one. I would say...the story is rather horrible. xD It definitely slaps you in the face with "There's gonna be a sequel.", and the story's text heavy. Requires previous knowledge of the first two games. But it was very interesting to see how Isaac and Garet became after 30 years. Disappointed when the rest of them didn't show up. The new characters are..so-so. I enjoyed Tyrell and Amiti, the others were a bit meh. Gameplay stays true to the first two games, but now it's very easy compared to Golden Sun and Lost Age. None of my characters died even once. A good game if you want a sense of nostalgia with great graphics and pretty good music, but if you're going for the story, prepare to be disappointed. Oh, and Flint still tags along for the adventure.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
at last the golden sun shall rise again
Posted on:10/26/10
gamestriker
Location: new york
its been a very long time since i have played the golden sun series. I own both GBA versions golden sun and the lost age. I wonder what new denjin and psyenergy this game will introduce. the 3D summons look awsome and they now span both screens. many of us have been waiting so long to see this day come. i remeber asking when will there be a third game we still dont know what actually happens to alex. the lost age left gamers with many unaswered questions i am very happy that these questions will finally be solved. looking froward to playing it and those who have played the other games should pick this one up!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
best rpg ever
Posted on:8/5/10
Lord Bach
I played and was a huge fan of the first two golden sun games. Both of the games were amazing. There are so many items, weapons, and armor to find in these games that you never really get bored of them. There are also seceret and very powerrful bosses that are fun to get, not to mention all the different powers and abilities you can do. these were the best game boy games ever and i cant wait for the nintendo DS version.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
A series that could sell the platform by itself
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
totalanonymity
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Golden Sun and Golden Sun: The Lost Age were absolutely incredible games. Easily, one of my favorite RPGs ever.
The level of playability was high and I've played through both games multiple times. Even right now, I recently bought a pre-owned DS Lite and bought the first two and am replaying them yet again to refresh myself on everything and even though I know the stories, it still captivates me and keeps me going. I've already been playing hours and hours straight and I only got it just yesterday.
Ever since The Lost Age ended and there was nothing on the horizon, I was absolutely heartbroken and I had been holding on for some shred of a legitimate future for the Golden Sun series and when it finally came I got all flkgjfdlkgj inside. Amazing when a video game series can bring up such joy and happiness due to nostalgia.
I CAN'T WAIT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EvanTheGamer
Los Angeles, CA
 
Please wait while more information about EvanTheGamer is loaded.
Additional information about EvanTheGamer could not be loaded.
I agree wholeheartedly!
Posted 11/18/10
I 10000000% agree with everything you wrote. I rarely comment on other people's "previews" but I had to make an exception. Golden Sun and Golden Sun: The Lost Age were just magical adventures of will, courage and bravery amongst the Adepts. Everything about the two games were just incredible. It's been years since I played the second one, but when I heard about Golden Sun DS I literally cheered aloud. I've honestly been waiting for a DS Golden Sun ever since I played The Lost Age, and finally on Nov. 29, we all get that chance yet again to live the lives of the powerful Adepts, and this time, on the Nintendo DS! I really cannot wait to get my hands on the game. Will be awesome! Cheers!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
i expected more
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/11
ryuyami
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
like most people who played the first two games and loved it I was ready for the third golden sun to come out. this game is sort of a letdown in my opinion and anyone who played the first two could agree with me, the puzzles in the first game were much harder and the all around enemies and bosses were how they are supposed to be, in this game you can go around killing everything (including bosses) with little to no problem, and then you get to the final boss and he one hits your people, its crazy. the personalities of the characters are much weaker than the first two games as well. I will say that I thought it was interesting to have someone who can just transform at will during a fight, even though she couldnt use djinni during it she could do some massive damage by herself. anyways let me get back on track, in my own personal opinion this game did not live up to the first two, and I would rather play those even though they are older I think they are much better, and if you really want to play this I suggest playing the first two games for their story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
A possible heir
Posted on:7/30/10
Dracoboy
From what I've seen of the previews, I'm impressed. I myself played both versions of the Golden Sun games for the GBA, and this looks like a good contender for an heir to that game system. Reworked areas, improved graphics, vastly improved summons that actually move and aren't 2D images that just float without truly moving? It's previews show a lot of promise for the game, but can it truly live up to the hype? Especially since it's been a few years since the first preview showed up in America? We shall all see if the heir is up to snuff or just full of bluff.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/10
ZydrateBJDs
Location: abq, nm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was amazing, I finished it 5 days after the release date because I COULD NOT put it down! I played the 1st golden sun, and was excited to hear of the 3rd:) I hope for a 4th to pop up soon!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
StormWolf
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about StormWolf is loaded.
Additional information about StormWolf could not be loaded.
Game is good, but Frustrating
Posted 1/13/11
I have been playing this game for a while and I gotta say that it is good but I am having trouble with some of the puzzles that are in it.
I would recommend this game to anyone who is really into RPG's.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
Awesome RPG
Posted on:10/26/10
Bongore
Location: California, CA
I remember seeing this game long time ago. I wanted a new gba game and I saw this. I tried it and I love it. The cool skills, the many places to travel to, the awesome creatures called Dijins to create awesome summons, and the awesome puzzles to saw at each dungeon. It's definitely an Awesome RPG. If you're hessitant about buying this game, I suggest you to try out Golden and Golden Lost Age. I'm sure they're both REALLY cheap as they were for the GBA. So buy them and you'll love them, so it'll entice you to buy Dark Dawn!!
If you love RPG, you'll definitely love this game for the DS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn
I've been waiting for this for 7 years! Can't wait
Posted on:10/27/10
GoldenSunFan
Location: Apple Valley, CA
I am pre ordering this tomorrow, and I can't wait to play it! Not many people know about this game but I tell everyone about it. I hope more people start playing so they make enough moey to make more games. Golden Sun is one of the best RPGs that I have ever played!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>