GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy XIII

In FINAL FANTASY XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny?
Average Customer Rating:
7.408
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (462 reviews)
10 stars
105
9 stars
54
8 stars
22
7 stars
17
6 stars
17
5 stars
10
4 stars
13
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
21
195 out of 28768%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIII
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XIII
Way too easy to be fun.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
Boosh007
Location: Amesbury, MA
A pattern developed early that dictates the whole game-play. First you run your character into a group of enemies. The game takes over and squares you off. Now using, "Auto-Battle" you wait for the blue line to grow, then you hit the button, causing your character to lunge out and take two swings of their weapon, before jumping back in retreat. While you wait for the blue line to grow again, your enemy takes his turn upon you. Back and forth until you either kill the enemy or they knock you out. yeah that's fun. Game-play is slow, easy, but slow. I lost interest and consciousness ten minutes in. I would recommend this game to an eight year, but he'd probably think me stupid.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XIII
Good but...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
madman360
Location: Baltimore,MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The games battle system starts super slow to the point where i was mad i got the game but if you power through the first hour or so it becomes more complex and you get to power up your character. Im on the 3rd and final disk here but it never gets too repetitive that you wont want to play the game at all but there are some points were i found myself dodging the game and when i came back to it it felt better than last time. The characters all are really real and i felt their struggles. The sound track...is the BEST especially the battle music. All in all the game is a great buy for only 10 bucks but i will warn you watch gameplay first the combat may not suit all you fast paced action fiends but for everyone else its pretty fun and keeps you interested for the 40-45 hour campaign.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XIII
Final Fantasy in a different direction.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
Jarrlee
Location: Raytown MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game visually is gorgeous! The enviroments are gorgeous and the music SquareEnix accompines with the atmosphere is perfect of course comming from SquareEnix. Though the tradition within the game isnt, necciarily perfect, though at the same time it isnt terrible eaither. If your familiar with the Final Fantasy series referring to 10 and back, then this Final Fantasy breaks alot of those concepts from those games quite obviously. It deviates from a large open world able to be explored quite obviously which to hardcore fans of the series can be a easy turn off! Though it still offers a unique storytelling that the series is also known for! The battle system within the game is also quite addictive hands down being an active battle system allowing you to effortlesly switch between "classes" with a button press. Though there is one thing this battlesystem also does that i dislike; the battle system adds a Auto-Battle option. This easily removes most stratigic elements from the game leaving you to simply watch the battle take place as you character performs attacks approtie for the oppenent(s) and situation. Though at the end of the day, Final Fantasy 13 is a beautiful game and a great RPG experience that only true Hardcore fans could actually get into.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XIII
DON'T BUY WITH OUT HEAVY THINKING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
Anonymous
Location: Fort Worth TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
plzz just take my advice and don't buy this game the game is fun for about 6-15 hours but then starts to drag on a little i am on disc 2 and at 12 hours of game play and it is getting old and it does not get hard until disc two and then it is boring becuzz you are playing with a teenage boy who is weaker then a field mouse (not joking) so ya i mean it is good for a rig but it is just too long for me i guess some would like it but out of the 12 hours of game play there is about 5 hours of cut scence from the game play so like i said it just starts to drag on a little so just think and watch it on you tube for a little ok just BE CAREFUL!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XIII
this is way out the grid of hardcore
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
wolf0117
Location: houston, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok i bought this game for $60 and it was very fun and i liked lighting and snowand snows group but i was fighting a boss already and i wasn't even noticing when i say a health bare and i defeated the 1st boss two tme and hey this is easy!!!!!! think again........ im on the 3rd disk and im suck on the most hardest boss and i quite...... failed like 40 times already...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XIII
Great story bad writing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/13
Nier
Location: Houston,Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Final Fantasy XIII is a unique beast to tackle because it has such a huge fanbase that expects a lot from Square Enix. Final Fantasy XIII does a lot things different from traditional final fantasy game.Final Fantasy XIII main cast is a mix different people who are all bound to a common goal and that is stop save the world of "Cocoon". The main heroin is young solider named "Lighting" who trying to save her sister "Serah" from being "purged" by the government. You also run into Serah's fiancé. "Snow" who thinks of himself as a hero but really he's a big old knucklehead who can fight he's also trying to save Serah but Lighting disproves of their relationship.Up next is a Sazh a former airship pilot who fights to save his son "Dajh" from being purged. Why is government purging folks like Serah and Dajh it's because the came in contact with a Pule Fal'cie a God like being from the planet "Grand Pulse" which is below "Cocoon" and Pulse and Cocoon are at war with each other so government rounds anyone who they think is a "L'cie"(anyone who is branded by a Fal'cie from Cocoon or Pulse) and they certain amount of time to complete a goal called a "Focus" or they turned into monsters called "Cei'th". Next character is "Hope" a young boy who sees his mother killed and blames it on Snow so he wants revenge on Snow. Up next is a young girl name "Vanille" who seems a bit hyper but she holds deep dark secrets that she hides it up a smile she also friends with "Fang". The last main character is "Fang" who tough chick who told also has deep dark secrets. As you can see the main plot and characters sound awesome but the writing in this game was so poorly written because you are forced to read the in-game glossary to help you understand what any of locations,terms and lore that is used in this game. You have read every chapter log(13 chapters total)and even the log on what happen 13 days before the main game starts this is not good story telling. But once you do all of this extra homework you finally understand the plot and characters and lore. Now you have gameplay the gameplay is also about speed which may turn off some hardcore fans because you have to use the"auto-attack" button for everything and you only get to control the party leader the other two teams are controlled by AI which adapts depending on which class you get it. Before any battle you can see up your classes called "Paradigm" which you can switch in on the fly(press the LB button to switch) during battle. Each character starts off three of these roles(six in total) these six classes are "Commando" the attacking melee role,"Ravager" the mage role,"Sentinel" the tank role,"Medic" the healing role,"Saboteur" anti-enemy buff role and "Synergist" buffs teammates stats role. You have to choose which character you want into your party dictates which roles are available to you when you make your Paradigms you have to have a balance party so this gives you room to experiment. This game is all about speed because you want to get 5 star battle rank to get more EXP and item drops. But the only way to do this you have to "stagger" your opponent every enemy even boss fights have a bar you have to fill up but you have to be quick but you also have change up Paradigms because you can't use the same over and over or you're overall progress with slow down once you fill up the bar the enemy or boss will take extra damage you have to take advantage of his time before the bar runs out and you'll have to start all over again. Another thing that may bother some fans is that you can't explore that much of the world until 20 hours into the game and by that time you're about 3/4 of game done depending if you do the only side quests in game which "Cei'th missions" which are monster hunts just like from Final Fantasy XII. The weapon crafting system in this game is down right confusing and obscure which too me is the one of the worst things in game they never give your a tutorial on how to upgrade weapons. You have look up online and even with that it's still a pain in the butt. The soundtrack and graphics are top tier quality from Square Enix and I would like give a special shout out to get voice acting in this game all the voice actors do such a great job bringing these characters to life. Ali Hillis who voiced Lighting(she also voiced Liara from the Mass Effect series) and Troy Baker who voiced Snow(he also voiced Joel from The Last of Us) Square Enix proves to everyone that they can push graphical power of each console generations and give us such beautiful musical score that will always be in our minds and hearts. So overall Square Enix took a huge risk with this game they may have not gotten the results they wanted from this game thanks to linear world,bad weapon crafting and badly written story, I still love this game but not as much as VII,VIII,IX,X,XII and even sequel to XIII-2. I would still recommend this game any fans of JRPGs.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XIII
Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/13
leo420
Location: michigan
This was my first FF game since ps1 i love playing it got XII and two days later i got XII-2. If you are a fps gamer like for a long time and don't really like rpg games i would recommend you play this game. The story was awesome with lots of hours of game play. It is well worth the money and you will replay this many times
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XIII
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
forrestfire101
Location: lightning
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
better graphics better sound i want the stradigy guide for this game this gam is just wow in the future
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XIII
It was somewhat of a let down.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
Kingdomkid
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game and thought it would be really cool. This would be my first Final Fantasy game and I am here to say it was somewhat of a let down. I was expecting it to be like Kingdom Hearts were you could explore amazing worlds freely. Not having to do missions all the time. Not with this game. Your always on a mission and the battle system is not very good. All you really do with the battle system is select an attack and press A. Thats it. Nothing more to it. I am not trying to say the game was horrible. Even though it was pretty close. I am just saying that in future let the Final Fantasy game worlds be Free-Roam. Let the Battle System be more interactive like Kingdom Hearts. I am not even through the first disk yet and already I am having a hard time beating the enemies. If in the future Square Enix decides to make the games more interactive I think all Final Fantasy fans would be thankful for it. But overall I am personally sad to say that this game is not very good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XIII
This game rocks
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
SAO123
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't know why people are saying this is such a bad game this game rocks!its very hard but still worth buying.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XIII
When did RPGs become hard, and a curbstomp fest?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first got my brand new 360, I purchased FFXIII and XIII-2 right off the bat. When I finally got the 360 hooked up, I started to play this game. The first two disks were mainly this: look at the pretty flashy cutscenes, look at tutorial, run along a linear path, fight monsters, find items, level up, and reapeat everything until disk 3. Disks one and two were easy enough for me (a few rage moments that were easily fixed with minor grinding). Disk 3 (RAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGEEEEEEEE!!!) Disk three kept CIRBSTOMPING ME WITH OVERLEVELED MONSTERS AND I HAD LIKE 5000 HP on almost all the characters. After grinding for a whole (fill in the blank) week, I finally made it past that part and into the final dungeon. I hate Square for making me go through the horrible gameplay, but the story and some of the battles kept me going. The graphics are the best in a FF game so far, forget the gameplay, and the story is meh, until disk 3 (where I think Square should have based the whole game like--in other words open world exploration on both Cacoon and Pulse no invisi-walls.) To be 100% honest Sqaure should have made this one a movie, instead of a game (like Advent Children) Play this if you want to play a game to either entertain yourself (fan of FF) or to pass time for a newer JRPG or something to come out (fan of anything BUT this) Oh, and RPGs are usually easy for me, when did it become a slap in the face?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XIII
my first Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
dirtiestmammal16
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is my first Final Fantasy.. its amazingly fun. i never played the old nes ut i figured id give it a try and im glad i did... extremely pleased.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XIII
Final Fantasy finale I hope...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
Deserter
Location: The Desert
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you are looking for a Final Fantasy game or RPG, avoid this! This is more like a 3d side-scrolling arcade game, gutted of almost all RPG features. Battles are basically button mashing with timers and cooldowns, the characters are boring/irritating/cliche and forced down your throat most the game, the story is lackluster and you'll have more flashbacks of past pointless happenings than an episode of Lost, there isn't ANYWHERE to explore or people to talk to, you don't level up, and you can't level skills beyond low levels for most the game.
But you can upgrade your gear further, if you spend hours upon hours grinding (running back and forth on the narrow path maps) timed battles to win materials to do so, which you have to do whether you like to or not. Because the bosses are way ahead of you and will beat you silly.
So if you want an RPG, again I urge you to avoid this! But if you enjoy soap opera story-lines that are very VERY whiny, then you should give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XIII
Amazing work of art
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
Slay9998
Location: Appleton, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing if you know what you're getting into.
This is not a casual gamers cup of tea, it can get quite complicated at times since you individually select commands and constantly are switch through paradigms.
The graphics are great for 2009, but compared to nowadays standard they may slightly fall short.
The gameplay is obviously repetitive since every encounter is similar with just different enemies, there are various environments throughout the game which make it seem less of a repeat.
The storyline in this game is the best of any game I've yet to play (I've played 100s) The story all ties together and makes perfect sense, there are hints in cutscenes, missions, and battles that make you think but add in detail. I felt emotionally attached to characters alot, only a select games make you actually care about the characters, this is one.
The characters are amazing too. Each one has a unique personality that adds flare to the game. You'll definitely gave a favorite person by the end. (personally mine is Lightning)
The verdict is that this game is amazing, its only about $10 (or 8£) and it is worth the price by a long shot.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XIII
Epic but repititive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
TrolololEPICNESS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is EPIC. I like the gameplay, its unique. But the bosses suddenly get overpowered in the second disk, and at one point i had to fight the same boss about 10 times! The rest was ok, but i really didnt understand the story, thats all. Overall, its awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XIII
Final Fantasy XIII Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
FlyersFan87
Location: Holmes, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Graphics 9.5/10
The graphics are great. Animations are smooth, environments are detailed, and the characters models look good. The cutscenes are the most visually stunning I've ever seen. Two years after its release, this is still one of the best looking games on consoles.
Sound 9.25/10
The musical score is tremendous. As we've come to expect from Square Enix, English voice acting is head and shoulders above the norm for most Japanese developed games and puts more than a few American and European developed games to shame. The sound effects are solid and it all combines nicely to make the game nearly as nice hear as it is to look at.
Gameplay 4/10
The battle system removes almost all control from the player and takes on the job of tactical decision making all by itself. Not only does auto-attack select the best abilities for each enemy target, it also remembers enemy weaknesses once discovered. For the vast majority of battles all the player has to do is shift paradigms when necessary, and press A to initiate auto-attack. Not engaging, not fun, and certainly not what we've come to expect from a Final Fantasy game...
Replay Value 4/10
The narrative doesn't change based on your actions, there's nothing to try a second time around that you didn't see the first, and no new game plus feature. Its unlikely you'll feel compelled to return to this game once you've beaten it and there's really nothing here to entice you to do so.
Positives
The visual and audio quality are top notch. Its one of the best looking games on the Xbox 360 to this day. Best cutscenes ever seen on consoles. Voice acting is superb, sound effects are solid, and the musical score is masterful and engaging.
The characters have some depth and their connection to each other gives their relationships real significance, even if the game takes it sweet time putting it all together. The story can be confusing at times but it gets clearer after a bit. Though its clearly not the most compelling plot in the series' rich history, its not the worst either.
A typical playthrough will take around 50 hours, which makes the game worth the price of admission if you enjoy JRPGs. Completionists may be able to get 70-80 hours out of the game, but that includes a lot of grinding.
Paradigms gives the otherwise boring and stripped down battle system a change of pace and shifting between them is really the only tactical decision you'll be making during combat. Being able to customize your paradigms is a nice touch and experimenting to find the best synergy between them on various party members is rewarding.
Negatives
The game really takes a while to get going. You can't pick your party until around the 20 hour mark and halfway up to that point the game is still giving you tutorials.
Areas don't become consistently more difficult. Instead, one particular chapter might be very hard after a string of easy ones, then the next goes back to being easy. This is partially tied to the fact that you're forced to play with undersized parties of various characters all the way up to and including chapter 9. (there are 13 chapters in all)
The battle system nearly plays the game for you. Other than switching paradigms, every battle consists of just a few pushes of the A button. You don't even have to make a tactical ability selection at a critical moment. The auto-attack feature will always select the best attack for each situation and it even remembers enemy weaknesses once they've been discovered.
No towns, no world map, dumbed down character customization options (crystarium), straightforward level design and little interaction with NPCs outside of cutscenes makes the game feel distinctly linear and streamlined to attract new players to the series as opposed to catering to longtime Final Fantasy fans.
Final Score 6.7/10
This is a perfect example of why gameplay is so important; great presentation can only get you so far. It's also proof that tried and true formulas shouldn't be so recklessly abandoned. Unlike its predecessor, Final Fantasy XIII has none of the hallmarks of a traditional Japanese role-playing game: the combat isn't rewarding, the story's not enthralling, and it's far too linear. As great as this game looks and sounds, there's just nothing fun or addictive about it. Final Fantasy XIII isn't a bad game...but it's not a good game either. It screams of 'meh' which is beyond disappointing for a title attached to such an iconic game series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XIII
sucks
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/12
TDOGG94
Location: salt lake city ut
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game sucks i hope they have a game like DISSIDA final fanstasy more fun then the fanstasy 13 frick
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 18 for Final Fantasy XIII
What were they thinking?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/12
steveworldwar2
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is so broken. You can put the battle system on auto, the game is linear, the story is terrible, leveling up isn't fun at all, and the replay value isn't fun. The game barely resemble's anything for it to have the title of "Final Fantasy." This isn't a "Fantasy," this is a nightmare! Yeah, let's call it "Final Nightmare XIII" That would be a better title. You can play any Final Fantasy title (except for Final Fantasy 11, 12, and 14) and you will love it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Final Fantasy XIII
FF 13 IS AWESSSSSSSSSSSSSOME :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
RPG3Guy4356
Location: Suprise Az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
why do people hate it so much it has everything that a Final Fantasy game can have sure it's different but hey different i like it would have been VERY Reptive if it was the same battleing system and story. I say try it and you'll love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Final Fantasy XIII
this game isnt the same
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
punisherp
Location: amarillo texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it was a good game but after ff x-2 they changed the gameplay so much its not final fantsy any more :/
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>