GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fossil Fighters

Fossil Fighters blends the timeless human fascination with dinosaurs with the fun of buildinga collection. The game lets players build a collection of more than 100 fantastical dinosaursknown as "vivosaurs." This new game incorporates elements of discovery, tactics andstrategy as players try to get the best vivosaurs on their teams to battle it out on the field.
Average Customer Rating:
8.556
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
6
8 stars
6
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3689%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fossil Fighters
Review 1 for Fossil Fighters
New concept? I dont think so!
Posted on:7/16/09
Steve-o Rino
This game looks pretty promising but the concept of digging up fossils and bringing them back to life was done by the two Spectrobe games. Those games were fun but the first Spectrobe game was a bit monotonous at times because it just seemed to drag on and on and the second one seemed to work out the kinks by making it more 3D. This game seems to have 3D graphics at all times which is a plus so in that aspect it is one step ahead of the first Spectrobe game which is where it lead to being boring at times. Overall the Spectrobe games are enjoyable because of the fresh idea of digging up monsters and bringing them back to life which is where this game will succeed. However, in order for Fossil Fighters to stand out, it has to bring something new to the table with the fossil digging and battle systems, or else in will just go completely under the radar. In conclusion, Fossil Fighters is another member to this fossil reviving game family which will end up giving titles such as Pokemon and Dragon Warrior Monsters a run for their money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fossil Fighters
A solid game for kids but not Pokemon
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/11
Gameland
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Back when I lived in Canada I worked at a game magazine. I was head of the Ds department. So one day I was supposed to give a review for Pokemon diamond but one of my friends begged me to trade games. So I did and I got fossil fighters.I thought I was screwed. Then I found out this game is decent. I let my son play and I asked him what would you give it. He said an 8. I played for five hours and decided it was a 6.5. Then I asked my son why did he give it and eight. He said the story is cheap knock off but the the game play is a very good mix of Pokemon and final fantasy. He also said the graphics are bad even for the Ds and the soundtracks pretty good. So I raised it to a 7.25 but I didn't have that so I gave it a seven. A problem I saw was how little I could explore. I also saw how much of a rip off this game is of Pokemon I recommended you to get Pokemon but if you don't like that game or love Dinosaurs then the game is perfect for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fossil Fighters
Fossil fighters rulez!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
FossilFighterFan (FFF)123!
Fossil Fighters was a very fun game. I very much enjoyed playing this game. Anybody who's into the pokemon rpgs i garantee you'll love playing this game. The graphics were probably the best i've ever seen in any rpg. I went for a day non stop trying tobeat this game. I did! But this game was probably the best i've played in a long time! I give 2 thumbs up to the people who made this game! THis game was pretty challenging in some points but it just depends on which vivosaurs you use, train, raise, and battle with. This game can go on forever, because after you beat the game you have to get all of the vivosaurs such as Dynal, Raptin, Duna, Frigasaurus and ignosaurus, the legendaries and let's not forget the one on the game cover, T-rex!!!!! He rulez!!! You can find him out in parchment desert. For Duna, Raptin, and Dynal youcan get them after you beat the game. You go to the teleporter and find them on the ship, once you beat them they give their vivosaur to you. For ignosaurus you go to Fossil Stadium common room, saurhead will be there, beat him 3 times he gives you ignosaurus, you can only do this once you beat the game. For Frigisaurus you go to BB base and go to the highest part until you see rex and the gang, beat them 3 times and they give you Frigisaurus. I hoped i helped!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fossil Fighters
A strategic game involving a generic, fun story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/14
jptolympia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Fossil Fighters uses a standard turn-based battling format, and combines it with the peak if a child's imaginations, dinosaurs! I started this game at 8, beat it after a year, and came back to it 3 years later, and it is still my favorite game. Its story leaves room for exploration and adds suspense with the digging element. Your goals change throughout the game, from perfecting battle strategy, to collecting vivosaurs. After that, you reach the stage of "gotta catch em all"! This game provides endless replay fun and plenty of postgame, side missions, and a fresh sequel; Fossil Fighters: Champions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Fossil Fighters
good actually.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/09
wikidude
I would a little bit more than moderately recommend this. I would not say it is a waste of your money. It is actually a good role-playing strategy game. First you have to do the most difficult part clean it. It is hard to try to clean it without really breaking it, but that is okay. I say its addicting but sometimes gets boring. You fight a vivisaur and its hard. Overall I think its good though. If you have spare money and you have a ds you could get this. You have to be a good role playing game fan to love this. It also includes lots and lots of strategy. People keep saying negative things about this but I really disagree!!! In my opinion I think you should really get this game! I goodly recommend this video game and that is really all I have to say...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
johnjames12
eugen oregon
 
Please wait while more information about johnjames12 is loaded.
Additional information about johnjames12 could not be loaded.
THIS IS THE #1 GAME I WANT IN MY LIFE!!!!!!!
Posted 12/9/10
I want this game because I heard lots of good roomers and its on my wish list like a thosand times so if the gamestop people are reading this pleas make my wish come true!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Fossil Fighters
Fossil Fighters is an awesome dinosaur game!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/11
ZekromWhite
Location: Oakland Township, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Last year in August, my friend got this game for his birthday. I asked him if he liked it and he said yes. 4 months later, I got the game. Even though the price is cheap, the game is awesome! It is cool to mix up prehistoric, fossils, dinosaurs, and battling on the nintendo Ds system. If you want to know how to get legendary dinosaurs if you have this game,ask me!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fossil Fighters
prehistoric trauma....GONE!! LOVE IT!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/10
Kibburo
Location: Detroit,MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
well, i regret not getting it when you had the ability to get the shirt with it!!
this game is #1 on my list, and i have about 200 hours on my ....first copy.
i was pretty mad when i lost it, i loved that game like a son
i used to had dinosaur games.... reason: dinosaur king. this game makes me feel more open to the more "natural prehistory" section of games. worse is that i judged this game by it's name (book by cover, same thing) and i missed out on a big deal with it! this game supasses all in my book, i've played the demo 80-something too many times for me NOT to be addicted! I plan on re-buying it, this game is so worth it. now some who grade like "it's bad because of the graphics" are there for vision. i'm here for quality. and the graphics may be choppy, but this is the first game i've seen by RED, so i expected that, so i don't complain.
overall: THIS GAME IS THE BEST!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fossil Fighters
Good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
RolePlayer
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a really good game for kids and especially for fans of games like Pokemon. Besides the extremely difficult end the game is fun and is a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fossil Fighters
A medium game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/09
Nick Storm
Fossil fighters is an average game. The only thing I like about is the battle system. I've beaten the game(three times actually) and now all I do on it is develop new strategies for battle, since I have all the vivosaurs. Even so, I never actually test out most of these strategies. After a few weeks, I was already done with this game. The first play-through of this game was tough, and the story was sort of good. The second time I played through, I was able to create a better, more balanced team. Winning the fights were a snap the second time, and the story was nothing new. The final boss on this game is extremely easy, in fact, several other bosses before the final were twice as hard. So, over-all, Fossil fighters is an average game for people who like strategy, and if you don't, you won't want this game. It isn't the same "Spam a move over and over agian" game like pokemon. Without strategy, you'll find this game extremely hard.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 10 for Fossil Fighters
very good play agian nad agian.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
carter01
Location: mI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is my favriote.i cant wait for the new won i im going to pre order it.the game is so exciting. the greatest.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fossil Fighters
Good Buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
Relix7373
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fossil Fighters is an intriguing and fun game, that I believe could have been expanded on more. I think a sequel should really be made. I really like how the game lets you find fossils, then convert them to dinos. I love the variety and skills. The biggest problem is the battle system. It sucks. Bad. It needs to be improved a ton. The game is quirky and small in the battle system and its just designed poorly. The game has a great storyline and is genuinely fun to play. If a sequel was made I would definitely buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fossil Fighters
New Twist but fails to deliver...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Rocketaco
Location: You'd like that
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
All i can say after playing this is wow. I thought that the dinosaur thing was a good change from some other thing. The fighting is okay. I think it went a little to far with the elements. It helps the fighting but ruins it because now you need a balanced team instead of one that looks awesome. It also gets pretty impossible when you get the final bosses at lvl 12 (highest lvl) and you still cant beat the stupid alien (which was a horrible twist) and then he laughs and says "maybe next time." Dude, WTH? So good game, but gets a little old and not a great story. Though i did enjoy recking bones and stuff.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fossil Fighters
Awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/11
crabapples12345
Location: New Milford, CT
i got this game when it first came out returned it to game stop after beating it got it again and returned it again. it's a lot like pokemon with battle except you battle with the vivosaurs the graphics are amazing in my opinion there better than pokemon black and white graphicsthe games amazing youll never get bored just stuck maybe but it's a great game BUY IT!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fossil Fighters
Good, but the Graphics Were Poor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
CardKingdom101
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a good game, and it is fun to play, but it would've been even better if it had good graphics. The good part of the graphics was the vivosaurs, they look pretty realistic. There are so many vivosaurs to choose from also. Overall this was an okay game. (Vivosaur: A revived dinosaur.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fossil Fighters
Fossil Fighterz
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/09
Matthew *~*
I thought that game was actually pretty good . There are better games that i can think of, but it definitly is not the worst. Let me tell you some pros and cons of the game: Pros: Nice battle system, good storyline, fun cleaning the fossils Cons: Graphics, not much character customization Fossil fighters is a game where you come to an island and revive vivosaurs to use for fighting. I found the process in which you clean these fossils pretty fun. Finding the fossils was also fun too! The graphics in this game werent that good at all! The graphics were actually better in battle mode. There were many vivosaurs to find and put in your team to use for battle, and there were plenty of opportunities for battle as well! There were level up battles which you could use to gain a level in fighting, and i found it very fun to see who you would be challenging. Overall, a nice game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Fossil Fighters
Not bad, but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/09
Zpeed226
Fossil Fighters is good, one of the better games of it's kind, but not the best. The battle graphics of the game is better than when your just walking around, which makes me want to fight all the time. The Dinosaurs of the game are interesting, based on all of the Dinos that we can think about, and more. As i was playing, for some moments i thought i was playing Spectrobes, which is alot like this game, and even came before it.... FOR THE SAME SYSTEM! The story line for Fossil Fighters.... well, you need to just agree with it. Like if it says something about the past of it, in your mind you're just thinking (oh? is that how it happened? ok....) and just to continue playing. As a ending statement, the game is good, what i expected, but not what it could've given or what it did give. I am a fan of rpgs, and it satisfied me with trying to train the best Dinosaur i could.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Fossil Fighters
Fossil Fighters: awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/09
sameri278
Personally, I think that fossil fighters is an awesome game. Its very challanging. There are a lot of fossil battles to finish. The controls are pretty good also. The music is awesome. The worst part is, the reason i gave character costimization a 2 is because you dont even get to choose what you look like. You dont even get to choose to be a boy or girl! Your just a boy getting kisses from girls! Girls would HATE that. The graphics and animation are pretty good. Just compare them to Pokemon! The length is great. It took me over 30 hours total to beat it. The storyline is pretty good. You go to vivosaur island wanting to become a master fighter. Then you meet Rosie. You have to keep on saving her life throughout the story. I would say this game is pretty good. There are 100 vivosaurs, and 15 legondary. I have 96 vivosaurs (including T-Rex) and 4 lengondary.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Fossil Fighters
This game is awesome for kid gamers of all ages
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/12
koolwaters007
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When I first bought the game, i was unsure that anyone else was gonna play it with me. But now, it seems like the younger people that I hang around all want to play it with me! I wish the graphics were better, but hey, every game has it's minor flaws. The game-play kept me into the game for a good long while, and most of the music is pretty good. I just wish that it had more than two save slots. If you want to do something like group play, then you definitely need more than one system and gamecard. But it's just as good in multiplayer as it is in single player!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fossil Fighters
fossil fighter or donosaur king
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/09
jimmy6793
I expected this game to be good so i went into my nearby gamestop store purchased this game as for graphics i give it a not so good score why because its kinda cartoonish when i bought this game i expected it to be fun amizing fantastic and cool but i was soooo wrong this game was pretty poor it lacks the fun part and the game goes by so fast i bought it on a friday beat it on a sunday night i played a total of 18 hours and boom next thing you know the credits but afther you beat the game u get to walk around challeng people to battle but u will already be the strongest dino fighter around you win like in 3 rounds as for this game i say no good its not a fun rpg it lacks a bunch of stuff but if you want to go by it do go but remember its dumb.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fossil Fighters
Prehistoric fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/09
bgalvan
Fossil fighters was a exellent game. It has the most amazing dinosaur graphics that you could see! You would really want to buy this game! If you would like to be an archeologist when you grow up, this is the game for you! This is a game for boys and girls of all ages.I could play forever and never stop! I will recommend it to everyone I meet.If there where more dinosaur games I would buy them all. It was very easy to undersand the battle controls and the excavating controls too.I thought it would be cool if there where action figures of all the dinosaurs on the game, for you to buy.So all I have to say is it was a very very great game. When I first saw this commercial I knew i had to get that game at once! When i first put game in my DS I was so excited.It was the greatest game I ever played in my life.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>