GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sin & Punishment: Star Successor

Players engage in nonstop shooter action as they're propelled through this run-and-gun style game. Isa and Kachi are being hunted. They go on the run and on the defensive, shooting everything in sight. Sin and Punishment 2 is the long-awaited sequel to the Japanese Nintendo 64 cult-classic shooter. It brings a frantic arcade sensibility to a post-apocalyptic world. Fans who can't wait for the sequel can replay the original game by downloading it from the Virtual Console section of the Wii Shop Channel.
Average Customer Rating:
9.714
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Review 1 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Must Buy for all Wii Owners
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/13
CgWorldNation97
Location: Hamilton, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just known about "Sin & Punishment: Star Successor" for a month before buying taking a gamble. Now I wished I got it sooner. S&P:SS was an amazing buy for what the price is currently. The gameplay is addictive shooter action with multiple boss fights and different level designs so the core gameplay doesn't get repetitive. Another plus is that out all the options for controls to play the game with, the Wiimote & Nunchuck was my most favorable to play with because nothing beats simple point and shoot action. Sadly the game will only take you only 5 hours to complete, but this game is meant to be played multiple times. Reasons being to get bigger high scores, play the game on harder difficulties, and to enjoy the game as either Isa & Kachi which play different. You can also play with a friend in co-op but they don't control a character on screen, they only will shoot.
But overall, I highly recommend this Game for everyone that has a Wii for the fact that is a Must-have Gem. Just one thing to remember, this game Is insanlyhard.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
One of the best Wii games to date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/10
Miles Teg
Sin & Punishment: Star Successor is a worthy follow up to the original title, and better in many ways. This game is one where the Wii remote really shines, replacing dual analog controls. Shooter fans will be praising this one for a long time to come. The game is packed with originality, non-stop action, incredible boss fights, and 60fps smooth as butter gameplay. The graphics are average at best, but in motion look great. This is a unique game that every Wii owner should experience. If you are looking for a "core" title, look no further. Its a short game (4-5 hours) but has replay value with online leaderboards and two characters to play with and three difficulty settings. Fully customizable controls are there as well, you can choose to map any action to any button. If you are worried that "its just a rail shooter" let your hesitation melt away. You will not get this experience from any other game, ever. It may be a rail shooter, but only in the sense that you are being guided around, you have complete control over your character. Buy this game and experience what a masterpiece Treasure has created.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
one of the best wii gameS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
one of the best game this gen! lots of fuN! Awsome Levil designs a good Art! feses smoth movie mint and A lot of cool wepens like a flam troer and Machen gun laser! its awsome of my favert shoter! i love it so much its awsome well made has good music and art! i cant tell u i cant show u! u gest got to play it! its a Expernes unlike all others! its awosme and good infintly good hard to put down! Amzing good grafixs and Lots of boss fights! better than star fox! Awsome levils! over all FANTSICKE GAME! u got to give it a try its even more fun than it looks! Plesce do ur selfe a faver and git this game is awsome! so fun so cooL! WOW it gest Amzing! this is a moder classic! geart gsme must play! awsome! try this game. i loved it! its super good i cant stop playing it! trylly great! this game is a blessing! So much fun. a joy to play!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
INSANE!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/10
Trevor Ralston
This is game is great, the action is intense in this game. Trust me you will get frustrated, this game throws a ton of challenges at you. There is only one bad thing i can say about it. The story is kinda stupid, it just feels unoriginal. But dont let that stop you from buyin this game. The controls are perfect for a wii shooter, im not makin' this up, they really are. The graphics are also very good. Some may think that this is a shooter to get used to, but its not. This is nothing like call of duty, bad company, red dead, or bioshock. Sin and punishment is its own shooter. If you think that nintendo has gotten soft, think again. This will take hours to complete. If you're a hardcore shooter fan, check this one out.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Great Sequal Of The Original
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
GLuigi
*GAMEPLAY*: This is just like how it was in the original game. It's simple you just aim where you want to shoot and just fire away while you move your character to avoid obstacles and enemy fire. Depending on the character you choose you can have an auto aim or manual aim. The controls are easy to know so anyone can pick up and play. You can also play with the Wii-mote or the Classic controler which is pretty nice. Also a new feature is the scoreboard where you can compare your scores with the rest of the world , which is a nice feature to encourage gamers to replay the levels and obtain that higher score and show it off to the world. Although sometimes it does take a few tries to find out which enemy attacks you can block , reflect , or must avoid *GRAPHICS*: I must say that the graphics in this game is one of the best grahpics i seen in any wii game. All the levels are detailed and you will just be amazed in wonder of all the different enemies that are out there and desctructible enviroments. *SOUND*: I simply enjoy the music in this game. Each stage music gives you the feeling of your surroundings and a nice beat to keep your finger trigger happy. Boss battle music are also pretty epic in their own way and they always keep you on the edge of your seat. *OVERALL* I would say this is one of the games that are a must have if you own a wii. The game has moderate replay value with the scoreboard and multiplayer. This game is one of the examples of Nintendo giving fans what they want
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jammer196
Jackson,WI
 
Please wait while more information about Jammer196 is loaded.
Additional information about Jammer196 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Graphics
Posted 2/21/11
*GRAPHICS*: I must say that the graphics in this game is one of the best grahpics i seen in any wii game. I know this game is really really good but the graphics are pretty bad
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/10
metaridley
I LOVE THIS game it combines all differant forms of shooters and wrapps them into one i think the story is complex and awsome the voice acting is occasionaly annoyin but i don't care it is so cool i downloaded the orinonal via wiiware im tracking the n64 japanese predocessor..you just have to buy this..i love it :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Excellent action game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/10
Kevbo
Sin and Punishment: Star Successor is the Wii sequel to the original Sin & Punishment released for the Nintendo 64. They are both made by Treasure which is a game development studio known for its classic action games like Ikaruga and Gunstar Heroes. The didn't disappoint with the sequel, its just as fast paced and action oriented as the original with quite a bit of challenge as well. This is a video game in the purest form, pure action that is easy to get into and hard to master. It is amazing how well the levels play out and how much replay value is possible thanks to the many things going on at one time. The game is a mix between an old school shooter (ikaruga), an on rails shooter and various other genres. At any one point you can find yourself playing a variation on tetris, breakout, snake or even f-zero all while fighting a huge boss. You will master the various methods of attack (rapid fire, lock on, charged and hitting the enemies attacks back at them) and learn to use everything at your disposal. The controls are simply perfect and really show the strengths of the wiimote IR pointer combined with the analog for movement controls. The only area where the game is not the strongest would be the music. Its not horrible but it isn't really memorable but nothing that is annoying. The challenge is great and really takes you back to the good old days of gaming when games actually challenged you to master the controls and gameplay. Online leader boards help keep you coming back to get higher and higher scores along with the great level design and fast paced gameplay. If you like old school shoot em ups or rail shooters or just fun challenging games then buy this game! I would give it a 9 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Cool
Posted on:5/22/10
great gamer
This looks like a great game,when it comes out im going to get this
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
What Can I Say?
Posted on:6/4/09
Reverend Roon
This game was pure fun, I got a preview at E3 and I was surprised. I am definitely going to buy this in January, the graphics are dope and the shooting mixed with flying is insanely fun. Check this out next year and don't sleep!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Saiyen2012 Sin and Punishment 2 review
Posted on:5/10/10
saiyen2012
I've never played the first one. Put I saw the preview for the 2nd one and thought this game looks crazy. I need to play this. I'm not a fan of using the nun-chuck but I must say it is very easy to pick up playing this game with the nun-chuck. The game is fun. Basically a new age space harrier. My only complaint is that the bosses energy meters are so dam long and your meter is short and I don't know if their is a way for you too extend your meter. It looks for doubtful. But all in all a great game.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Very fast and fun
Posted on:1/14/10
Kevbo
I've played the first one on the N64 about and have probably beaten it well over 20 times. Treasure is well known for making very fast, fluid and fun games. From videos, reviews, and impressions of this game over seas this one follows suit and is an intense experience til the end. This game has unlimited continues which allows for all to experience the whole game. However there are online leader boards so if you want to top those you will want to beat it without using any continues.
Review 12 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
This game HAS to rock...
Posted on:10/16/09
Zahaaticus
I owned the original first one. I bought it on Wii Ware (which is ok once you get used to the controls). I've been waiting for an update/sequel for a long time now I'm finally gonna get my wish. I sincerely hope it comes with the first one either as an unlockable or a bonus so I can play it with the Wii-mote and nunchuck which this game was essentially made for. Can't wait!
Review 13 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
This looks great.
Posted on:5/26/10
ExploderReviews
I might not be able to buy it, but i was reading NP the other night and they said its gonna be like awesome. Apparently its going to be insanely difficult. It looks like, with the wii mote and nunchuck point-to-shoot combo it will have great controls. Agin, looks cool
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
Saki vs Isa
Posted on:1/8/10
Hyper Fox
I can't wait for this game!! The graphics look neat. It has some new gameplay. This game is going to be better than the original one. If you are fan of sin and punishment or you like shooting games than you should preorder this game now.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 9/21/11
u must play it ur selfe to see what fun it is! geart well made fun satifing game plaY! intaractive awsome GAME ART MASTER PEACE! good music to! thanks Nitendo for all the Love u put in this game it showed and was werth it! i can not tell u wood thank full im and wood much i injoy it! what a joy! thanks agen Nitendo! infintly good game, what a honer to play it its heavenly! it suck u in! wow! what a awsome game! so fun!
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
best shoter of all times!
Posted 9/13/11
smoth lots of fanes well made! Awsome fun Levils online leder bords. Good graphice! I love the Design! i LOved this Game! I love its so musch! this is a secil to a N64 game on the VC its fun to! this Is the best shoter of all times and if u play it u will Agree. its awsome!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Sin & Punishment: Star Successor
...hmmm
Posted on:12/5/09
Anonymous
Looks like a modern day Space Harrier!