GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky

Become a Pokémon and Save the World!Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky is the newest installment in the Pokémon Mystery Dungeon video game series. The game expands on the fun found in Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time and Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness. Players become a Pokémon and team up with a partner Pokémon. Together the two set out on an adventure of exploration and discovery, ultimately saving the world from destruction. With additional Pokémon to become, new "Special Episodes" and enhanced communication features, this is a grand adventure with a moving story and stunning finale. This game is a great starting point for players to enter the world of Pokémon Mystery Dungeon and for returning players to discover even more secrets.
Average Customer Rating:
8.906
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3291%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Review 1 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/12
DreamLandMan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
my friend stole this game from me, and moved... this game is a treasure to play, and to keep. i love
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
One of the best pokemon games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
MutantFang
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
One reason why I love this game is because of the story! You can also recruit legendary pokemon for exsample: Shaymin (Climb sky peak twice) Dialga (Go to hidden land after fighting primal dialga) and much more! I also like recruiting new members for the team!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
This Game is Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/15
SMan1128OnYT
Location: Sandy, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a wonderful game. It takes what it had in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team/ Blue Rescue Team and also from Explorers of Time/Darkness, and just makes it better. This game has a lot of legendaries, good gameplay, amazing music, and graphics. This game makes you feel for the characters and it makes you want to play more. I love this game, and I will love it forever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Pretty Good!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
waise
Location: Eatontown,NJ
I got this game and am happy about it.When I was picking it up at my local Gamestop store,I thought it was nothing much more or different then the older ones.When I played it,I was totally proven wrong.I love it very much to play and recommend it.It was worth the money and time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
9.2 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
best Pokemon game ive played outside of the rpgs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/11
tikkmuffin
Location: Olympia,WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
wow i loved all the extra content on this game!!! this is the best Pokemon music sound track ive ever heard in my whole life!!! some of the best composers ive ever heard on a game made such beautiful and powerful music pieces the story has a lot of deep emotions but thats what kept me coming back to the sound track very inspirational storyline on here this is a phenomenal storyline!! i just know if they had the sound track available online it would sell lots of copies i wish this kind of music was in the Pokemon RPGs i will never sell this game!!! this game left lasting memories in my heart and mind about friendship :') i cried 2x on this game... it takes a lot to make me cry from a game..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MudkipPaek
Los Angeles
 
Please wait while more information about MudkipPaek is loaded.
Additional information about MudkipPaek could not be loaded.
Way too Awesome!!!
Posted 2/1/12
This game is awesome. I recommend this game to anybody who likes it. Too Awesome...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
ONE OF BEST POKEMON GAMES I PLAYED ON DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/11
kingdomheartsfan001
Location: ca
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is so awesome.i have always been a huge Pokemon fan.its quite long and you dont get board easily.the end of the final chapter is sad.but the game keeps on going on the final chapter.this game has some twists.there are things you dont know.but eventually will find out.you get to fight alot of legendary pokemon like dialga palkia darkrai and more.but i dont want to ruin it.and when you go in a dungeon you never know whats gonna happen so bring so reviver seeds and stuff
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Explorers of Sky ranks sky high!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/09
Vulli
From one Pokemon gamer to another, I have played every Pokemon game in the history of forever (No I don't mean I've used each and every copy of each and every game) and Sky tops them all! I love the extended storyline from Time and Darkness like the back stories for Guildmaster Wigglytuff and the loveable (though admittedly dopey) Bidoof. The main bonus for me is the addition of the Sky Jukebox, a lovely feature that will -once you unlock it- allow you to choose the music you listen to while dungeon crawling. How awsome is that? Another thing that was added that rocks is rescue in a bottle requests. Because how do those "Save me!" letters even get to the rescue board anyway? Did Peliper get them from the Pokemon in distress? If he did, why didn't he save them? The message in a bottle makes some sense at least. There is one thing that annoys the heck outta me though, that would be the confusingly named items. Eat an Oran berry, restore 100HP, but eat an Oren berry you lose 100HP. That is like, twelve flavors of irksome. There are quite a few items with really similar names in addition to the Oran-Oren berry thing but I don't want to list them all. Other than that this game is perfect! Thank you for reading my review, and good luck in the game! Remember, if you need help, thousands of teams are there to save you over the Wi-Fi!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Mostly A copy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/09
Legoyoda9
Pokemon Explorers of The Sky was fun for people who didn't play explorers of time or explorers of darkness. This is because it was the same story line and they just added a new end to the game. All in all i thought it was a fun game but being one of the people who played Explorers of time, it was not much fun for me to play. I think it was prety good but it could have been better. It was a cheat and it gave us less then we bargened for. It was fun don't tell me other wise and it is very complicated but I have seen the exact thing befor.Thank you for reading my long Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
A true epic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Mctron
Location: Ann Arbor, Mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game manages to do something the main pokemon games fail at and that is tell an amazing emotional story. You'll be craving every story piece to see where it goes next. In true pokemon fashion this is a huge game with a lengthy post story. Also this has some new episodes and you can play as Rioulo Lucarios pre evolution. The music is fantastic. The graphics aren't as impressive as Black or white, but they look like a GBA game. Which I'm cool with. The cut scenes do have stellar pixel art though. Also look into to getting the guide. Order it off amazon. It has to be one of the biggest guides that I have ever scene, 720 pages! So the gameplay is a blend of realtime and turnbased, it is kinda of hard to get used to but you eventual will. This is not about collecting them all but rather going on an epic journey as a human who has been transformed into a pokemon. You do get pokemon to join your team randomly after they have been defeated by you. The dungeons a randomly generated, leading to some suprises, sometimes you'll get lucky and the staircase will spawn next to you, other times you'll end up exploring the entire floor before finding it. This is a very hard game but it rewards you with an excellent story and world. If you are getting this for a young kid they might have trouble with this games steep difculty curve. Leveling up is extremely slow in these games. Slower than YS or other similar action rpg's. So I recommend you level up in the first dungeon to make the game easier for yourself. The world is fantastic as the game draws you into being an apprentice at the Tuff wigglytuff guild. You accept jobs and hunt outlaws for a bounty. You can go to town to buy items or train at a Dojo. The world kinda of reminds me of the monster hunter games, you have shops, a place for missions, etc. And you go away for missions. But everything else is completely diffrent from monster hunter. So if you beat black/white and are waiting for black/white 2 pick this up for a nice summer game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Best game ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
Turtwig13
Location: Canton, GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Overall, great game. New pokemon and items. Great storline and side stories. Highly recommend this game to any pokemon fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
BEST POKEMON GAME I EVER PLAYED
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/11
Deajah
Location: Baltimore MD
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game has a great neverending storyline the more i play it just when i think i've beat it its still not over love it pokemon mystery dungeon ecplores of sky the fun never ends i find myself playing it hours a day guilt? nope This game has quite and adventure and requires some smart thinking to get past the "levels". Pokemon fans you might or might not like it I LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Sky, My review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/09
Joseph1998
The game starts becoming more and more better each game. However, games like these will intend to repeat some same in-game items and other things. Apart from that, the add-ins are nice and commentable and it is wonderful to see endings of these Pokemon games. For me, Pokemon Mystery Dungeon so far is my favourite game of all Pokemon games. This game is simply outstanding and always seems to amaze me. The sounds, however, are repeated but some new added areas have different sounds. All these things really made the game outstanding to all Pokemon Mystery Dungeon fan lovers. Game Statistics: Challenge - Not much of a challenge unless dungeons with 99 floors or dungeons full of monster houses will confuse me. However, 20% of the game is challenging, the rest may be relaxful but at the same time, u will never know when a Pokemon can send you fainting. Controls - Simple, good and easy. The controls of a DS is much similar to a Gameboy. Instead, it has double screens and many things added. The game itself has very easy controls and most likely, mistakes are not bound to happen (Unless you purposely do it). Interface - Okay very excellent i should say. It was very well done and i am impressed on this game. Sound - Here is the tricky part. I split the sounds into two groups (Same reflection) and most of them are repeated in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Time/Darkness. ---Surrounding Music or BGM > Very good and also sometimes, it tells you the mood of the situation. Some dungeons relax you and some dungeons makes you more energetic and more anxious. ---Event Music > Such as Grovyle's Sacrifice (Determination) and You and Your partners memories (Memories of You) are very touching indeed. I even cried when i heard that Grovyle sacrificed himself to save ours. Have you ever wondered tha instead of Grovyle sacrificing, you instead, sacrificed for Grovyle and ur Partner instead?? These thoughts came up to my mind when these emotional music came about. Character Customization - Same as always except for the ending and the other pokemon that are new. Also, new starters are involved now. But still, nothing seems to amaze me then the two starters, Chimchar and Piplup. Graphics and Animation - Okay, Graphics not bad, like 2-D or sth. Animation is nice. And by mean of Animation, i meant as the Pokemon. Its normal as always but when new Pokemon start to appear such as the pokemon Shaymin, it make the game more exciting^^ Length - Okay, moderate. I probably can take 2-3 days to complete a Pokemon game. But, if i were to enjoy the music and slowly play or maybe even cheat (Which i will not do in the first time round) it will eventually slow the time. Storyline - It is amusing 10/10 Good job Nitendo^^ I can't believe such amusing storyline. Ever since i finished playing the first time round, i saw "Determination, Perseverence, Faith, Luck, Courage" and many more others. When i was about 10 years old, i played the game and i learned so many things too. I simply love the Storyline. When someone sacrifices his/her life for another, there is where the Emotional part kicks in. So for storyline, i really liked it. No not like it, LOVE IT!! Thats all. The main thing of the game i bought is so that I could see Bidoof's, Wigglytuff's Past and also see what happens in the Future with Grovyle and Dusknoir. Oh and also about the new pokemon Shaymin^^ I strongly reccomend all Pokemon Mystery Dungeon lovers to buy this game. Even though 60% of the game is repeated but you just have to feel emotional again. The ending is nice, the Bidoof and Wigglytuff past is nice. To Summarise, This game rocks with Bidoof's and Wigglytuff's past, Grovyle and Dusknoir in the future, New Starters and more Emotional Parts^^ P.S I LOVE THIS GAME!!! I think i wan cry liao, i like seeing Grovyle sacrifice^^
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Be perpared to play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
mudkip98
Location: Covina,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My review of this game of this game is that I turely love the pokemon they added. I like all the pokemon in the game and u migth be lucky to be the pokemon u want.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
these games ARE good.
Posted on:8/30/09
surrounding.ember
I'm not too sure what most of you may say, but these games definitley are worth the buy. I've played the first, and Explorers of Time. They were both magnificently fun and even though I couldn't finish Explorers of Time (becuase Dialga kept beating me and my Chimchar, plus Chimchar kept using Slack Off uselessly) it was still fun and I keep trying. And I love the fact that you can be a Pokemon, I don't see the issue that some of you may say there is. I think that being a Pokemon lets you see that the creators of the Pokemon games don't think inside the box; they think everywhere.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
very good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
mcneela
Location: glenview, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game updates the last pokemon games and adds on to it. i have completed it many times it is very fun and entertaining. the charcters will hvve you laughing for min. on end
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Nice Job Nintendo!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/09
KingO
Well i say that this game was pretty good over all because i love it how you can see stories about the other characters past life like bidoof's and the Guild Master because haven't you wondered how the Guild Master became an explorer in the first place?It is also cool how they added in extra cut scenes those are just cool! The story line is great like the previous games but this one has a few added things into it. Also it makes much more sense with the messages in bottles on the beach. This game is very good but there are a few flaws like the repetitive music i just hate it when video game creators do that it drives me nuts. Another thing is that there is not much to do after the after story what i mean by that is the story after the main story. This game is overall pretty good so i would give it a 9/10 nice job Nintendo you guys rock!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
It's Good, But Not Great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
SuperSDRocks
Location: Rochester, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a good game. I like how you take a test to see what pokemon you are gonna be, but I don't like how you can't have a partner pokemon thats the same type as yours. In this game you get to go on missions and fight pokemon. Every time you go in a dungeon, the dungeon is completely different, which I think is cool. I find the fighting very confusing, but I'm pretty sure I will understand it later. I think the graphics are great, because I like RPG graphics. The sound is ok, but it could be better. The lasting appeal is moderate. I only played for about two days. Overall, I would recommend this game to pokemon lovers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Best Spinoff For Pokemon
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
Revlis
This game had so much to give that it makes me sad that it is so overlooked. The third one does have a few changes the I really enjoy. One is a new place that you can go to and get rid of certain items that you don't want and trade it for some more useful goods. Another change is that you can easily get the seven treasures that is barley noticed in the explorers of time and darkness games. Then they give you access to a jukebox that allows you to listen to all of the music made for the game. My favorite change is the side episodes where it shows you different stories like how Bidoof ended up into the guild and how wigglytuff became a guildmaster. What makes this so different to playing Pokemon is that there is so much personality given to these characters and to the story. This has been one of my favorite storylines in a game, and by far my most favorite storyline for Pokemon. Sure the graphics remained unchanged since the first pokemon dungeon games, but that does not make it a bad game. I would give this a thumbs up easily for its storyline and soundtrack alone. This game is something that you will enjoy no matter where and when you play it. If you are ready to explore, then get ready for a great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/09
Artomis
Alright, so I went and got this after having it reserved for the longest time. After I played it, it seems quite like Time/Darkness, but the new addition of characters was nice. The graphics, sounds, missions, ect. are all the same until the end. Unlike quite a few people, though, I personally liked the fact that they released this instead of going right into the next series, becasue they left a lot of open endings in my opinion. This game at least takes care of a few odds and ends that you never got to see in Time/Darkness, and those are all great additions to the game. Challenge - Same difficulty as the past two, but the end stories make it a bit more challenging since you do not get to pick your specific characters played. Still quite tough depending on what items you get and how you explore dungeons. Controls - Same as before, all quite simple really. I love simple controls with good game play ^_^ Interface - Nice, user friendly menu setup. Options for the top screen I think are in fact better than the last games. Sound - Same sounds as before, doesn't sound like they even changed them besides the bonus missions Character Customization - This is still one of my favorite parts. I love how it's a quiz on yourself rather than just letting you choose who you will be. The fact that you can choose to evolve them or not is great as well. Graphics/Animation - Same as before, which isn't bad. The sprites are pretty much just like the normal pokemon shown in the games/anime. Length - I wish the actual gameplay was longer, but the main story besides the extra missions is almost (if not) the exact same length. The fact that you get the bonus missions is cool, though. Storyline - Same as Time/Darkness. The storyline is great, in my opinion, and I'm glad that they decided to stick with it. I'm not gonna ruin anything to all you players who haven't played a Mystery Dungeon yet, but I will say this: be prepared for surprises. The one thing I loved most about the storyline when I first played it was the fact that you didn't know what was going to happen next. Overall, this is a great game. The only thing I think they could have done better to this game besides maybe a new storyline was to add a multiplayer feature besides the rescues. Recieving rescues is great, in fact, I wouldn't be as far as I was in my Time if it wasn't for those, but I wish players could play side-by-side in this series. That would just make it so much better and make it to where you're not waiting on a friend to fall to save them or waiting on your friend to save you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers Sky
Honestly one of my favorite games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/15
stardragon
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I acknowledge that this is an old game, but I replayed it recently, so why not. I'll begin this review by saying that if you have fully played through Time or Darkness, don't get this. The storyline is identical, with features being added to Sky. However, if given the choice, Sky is the superior of the three versions. I'll be doing my reviews with the four criteria Gamestop has already- Gameplay, Graphics, Sound, and Lasting Appeal- but will be adding a section for storyline at the end. With that said, let's begin. The first is gameplay. It's most certainly repetitive, and the gameplay from dungeon to dungeon remains the same. However, that's not to say that it isn't fun! The controls are simple but rather customizable, being able to create linked moves, instant attacks with a combination of buttons, and assigning throwing items to a button combination. The concept remains the same. You crawl through each dungeon, fighting through enemies and collecting helpful items along the way, as well as money that can be exchanged for goods and services that are helpful later. It's definitely not good for a person who hates repetition, but if you're okay with the mechanics being the same each dungeon, that's great! The game can be a little difficult at times, though for the most part usually only bosses will give you trouble. There are more difficult dungeons you can enter, though. The dojo dungeons, plus one special dungeon, will make it so that you cannot bring any items in, and there are particularly harsh ones out there such as the Zero Isles, one of which takes all your items and sets your level to one before tossing you into a harsh 99 floor dungeon. There are challenges for everybody! The graphics... are really nothing special. The dungeons are all the same and have a sort of washed look about them, and a lot of the time areas don't have a particularly stand-out design. However, the sprites are charming and the animations are well done on them, as well as the expressions of some of the characters. Some of the scenery is nice, as well, such as Fogbound Lake or the top of Sky Peak, as well as the future ones, which are grim and capture the atmosphere perfectly. As for the sound... oh, I could talk for hours about the sound track! The dungeon themes are, by far, some of the most amazing. The atmosphere is captured in a gorgeous and evoking way that only music can do, executed perfectly and setting a perfect atmosphere for the worlds you will explore. They are memorable and some of the nicest and most atmospheric I have heard from almost any game. There are other themes that aren't part of dungeons, but they are just as good. The bouncy theme of Treasure Town sets a wonderful atmosphere, the laid-back tune of Spinda's cafe is suitably lax, listening to the crossing of the sea of time is phenomenal, the bittersweet music of a parting invokes emotion so perfectly. All in all, the music is one of the most amazing parts about the game, in my opinion. The ingame sounds, as opposed to the dungeon themes, are simple and not incredibly diverse. This isn't a bad thing at all! The sound effects are suiting and not obnoxious. It's always a rewarding sound to hear the clink of gathered money or funny to hear the flustered flapping of Chatot irritated once again. Now for lasting appeal. God, yes, this game has some of the most lasting appeal I have ever experienced. This game was the first to make me cry, to genuinely cry, at the ending. The story is beautifully crafted and surprisingly deep, the initial colorful and childlike appearance it took taking a sudden and dark turn, entering periods of great questioning, character development, revelations, the revealing of the grand scheme of time. It's extremely appealing, and this game is one I have never and will never forget. I am not embarrassed to say that I have replayed this game probably about ten times, possibly more, simply because I wanted to live that story again. As opposed to the main Pokemon series, almost every character you meet will have a unique and charming personality, and you will get emotionally invested into many of them, trust me. All of them are wonderfully crafted, and you'll find yourself picking favorites. Celebi, Team Charm, Chatot, Wigglytuff, Grovyle, Dusknoir... I could go on. This is also part of the reason I say Sky is the superior version. In Sky, you will unlock extra little side stories known as special missions, which will allow you to delve into the stories of other characters throughout the game. While I don't have much to say about the first and third, learning about Wigglytuff's past, seeing the escapades of Team Charm, and learning the fate of Grovyle and Dusknoir was extremely satisfying and just as incredible as the main storyline. One huge emphasis in this game is the development of the relationship between you and your partner pokemon, and you become extremely attached to them and other characters, which makes the ending that much more heartbreaking. Overall, the game is unforgettable. Now for my final segment, the storyline. Those of you who came from playing Red/Blue Rescue team already experienced something similar to what happened in this game. However, Sky takes a rather dark turn. Initially, the game takes the same sort of simple storyline that Red/Blue take. Sure, time is getting messed up, and you know that you'll have to fix it later, but to start it doesn't seem as bad. However, with the introduction of the Time Gears, things get interesting. Without spoiling way too much here, rather than catch the thief of the time gears, you get thrown into post-apocalyptic type locations, have an attempt of execution, learn about the strange workings of time and who's really pulling the strings, and find the lengths one will go for self preservation. It's a surprisingly complex and reflective story, and one that I am absolutely in love with. It is by far the best storyline of the pokemon series, and sits extremely high in terms of all time favorite stories. Basically, all in all, this game is extremely worth checking out!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>