GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ModNation Racers

Get behind the wheel of the latest Creative Gaming title available on the PLAYSTATION3! ModNation Racers is athoroughly fresh take on classic kart racing that empowers the player to personalize their entire game. Enjoy endless karting fun, where you can shoot, boost & drift your way to the finish line. Create your unique racing experience with the same tools used by the development team. Express yourself by creating your own Mod character, quirky kart and imaginative track, and share it with the rest of the world.
Average Customer Rating:
8.273
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
10
8 stars
8
7 stars
2
6 stars
5
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
62 out of 7781%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ModNation Racers
Review 1 for ModNation Racers
Mario has finally met his match.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
MyKell
Location: New Paltz, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Over 3 years later, and I still find myself loading this game up. Whether it's to race other players online, playing up to 4 people split screen with friends at home, or racing online with a buddy on the same couch on over 2 million user created tracks, karts, and mods with a dozen people. The controls are tight and intuitive and creating your own race tracks has proven to be unbelievably addicting. (I'm still making tracks today) There's nothing like racing on a track that you're proud of building, complete with shortcuts, obstacles to avoid, and risk/reward scenarios aplenty. And for a kart racing game, the game play has never been more fair and balanced due to the players ability to earn boost that fills up a meter which you can then burn off to activate a shield to defend against oncoming offenses if you activate it with just the right timing. Anyone that's looking for a FUN game with that instant gratification feel to it, not unfamiliar to Mario kart games, only a lot better (sorry Mario) should check out this game now if you haven't yet. It's so cheap now, you can't go wrong.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for ModNation Racers
AMAZING GAME FOR A RACING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
jester69k
Location: los angles, La compton
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing because it is better then mario kart a little. i thot this game was dum before i try the demo then i thot im going to buy it for me ^_^ so yea this game is amazing for any type of age even for my mom likes the game my brothers,sisters, like to so im going to buy this game ^_^
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for ModNation Racers
Fun & Quirky
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/13
Skunkly
Location: America
I'll start off this review with the only heavy deterrent this game has : the loading times are ridiculously long. The graphics aren't that fancy, it shouldn't take that long... but now that the considerably clumsy elephant's stumbled out the window, we can focus on the good stuff this game has to offer. The racing itself feels very fast-paced. Whether it's boosting over speed-up pads or drifting, the driving feels so alive. What's better is that you can create your own tracks/karts/mods and share them with the entire Modnation Racers online community - so if you're not the creative type, you won't be left out of the party when you download others' creations. The single player mode is pretty good fun, as well. Even after you complete races, you can go back and complete extra missions for goodies you can use to create something of your own. If you have a PS3, you should consider putting this game on your get list. Personally, I don't enjoy racing games too much, but this game was too much fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for ModNation Racers
Its fun but not addicting....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
mrabc2
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game at first is fun, but after awhile you just do the same thing. You beat a level go to the next one. Its one of those games when you play it time to time. One thing I thought I would like was the Track maker, but its really chessy, and the level or stage they give you is so small and skinny.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for ModNation Racers
BEST ENTERTAINMENT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
gabriel
Location: PUERTO RICO
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
BEST KART GAME FOR LONG TIME . DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE DEMO BUY THE GAME AND YOU SEE ALL THE MOD . I LOVE THE GAME .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for ModNation Racers
LittleBigPlanet Meets Mario Kart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
hotrodrobot
Location: Maumee,OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Over the years, many game developers have tried to capture the charm of the Mario Kart series. Some, like Crash Team Racing, have succeeded. ModNation Racers falls in the same class. But being a good kart racing game is nothing if it doesn't bring something unique, otherwise, it's just Mario Kart with different character models. ModNation Racers features the most customization options I've ever seen, allowing you to create just about every part of the gameplay in your own image and style. I mean, what other game do you know that gives you 117 different nose options? You're also able to share and download custom creations through the central hub where you can also take part in races and meet other players. Now this sounds great, but in order to enjoy this content, you're going to have to wait up to a minute for the tracks to load before you get started. But trust me, it's worth the wait. Along with a single player story, there is also local splitscreen play, quick race, and a "Mario Kart Wii"-style 2-player online multiplayer. If you're looking for a kart racing game for your PS3 but want to customize, then this game is perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ModNation Racers
GREATEST RACING GAME EVER!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
gamer404
This game is perfect for: party gamers
THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! TONS OF CHARACTERS, TROPHIES, KARTS, COURCES, AND ADD ONS! THIS GAME IS WONDERFUL AND I ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO LIKES TO RACE!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for ModNation Racers
CONNECTION ISSUES - DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
darthinky
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
If you're buying this game to play online, don't waste your money. At least 4/5 people have connection issues with this game that ranges anywhere from random disconnections to being almost completely unable to log-in. I've been playing games like MW3, NUNS2, MVC3, and a bunch of other online games and never had any issues. No disconnections and I rarely lag. With this game, however, it's nearly impossible to even log-in and when I'm lucky enough to get in, I get disconnected within 2-10 minutes. Same issue is experienced by 3 other people I know who bought the game. Useless..useless..useless. Also, the mods in their official forums just ignore this issue and never once addressed it. blah.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ModNation Racers
THis game is the best in cars
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
Miguel19
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This games is the best in cars and this is almost mario kart but is better i recommend this games for everyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ModNation Racers
Great.... but one thing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
United97
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a great game but it does have one problem. The loading time takes 15+ seconds. Its an oldish game but still the loading time should be way faster!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ModNation Racers
My new favorite kart racer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
explodingpenguins
Location: Jupiter
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mariokart was my first ever video game. So I was soon addicted to the kart-racing genre. I heard about a game called ModNation Racers from my friend. And I just has to go buy it. This game is mindblowingly fantastic. Why? It brings that Playstation sense of creativity to the mix. You can make your own tracks with little to no limitations on what you can do. You can play others too (a la Littlebigplanet). YOu can make your own character, download other peoples, buy DLC ones. As for the gameplay, it's a typical kart racer. it's got powerups, collectables, etc. My ONE problem is how much DLC there is. I wish there was a version with most of it. Like Borderlands had. But still, don't let that stop you from buying the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ModNation Racers
LOVE IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/11
EpicGamer123
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i saw some (alot) of vids of this on youtube and i have to say i love this game is it awesome get it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ModNation Racers
This game is awsome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
ChOwDeR24
Location: coachella,ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Couldn't get my eyes off of this game!!!!! i like this game!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ModNation Racers
Watch out, Mario Kart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
Umaga
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is like a drug. When I first got it, I had trouble putting it down. First of all, the creation system is fantastic. Even when you first start the game (and you don't have very many parts unlocked), the possibilities are endless. Creating things is about as much fun as the game itself. The audio quality is great. Things are easy to hear. The engines make realistic sounds, and the commentators have very amusing things to say. Career mode is great. The storyline isn't very deep, but it's surprisingly amusing and fun. There are always different obstacles laying around. It's like a modern Mario Kart. There are lots of different power ups, and destroying your opponents to your advantage is a big point in the game. Overall this is tons of fun and I would definitely recommend it to anyone, young or old. This will bring out the kid inside any adult.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ModNation Racers
Won't connect online!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/11
OldSkoolGGamer
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is ok. I thought it would have more custamization. The races get real hard on easy...I'm pretty sure the computer cheats. What makes this game the worst is that i can't get online. Oh well I am bored of it already. Back to little big planet.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ModNation Racers
Awesmome racing game and creative game:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
Tbot
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game replaces Mario Kart and kicks butt at the same time. This game is creative and fun at the same time. I can download tracks, karts, and characters for free. Overall this game is perfect for kids, and adults who like creative games, and racing games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ModNation Racers
Awesome 1st Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/11
Rsork
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so amazing. It waz my first game and it went great hate it when other cars fire at u but this game is really fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ModNation Racers
Great Mario Kart Replacment
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
gohawkeyes143
Location: Portland, Washington
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
AI cheats a little, but overall the game is great. Customization of characters and tracks is excellent . Sound is slightly annoying. Online play is amazing.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 19 for ModNation Racers
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/11
russellt
Location: dover ky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
like mario kart multiply that by 10 plus custimazation plus creating everything and you get aaawwwwwesomee
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ModNation Racers
for some people
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like the graphics and customization, but the racing is not that fair. it controls well but like all kart racers, the AI seems to cheat. so there are better games to try if you don't like this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>