GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 2K10

NHL 2K10 IS A BIG-TIME PARTY. AND EVERYONE'S INVITED.
Average Customer Rating:
5.625
5.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 862%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 2K10
Review 1 for NHL 2K10
LET'S GO FLYERS!
Posted on:8/4/09
FlyersFan
NHL 2K10 is the second take on last year's first NHL title on the Wii, but due to the little recognition NHL titles have gotten over the years, it's time for me to say it: this game will be THE best sports title out this year. Not only is hockey the fastest sport in the world, it's the most exciting and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Hockey fans will be talking about this year's game. All the Wi-Fi package is included, which expands to five-players on a single team at a time, the new Wii MotionPlus becoming one of the now ten titles that use the accessory, to expand gameplay, such as falling shots and stick lifts. Better detailed graphics and the under tauted feature is the finally used Wii Speak device, whether it will be used only via friends or smack talking your online opponents is unknown to this point. Let's just say it now; NHL 2K10 will be the sports game that may even still go underrated, but it will be the talk of the true hockey fan.
Review 2 for NHL 2K10
100% Improvement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/09
FlyersFan
After getting this game and playing it for a few days, I can safely say NHL 2K10 is a vast improvement from NHL 2K9. Look at the official packaging and you'll already see that the game has more, online play plus MotionPlus and Wii Speak (still a very underrated and underused device) support. Pop the disc in, and you'll be instantly able to start up a quick game, picking teams and playing. That's the main focus of this game. A lot of the dialog from last year's game is here (most from the announcers is back) but it is highlighted by better graphics, more mimicking stick moves, and 1 to 1 shot control. This works well, except with the MotionPlus finding the niche for wristshots is a difficulty and getting used to flick passing is a similar thing. But who doesn't like burying one time shots? Those are the types of things that make this game great. The Ovechkin moves are kind of overused and overrated, but they will be in all NHL video games so it's liveable. There's also the Mii Superskills challenge, which is fun and pretty easy to master, online tournaments, up to ten people Wi-Fi games in addition to one on one, a team and player creator and upload ability to 2KSports.com, amongst some of the things to keep you busy. Pick it up for yourself and you're getting a great hockey package!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 2K10
Ok, but not great
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/10
racingguy
This game is much better then NHL 2K9 in the first real hockey game for the Wii, but because it is made by 2Ksports it still sucks. The graphics are poor as usual with any game 2K tries and fails at. There is very little change from 2K9 besides the addition of the use of the motion plus, which does make it better at times. The motion plus does add some challenge initially before you figure it out, but after that it is like almost every other 2K game with no challenge. I typically play on medium on EA games, but played on expert on this one and all other 2K games, winning fairly easily. If you have yet to waste your money on this game, I highly recommend waiting until NHL11 made by EA comes out. I am already looking forward to it because I am sick and tired of the BS that 2K makes every year. I wanted NHL10, but didn't have a system that it was made for.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 2K10
Better off getting 2K9
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/10
THETC
Personally, there is no notable changes to this game from NHL 2K9. It was still a bad game because it is made by 2K sports and it is on the Wii. You are better off getting any hockey game made by EA Sports for another system. If you only have a Wii and you want a hockey game it is fun. For some reason i found NHL 2K9 more enjoyable and that the controls were easier. In NHL 2K10 the passing is messed up and the shooting doesn't register as often as NHL 2K9, wasting scoring opportunities. Rent it or try it at your friend's house first because i think you will find yourself shutting it off in frustration. NHL 2K9 is the same game, but cheaper and more close to an EA Sports game. Before you buy a hockey game, i suggest you wait until late 2010 for the NHL 2K11 version to be released where it will be much much much better!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 2K10
A great hockey sim... for the wii
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/09
Zealotkiller
Being from Canada, hockey is naturally one of my favorite sports, and this game, although not the greatest, is a great buy for the wii if you like hockey games. Having played NHL 2k9 as a rental, i know where this game is coming from and I like the direction it's taking. The controls might take a while getting used to, but after a while, you get good with them and start enjoying the added difficulty (compared to the Xbox 360 version, for example). I still have a little trouble with the passing and the rebounds, but apart from that, i like the control scheme. The Wii motion plus is definitely worth the extra bucks, making the game feel much more authentic. The graphics are what you could expect from a wii game, and they are an improvement from last year, but I believe the Wii can go farther than this. The commentaries can get a little redundant after a while, but I guess this might just be my opinion. I find the best part in this game is the added wi-fi , which lets you play online against friends or strangers. I was always able to pick up a game with someone, no matter the time of day, and I never had to wait for over 2 minutes.You can also join up to two leagues. I have read about some lag issues, but I have not had any of these issues. All in all, a great hockey game for the wii and a HUGE improvement from last year, but still has lots of place for improvement for next year.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 2K10
Hope it is an improvement.
Posted on:8/14/09
Anonymous
I am a frustrated owner of NHL 2K9 for the Wii. I really love hockey and hockey video games. For the most part, the '09 game was very playable. But the player facial graphics are cookie cutter Bozos and the overall player look is not as good as old PS2 or Gamecube hockey games. On the Wii, I can't seem to figure out how to win a clean faceoff without it turning into a slapshot icing. If they enhance the graphics and improve the faceoffs, I may consider an upgrade. I'm going to play 2K9 one more time and if I continue to have trouble with the faceoffs, goodbye game. Trade in time. I really don't expect EA Sports to put one of their fantastic hockey games on the Wii. I'll be waiting for someone to take a chance on 2K10 and hope they write an honest review.
Review 7 for NHL 2K10
this game is the worst
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/10
bob XI
I really hate this game. I have had it since it first came out and I still cant score one goal when I am the all stars and I play a bad team. I recommend NHL 10 or NHL 9 because you have way better control on those. dont get this game if you are not good at actually playing hockey, but even if you are, dont get it. it stinks. Maybe its just me and I am a bad player of the game, but if it is not, dont think about wasting your money on this. I think the wii motion plus is even harder to use with it so I dont use that. I wasted money on that too. all in all, there are no two ways about it. dont get it. it stinks. if you get it and you like it , you must be lucky because my friend and i have this, and we both dont like it. the point is dont get this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 2K10
GREAT GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/09
jdbmcdermet
I just got this game a couple days ago and let me tell you, i do not regret it one bit. This game is completely awesome right from the very start. there are endless features and game modes to keep you busy for a very long time. the graphics are really good for wii, it looks really nice and its close to ps3 and 360 graphics (: the player animations are really good to. there is create player and create team which is a nice feature. also you can take your created teams and/or players online for online matches. the online runs pretty smoothly for the most part depending on how strong your internet connection is. all the features and modes on the 360 and ps3 versions you can find on the wii version this year! there is modes like pond hockey and mini rink 2 on 2. the controls are really easy and they work really well. for example: to do a wrist shoot you flick the wii mote up and to slap shoot you flick the wii mote up while holding down B so the control aspect of the game is great. the intro for games are cool cause the lights dim and there is cool spotlight animations like to teams logo on the ice. the only animations they should have fixed is the crowd because the crowd is 2-d so if your facing the crowd it looks cool but if you see the crowd sideways then you can tell they have no depth to them. but overall its a really cool game and i highly suggest you buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for NHL 2K10
CANT WAIT!!!
Posted on:9/7/09
jdbmcdermet
i cant wait until this game comes out! i have read so much stuff about this game and it seems like the best hockey game on the wii and one of the best games out there. Im so glad that 2k has included all the features from 360 and ps3 onto the wii. its gonna be an awesome game especially with the online play cause you can take your created teams online which is great! Also i have read about alot of cool features for this game like you can use wii motion plus. This is a must buy for wii owners that like sports!
Review 10 for NHL 2K10
Should be the best 2K game since 2K5!
Posted on:9/2/09
Irondog666
So been looking at the previews on this game and it looks amazing. The game plays at a silky smooth 60 frames per second, has Nintendo Wifi for every mode, you can take your created teams online, team up with friends or play against them. There is Wii Speak support which will only be used with friends but the fact that its even being included is amazing. Only 2 games right now I think support Wii Speak. Wii Motion Plus will be supported with this game as well as Classic Controller Support for people wanting to play the game like they would on 360/PS3. Every single thing that they are doing to the 360/PS3 versions is making it into the Wii version this year. Nothing is being left out every feature is included. Not to mention the Wii is getting its own special modes that are exclusive to it like the Skills Competition that will let you use Miis. Its going to be an amazing game if this game is only even 80% of what I think it will be. Its looking to be WAY BETTER than NHL 2K9. If you're a hockey fan and only have a Wii this is the only hockey game in town for it. Very happy Visual Concepts put the time to really try to make the Wii version into its own little monster. Graphics have been improved upon, AI has been improved, Sliders have been improved, the dump game has been better improved, Stick handling and passing have been improved, their are stick lifts and "Stumble Shots" in this game as well. Its looking extremely promising so if you have a Wii and love hockey buy this game.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jkjkjkjkjkjkjkjkjk
 
Please wait while more information about jkjkjkjkjkjkjkjkjk is loaded.
Additional information about jkjkjkjkjkjkjkjkjk could not be loaded.
HORIBLE
Posted 6/23/11
this is the worst game ever 2k9 is a 100% better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NHL 2K10
Zamboni is the best part
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
aking
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is decent. it doesnt keep u playing for long though. I like it. its cool but sadly the best part is driving the zamboni machine. Which is actually really fun. Its worth buying, but if NHL 10 had the driving the zamboni machine i would definatley switch over to that series instead
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 2K10
NHL 2K10--Updated impressions
Posted on:9/5/09
FlyersFan
Nearly every article I have read about this game introduces some feature I wow over. NHL 2K10 will be THE package. Obviously, we know of the game's support for Wii MotionPlus, but the game can be played with the Wii Remote held sideways, classic controller, even without the MotionPlus. There's the use of Wii Speak, which is an underrated device because of too little exposure to actual online gaming, plus improved visuals and attention to detail over pregame introductions, celebrations, and in game things like the new stumble shots. What I found amazing is that besides all this, you can choose to play again the last two years' incarnations of the Outdoor Classic (unfortunately no Fenway Park just yet; maybe 2K will update the game with the new Classic included). Online gameplay, however, is another story. The game will automatically log you in upon loading up the game, and in addition to the 10-players at a time gameplay, EVERY mode is playable online, something i haven't seen too often; there's a Team Creator where an in depth detailed team creation is performed which can then be taken online to play with; you can even upload your stats to 2ksports.com. 2K Sports also takes a new step for the professional gaming: the Mii SuperSkills competition. Your Mii, in your favorite team's colors, will compete with other Miis in NHL All-Star themed events: Speed Skating, Hardest Shot, Goalie, Target Practice, Breakaway Competition, and more, based on the real thing. This, as with every other mode, is online capable. 2K Sports showed hockey fans what the Wii can do to the greatest sport; now 2K is taking it up farther than anyone and will hopefully profit in an area EA Sports failed to even try in. LET'S GO FLYERS!!!
Review 13 for NHL 2K10
WII MOTION PLUS
Posted on:7/24/09
Ovechkin08
I was reading an article in a magazine and NHL 2k10 will Support WII MOTION PLUS so it is the most realistic experience ever!!!!!! It also has online co-op franchise and of course the very famous SKILL MOVES!
Review 14 for NHL 2K10
Really Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
pattio11
This game is amazing! The international teams are cool, the zamboni is fun, and the gameplay is terrific. Plus, the fights rock.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10