GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset

The Ear Force PX21 integrates premium stereo game sound with crystal-clear communication on the PlayStation Network (PSN), XBOX LIVE® and PC/Mac to create the definitive audio environment for playing popular game titles on all platforms. The PX21 is two headsets in one - a stereo USB headset for chat sound and an amplified stereo headset for game sound. That means you can independently control chat and game sound from a single control box whether you're playing PS3, XBOX® or PC games. Large, comfortable ear cups with a lightweight, rugged design provide the ultimate in comfort during extended game play. The PX21 gives you a significant advantage because you can hear sound cues others can't, so you'll react faster and take them out before they take you out. Unique gaming features such as variable bass boost, chat boost, stereo expander and convenient volume controls for chat and game audio, provide a competitive edge that can make the difference between winning and losing. If you're serious about your PS3, XBOX 360 or PC gaming, then get serious about the sound. Move up to the Ear Force PX21 and become a better player while experiencing your games as they were meant to be heard.
Average Customer Rating:
6.76
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (235 reviews)
10 stars
72
9 stars
34
8 stars
24
7 stars
15
6 stars
9
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
12
2 stars
19
1 star
27
148 out of 23364%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Good performance headset, broke after 11 months
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/13
Popnfresh
Location: Quebec, Ca
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At first I had a Turtle Beach wireless headset for xbox that was pretty good but once i switched to PC gaming and PS3 gaming I needed something that could be used on all 3. PX21
I liked the PX21, Definetly not the best out there, but you have to expect that for a 80$ headset.
It was good while it lasted, after 10 months the Wire started twisting on itself, Used for alot of PC gaming so it wasnt realy bothering me until, one day I put the headphones on my head and the wire had pierced itself by twisting to much on itself.
I just wrote an e-mail to turtle beach and I am still waiting for answer back. If this is not refundable or replaced. This wille probably be my last TB headset.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Please DO NOT buy it! Waste of money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
Manny78
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I will give you an honest and fair review. The headset was AMAZING! It had great, clear sound and the volume was changable to just how you want it. I was very satisfied with it. And then they broke. The only reason I rated them so low is because they break EXTREMELY easily! I bought them and they broke in 3 months. I know this review is common but it is all true. The left earpiece broke off from the actual wire connecting it to my console. So the top piece was hanging by a small wire. So I put tape, etc & it worked for the time being until I could buy another one. Then, all sound stopped coming out of the right ear. I wrote this review only to help whoever is going to fall into the trap of the PX21. Overall, this is an amazing headset but it WILL break even if you take care of it. Don't buy it, don't waste your money. Instead, you can buy the AFTERGLOW Universal headset. It's wireless & costs ONLY $10 MORE! (In my recommendations). Much better deal. Thank you for taking the time to read my review, and have a great day!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Poorly made
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/13
ArmoredClown
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I owned my PX21s for about 3 months until the control unit the main thin cable broke apart from the control unit. I am very careful with all of my stuff, frankly i'm a freak about it and I took perfect care of this headset to unsure it had a long life. But the cheaply made plastic and the thin top wire going into the control unit came apart and fell apart. The sound quality is fantastic but the material with which it is made is cheap and poorly designed for everyday use.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
baaaaaaaaad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
buick
Location: Chi
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
wire pulls out of headphones everytime and stops working. three month lifespan everytime its garbage.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Good but stopped working in 3 months for no reason
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
BlazBlue1327
Location: Minnesota, US
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked up my headset around christmas time and at first it was worth the money. $80 but very good quality, comfortable and works on PC, Xbox and PS3. Aaaannd then it stopped working. I was using it and the audio started to become extremely quiet. I had to have it on max just to be able to hear anything. I could deal with it but a few days later it started to cut out if I didnt put the cord a VERY specific way. After a week of that, the audio is gone completely. It doesnt work anymore. I had it for 3 months before it broke. I could have spent that money on a $40-$60 xbox only headset, that would still be working and continue to work for a LONG time, and saved money but instead I got what worked and what is now basically a paper weight after a few months. I didn't do anything to it either. I put it on my head, took it off, set it down. Thats all I did with it and it broke. Bottom line, Definatly get it if you think it will work and it probably will but be careful with this specific type of turtle beach.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
REALLY GOOD!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
Takeo
Location: Delaware, DE
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i first was skeptical about headsets and i thought all was the same i barrowed my fathers SONY PS3 headset alot and i bought these and i herd things i never had these are GREAT the only thing is if your in the living room and you want to switch the sound from these to TV to watch netflix it could get annoying but these are WORTH IT
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Its good while it Lasts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/12
NINERZZ
Location: California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So when i first got these headsets they were pretty good, i mostly used it for first- person shooters like Black ops or Battlefield 3 but after about 5 months i was not able to hear the game music which SUCKED and i could only use my mic!!!!!!!!!!! So my advice dont get these headphones get something like trittons which are more $$ but worth it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Good Quality, But Fragile.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
DisarmZero
Location: Dallas,TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset about when it first came out, and it lasted me a while. All the cords can get messy and tangled, and it'd be nice if they came with a storage case. Also, they do break pretty easily. BUT, the quality is amazing. If you're a younger kid and aren't supposed to be playing late, they are perfect! just mute the TV and keep the volume up on the headset. My first impression was awesome, just take very good care of them and you shouldn't have any problems.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
allright
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/12
cobby
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have had 2 sets of these and each one had issues with the wireing, like the sound wouldn't come in clearly and the left side just completely shut off on me unless i was holding the wire a certain way...
Both of my px21's lasted only about 7 months before i had issues...but..for the time that i had them they were extremely usefull they are kind of confortable (hurt after a while with glasses on) and this headset (if u turn it up loud enough) will cancel out anything other then what the headfones are playing...
they are stereo so i had issues determining were people were running but i could hear them lol..if your looking for a decent headset for this price range then pick this one...just be carefull with it
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Keep Looking....
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
MrTinyT22
Location: Columbia, SC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is not worth your money, this headset is poorly made and not going to last. I bought a pair and within 2 months of having them they broke. They did not break from being treated poorly or from anything landing on them or even them falling off my head, I put them around my neck like they are supposed to be when not in use and when i put them back on my head one of the ear cuffs fell off. So i bought another pair thinking I just had bad luck and found out that that one had electrical problems and finally invested in Trittons AX720. OVERALL: I would suggest that you look for a different headset to buy, preferably a different brand.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Great if smart
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
phatmonkeys
Location: Thomasville, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
these mics are great, although the box has changed. so has the design. it has thicker plastic so they dont break as easily. My advice is to get the extended warantee and you will be set for 2 years!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Great at first, but in the end not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/12
MrRealBatman
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this when MW3 came out and they were great at first, sound was awesome and at first the only downside was that they made my ears hurt after a while. After about 8 months the right side stopped working but would work if I moved the cables. Now it just completely stopped working so i also need a good headset worth my money that costs around the same price
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Eh. Okay.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/12
Mannyx14
Location: Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So i bought these thinking they were gonna be good, well they were, everyone said my voice was SUPER HD, the sound quailty was pretty awesome. But the bad part is that after lets say an hour or so, they start to hurt your ears, i have to put them on my temple, kind of annoying. I had them for about 7-8 Months, without the first couple of months, the right side snapped off, i had to super glue it, then a couple days ago the left side snapped, my voice was all messed up and people couldnt hear me propery anymore, Bad quailty plasics. Right now i have the x12's, they seem to be a bit more comfortable, The sound quaility is amazing but just not as good as the px21's, still great, Get px21's if you got the money to spend after they break, if not go with the x12's lets see how long these last me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Great First Gaming Headset!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
Silverman
Location: California, Earth
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had these for about 2 years. They are phenomenal! They have separate volumes: game volume and chat volume. That is great because sometimes I can't stand people that just have really loud mics and are super obnoxious. The game volume is also super. I can hear footsteps that are all around me: behind, to the side, behind me to the left, etc. They also have a bass boost, which I love because it helps you hear the footsteps better and louder. I would definitely recommend these to EVERYBODY.I hope this helped.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Pretty Nice.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
BOSS12345
Location: Mianus, CN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets have great quality. You can set the sounds to your liking, like if you want all chat and no gameplay sounds. These can break, IF you don't take very good care of them. This isn't a headset you just toss at the ground when you're one playing. Be careful and they will last. (And sorry if there's a part where it's missing letters or something like that, keyboard's broke.)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
awesome headsets pretty good price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
darkvein
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my left ear cup blew one month before my warranty anded but still cant take that from how good the headsets are. emailed turtle beach they tolled me to send the px21 to them and there going to send me brand new ones so it sucks but at the same time cool because i get brand new ones for free all i have to pay is to ship to them
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Why do people say these break easily?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
Tcrom977
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had my headset for almost a year now and had no problems with it what so ever. I take it from my ps3 to my Pc and still no damage.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
it's pretty good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
brawler987
Location: st.paul, mn
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
i think its a really good product, my ears are still ringing from being able to hear everything through the mic... its also pretty easy to set up and figure out. I would recommend this product to my friend, as my friend did for me. I think for $80 so bucks its a really good deal
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Great Quality but break easily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
bcarr95
Location: Boston,Ma
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At first the headset was incredible but after a month i took them off and it snapped. The sound quality is very good but the headset is delicate and breaks easily.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamer2447
 
Please wait while more information about gamer2447 is loaded.
Additional information about gamer2447 could not be loaded.
Waste of money?
Posted 10/17/12
So when i first bought these they seemed pretty good, but after id say 6-7 months i experienced a weird problem. The left side of the headset stopped working but if i fiddled around with the wire it would come back on, then off again. After a few more days the right side stopped working making the headset useless besides the mic. Fortionattly the warantee hadn't warn off yet so i was able to get it repaired again. Then the same issue happened after about 7 months. If i were you i'd reccomend getting some X12's. They last longer, are cheaper, have good audio, and are alot more comfortable. Hope this helped
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 PX21 Headset
Right ear phone stopped working had it for 6 mths
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
Pemmy
Location: PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just recently my Px21 turtle beach stopped working in the right head phone they lasted me 7 months. After reading some of the other reviews i see that the wires short out sometimes or get loose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>