GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Katamari Forever

The crazy, zany, world of Katamari is back and better than ever before, complete with new stages, new visual effects, new strategies, and full 1080p HD resolution! The gameplay has generated millions of fans worldwide and the loveable characters are ready to roll again. The King of All Cosmos has bumped his head and lost all his memory. The Prince and his cousins created RoboKing to replace the King, but it went out of control and destroyed all the stars in the Cosmos. To clean up the mess made by RoboKing and bring back the King's memory, the Prince and his Cousins must roll their Katamaris and bring color back to the world. So get ready to roll that Katamari once more!
Average Customer Rating:
7.75
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Katamari Forever
Review 1 for Katamari Forever
So... BEAUTIFUL!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/09
ZTM
I am a huge fan of the Katamari series and I must say this HAS to be the best of the series! The different modes are a fun add on. For example in one level you need to make your Katamari (Sticky ball) very bright and the King of the Cosmos has you rolling up nothing but fireflys at night. So instead of a "growing larger" meter in the upper, left corner it is a "growing brighter". There are several modes like this. Its like a breath of fresh air to see, really, and works quite well to break up, otherwise, monotonus gameplay. Once again, the soundtrack is amazingly catchy, with several remixes of original Katamari songs. The garphics are crystal clear and stylish and are crisp even on the largest of screens. The controls are the same as all the previous games with the exception of a "jump", via six-axis, that is used by flicking the controller up. One thing that is greatly improved is the camera angles. Now when behind a wall you can see straight through via circular cut-out that will follow you as you manage your way to a better position. Co-Op and multiplayer modes are super fun and super easy to control! Much improved over the first! There are fifty cousins to find and alot of presents! This is the most challenging of the series, in my opinion. Bottom line. Love it. Get it. Worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Katamari Forever
Katamari rocks!
Posted on:9/14/09
Rangornak
I just played the demo for this game and I'm not disapointed. It's still lots of fun and has all the favorite old features plus more! Such as watering plants. The only problem I have with the game is it's ps2 borderline ps1 graphics. Besides that it is very entertaining and awesome!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Katamari Forever
Bigger! More! Katamari!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/09
THEMISSING
As a huge fan of the first Katamari games, I was really looking forward to picking up this new one. Happy to say it's exactly what I was hoping for. Classic Katamari gameplay with some interesting new little twists to mix things up a bit. The worlds are large and the controls while mostly the same, feel great. You can now switch characters, wear costumes and track your stats online and compare them to the rest of the world. It's really simple, addictive gameplay that we've all come to love over the years. The inclusion of different graphics filters gives you some neat options to change up the style of the game. The storyline is funny and cute (King Cosmos is hit in the head and loses his memory, so the little prince builds a ROBO king to take his place but he keeps messing up). Overall a fun, relaxing yet challenging game. Great purchase.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Katamari Forever
Katamari Forever and Ever. :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/09
SandraDee
The game is really fun so far. I'm about half-way through and taking my time. the game play is smooth. So far no glitches and the definition is clear; to be expected. The animation is a little different though. It took a little to grow on me and was even annoying at first. The levels are a lot like levels from previous games, which was kind of the point, but has the animation difference and different location of items which makes it interesting. In some levels it even starts as gray and as you pick things up it lights up in colors. The game is a bit difficult and concentrates a lot on the theme of the Katamari. The scoring is base on theme but the size requirement is still there. The introduction to the level gives you clues if you forget to look at it before you start the level. The Katamari games have a tremendous replay value, including this one. I've already found myself going back for items and cousin's I've missed. And there are a lot of cousins as usual. The controls are as usual, smooth. There is a new move if you move the controller upwards quickly, the Katamari ball jumps. This can also be accomplished with the right buttons. If anything had to be improved, the Katamari ball could be a bit faster to better meet the goals. I've been having an issue of my quick turn working on multiple controllers. I don't know if it's the game or if the controllers are getting worn out (which they do get lots of use). And last but not least, the music has definitely improved. It still has the old feel of the music and it includes remakes of a lot of the previously used songs. It's not as annoying and is fun to listen to. Overall, this game is fun, challenging and adorable. I'd recommend this game to anyone who has a PS3.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Katamari Forever
KATAMARI HD! ureshiiiii~
Posted on:8/26/09
__Sean__
This game is amazing if you are a katamari fan. The controls are exponentially better than Beautiful Katamari due to the Dualshock having the sticks right next to each other. The music lined up is AMAZING, and judging from the demo, it runs at a solid framerate and is bleeding with color and style. There are new levels, and gameplay mechanics, remixed classic Katamari songs and a ton of stuff. Looks awesome!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Katamari Forever
RESERVE IT
Posted on:9/17/09
jloperfume
I reserved mine yesterday and got the "keychain". It's actually a phone charm. His face lights up when you get calls and texts by detecting the phone signal. I didn't knew things like this exist. He's a pretty respectable size for a phone charm too. About 2.5 inches long. Pretty funny because I used to have a katamari charm from japan. It broke when I was going to Gears 2 midnight release.
Review 7 for Katamari Forever
ok for some
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
kujo
Location: texas,tx
This game is perfect for: party gamers
people proublably thinck i am wrong but this game was just a ok game nothing great.all you do basicly is roll your ball around and catch things with your ball.you also go to different worlds.to my opinion this game is weird. don't waste your mony or time.instead get little big planet.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 88 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Budgie
New Hampshire
 
Please wait while more information about Budgie is loaded.
Additional information about Budgie could not be loaded.
Posted 11/4/11
You have never probably played the ones on the PS2 then. That is pretty much the whole point of the game, is to roll a giant ball and pick up stuff.
Personally, this game is pretty great and one of those rare gems in a sea of bad stuff.
Try the PS2 games, those are pretty good as well too.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)