GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Max Payne 3

For Max Payne, the tragedies that took his loved ones years ago are wounds that refuse to heal. No longer a cop, close to washed up and addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco, in an effort to finally escape his troubled past. But as events spiral out of his control, Max Payne finds himself alone on the streets of an unfamiliar city, desperately searching for the truth and fighting for a way out.
Average Customer Rating:
8.823
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (180 reviews)
10 stars
60
9 stars
23
8 stars
12
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
97 out of 11386%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Max Payne 3
Review 1 for Max Payne 3
Best in the series and one if the best games ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/13
cataclysm117
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Max Payne 3 Is without a doubt one of the best games ever made it had seriously had one of the best stories ever written, however I did like the story a little bit better from the first one this one is still amazing and has some amazing graphics and gameplay as well. But without a doubt this one was the best in the series I mean it should've one game of the year in my opinion and many others. This game had jaw dropping moments and for as dark as this game was it still managed to have some dark sarcasm comedy thanks to max Payne. But all in all I would recommend this game to anyone looking for one heck of an amazing story as well as a surprisingly good multiplayer, i mean it takes a little bit of time to get use to but it's really fun when you do, of course not much actually people play the multiplayer anymore but it's still fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Max Payne 3
ok
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/13
piggybanks
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am very dissapointed that I have to be writing this review. I thought this was game was going to be a lot better than it was. Now dont get me wrong...this is a good game when your acually playing it. I honestly sometimes feel like im watching a movie than playing a videogame. What i mean by that is there are way to many cutseens. Know it wouldnt be that big of a deal to me if you could just skip them like you can on most games but you cant on this one. When you try to skip it, it say " still loading" which means while it showing the cutseen, its loading up the next mission. But the cutseens are NOT short to me. They can be 1-3 minutes each. now you might not think thats not a lot of time but you have cutseens twice in each mission. (One in the begging and one in the middle of the misson) it can get very boring and honestly very frustraighting. I think the game is great but I wish they didnt have so many cutseens or if they kept them they would give the option to skip them.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Max Payne 3
Bringing the payne!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
JMan0200
Location: KC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game. If you like 3rd person shooters this is for you :). A great game, with pitch perfect voice acting, it plays out like a great movie. With a LOT of action and bullet time, kinda like the matrix. Great graphics, amazing gameplay, great sound. Overall : 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Max Payne 3
Not that great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/13
AlottaSnotes
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It was great at first then after 2 days it got real old and boring It wasn't worth buying and I would sell it if it was actually worth something but its not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Max Payne 3
Best Max Payne PERIOD!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/13
Anemicnapalm
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had to write a review because pf how good this game actually was. Exceeding my expectations on every level , hands down one of THEE most detailed games ive ever played , and i have been playing games since the late 80s, for me it was the story and Narrative that drew me in ,mixed with the action sequences and amazing bullet time game play that max Payne fans have enjoyed over the years, ill admit i couldn't put it down which is rare for me, enjoyed it a heck of alot , I am only reviewing the single player campaign . Hands down the best Max Payne in the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Max Payne 3
My game of the year for 2012
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/13
6645387
Location: Vancover,WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of my favorite games of this year. The story is entertaining and the graphics detailed. Highly recommended!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Max Payne 3
Best Game of my life
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
360Mafia
Location: Hialeah, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is so many things I have to say about this game. But I will make it short. This is the best game I have play in my life. Amazingly good. Graphics are amazingg.. Sound is awesome and gameplay is just addicted. This game was very very well designed. Is super realistic in every level. They really though about everything when they made this game. So far my favorite game of all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Max Payne 3
BRILLIANT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
EpicDave
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first got Max Payne I wasn't sure about it but after I played some of the Story line it was so intense! The Story line is extremely narrative, also game play is awesome! Then I wanted to try out Multiplayer, online is very additive! Unlike Call of Duty, you start with great weapons! Defiantly should pick it up!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Xbox 360 Live Marketplace Points 2400 Points
6.9 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Max Payne 3
Fun Gameplay, Dead Online
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
Floobersman
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So I got this game on Black Friday (11/23/12) and was excited to play the multiplier, I've seen a lot of videos showing how fun bullet time is. Turns out the Online is dead. Me and my friend kept on running into the same people online even after leaving. It was really depressing.... If the online ever picks back up I will get this game again!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Max Payne 3
Rockstar's success continues
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/12
ToastyCypress
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I went in to Max Payne 3 with very specific expectations. By the time the second mission was completed all of those expections had been blown away by the crazy amount of action it threw at you. Shootouts, helicopter cover, boat chases, ziplines, sniping, and slow motion shootouts spread throughout this game give you the feeling of being a B.A. The framerate is smooth throughout the game but begins to get choppy as those heavy shootout ensue. Graphics are nice to look at and the environments in which you fight are interesting and makes you want to search for the clues and golden gun parts you can find throughout each level. The Replay value of the campaign is lacking but the collectibles you can find may cause you to search through the campaign again. Multiplayer is very fun and has many game modes you can take part in. One involves a campaign like short story in which each game contains 5 rounds. Cutscenes are superb and never take you out of the action. Rockstar has made another amazing game and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys their games or shooters in general.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Max Payne 3
it more like watching a movie then playing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
zombierudeboy
Location: maui, HI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game has so many cut scenes i feel like i'm watching a movie more than getting to play the game, an you cant skip the cut scenes it gets boring after awhile, but when you finally get to play the game its pretty fun just not a game i would ever buy, unless you want to watch a movie an do little paying
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 12 for Max Payne 3
One of the greatest games known to mankind !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
xtonisher
Location: Elizabeth, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
People argue how easy this game was..maybe they played in easy mode. I began the game in HARD difficulty and it took me forever to beat the game. Sure, a couple bullets kill me, but it makes it so much more realistic. The game was badass from beginning to.. And the ending...Was the best way to end a game. If you can't handle the Payne, go play COD..honestly, ever since i beat Dark Souls, no game has been impossible
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Max Payne 3
Flipping awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/12
bluemafia
Location: cook county,il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the bomb eveything is perfect the combo duel wield is so cool and so is bullet time.!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Max Payne 3
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
Anonimes
Location: Parkersburg, WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I hated this game. Way too many cut scenes and there is no real free play. I hate being guided around constantly. Would not recommend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Max Payne 3
Best Storyline
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/12
ArTiZzLe
Location: Springfield,NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Max Payne 3 story is one of the best that I've played. Watching cut scenes is like watching a movie. The gameplay is actually really smooth. Bullet time is sexy and helps you aim better. The campaign wasn't too long but not short. Multiplayer is not bad. The spawns need some fixing, but don't get angry, Rockstar isn't known for the best multiplayer. At least give them credit they added it. The game is a 9/10. Buy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Max Payne 3
should have left max to his problems
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
wolfman15
Location: Buffalo , NY
the game has no lasting appeal, and you die for uncommon reasons I've seen in any game the experience is the same through the whole game all the same guns throughout the whole game . was not worth my money at all. if you want to get this game be ready for an disappointing game. and also my god help you if you play the multiplayer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Max Payne 3
Max Payne 3, is comparable to Call of Duty!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/12
zdog
Location: U.S.A, Earth
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Max payne 3, is very comparable to Call of Duty. It has a bunch of cool types of games to use. and it is way easier to unlock things, and changing your settings and stuff. its also cool how you can have a certain character for each type of match you play, and i forgot to mention the kick-a s s graphics.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Max Payne 3
HELPFUL REVIEW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
Spyder924
a few days ago i picked up max payne 3 because many people were telling me it was a great game, and wow they werent kidding. The story was great there were alot of missions each one with a great add to the story max is telling but be warned this game is not easy i played on medium and there were alot of times i was stuck on a mission , the a.i. is very smart and tactical so dont expect to go rambo and start running around like ur untouchable, the online play takes some getting used to but once u get used to it will be a great time with friends. IF YOU ARE UNSURE OF BUYING THIS GAME MY ADVICE TO U IS BUY IT! ITS DEFINATLY WORTH THE PRICE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Max Payne 3
awesome game!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
max payne 3 is way better than the first 2,because of more action better graphics,and better bullet time mode.this game is great,the only problem with the game is:too, too many cut scenes,other than that,awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Max Payne 3
Max Payne is back?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
BigT94
Wait is he? Because this game sure didn't look like Max Payne game! Seriously. I felt like they had a lack-luster 3rd person shooter, and decided HEY! Lets make THIS Max Payne 3! And lulz were had. Because it felt NOTHING like its predecessors. Bullet time is the only fun you may have here. A boring, less-than intriguing campaign, for about 6 hours, and then a mediocore Multiplayer experience. Wrap all this together and slap some stupid catch phrases, (Some actually fairly decent cut-scenes are a plus though!), and a few memorable characters. Would recommend to rent it first.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>