GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Max Payne 3

For Max Payne, the tragedies that took his loved ones years ago are wounds that refuse to heal. No longer a cop, close to washed up and addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco, in an effort to finally escape his troubled past. But as events spiral out of his control, Max Payne finds himself alone on the streets of an unfamiliar city, desperately searching for the truth and fighting for a way out.
Average Customer Rating:
8.49
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
10 stars
51
9 stars
19
8 stars
9
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
2
80 out of 9882%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Max Payne 3
Review 1 for Max Payne 3
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/13
grimoe
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ
i really like this game because of all the cool things you can do in it. i wish the online play was a little bit better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Max Payne 3
Underrated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/13
Jedimatt02
Location: St. Cloud, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yes, this game does depart from the classic Max Payne experience, but that is not necessarily make it a bad thing. While I do agree that there is way too many cutscenes, the gameplay does make up for that. If you persevere through the first hour of the game (which is mostly cutscenes), the overconcentration of them will decrease, allowing you to shootdodge to your heart's content. What I noticed that was the biggest change other than the ability to carry only 3 weapons (as opposed to MP & MP2, where you could carry every weapon), was that you could now take cover. This is obviously the best gameplay addition from the second. The only thing I dislike about this game, other than the overabundance of cutscenes, is the absence of any returning characters from MP2. This is not Rockstar's fault however, since *MINOR SPOILER FROM MP & MP2* everyone Max has known (with the exception of Jim Bravura) has either been A: Killed by Max, or B: Killed by someone who was then killed by Max.
In conclusion, this is worth buying if you can wait an hour with only about 10 kills.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Max Payne 3
I wanted to like this game, but . . .
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
jj6279
Location: Elmira, NY
I was excited to buy this game—it looked cool on YouTube, it got really good reviews, I thought it'd be a steal purchase at $17.99—but when I finally picked the game up last Friday, I was utterly disappointed. First of all, let me start with the cutscenes. I realize that Rock Star was going for a different approach with the cutscenes; they wanted to make something that'd stand out. But, I was NOT a fan of the cutscenes. I thought the shaky camera and the blurred lines were really tacky, and I was instantly turned off to the story because of them. Granted, I wasn't really playing the game for the story anyways. So I didn't care that much. But I did care when the game wouldn't let me skip the cutscenes. At all. Ever. I felt like I was just wasting my time watching some washed-up cliche story. The story in this game is nothing original: you're a bodyguard, you protect rich people, bad guys with guns come to hurt the rich people, you shoot the bad guys and save the rich people. Rinse; repeat. Now, I don't even care if the story is that great, to be honest. (I've played a lot of games where the story sort of sucks, but the game is still fun.) But I do care about the gameplay, because, you know, that's WHY I'm playing the game. And let me tell you, this whole stinking game plays like a bad version of the matrix: you're basically forced to use your bullet-time all the time, the guns are really inaccurate, and the aiming recital is a dot. A tiny little dot. Have you ever played Red Dead Redemption? Well, this whole game seems to be based entirely off of the concept of Bullet-time in Red Dead. It's boring, the story is awful, and the gameplay is a joke. Save your money and buy a gum ball or something instead.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Max Payne 3
WORTH EVERY PENNY ITS THAT GOOD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
hamburger47
Location: odessa,tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well ive played max payne since it first came out for the ps2 when i heard about max payne 3 coming out man was i excited yes the cutscenes may be very long but the game plays really well i love this game so freaking much cant put it down perfect for the casual and hardcore gamer if you want a good shooter and story dont hesitate to get this today
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Max Payne 3
Great But..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/13
headshothoncho
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was cool and action packed but it might have been to much shooting. Every scene was a gun battle. Story was cool and I liked how the chapters all tied in. Graphics were great. I recommend this game to people who love SHOOTING, SHOOTING, and more SHOOTING! it isn't a favorite but still a cool game. Lots of guns to. I might want to play it again but not really.. just too much shooting. my opinion though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Max Payne 3
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
Shigiglin
This game was great, though it was frustrating at times, it never got to the point I wanted to stop playing. I cant think of anything seriously wrong with it, its a solid game that everyone should try.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Max Payne 3
You will want to be max payne.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
eboogie
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. The plot and story line is really what makes it though as it is one of the best I have ever seen. Although I had not played the first two games of the series it was still pretty easy to follow along. I thought that the soundtrack and the sound effects were necessary and it kept me on the edge of my couch. I love the bullet time feature. I only used it in situations where I only had to take out an important person or a small group of men. The pain killers really helped me out as I was about to die in certain situations. But the real thing that amazes me is the way they portray and make Max Payne. He is unstoppable and can take out groups of fifty just by himself. It is fun being his character and you will be happy with the end result of the game as it brings closure to the whole story line. But I was upset because I wanted to play more. In some ways I wished it didn't end like it did because now there can not be a 4th made. All in all best game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Max Payne 3
Max Payne 3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/13
bobo8942
Location: fort myers,FL
THE GOOD:
The Story: Max Payne's saga is a sad one as you well know if you had played the previous two installments. In this entry, Max has his rock bottom and he's a pill popping alcoholic. Rockstar knows how to craft a tight story and show some serious depth to characters. Max is no exception and his bleak story draws you in from beginning to end. His one liners and quips are also fantastic. He's a noir character through and through.
Graphics: The environments, character models and areas look amazing. All of them are highly detailed, always fresh, and a lot of fun to blow guys away in. The slums of Sao Paolo look particularly amazing. It's a really amazing set piece and Rockstar has delivered a beautiful games in spades.
Sound: The acting in the game is top notch, the characters all sound great, the action is intense, the music is cool and overall it's a strong showing.
Multiplayer: The multiplayer is fast, intense and really cool. The various loadouts you get to use really make for a variety of ways to play. The updated Rockstar Social Club is great for setting up your crew and checking out your stats. The multiplayer modes vary a bit as well, making for some different, fun experiences. This will likely be where the majority of people spend their time.
THE MIDDLE:
Bullet Time: It's back and it's still as cool as you remember. For awhile. Once the nostalgia and novelty factor wear off you'll find that it's sometimes easier to do things in real time rather than diving all over the place. I don't know if it was just me but the enemies in this have some seriously pinpoint accuracy and if you dive out, you either hit everyone and kill them of you're screwed.
Checkpoints: I found myself replaying a lot of areas after a stupid death because the checkpoints don't come as often as I'd like. I'm sure I'll get BETTER in time, but, it was still pretty annoying to do the same "super cool jump through the window into the kitchen" move three times.
THE BAD:
Repetitive: The game is a linear shooting gallery through various locations. If the story/graphics didn't fall under "good" this would be a major blow to the game. There isn't a ton of variety, but, the strength of the story, acting, sound and graphics carry it though.
No Grenades: The bad guys get grenades. I want grenades.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Max Payne 3
GAME OF THE YEAR!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/13
ReD5874
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you want a great shooter with an awesome story and a multiplayer that is very fun with a butt load of guns then i highly suggests tou pick up this game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Max Payne 3
Amezing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/13
JMVM25
The game is so good but there is a lack of free roam thats the bad part but overall good game rockstar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Max Payne 3
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
Eh8892
Location: Mullica hill, nj
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is seriously the best game rockstar has ever made (next to red dead redemption). The graphics are insane, the shooting action is awesome, and the story to it is great. If you haven't played any max Payne game before, and you're thinking about getting this one, JUST GET IT. You won't regret it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Max Payne 3
Off line great game on line do not buy it...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
KingMark
Location: Salem,Oregon
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The games great to play off line but the on line is rattled with issues from not being able to kill other players to disconnects from host. There's little to no support and as like my self. I'm told the game is broken but we don't have a fix date. My game you cant kill any other player on line and they will not fix it. If you plan on buying this game please go to Rock Stars support and read all the issues every one who owns the game has. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR ON LINE PLAY.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for Max Payne 3
Max fun for gamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Moossassin
Location: Philidelphia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fantastic with a thrilling nail biting story mode and a hardcore action packed multiplayer. My favorite part of this game is by far the bullet time, it gives you the amazing look of a 3rd person game as well as the great aiming of a 1st person game! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Max Payne 3
Good.... But Not Game of the Year
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
Qwerty001
Location: -.-
It's a pretty good game, bullet time is fun and helpful when you're struggling in a certain part. Cut scenes get annoying since you have to watch them completely. Something else is that it takes quite some time to download, maybe it's my ps3 but i don't think so because its new.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Max Payne 3
Freaking Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
KKsHaDoWx
Location: West Covina, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the best experience you'll have for 2012, and has amazing story mode and multiplayer. If you do not have this game, you are missing out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Max Payne 3
very good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/12
crazyfrogger
Location: colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's addicting and has great gameplay. I recommend that everyone at least tries the game because its one of the best I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Max Payne 3
hardcore to the bone
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is not to bad. it has a long loading time but other then that the game is cool and good. it might take a little time to get used to it but when you get the hang of it watch out you be shooting with ease and you should not have a problem with beating the game. just keep trying. try the muti player.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Max Payne 3
Good in all, R* cant patch it correctly.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
Froger
The game is fantastic, amazing! If you can get over the Multiplayer issues. Several games a day i have to leave because i die and it all freezes up. Right now i have to leave because it is stuck in a loading screen. It is worth the money you spend, but not at 50$+. Once R* fixes the problems it will be a fun game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Max Payne 3
PS2@ GAME
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/12
one4truth
Location: earth, universe
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What is this!? a buch of visuals, thats it! a ps2 gamer with added visuals..............................................................
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Max Payne 3
Rockstar games never disappoint.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/12
AxillaII
Location: NYC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Another R* games classic I just downloaded to my PS3 I'm playing more than any other 3rd person shooter. The mulitplayer is great I hope GTAV does a similar job to this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>