GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Way of the Samurai 3

THE CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR ACTIONS WILL DETERMINE YOUR FATE. CHOOSE TO FIGHT ALONG SIDE GOOD OR EVIL DURING THE TUMULTUOUS TIME OF THE SENGOKU ERA AND CARVE YOUR NAME INTO HISTORY. BECOME A HERO OR BECOME INFAMOUS, THE CHOICE IS YOURS.
Average Customer Rating:
7.167
7.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Way of the Samurai 3
Review 1 for Way of the Samurai 3
Customization and story are key in WOTS3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/12
existence94
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up this game about three years ago. I originally thought it was weird and boring it. However, after getting used to its unusual gameplay I came to thoroughly enjoy the game. It does have parts (especially at night) when you wonder why you bought the game, but then you can create a sick and do pretty much whatever. The big dynamic is re-playability. If anyone ever played Dead Rising-it's like that. Whatever you earn (levels, skills, items, etc.) you carry over to the next play-through, whether you complete an ending or die. It could have been more visually pleasing, but for fans of anime or Japanese scenery it should take you to a place where only anime does. It may seem too easy (or hard, for some) and repetitive, but the game's charm is learning more of the world and environment you are playing in-all the while becoming a more skilled samurai and creating sick weapons.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Way of the Samurai 3
Can easily do better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pros: customize weapon, multiple endings, free downloads, technical combat
Cons: 1st play through needs to be better, feels short
it is worth a buy
This game does have multiple endings, but it is nothing like mass effect and has a much smaller setting. The combat is technical with customizable weapons, but can get simple once you get the gist of it.
One thing that bugs me the most that even free downloads can't save it from is the 1st play through of the game needs to be much better. In which you could probably do it in one sitting. They want you to fish every possible ending which adds to the overall length to the game. It really shouldn't be done this way because it takes away from the gameplay and replay value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Way of the Samurai 3
Terrible Samurai Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
l5lLionMassacure
Location: Georgia
This game is to take the story of a lone samurai during feudal Japan. However it is fairly obvious that the creaters had little to no knowledge of actual Japanese history. The story is completely unrealisic; with peasants mocking a samurai and not being punished for it is rediculous. In the real world if a peasant or lower classman even looked at a samurai the wrong way they would either be killed imediatly or have a hand taken off. The gameplay is atrocious; the fighting is very linear, unimaginative, and repetative. The cinematicts are just terrible; the acting is lousy, the characters are so uninterresting, and the writing for the characters are no better. It is clear that this game is trying to become something much better it has great potential, however do to the lack of imagination, creativity, and all rounded lack of passion from the creaters, this game is a huge disapointment in every way.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 44 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jarri6
 
Please wait while more information about jarri6 is loaded.
Additional information about jarri6 could not be loaded.
...
Posted 7/18/11
Wait, this is coming from the guy who recommends Onimusha games? Do those developers have knowledge of feudal Japan?
The game is about choice. That's why the peasants mock you. You can either take it in stride, or kill them. Choice.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Way of the Samurai 3
Good Game for Samurai Fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/10
MFD0013
it has a short storyline but its because theres a lot of storylines in the game and each ending is based on the choices you make while playing the game, graphics are good but has like a ps2 feel but overall the game is awesome and i like it very much. Also you can get downloadable content for it on the Playstation network and its free, where you get additional costumes and weapons other than the ones you have unlocked inside the game. you can also create your own weapons by buying them on shops or rare parts dropped by enemies, you can also unlock different sword stances for your character to use in the game, I like the butterfly effect where your choices in the game affect the outcome of the ending, so you can either be a good samurai and help people or you can be an evil samurai who just slaughters everyone in your path!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Way of the Samurai 3
Met My Expectations
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/09
gonzorrr
Being a fan of the previous two installments of Way of the Samurai, I've been waiting for this game for several years. At one point, I had considered buying the Japanese version (which released in Japan last December) and struggling through my slight knowledge of Japanese. I've read the "professional" reviews on IGN and other places, all of which seemed a little biased, and rather rushed. Being a lover of games, I took the time to see the game for what it is. I'm going to go over the Cons first: -Despite the several endings, the game is rather short each time it's played through (depending on the difficulty setting.) -The save feature (as in the other games) is rather annoying. Make sure you read the manual!! And those are really the only things that bothered me. To touch on graphics, which were mentioned in the other review; I have my PS3 hooked up via HDMI at 1080p to my HDTV, and the graphics looked great to me. NOT AT ALL PS2ish, despite what some reviewers might say -- that's just nonsense. Pros: -The game has fantastic music, and more so than the previous two installments, feels more real and authentic. -The sword customization is amazing -- as is the fact that you can use spears, or your hands to fight. -There are "accessories" you can buy to add to your character's appearance -- armor, etc. -Playing the game through with Japanese voices (and Eng. subtitles) is much more incredible than the dubs. -All of the characters are very real; though there are of course "funny" conversations, there are also many conversations that make you think about what you want to do with your character. And I could keep going... In summation; anyone who likes learning about Samurai, or pre-Meiji Japan, or enjoys slashing things; this game is a must-buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Way of the Samurai 3
Samurai fanatics, here is your game!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/09
Clephas
Pros: An excellent plot based in the Sengoku Jidai era of Japan's history in a fictional province. Interesting characters whose relationships are intricately interwoven into the plot. Over 20 unique endings Game progression is extremely non-linear. Weapon customization is very in-depth and - more importantly - useful Panders to samurai lovers and lovers of the katana Being able to spare the lives of those you fight makes for some interesting variations in the plot combat is intuitive Character appearance can be customized in a lot of different ways Is everything the series aspired to be in previous installments and more There are lots of ways to spend the money you get for doing generic jobs for faction taskmasters Cons graphics are slightly dated It is not possible to load your saves while playing the game Partners object to you picking up items other than swords and they aren't really useful Doing jobs for the factions gets really repetitive after the twentieth time you've punished a thief Overall, I don't have any true complaints about this game. It is everything I expected and more. I am more than satisfied with my purchase. I don't recommend this game to people who are expecting a normal action or fighting game, as fighting is only part of the experience of the Way of the Samurai. I do recommend this game for anyone who likes or is interested in old Japanese culture, the katana as a weapon, Bushido, or games with lots of ways to progress.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Way of the Samurai 3
excited
Posted on:10/15/09
endrance
Ok so im about to get my ps3, and this is the first game I want to buy, I played the first and second, and loved both. the first was incredibly short, the second was alot longer. it says there is 15 different ways to play it though, and the second had that too, which in reality is like 4 different ways to play.. and a few minor changes. so i hope thats been changed but either way If they correct as well as they did from 1 to 2, then 3 should be awesome
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Way of the Samurai 3
Very different sword fighting game
Posted on:10/14/09
Kevbo
Way of the Samurai is a series that has never found the spot light for some unknown reason. To me it is one of the most under rated series for sword fighting fans. They are kinda like a 'Choose your own adventure' book in that you make a lot of choices that change the game experience. Throw in some great sword fighting with TONS of realistic swords and different styles and its alot of fun. The first one had a great push and pull fighting style that they return to in WotS 3. However they have added a couple extra styles including unarmed styles. Not only that you can even make it so your character holds their blade so the dull side hits their enemy knocking them out (Kenshin sytle). They seem to have taken the best from the first two games and improved everything. I will warn you that the graphics may not blow you away, but trust me the gameplay is there and thats what matters to true gamers :)
Review 9 for Way of the Samurai 3
A must buy
Posted on:10/13/09
Digital
I remember when I was young, like ten or something, and I bought the first one. It was one of the best games ever but very underrated because of it's shortness but it's replay value was very high, and the game was incredible for an old game. I never got the chance to play 2 but from what I've heard it was good. If this game follows it's predecessors it'll be one of the best games of the year imo.
Review 10 for Way of the Samurai 3
Awesome
Posted on:10/12/09
Dizzlized
So i played number one years ago and loved it, But to this day noone knows what game im talking about. Being able to do basicly anything you want to do in that era, So many possibilities, The replay value of these games are through the roof, I never saw the second one but way of the samuri 3 will definatly find a a perfect place in my house, look back soon ill tell you how i liked it.
Review 11 for Way of the Samurai 3
Great!!
Posted on:10/9/09
icemanchucklidell
Man i didnt think there were other ppl who love this series I remember when i played the first one I couldnt stop playing that game and no one knew what game i was talking about but yeah couldnt wait for this one to come out I like this kind of game cuz its so realistic and it should be a must have and if you havent played the ones before then you should.
Review 12 for Way of the Samurai 3
WoW
Posted on:10/6/09
CDAWGSHEE1
This is so amazing....i haven't had the change to play Way of the Samurai 1 but i love Way of the Samurai 2!. I have played 2 so many times i can go through the game and be untouched. This will be really fun, i cant wait for this to come out!
Review 13 for Way of the Samurai 3
Its about time
Posted on:10/4/09
Reincarnist
I have to say, its about time. I've been waiting forever for the next one ya know. I think I'm going to like weapon custamization, and character creation.
Review 14 for Way of the Samurai 3
Finally!!!!
Posted on:10/2/09
HangnIron
ive been a fan of this game since the first one. It seems like it took "way of the samurai3", way too long to come out and ive been waiting since day 1 on the ps3 but its here. i know i won't be let down!
Review 15 for Way of the Samurai 3
Holy Crap! Finally!
Posted on:9/20/09
Resistancekickshalo'sass
Ever since i was really young, i've loved the first Way of the samurai... As soon as i saw the box for Way of the Samurai 3, AND the fact that it would be released in america, i nearly wept tears of joy!
Review 16 for Way of the Samurai 3
as soon as i saw the box
Posted on:8/30/09
johnnydragon
as soon as i saw the box . and before seeing the review. I said out load. it's about time! I seen some samurai type games for the 360. now hopefully they will make a U.S release for yakuza 3. a UK mag. gave it a rave review. even though it in Japanese. I have way of the samurai and some others for the PS2. I hope it does well so more of these games get a English U.S or even U.K release as long as it's in English. (I'll take subtitles)
Review 17 for Way of the Samurai 3
Finaly!
Posted on:7/22/09
The White JackaL
Its about time they give us a US port of the last WOTS. I have the Imported vertion of this game and all the other US releases. If they dont change any thing exsept for the lingo and maybe one or two bugs here and there this will be the ultimate samurai action/simulator/RPG style LIKE game there is, best way to put it is its a GTA but set in Fudel Japan of sorts. make your ouwn swords, spears, naginata's and more theres tons of difrent endings depending on what you do in the game so you will have fun trying to get them all. so at the least when this hits the US finaly rent it. even tho i have the japan vertion im still geting the US one when it comes out as well.