GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans

The first Dragon Ball Z RPG comes to Nintendo DS!Based on the most popular anime series of all time, Dragon Ball Z: Attack of the Saiyans is a brand new role-playing adventure where players battle as Goku and his Earth Defense Force allies to save the world from Vegeta and the threatening Saiyan enemies. Dragon Ball Z: Attack of the Saiyans features a host of original features which will be sure to thrill fans of the series with unique game modes, fun side quests and new material never before seen in either the anime or manga series.
Average Customer Rating:
8.714
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
Review 1 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
Happy I got it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/09
Relentless
First of all I wanted to mention that i was a little nervous getting the game because it was only the saiyan saga But they have really extended to play through every little piece of training they go through. One very big plus for me was that it is all Japanese voices doing the attacks of the dragonball characters which i think sounds awsome :) also, the story starts at the very end of dragonball,So you do some training for Master roshi and fight piccolo in the world tournament then you get into Dragon Ball Z. I have put in like 15 hours so far and still have not beat the game. What makes this game also awsome is that with each time you kill an enemy not only do you get experience but you also get points to purchase character upgrades and moves. For example you buy a Kamehameha for goku, then when you get enough points you can choose to improve the stregnth of it, or buy another attack all together like a punch and kick combo or something like that. This game has quickly become one of my favorite DS games and if you are even somewhat curious about this game, I Urge you to pick it up because it is an awsome play!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
Dragon to the Ball to the Z
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/10
Zekyelle
Well im a die hard DBZ fan and would buy any game if i had the money for it and i did have enough for this and i needed a good game for the DS since i lost supersonic warriors 2. I have to say i was simply impressed with this game in the fact you do lvl up and unlock different moves or lvl moves up. The Japanese audio is good but i would have liked american dub but anyone can deal with that. Other than that little problem nothing is wrong with this game animation is good the story is a good length because it covers the Piccolo vs Goku world tournament - the saiyan attack and everything in between. challenge is good I've had trouble with boss' because well i didn't have strategy. As that is I would always take a little extra time to lvl all my characters in use at the moment so i could when against the boss. To end this if you have a DS like Role-Playing and Dragonball Z this is a product for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
A really great game should follow the frieza saga.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/11
nickvickrety
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an awesome game for people who like a challenge.It has a longlasting appeal to non-dragon ball z fans and an everlasting appeal to dragon ball z fans but enough with the praises.The reason why I gave this an eight is because it limits skills with role playing and is simple because with the push of a button you did the damage level of 3500.This game lost part of my praise because it only goes to the end of the saiyan saga no further.It should at least go to frieza's defeat at the hands of son Goku the SUPER SAIYAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
Attack of the Saiyans (DS)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/13
lobothesacred3
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
=========
Pros
=========
+ Turn-based Combat
+ Story line taken directly from the show
=========
Cons
=========
- Turn-based Combat
- A lot of filler
- Certain equippables are overpowered
- The ending takes forever
=========
Story
=========
The story follows the events of the 23rd World Martial Arts tournament to the end of the Saiyan Saga. And, while the game accurately reflects the events contained with those sagas it also adds in a bunch of filler material that only serves to force the player to level grind. And, much of the filler is either pointless or creates massive plot holes. One of the best examples of this is when Goku is brought back to earth to find the dragonballs. This part of the game is both pointless filler and creates a massive plot hole considering the ending still covers the fact that Kami couldn't bring Goku back to earth until he reached the check-in station with King Yemma.
Of course, my biggest gripe with the story is the ending. The game does its best to recreate all of the scenes from the end of the Saiyan Saga, but the problem is it recreates all of these scenes. It makes the end of the game drag on and on and on. In fact, the ending fights may take close to 30 minutes to get through, because of all of the dialogue deliveries and breaks in the fighting. While, this game is based off of a franchise it would have been better to condense this stuff down in order to save time.
=========
Gameplay
=========
The game features random encounters and turn-based combat. While, I don't mind either of these mechanics this may be a turn off to other gamers who may agree that this franchise doesn't really lend itself to turn-based combat. Another slight problem with the game is that the enemy encounter rate is rather high.
On the plus side there are various equippable items in this game and a character building system derived from computer RPGs allowing you to place some of your stat points into a stat of your choice. On the downside the only stat worth powering up is the power stat since the ability to end fights faster is more valuable then reducing damage or increasing your auto-healing at the end of your enemy's turn. Another issue is that certain items like Kami's Cape are over powered and easily ruin the game since you can blow through far more powerful enemies with ease.
=========
Graphics
=========
All of the sprites work rather well and the still images used in the "cut scenes" are nice to look at. On the downside the game reuses almost every enemy two to four times. This constant recoloring of enemy sprites just comes across as lazy in my opinion.
=========
Sound
=========
I don't have any compliments to offer here. The background music tends to feel entirely generic while the voice acting is entirely in Japanese for the special attacks.
=========
Lasting Appeal
=========
There isn't that much stuff to do in this game to be honest. While you can revisit areas in order to get items that you couldn't access before because your ki blasts were too weak there is little advantage to do so. You also can look for Mr. Popo's dragonballs before the fight with Vegeta in order to fight the ultimate side boss in this game, but it doesn't really serve any purpose besides offering up busy work.
=========
Scores
=========
Story: 3
Gameplay: 7
Graphics: 8
Sound: 3
Lasting Appeal: 2
Overall: 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
Dragonball Z RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/09
The only one to play this game before the rest
Dragon Ball fans have a pretty good Fall season in store for them. Namco Bandai Games is releasing Goku themed games on nearly every system, and most of them are totally different. While the Wii has its sidescrolling beat-em-up based on the original Dragon Ball series, the Nintendo DS gets an old school role playing game that picks up pretty much where the Wii game lets off. We got a chance to try out the DS game and beat the crap out of Master Roshi. Dragon Ball Z: Attack of the Saiyans picks up after the great dragon revives the characters that Piccolo killed. The game starts off with Krillin, Yamcha, and Tien as they head off to go meet up with Goku (and later Gohan, Piccolo, and other characters). You've probably guessed that Saiyans attack, which you probably already know since that's like the first episode of the series. If you've played any of the Gameboy Advance Dragonball RPGs you'll be familiar with the style: small sprites of the characters on top of painted, isometric backgrounds. Lots of talking heads, too. The game is being developed by Monolith Software, a team that hasn't had many games released in the US. The battle engine on Attack of the Saiyans is a three-party system. Players control three characters, and can switch them out for other ones. It's standard RPG controls. Pick an attack, item or special move from the menue. Select an enemy. Then watch the fireworks. We've only gotten to play a little of the game so far, but there will be combo attacks and specials that team up the characters. Just like the previous DBZ RPGs, the battles and special moves are the coolest part. Each character has various special attacks, ranging from fierce physical combos to the classic Kamehameha, to other elemental moves. Players can also guard against attacks with some quick timing, and based on the early boss battle we played, this will become crucial to surviving some of the tougher battles.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
this game was awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
KayKay1
Location: Georgia, Al
This game is perfect for: party gamers
the game was cool.i would buy this game because it was awesome and cool.get dragon ball attack of the saiyans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
pokemon turned into dragon ball
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
bobbadia
Location: Georgia, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is great. if you like pokemon you will loooooooooove this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
Can't wait
Posted on:10/29/09
JakChrist
Since watching Dragon Ball Kai and learning about this game, (and yes, it's actually based off a remake of the series in japan called Dragon Ball Kai, renamed DBZ because DBKai isn't out in NA and UK) I've been waiting patiently for this very awesome DBZ RPG. I'm a fan of the Legacy of Goku series, which isn't that great. But this will take the cake, because everyone knows DBZ + Turnbased RPG for the DS = Amazing. I'm looking forward to it, may just pre-order it in full.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Ball: Attack of the Saiyans
this game looks great!
Posted on:10/27/09
pokeawesome
well i think this game looks great. i don't have it though, but im thinking about getting it. the gameplay looks great and everything looks great! all you dragon ball z fans out there like me, you might want to look into this game, think about it. you may not have to think about it, just get it, youll be satisfied, i know i will.
3 of 8 found this review helpful.