GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

LEFT FOR DEAD IN THE WORST PLACE IN AMERICAFollowing his father's murder, Huang Lee has a simple mission: deliver an ancient sword to his Uncle Kenny to ensure his family retains control of the Triad gangs of Liberty City. Huang is a spoiled rich kid who expects everything to run smoothly, but his trip does not go exactly as planned. After being robbed and left to die, he will search for honor, riches and revenge in the most dangerous and morally bankrupt city in the world.
Average Customer Rating:
6.25
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
10 out of 2050%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Review 1 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Awesome
Posted on:7/24/09
AbilionBoy9900
I was a former DS Lite owner until my little sister destroyed it ,and so I got a psp and I was hooked. I've heard nothing but praise for the DS version of Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars, Everyone I've talked to loves this game ,and remember for a handheld PSP has some very strong graphics and some pretty amazing games so Chinatown Wars for PSP should be good. Much like the other GTA games Chinatown Wars is about the main character seeking revenge after some event in his life that lead him to begin the story. Chinatown Wars brings alot to the table now with players being able to manage how they sell "merchandise" in the game instead of just being the sap who delivers said "merchandise", and where you sell your wares will affect how much clients will pay. Also in the DS version ( unlike other GTA games for the psp like Liberty city stories) players are given the freedom to use flying vehicles such as helicopters so here's hoping that Chinatown Wars is able to surpass the other GTA games for Sony PSP.
Review 2 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
BEST PORTABLE GTA.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
cartoonbacon
Location: SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dont be fooled by the critics below me the graphics are really good i mean the character arent 3D but there still GREAT!....the story is very good im bout 50% through it.....the controls are great and its a blast remeber GRAPHICS ARE NOT EVERYTHING!!! ....its gameplay and story that counts....BUY THIS GAME!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
appreciate it for what it is
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
thatoneracingguy
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Most people who give this game a bad review are used to the high standards the PSP sets for the GTA series. What you have to understand is that this is an adaptation from the original Nintendo DS version so the sound, gameplay, and graphics will be not nearly as good as Liberty City and Vice City Stories. The fact that this game is from a bird's eye perspective and features manual functions (i.e. hotwiring a car, assembling a sniper rifle, placing and arming bombs etc.) was originally meant to showcase the capabilites of the DS, not the PSP. Overall, decent game if you have the time to try somthing new. Get it on the DS though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
GTA: Chinatown wars. Ouch...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/09
JayDReview
I think all gta games are fun. This one, unfortunetly was horrible. The storyline was very interesting, everything that happened surprised me. Three things that i hated about the game - The graphics were terrible - After beating the game, the side missions are boring and simple. - The drug trade in the game is endless, the drug trade is boring after a while, you know what you will get for selling drugs. I will not give any details about the story away, but you work for a few different people and it is just plain confusing to keep track of what mission is assigned by what character. And might i add, the ending of the game is horrible. It ends with people dying and a cop arresting somebody. All Gta games end that way and nothing happens to your character, it is almost like he did not play a role in the game to be honest, i would not recommend this game to anyone. Unless you like bad graphics, and boring game in general.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sadodeh
 
Please wait while more information about Sadodeh is loaded.
Additional information about Sadodeh could not be loaded.
Awesome Game!!
Posted 4/27/11
Its the best GTA Game right after Liberty City.Although it has kinda bad graphics, its really addicting. The storyline is fun and easy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
A New Type of GTA
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
CL0UD
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The style is pretty different from the GTA we normally play. Some players love it, some don't. I am okay with because I can adapt to many styles. The graphics is not a problem. The basic concept of GTA is there but the gameplay is different, especially the overhead view of everything. I guess RockStar games wanted it to be different on handheld systems.
 
My Product Recommendations
Grand Theft Auto BUNDLE
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Arcade Style Turn-Off
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/10
Coltrane Da Don
To start off GTA: Chinatown Wars wasn't all that horrible Challenge : The game was pretty easy enemies died within 2 seconds of you shooting them Length : The game was pretty long took me about 3 weeks to defeat it Storyline : The storyline was great you play this chinese guy who came to liberty city to find out who killed his father basically avenging his fathers death Controls : Pretty easy to remember Sound : Was kind of HD on the psp if you ask me .. I always have the sound maxed out on my psp Well if you like Grand Theft Auto then i would perfere you to get this 2 things you will not like about the game is of course the camera angle rockstar games took GTA back to the Stone Ages with this arcade style camera angle and the graphics are quite sloppy on the psp ..
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Great GTA Revision
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/09
Swordfish421
I truely enjoy GTA Chinatown. I seldom ever played my PSP anymore because I mainly use it for trips. Chinatown had brought back my interest in the PSP again. The game itself is a lot of fun, I find it much more addicting than GTA 4 had been and the new drug trade aspect is a lot of fun! Not to mention that the new break-in tool for cars is very enjoyable! You can now unscrew the dashboard panel to hotwire card or defeat the alarm system, instead of just smash & grab missions. The scratch lottery tickets are a good time waster/money maker too. You can even win houses, guns, money in your lottery tickets. Tired of having to drive to the gun store? Don't fret! Your weapon purchases now may be made online and delivered to your door!Be ready to spend a lot of time away from the main story line and completing side missions, as they are a ton of fun. I would certainly suggest this one to others.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
well....
Posted on:8/22/09
Bob Bobson
This game got great reviews on the ds, so now there making it on psp. but why not make a new gta altogether. And i really don't like the ocerhead camera.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/10
Brad22
Location: Cary, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all i don't know why everyone is hatin on this game. The graphics aren't the best but its alot better than gta vice city stories and liberty city stories for the psp. The graphics for liberty sity stories and vice city stories are very grainy and character models are terrible. One bad thing about gta chinatown wars is the unfamiliar songs on the radio, but its nothing to bring the game down. In chinatown wars theres alot to do and the new interactive drug dealing business is great especially if you are stuck on a frustrating mission. This game will definitely remain for me as one of the best handheld games of all time. For $19.99 you're getting alot of bang for your buck.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
it has it's ups and downs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
adrenalinepixie413
Location: Chicago,IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
lets get to the good the weapons are good and the graphics are better than the ds and the apple's i stuff and here's the bad I hate the view, the people don't talk, there are only 5 types of cars and it's hard to drive with the view. I wish the view was like vcs or lcs but I'd recommend vcs and lcs instead of this.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Chinatown Is Dealin & Wheelin Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
242Sup3rstar
Location: Miami,Florida
I got this awhile back Im a GTA fan so I scooped it up. Huang is my homie salute. At first trying to get the hang of the controls we're hard but after playing awhile it became easy. The storyline is good tons of stuff to do. This is the first GTA that lets you become a drug dealer so you don't have to rob the citizens just the dealers for their loot! Sometimes doing deals the cops show up so be careful. Other than that the music is good I really like DJ Khalil those beats are good. Too bad they didn't bring Chinatown Wars out on the PS3, Xbox 360 and PC :( I still have this and I play it good buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
will be a game to be hook on
Posted on:8/8/09
danny phantom
if anyone ever played the other 2 GTA games for psp, they know how additive they are. there r so much to do and so awesome. the graphics were ok but the stories were amazing plus all the things u have to do are never the same and never boring. so, i all i hope for that this game is just like the other 2 and am glad they brought another GTA on the psp. love playing against my friends at my school. can't wait for this game to come out
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Makes Me Wanna Puke
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
mrawesomeguy
Location: Village Hidden In The Leaves
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is probably the worst gta game I've ever played.The feature that sucks the most is the bird's eye view.This isn't worthy of being called a gta game in the first place!Although the plot is decent, the gameplay doesn't make up for it or the graphics,which look like it's a Gameboy game.The weapons are mortally horrible and so is the cpu in the game.When I played this game, I shook my head and immediately returned it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
NO
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
BOBBBB
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, THE GRAPHICS ARE TERRIBLE. I WOULDNT RECCOMEND THIS TO ANYONE. FOR THE MONEY, GTA LIBERTY CITY STORIES IS MUCH BETTER.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars PSP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/09
majorepayne (ps3 id)
I know, at first sight, this game looks behind in today's gaming technology, but Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars for PSP actually sets new standards for future GTA games. When I first heard that this game was coming out for PSP in the same form (basically) as it was released for the Nintendo DS earlier, I was really let down that they would not improve the camera view and the graphics. I thought it would be a real disappointment, but I just recently downloaded this wonderful game, via the Playstation Network, and it shocked me that it was the most fun I have ever had with my Playstation Portable (barely beating Gran Turismo). The overhead camera view concerned me before I got my hands on this game, but I quickly fell in love with it and understood what the developers were shooting for (not saying I like the overhead view better than third-person). This game is not to be compared to Grand Theft Auto's early titles, other than the same overhead camera view is used. The graphics are a small step forward from the Nintendo DS version, but a giant leap forward from early titles. (The graphics rating of 7 that I gave is considering that this is a handheld game) Another feature that makes this game stand out from other GTA titles is the drug-dealing, and the most enjoyable storyline. Chinatown Wars also has some exclusive cars that can't be found in other GTAs and the whole area of Liberty City (minus one island) to roam from day one. The only downsides to this game is that the overhead view can be a disadvantage in some situations (such as high speed pursuit), and...well I, honestly, can't think of any others. In conclusion, this is a game that CAN NOT be overlooked. It will not disappoint, and could not be much better. This game not only sets high standards for Grand Theft Auto titles, it sets high standards for ALL titles. I am not one to right reviews for games (in fact, I have never written one), but when I experienced this unbelievable adventure, I could not resist.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
HOMESTEAD
GTA CHINATOWN WARS
Posted 11/1/10
IT IS A REALLY FUN GAME, IT TOOK ME ABOUT 17 DAYS TO BEAT IT. THE GRAPHICS ARENT GREAT AT ALL.BUT EVERYTHING ELSE IS REALLY FUN. IF U ARE GOING TO BUY A GTA GAMES I WOULD BUY THIS ONE (CHINATOWN WARS)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
dont buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
rtyuiop30
Location: tampa,fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the gameplay in this game sucks everything is small.therefore when u drive you will bump into a lot of polices and get busted plus the characters in this game is ugly they look like blood.i had this game for 3 days then i traded it for nba live 07 because china town wars is not lasting appealing.after about 5 missions you will stop playing this game because after 5 missions there is this stupid mission of getting about 100,000 dollars.so listen to this review and not get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
An homage to the original GTA
Posted on:10/13/09
Darksteps
And by original I mean the top down version that was banned in the UK a decade ago. But they spiced it up with much better 3d graphics than the original had, I'm actually excited about this release. Although I wish they would or could do a GTA4 for the PSP, sure it wouldn't be as eye catching as the console/pc versions, but it would still be cool. I hope it plays as good as it looks. I wonder if the string of Elvis Impersonator Joggers will make their return to be run over...?
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Ahhhh This Takes Me Back.....
Posted on:10/12/09
Sniper_849
Im am really excited for this to come out and i know some people are not crazy about the over head camera than you must be forgetting where gta started from. the over head view makes this gta play just like gta 1,gta 2, and gta: london. Lets just hope that the stories and the gameplay are just as good i would say this should be a good addition for any die hard gta fan. man i miss the good old days of the rivalry between ps1, n64, and dreamcast lol
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
What is wrong with it?...Nothing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Tobisper
Location: Miami,Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
you people have something against this game I just don't understand you people, this is how gta all started and to me it's very fun game, just get's boring after you beat the mission's and story mode twice, but it's still a very fun game, you people need to relax...my goodness, for overview this has amazing graphic's. Hater's will hate. :(
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars
Good if you get used to it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
User001
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game, Chinatown Wars, is an amazing game for the PSP. Once you get used to the camera, the game would be amazing. It's a bit repetitive, and more than once I had to look up what to do (SPOILERS NEXT) after you killed Kenny, Other than that, the game is great. If you're thinking of getting it, GET IT. You'll have lots of fun with it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 next>>