GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Darkest of Days

In DARKEST OF DAYS , you'll get to experience some of the most varied gameplay ever released in one title. Things will never get stale as you travel to distant times and fight alongside people from that time period. Fighting in Antietam (the bloodiest day of the American Civil War) feels much different than fighting on the side of the Russians at Tannenberg (where the Russians withstood 140,000 casualties in WWI).Fight in FIVE different Time Periods Whether its in Pompeii, Antietam, WWI, WWII, or Little Big Horn you will fight with real weapons from the time period. You will battle against enemies that fight in different ways, all reflective of how fighting was done at the time.
Average Customer Rating:
5.864
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
12 out of 2255%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Darkest of Days
Review 1 for Darkest of Days
Good idea, bad execution
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/09
Darth Eclipse
For many, many years I have wanted a first person shooter that you could play during the Civil War. I was very excited to hear about this game, so I downloaded the demo. The graphics are horrible. This would have been an amazing game about five or six years ago, but now the graphics just don't stand up to any other game out there. The storyline is almost as bad. You are standing around shooting indians when you get injured by in arrow through your crotch (OUCH!) Then some guy in some futuristic suit comes out of a spherical portal and takes you away. Then there is some lady known as "the mother" on some screen. You can only see her eyes so you have no clue who she is, but she explains your situation and then this guy shows you how to use some different weapons. Then you go back and "the mother" talks for a few more minutes and then you choose your mission and teleport there. So, I would definitely not recommend this game to someone, mainly because of the graphics and storyline. But nothing in it was very well done.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Darkest of Days
Do not buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
KJ07
Location: Chico, CA
This game is simply awful. The graphics are so old, the gameplay is very poor. The story had potential, but stay away!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Darkest of Days
A definite twist to your standard shooter.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/09
looooooooooool
Let me first off say the graphics for this game could pass for middle x-box era, but not now. The game shows a new challenge to most shooters, having to use the bad (or not so bad) weapons of that time period. Dang civil war musket! It kind of reminds me of timespliters, but a lot more realistic. The game was fun, and interesting, it also has a cool experance, so i would most likley recomend this game. If you are not so sure about buying this game, try the demo, that will give you a good experance with the game, and will most likley tell you if you like it or not. The game's story is great, and it allows you to see what the different wars, that most video games do not cover, would be like. So yah, atleast download the demo, and DEFINTLEY buy the game (if you like it)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Darkest of Days
Re-THINK
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
CrackinCody
Location: Wichita, KS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Honestly, this game is pretty good. Don't always listen to the reviews. Yes, the audio doesn't really match the animation of the mouth, AI don't like to help you out, but there are alot of pluses too. The engine itself allows over 500 people to attack you from across a field, which is a first that i've ever seen. The gameplay is really what keeps this game together. People may hate it, but I love it. I recently talked with an engineer that worked on it, he says don't expect a sequel anytime soon. So buy it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Darkest of Days
Really great but
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/09
Antisora21
This game is really good. Dont get me wrong this game is worth the money but it needs higher graphics. The graphics look worse that a nintendo 64 game. But besides how bad the graphics are this game is the best. If you like shooter games then this is a game for you. It is just a great idea of having to travel time with different weapons in each time. You could be fighting in world war one but have a futuristic weapon which you will need if you want to survive. Your goal is to save people in history but you can not kill them or its game over. The farther you get in the game the herder it gets but the funner it gets. A variety of weapons are all at your command if you find them at least. So overall this game is really good and i expect everyone to buy a copy of you love shooter games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DissatisfiedCritic
Brookings
 
Please wait while more information about DissatisfiedCritic is loaded.
Additional information about DissatisfiedCritic could not be loaded.
Under rated
Posted 2/12/11
You will see others say this game has bad graphics, but i say look at the size of the maps, the amount of free roam you can do, if you had any higher graphics you could but a severe strain on your console, leaving the graphics lower makes the game easier to run.
This is the only game i have seen that used decent time travel that takes you from the Civil War era, to the WW2-WW1 era, and all the way back to the Roman era. If you cant look beyond graphics then don't get this game then stay away, but you will only deny yourself a decent story, some pretty funny in-game characters, and the fun of running around with a semi-automatic shotgun or a fully automatic assault rifle slaughtering confederates, germans, and other historical evils.
This game tops out my list for most underrated game of the year, it is easily comparable to a Halo or Call of Duty release if you can look past graphics for fun game play and realism. If you cant, then get out, and don't buy any decent new games with new idea's.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Darkest of Days
read this review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
bonesthebomb
Location: maine, ME
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, honestly, this game isnt that bad. whats the worst thing about it is that the graphics and sound are terrible. Also, the story is very confusing and very hard to follow. And, theres no way to skip videos either, and that wierd lady (i cant even remember names) talks for like, 5 minutes before you can select your mission. On the good side, however, is that this is the only real civil war game there is. Aswell as world war 1 and the trojan war. Plus, getting the acheivements isnt that hard either. In my opinnion, this games price should be swapped with gears of war, as GOW deserves the 29.99 price tag.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Darkest of Days
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
yourmom20
Darkest of days is all about history. I love history, and the civil war is my favorite theme! buy it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Darkest of Days
pretty good but needs more work
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/10
silent killer 128
darkest of days is a big challenge because you have people all a round you shooting at you. they arent stupid like in some games. the controls are pretty easy to get use to it will at least take you 5 or 10 minites to get use to. the graphics are pretty good but should have been better. the controls never mess up when you click button. the storyline is where you go back in time and save people and make the war s different. i would recommend this game to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Darkest of Days
greatest of games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
coletrain
Location: florida
this game rocks it is so much fun i love it the guns rock the missions are super fun the story is excellent the only thing bad is that they dont really tell u were to go.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Darkest of Days
Nasty
Posted on:9/8/09
Vin Diesel
This game seems like a pretty good game to me. Its cool how they let u go anywhere on the map to fight. u dont just have to stay with one regement and fight with them. you have more room to move around and a lot more people to shoot at. I think this game is gonna be one of my favorite games.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Darkest of Days
Nintendo 64 or xbox 360?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/10
Douglas Among Us
I'll be upfront with you, I haven't played the full game through. I tried playing the demo and just after the enormous load time, i realized that this is a disgusting excuse for a first person shooter. I looked exasperatingly at my xbox 360 and was surprised not to see a nintendo 64 sitting on my entertainment center. Why might you ask? Let me answer by asking another question.... Have you seen the graphics on this game? They are embarassing at best. I don't comprehend how someone can actually expect to get by with this. This coupled with the stupid plot and goofy looking future weapons gives me nothing but extreme displeasure at even the sight of the game. Maybe I'm being far too critical and it has an awesome story line but based on what the preview and the demo show, i doubt it,
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Darkest of Days
Strangely Addictive
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/09
UnprofessionalGamer
I really didn't know what to expect when I first read about this game. The concept is awesome, going back into the past to fix things that went wrong militarily, using future and period weapons to get the job done, fighting for both sides, etc. The graphics in this game aren't the best in the world compared to some of the games out there, but they really aren't bad at all. This game definitely stands out in terms of challenge. I was able to beat ODST in less than a day on Legendary, but this game has taken me more than a week. Granted, I have also spent quite a bit of time on other games as well, still, this is definitely not a game that you can pick up and beat in a few hours. The battles range all over in terms of time periods. You might be fighting at Antietam in one mission, then rushing around the Russian Front in WW I in another. If you are expecting to be tearing around the Civil War with some futuristic death cannon in every single mission, you couldn't be farther from the truth. You spend a great deal of time working with period weapons, which you can upgrade between missions using a point-based rewards system for saving people deemed significant by your time-jumping bosses. That adds a lot of challenge in and of itself, you're trying to save a couple of guys while everybody on your side is firing and everybody on their side is firing. In the Civil War missions especially, this can be quite chaotic, as the battlefield is covered in smoke from various muzzle-loading rifles. The missions are great! You are almost always being shot at from somewhere. The missions also follow events that really happened. The people that you have to save may be fictional, but the attacks that you are a part of are absolutely authentic down to the terrain that was there in that particular time period. Some of the real fun comes when you get to use the future weapons against your enemies. Man has an unbelievable propensity for creating things to destroy himself. You get all manner of weapons, from a rocket launcher that sends out multiple laser-guided rockets, to sniper rifles that automatically compute windage, elevation, humidity, all things we were really required to consider in the U.S. Army. Even with the future-based weapons, there are still hundreds of enemies out there who are more than willing to take a bite out of you. You even get to use Civil War cannons and WW I & II artillery on several occassions, which require a totally different set of skills to aim. Comparing the graphics in this game to those of something like GRAW 2 is completely unfair. This game is much more based around the story than it is on presenting stunning visuals. Far too many games these days (ODST, for example) invest most of their resources in the visuals and giving you tons of achievements, which in all reality, only the other achievement boosters will care that you have said achievements, and by focusing on visuals and achievements, the story suffers tremendously. Games used to take weeks to beat instead of hours and Darkest of Days™ goes back to that theme. The story in this game is great, I would gladly read a book or watch a movie of this game. The developers went to great lengths to sort out the implications of people from the future and their weapons entering a historical battlefield and what would happen if one of the future weapons were to be left behind on the battlefield. There's an odd satisfaction that you get from wiping out a line of soldiers with a silenced assault rifle from the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Darkest of Days
Disagree with such a low review!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/09
krewman
anything the objectives were really easy.... This game is easily worth the money and the story line is really cool!! especially after the first couple levels! you probably didnt get to the really fun part and you gave up on this game to quick I like this game and I love the idea of going back in time with future weapons. I bought this game with high expectations and the game met all of them so dont listen to this guy and give darkest of days a shot its a good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Darkest of Days
worst game I have ever played
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/09
dgk49
I bought this with high hopes and quickly found out I had wasted my money. I honestly don't know where to start with explaining all that is wrong with it. I had great difficulty with the fact that most of the action was at night and therefore was very difficult to see not only the enemies but everything and everything in general. I was always lost and trying to figure out what to do next. The mapping system left much to be desired along with trying to figure out the objectives even though they were clearly stated. One of the things that first appealed to me was the fact that I could use present day weapons in far past situations. That never happened and I understand that you had to earn that but still.... I really really tried to like this game but I finally gave up and took it back and got store credit for it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Darkest of Days
a very interesting game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have to say,this game blew my mind.you can fight in 5 different time periods,and most of all,which i thought was pretty cool,go into a time portal.you can fight in the civil war,world war 1,and three others that i do not know about because i just started this game.overall, great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Darkest of Days
not what i expected
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/10
witch hunter
Whan I first heard about this game, I got excited to play it. About 4 months later, a kid at school gave this to me for a couple cheap games. I played it for the first time, it was ok. Kept playing it, got bored of it within a day. Why? Because it wasn't a good game. The graphics were terrible for a 2008 shooter game, the weapons were crappy. It just didn't make sense to have an assault rifle in the civil war. I know you played as a time traveler but assault rifles were not fare to all the other allies who had crappy rifles. The violence wasn't that realistic. This game is mainly rated m for language. I would reccomend cod world at war. Darkest of days isn't that good. I'm sure that this game could of been a way lot better than it is. Not what i expected.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Darkest of Days
Plain and simple!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/09
Phis213
The storyline is awesome but the graphics are terrible. I mean at first me when I read about the game I was very interested. But once I played the game, I was disappointed and wanted my money back. What a waste! The only good thing that came out of this game was the fact that you were going back to time with today’s' weapon. I also liked the fact that I was in the civil war fighting the confederates =) The scenes I played on World War 1 and World war 2 remind me of the first call of duty. Why? As I said before the graphics were terrible! It reminds me of the PS1 and the first XBOX!!! I just played this game for about 3 hours and then turned it off. It will collect dust with your old games. Don’t and I repeat myself don’t waste your money on this game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Darkest of Days
Sounds Awsome.
Posted on:7/24/09
clue less?
I dont have many details to work on with this game, but from the decreptions, it sounds like it'll be a really fun game. Now im a person who loves good grapics but i dont need them, and i hate people who trash a good and fun game because it dosent have the best grapics. And im not sure if this game will have good grapics proply not because of the price. But i've always wanted to know what it would have been like to join the civil war with a modern day assult rifle. Plus you get to fight in many differnt battle in differnt times againt new enemies each time. that Just sounds fun and entertaining to me. but from the way it sounds im not sure if it will have a campaign. but i keep an eye out for this one....;P
Review 19 for Darkest of Days
Don't waste your money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/11
xDeadliestxSinx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It had a great idea but was executed terribly. The dialogue is terrible, "Mother" annoys the H*** out of me. The enemies suck, even on hard, or should i say "with chest hair" difficulty. Having a weapon that shoots of 10 laser guided rockets at once while your enemies have ram rod rifles, well it's just not fair haha This game is extremely terrible and it's taking all of my will just to finish playing it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Darkest of Days
My definition of terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/10
WitchHunterReturns
Location: Torrington, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Darkest of days was poorly designed and I do not reccomend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>