GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lunar: Silver Star Harmony

While seemingly placid on the surface, the world of Lunar is slowly descending into chaos, as the Goddess Althena, the creator and guardian of the world, has disappeared and the valiant efforts of the legendary Dragonmaster Dyne and his faithful companions fade into obscurity. With Althena gone and no one able or willing to become the next Dragonmaster, a shadowy figure, known only as the Magic Emperor, has started plotting to usurp Althena's place and become a god. In a remote village far removed from the decay that is slowly spreading throughout the world lives a young man named Alex, who dreams of one day becoming the next Dragonmaster like his hero Dyne. One day, Alex's friend Ramus convinces him to head toward a cave near town, where it is rumored the legendary White Dragon resides. With Alex's adopted sister Luna and his mysterious pet Nall in tow, Alex heads off on what seems to be a meaningless adventure, not knowing that it would be the first step in an epic journey with the fate of the entire world at stake.
Average Customer Rating:
8.769
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1377%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Review 1 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Aww man
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/10
docbear26
As a player that specializes in RPG's and has beaten the original Lunar: Silver Star Story on two different systems (Sega Saturn in 1996 and PS1 in 1998) I was under the impression that this was a going to be a reboot of that game. To my shock Lunar: Sliver Star Harmony was different and not in a good way. Tough some of the scenes where the same, they changed some major parts in the storyline and changed all the songs, once again not in a good way. For me, I think they took a good game and made it completely horrorable but if it's your first go around with Lunar and you're between the ages of twelve to nineteenyou may find it enjoyable. On a more personal, I have contacted Playstation too see if there would be a release the original game on their store page in ps classics section and was told that they do not know............. Maybe someday Playstation will know and i'll log in and find that it's in the classics and be able to download it to my psp........maybe
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Looking forward to it!
Posted on:10/31/09
Dagger_Tribal
I've played the original on PS and I played the Japanese demo and I have to say that I'm excited. The demo consisted of the beginning of the game and the first dungeon in the white dragon cave. The graphics are great, completely redone. The music has been remixed and sounds great. The menus look really nice too (though I can't read a lick of Japanese). The mechanics seem a lot more improved, like not having to equip an item to your character in order to use it in battle, like in the original. However, the difficulty is dramatically lowered (at least at the beginning). Anyone who played the original I'm sure remembers how hard the first dungeon was. Well, it was way too in the demo, the enemies were ridiculously easy and the dungeon itself was like a fifth of the size. Hopefully this is only to make the beginning easier and it's not a trend for the entire game. But this is definitely a remake worth getting.
Review 3 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
This is a great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/10
WARRIOROFTIME
I have always been a fan of Lunar! This is made even better by the fact it's on the PSP! The only thing that I don't like about it is the character graphice are fussy looking. Other than that this game scores high marks in my book. It's the same "Damsel in Distress" sort of thing. I guess it gets old but; for me, it's another RPG. I would rather play this than the gory crap that's out. I still get a kick out of seeing Kyle making a fool of himself and shooting off his mouth. I REALLY hate Nash! Luna is like Alex's mother, she chides him constantly! With a girl like that I would go crazy! It's also really funny to see Kyle and Jessica fight! It's like they are brother and sister instead of friends! This may not be like RPG Greats like "Grandia" "Breath of Fire" "Final Fantasy" and "Chrono Trigger." but overall this is a pretty deccent RPG and definately worth your time and money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
lunar psp
Posted on:8/8/09
DragonWing
I bought lunar for the sega cd from a video store. It was such an awesome game had to own EB as well. I imported Lunar :SSC , Lunar: EBC and Lunar Magic School for the Import Saturn. I also own Lunar: Legends for the gameboy and Lunar Dragon song for the DS Lunar: Dragon Song basically killed the possibility of there ever being a Lunar 3 game . It has been over 10+ years since there was a good Lunar game . I have read posts and seen pictures about Lunar : silver star harmony and I'm thrilled. I'm hoping that with this games popularity hey decided to do eb for the psp and then finally the Lunar 3 that we have all been waiting for . I have pre-ordered the import and the US version of Lunar. Looking forward to playing the new episodes. For anyone who has played these games they know the Boy loves girl, Boy saves girl and ends up saving the world in the process. This Rpg is a game for the ages with a number of Dungeons, Puzzles, Magic and the 4 Dragons. If anyone is undecided please check out the net for information and Pictures. This game will not disappoint you . Welll looking forward to receiving this game when it comes out .
Review 5 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Another remake of a great game
Posted on:12/6/09
Malakeith
For all your information, the original game was released on the Sega CD not on Playstation. It had the first glimpse of the cinematic we have today. The only thing good I see about this remake is to give players who hates bad graphics to give a shot at one of the best story. Great soundtrack, good voice acting and improved graphics. For those who haven't played this game now is a good time to play it !!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
Betavist
I have just got this game on psn ( they dident have it at my gamestop so i got it online ) and so far I love this game. It has a Party AI that you can use if your not that good at the game so the party is controlled by computers. The animation is amazing, the characters storys are well written. The sound in this game is very nice to the ears. The girls are HOT and if you get the limited edition it comes with 11 cards of these girls along with a soundtrack. I normally play rpgs and mmorpgs,such as World of Warcraft,Crisis Core,Final Fantasy games, and I love Dissidia. The game is about a boy named alex who wants to be a dragonmaster like his idol, this is all Im going to say so that I do not ruin the story for others. I will say one thing THIS IS A MUST BUY FOR THOSE RPG TURN BASED GAMES!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
thecheshirecatkn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is great for anybody who liked the original final fantasy series. it has the turn based attack system and it really keeps ur attention
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
didn't like it one bit!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
docbear26
Location: D.C
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As one that has played Lunar:The Silver Star and Lunar Silver Star Story Complete( both of Working Designs) Ifirst thought it was a remake of Silver Star Story but found this game to be full of strange things, it has new storylines full of stuff that had nothing to do with the story itself and I didn't really dig the change in the soundtrack either (but kept the original music so I guess that's something). For me, it was terrible but if you're new to the world of Lunar than you might find it a fun to play but I'd sure like to see Silver Star Story on the ps network someday
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
The legend continues
Posted on:8/31/09
Sohji
I played the origonal Lunar: Silver Star on Sega CD when it first came out. Played it for the next 5 years or so until the disk got so brittle that it snapped in half when I took it out of the case. The remakes of the game were about half as good as the first two(Silver Star and Eternal Blue). I was upset to see that the dragon magic changed on the port to the PS1 but was still relatively happy with the game, since it was the same basic storyline. The combat system was unlike any other game I had played at the time, or since. Not only did speed effect your combat turn, but movement as well. It was a side view battle where the enemies were on one side and the main characters were on the other. Although you couldn't decide exactly where they move, it would still effect you during combat. If an enemy was far away, it may take you two turns to get to them. Likewise, there were area of effect attacks that added a whole new aspect to the game. This was the game that got me in to writing and ultimately slowly moving my way into the gaming industry. Hopefully this game does well(and the psp lasts) long enough to redo Eternal Blue, and release the oh so waited for Lunar 3...maybe reintroduce the Dragon Master to the world of Lunar. If you havn't played a lunar game, do so...as long as it is one of the first two Silver Star, or Eternal Blue.
Review 10 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
best lunar game i got beat it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/10
esonic23
Location: huntsville,ala
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i were i get lunar remake on my psp i play that over last 3 month after one week looong time i has more high level up fighting never give up never die. later i now beat ultimate boss and save her and save the world. i get alex become dragonmaster. i can't believe i beat that on my memory card not bad. i'm glad about the end . best lunar RPG game they are right about awseome sega CD in history as i heard snice i were young. i'm proud to lunar RPG games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Lunar done right.
Posted on:1/31/10
Derek16438
By the reports above, you might be skeptical as whether or not pick this one up. If you ask me, it's a sure purchase. If you enjoyed the original Lunar for PS, then you will enjoy this. There is no doubt about that. You can trust me on that. I played the DEMO myself, and I must say that I simply adore the new battle system. It's quite unique, and I haven't experienced one quite like it in some time. The graphics are a win with me. The game looks beautiful. I can't wait for the full release. Look forward to this one guys.
Review 12 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
I keep coming back to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/13
Infinite13
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played this when it first came out and after I beat it, I started a new file and played again. Later I traded it in and regretted my decision so now I am going to get the game again so I can play it and I'm going to keep it. Loved the graphics and music, it never got boring and the storyline is enough to keep me on the edge of my seat, even though some parts were semi predictable I still enjoyed the twists and turns in this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Played the Demo...
Posted on:2/22/10
Kane82
Well, the gameplay seems awesome from the Demo...I really like the new graphics and the combat animations. I've always really like the Lunar series and I think one of the best features with the PS1 version was the voice acting, which I looks like was sadly over looked in the PSP version. Everyone's voice seems so bland...and the opening theme's new lyrics are terrible. But, if you just want a really good RPG, this might be your golden ticket.
Review 14 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Somethings not right
Posted on:2/10/10
Twiztdclwn
Lunar has been one of my favorite RPGs since I first played it on the Sega CD. I have owned this game for Sega CD, GBA, and the PS1 and loved it each time. But after playing the Demo for this on PSP something just does not feel right with this version, it looks really good, but the feeling I get from playing it, is not the same joy I got from the previous versions.
Review 15 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
A Must Play Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/12
DarkOne192
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had the original Lunar Legends for Gameboy and after beating the game it hit me that the whole story line was goin to be replayed on Sony PSP. If you are a fellow RPG player like myself This is the game for you. It includes an amazing story of Dragons and an Evil past I will give this game what it deserves a 10 so go and check it out trust me it worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Playing demo now
Posted on:1/17/10
Dragonmaster_Darrgoth
There are several things I didn't care for on the demo such as, no world map and you characters moves at the pace of a snail, but overall I enjoyed playing the demo, what makes playing remade RPG's so refreshing on the PSP is the fact that they do change things and it adds a little flare to an classic favorite. I would give this based on Demo alone a 7/10.
Review 17 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Just to Clarify...
Posted on:1/8/10
Luigi moves to Sony.
For those still arguing, this game was originally on the Sega CD, ported to the Sega Saturn with enhancements, and then ported again to the Playstation in the most advanced version. This is a remake of the Sega CD game, so whether it's better than the saturn and sony versions is still unknown. Regardless, the game will still be great.
Review 18 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
Just played the demo
Posted on:1/15/10
lifergamer
Lunar is always a great game. I believe that the playstation version will still be the superior version even with the enhanced graphics of this version. The demo seemed pretty much the same as the playstation version, but the voice acting and the music and the overall gameplay seems to take away from what made the PS version special.
Review 19 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
In the footsteps
Posted on:12/24/09
Serion
of Working Designs before them XSeed takes a step and puts its neck out for the Lunar Fans. I'm glad to see that they remade this, and in the Working Designs Fashion they're releasing a Limited Edition/Collectors Edition set as was the case with the original Lunar, i'm hoping they redo Blue Star Story as well. That'll be fun.
Review 20 for Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
OK Old School RPG
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/12
GrowlanserFan
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have never played previous versions of this game, although I have heard good things from friends. I think the game is a pretty solid RPG but the battles do get rather tedious sometimes. Fans of the older versions will probably hate changes made to this one. However, if you're dying for a portable RPG, this one is OK.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 next>>