GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rage

RAGE is a groundbreaking first-person shooter set in the not-too-distant future after an asteroid impacts Earth, leaving a ravaged world behind. You emerge into this vast wasteland to discover humanity working to rebuild itself against such forces as raider gangs, mutants, and the Authority - an oppressive government regime that has a special interest in you in particular. Featuring intense first-person action, vehicle combat, an expansive world and jaw-dropping graphics powered by id's revolutionary idTech 5 technology. RAGE promises an experience like no other.Fearing a planet-wide extinction from a massive asteroid headed towards Earth, world leaders are faced with the inexorable task of ensuring human survival. Left with few alternatives, life-sustaining pods filled with select people are buried deep beneath the earth's surface. You are one of the chosen members of these modern day arks and abruptly enter the RAGE universe after surfacing alone. Leaving you to your own devices to stay alive in a world filled with those who prefer you dead, RAGE combines powerful storytelling with heart-pounding action.
Average Customer Rating:
5.706
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
8 out of 1747%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rage
Review 1 for Rage
Could Be Incredible
Posted on:5/27/11
Increvateur
I am definitely looking forward to this game. id Software always has the best looking and most technical game engines when they release their games. They look amazing and the gameplay and controls are always very tight and precise. The thing that has always been lacking with their games is a great storyline. The story always seems a bit mediocre to pretty good. Sometimes feels like it is something to showcase their engine and graphics that does a decent job of entertaining you but doesn't make you say, "Wow!" when you're done with it. I'm hoping with this latest game they can change that. If they can get a good story to go with this incredible game engine, it'll turn out to be one really fun game.
I will definitely be getting this game but if you are one who wants a really good story instead of something that's mediocre to pretty good, you might want to wait on this one and see how the reviews go on it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rage
When??
Posted on:5/11/11
Ercole
Location: Mount Pleasant, Pa
Not much of a preview, though I do plan on getting this game with out doubt... However, just a quick question/wonder??? Since when did PC games start costing the same as the console games? I mean has it NOT ALWAYS BEEN $59.95 for console, and $49.95 for PC? Also, when are game makers going to STOP feeling the need to shoe horn some BS muti player content into all NEW games?? It seems every game that comes along with a wonderful single player campaign that sells great, it seems the makers of said game feel the need to dumb the whole thing down just to add some dumb MP aspect. While I know this is not quite possible, I kind of with game makers would make 2 copies of their games. Both of which cost the same, $29.95 for a disk with all single player content. As well as a second disk for the same price. In this way those that love single player games can get just what they want, while those that just want MP can get what they want. And being that both are the same price, buying both will still cost the same as a new title, though this would give us the option to pick that which we enjoy most.
10 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rage
Worth getting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
zybeznich
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game at the beginning is kinda slow and boring maybe like the first hour is uninteresting. Then later on when you get to do more interesting mission and better guns, that is when the real fun starts. I love the grafix of head exploding on my screen and blood flying in every direction. It is also very challenging , well depends on your difficulty settings. I would not really call it an open world rpg like skyrim or fallout. They force you to do missions because then you may not get new weapons. My opinion, this game is definitely worth getting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rage
Will John Carmacke make or break it for ID?
Posted on:9/9/11
EliteEliminator
Location: New York
This is it.
This is it for ID. Theyre legends in FPS games having made games like Quake, Doom, Hexen, Wolfenstein and Heretic which were all legends in gaming. But after Quake 3 it seems ID went on a wrong track with bad games like Quake 4 and Quake Wars.
So now Carmacke - the mastermind of ID has decided to make a brand new series. What can I say? I am interested! BUT I have some preservations. Quake 4 was not very good and multiplayer wise ID has had their butt kicked by Call Of Duty so there no longer kings. BUT if Carmacke can make a comeback here I believe he can.
This game already looks good with tons of innovations. BUT it also looks a lot like Doom 3 which might mean it will have a lot of same gameplay which failed in Quake 4. If this has good multiplayer like Quake 3, Carmacke might be able to challenge for the throne again? If not, I think ID will go OUT OF business!
I would pre order it but after Qiuake 4 I am not so sure ID can do a good job so I will wait for the reviews to come in first before buying it, SORRY ID.
1 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jay29
 
Please wait while more information about Jay29 is loaded.
Additional information about Jay29 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/22/11
Raven Software was the lead developer for Quake IV not ID. ID only provided the Doom 3 engine.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rage
Stunning Visuals Can't Salvage This Entire Game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/11
Tadeoka
Rage is fun, for about the first 45 mins. The gameplay is rather simple and does little to stray from other fps games. The story is badly put together, even though it does seem to have a deep underlying plot. It doesn't flow from one part to next and does very little to draw you in. To be honest, it reminded me entirely too much of the plot in Fallout 3.
The weapons in this game need a damage tweak. It shouldn't take 25-30 assault rifle rounds to put down an unarmored target, and head shots on an unarmored target should be insta kills. I've actually had a target survive after I staggered him with an assault rifle burst, and then unloaded half a clip into his head while he was staggering past me.
There are a few things I do like about the game. It does have stunning visuals and very detailed character designs, backgrounds, and terrain. The sound only enhances the immersion and fits the scenery perfectly.
Overall this game is ok, but I would suggest renting it first before you throw $60 out the window. Generally, PC games are cheaper than their console versions, but for reasons unknown, this one was an exception. I'll know better next time ID makes a game, and opt to wait and see what the feedback is before overpaying for a PC game again.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rage
That's It!?!?!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/11
timmytimtimtim
Location: Memphis
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So I had maybe 5-6 hours of game play of a couple of days and I beat the game really not even trying to complete the game. the story line is just too short. I know that there is a lot of side quests, races, etc, but without any real incentive to complete them i kinda ignored most of them. The game was beautifully designed, but without enough content and well build story line it is just not enough to make it worth the money imho. Nice try Id, but your arrow was slightly off the mark on this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rage
adicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
amazing1pj
This game is trullly adicting, amazing in fact. when i got this game i was exsited like alot and i have a reason to be exsited. I got this game rage for pc and not xbox for the keep me busy thing when away. this game did keep me busy and it still is this is why i am going to have to get this for consell.
The start is kind of boring but after a few missions you get real stuff and exsiting missions so dont stop eaven if you can because this will drag you in. when you try to ignore a mission you cant the prise will drag you in. but some times its good to ignore, perfect time to go gamble some money, use money, upgrade every thing, race in intence time trials rocket races miny gun and non gun races, and talk to people, look for more job offers, and just go explore the wasteland.
The enimy's are pretty good fun to but some can be chalanging. a gun for every purpes, eaven if there is not a big selection you never get bord with the arsenall.
The deatale in the game is pritty good but the graphics lack it may just be my computer or the actull game, also the textures take a litle to load but no biggy. also the game crashes every so often and that is why it said to save often the wasteland is a dangeres place but no its there crashing that is dangeres so just pretend that the wasteland is dangeres and play along.
Now the muiltiplayer... dont pay it of what im awar of there is no actull raceing it is just drive around like a dip and shoot each other no point at all, just stick to campaighn. one thing that would be cool is to have a like survivall mode but they dont so dont get down on that because you have the amazing co op if wanted campaighn but at points will make you LAFFFfff when chilling whith crazy joe.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rage
Just OK so far....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/11
PsychoMantis99
Location: atlanta,ga.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ive played about 8 hours of the PC version and I find myself having mixed feelings about it. Its definitly fun with tight gameplay but so far its got that been there done that. Dont expect deep gameplay like Borderlands as this is more about pure action and doing missions. The vehicles handle well. My main gripe is on PC I was expecting more from the graphics. Its definitly pretty,but up close the textures look really bad,no matter what I do to AA or resolution,and I have a pretty decent rig. Make sure you get the latest drivers for your grahics card or you will have texture pop up and screen tearing! I still like the game though,and will continue playing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rage
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
booshnogh
Location: Narragansett, RI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rage re-defines post-apocalyptic games. The graphics in the game are one of the best I've seen in a while. The game play and sound are also phenomenal. The story line, however, wasn't particularly good. There wasn't really an ending to the whole game. You just keep getting moved from one setting to the other, no real plot in my opinion. Overall, it is well worth the $60.
 
My Product Recommendations
Fallout New Vegas
7.3 out of 10(51)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheOmegaMan
USA
 
Please wait while more information about TheOmegaMan is loaded.
Additional information about TheOmegaMan could not be loaded.
Good Game Fun
Posted 5/30/12
Game runs fine on my system.No crashes and the graphics are super.You need a good system to run it. You have to take side trips and different jobs in order to fully enjoy this game.The only downside was getting the dang download from Steam before you can play,that takes much too long.I received it as a gift and the price they paid was $29.95 at Gamestop.Well worth the money.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Rage
Ugh!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
PsychoMantis99
Location: atlanta,ga.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If this is next gen. graphics then I guess Im not ready for it. Ill admit Ive spent some money on my PC getting it ready for Batman,Battlefield 3,and Skyrim. Naturally I expect a graphical payoff. So why can I run the Witcher 2 and Crysis 2 on maxed out settings and when I put this in it has the worst (and I mean worst!) textures I have ever seen?!! Dont buy this until you hear about some really good patches because after Crysis 2 I just cant bear to look at this game anymore!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rage
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/11
Zacco
Location: Pittsburgh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is to linear. You really cant explore anything. There's no skill tree or character creation. It's just one set task after another on a set path. You have about only 6 weapons the whole game only with ammo mods. BORING! Spend your money on Elder Scrolls Skyrim or Stronghold 3.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
someonethatneedshelp
 
Please wait while more information about someonethatneedshelp is loaded.
Additional information about someonethatneedshelp could not be loaded.
help please
Posted 12/2/11
excuse me if this may be the wrong area but has anyone else bout the game by digital cause i did and i don't know where lto find the product code when steam wants is please help plz pz pz
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Rage
meh
Posted on:7/21/10
Prosthetics
Looks like a mix between Borderlands and Fallout 3. Same classy wasteland/apocalypse/mutant setting. That alone isn't too big of a deal, but when I saw the developer id Software that is another con as they have been going very downhill as of late. Waiting for reviews on this one.
6 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FrumUndaCheez
 
Please wait while more information about FrumUndaCheez is loaded.
Additional information about FrumUndaCheez could not be loaded.
Posted 4/30/11
Uhhhh, your comment almost made my head explode. Like the person said before me, iD Software hasn't come out with a title in a decade. This game is going to be epic, in all aspects
Customer Avatar
wolfplayer
 
Please wait while more information about wolfplayer is loaded.
Additional information about wolfplayer could not be loaded.
Posted 2/9/11
"That alone isn't too big of a deal, but when I saw the developer id Software that is another con as they have been going very downhill as of late."
Besides Doom 3, id hasn't developed a game in over a decade. They even admit the doom reboot wasn't very good.
Rage will be the first id game since they've gone back to in-house development, the first game to use idtech 5, and the first new IP since quake.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Rage
This is all I got for $60??
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
Featherstone
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved this game, the smooth game play and stunning graphics blew me away. But when I finished it a day later I screamed "Wheres my content?" I have not clue what the online player experience is, but this aside from the awesome graphics, you get NO DOLLAR VALUE for this game. If your rich and dont mind paying top dollar for 20 hours of single player game play I'll sell you my copy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rage
A pretty good game overall
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/13
FloydTheBarber
Location: Fairfield ID
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its a good game. not as great as they said, but put the hype aside, its a game you can play if you just want to relax, have some fps fun by yourself, or go online and have fun with your friends. It has a mix of fps, driver, questing, and lets face it, who doesn't want to throw wingsticks at the enemy and watch them be decapitated?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Rage
Thank God for Gamestop Return Policy!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
tjmontgomery
Location: decatur, al
Just bought this game to play for my HPG72 and was so excited cuz of the price, however when i got home and it wouldnt start after a 1 hour long install, I was so mad I carried my laptop to the store and tried to get the cashier to get the game to work for me! All I can say is thank god for their return policy and now let's hope far cry 2 works with this card they gave me my credit on, do not buy this GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
weegee
Anonymous
 
Please wait while more information about weegee is loaded.
Additional information about weegee could not be loaded.
Posted 8/6/12
It's now because of Gamestop it's because your PC specs are horrible. They did nothing to the game... -.-
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Rage
Rage
Posted on:10/3/11
Magnet
Eliteeliminator, reservations was the word you were looking for. Rage is an outstanding game.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Handmaiden
 
Please wait while more information about Handmaiden is loaded.
Additional information about Handmaiden could not be loaded.
Horrible
Posted 11/3/11
this game was a waste of my money, it felt liek it was cut in half i didnt even get to turn in two of my quests and upgrade my car all the way
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Rage
Doesn't run....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
stevedh
Location: anaheim, ca.
Strange I don't see anyone saying this game won't start on here but I seen dozens of such claims on their website. My problem is the pop up that claims the color setting is incorrect.
Thus the game won't even start or allow any adjustment.
You might be one of the "lucky" ones who might as well of thrown their money out a window with this one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Rage
dont listen to the others
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
Raithos
Location: houston tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
one look at a video of Rage will tell you it will not work on a LOW end pc. This game installed and worked perfectly on my pc. Its an awesome game that starts of a lil slow, but quickly picks up. And its gorgeous too look at. Well worth it if you were a fan of the earlier doom/quake games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rage
This game is not worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
notoonah
Location: Va
60% of pcs cant play it do to bugs, glitches, and it just not wanting to start up. I cant even start it up
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rage
Great Game for Pc
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
dbon
Location: Riverdale Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the game more laughs with talk in the game lot's of fun wish there was a Rage 2 to follow. I did not just play the game once i have played it over and over through all Difficulties.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>