GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ModNation Racers

A Creative Twist on Classic Kart Racing!Grab the keys to the latest "PLAY, CREATE, & SHARE" title available onthe PlayStation®3! ModNation Racers is a next generation kart racerthat empowers the player to personalize their entire game. Shoot, boost& drift your way to the finish line both offline and online, then create yourown racing experiences with the same tools used by the developmentteam. Express yourself by creating your own Mod character. Build yourown quirky kart or design an imaginative track with deep, yet easy to usecreative tools. Once you are finished, share it with the rest of the worldor access unlimited amounts of user generated ModNation content on thePlayStation Network. There is no end to the karting fun!It's Kart Racing for a New Generation!
Average Customer Rating:
8.375
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
6
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ModNation Racers
Review 1 for ModNation Racers
Not a great port to PSP
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
User001
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The game, Modnation Racers for a PSP was a rather bad port. The graphics are very watered down from the Ps3. The customization is very good though. The gameplay, not so much. Drifting is useless since if you even tap it, you would most likely crash into the wall. Overall, this game isn't worth it, but if you want a simplified version of the Ps3 version, go ahead and get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for ModNation Racers
modnation yeah yeah yeah yeah
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
dman3868
Location: florida,fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is way better than mario kart for many reasons 1.make your own character 2.make youe own kart 2. make your own tracks what more could you ask for
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ModNation Racers
A Pretty Good Racing Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
omega124
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ModNation Racers is the perfect game for racing fans. In ModNation Racers, you can create your own 'Mod' (character) Kart, and Track. You can race through over 25 tracks, play online with up to 6 people, customize your own driver and Kart, download Mods and Karts, and lots more. The graphics are meant to look kind of cartoony, so the graphics are pretty good. The sound is okay, with your Mod yelling as you do tricks in the air, the sound effects of the power ups you get. The gameplay is pretty similar to other racing games, such as Need for Speed and Midnight Club, so racing fans will enjoy this game. Overall, ModNation Racers is a perfect game for racing fans.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for ModNation Racers
Good for Racers and people with imagenations
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
Racerx129
Location: Houston,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Modnation is a great handheld game.although the stickers are blurry and the car go little slower than usual. The good thing is you can take Modnation racers on the go!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for ModNation Racers
ModNation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
SD3D11
Location: CA
I played this game once on the PS3 and realized I just had to get it. However I made the mistake of buying it for PSP expecting it to be like the PS3 version but it wasn't. Ignoring that, this is a really fun racing game with nice customization, powerups, and tracks. Plus you can create your own tracks and use tracks that other people made which is a lot of fun. I had a lot of fun with this game, until I beat it and it just wasn't very fun anymore. I wish the game had a little more lasting appeal but for a PSP game it lasted for a pretty good amount of time. Had I not played the PS3 game and seen how awesome that was I would have given this a 10, but a 9 is just fine. If you have a Ps3 then buy the Ps3 version over this version because this game is extremely awesome on the Ps3 and just awesome on the PSP. Overall this is a very good kart racing game and I would recommend it to most people, just not hardcore gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ModNation Racers
Really fun at first. But Creative Spark Fades...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
BigGuy555
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I've got ModNation Racers on my Birthday. And since I've got it, It has been a outstandly addicting and fun game. But 2 - 4 Months past, Its Creative Spark fades away. It gets boring, and colorless. I only recommend this Game to Kids and not Hardcore Gamers.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for ModNation Racers
Best Racing Game Ive Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
StarKilla
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ModNation Racers is incredible! The career mode is great and very lasting. The tracks are really good. My favorite part of this game is the ability to create your own Mod(driver), create your own kart, and even your own track. I'm an online player and this game is great for online. It has leader boards to see whose on top. You could play the pre-made tracks and the downloaded track or even your own tracks. This is the perfect racing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
SOCOM: Fireteam Bravo 3
8 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ModNation Racers
this game rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
uknown
Location: florida ,fl
this game is really fun u can customize anything accept the sky theres so much to choose to make your character an kart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ModNation Racers
Not really the best
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was ok. But not at all great. I think the racing was ok, but there were a couple of things I didn't like: The powerups were very stupid, as no car would have missles, and the controls weren't good in my opinion. The main problem for me was using the R Button to accelerate, although there were other annoying things that irritated me, like the drift control. The whole thing felt unfamiliar compared to other racing games. Maybe I'm just brain dead but I couldn't get the track builder to work. Other wise it was an ok game. The mod and kart builder were really fun, and there are all sorts of ways to customize your things! The sound and graphics were ok, and the little cartoons between career races were kind of funny. I don't think a hardcore gamer, and some casual gamers would like it,but it is perfect for kid gamers. Depending wether you are a kid, casual, or hardcore gamer, I think you would like one of these- 1st kids 3rd Hardcore!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ModNation Racers
mod nation is really good for the psp
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
zterps
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
mod nation has quickly became the sony version of mario kart, its basically a mix between mario kart and lego racers, this game allows you to create you're own kart and you're own character. I don't know if it was just me but the track creator wasnt that great i could only get it to be a short circle track and was able to drop some props onto it. this game does has a pretty nice story/career mode which kept me entertained for a while. this game is great to pick up and play for 15-30 mins while on the road. i would rate this game as controls: 7/10 story: 6/10 and the rest you can see above the review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ModNation Racers
modnation racers is a good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
pearldrummerboy
Location: st.louis mo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i like this game. i would recommend this game to only people who like mario kart. i like how you can make your own map its kinda cool.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ModNation Racers
A good game for the psp
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
ripperroo1992
Location: Pearland, TX
I thought it was an interesting game. It turned out to be better than I thought. Creating is my favorite part of the game. Its not as good as the ps3 version but it is good for on the go.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ModNation Racers
The Ultimate Racing Experience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/10
J Double-D Dawg
When I started playing this game I was simply amazed by the availability of its customization options. I was also astounded by the interface between players across online. The game features all of the options any artist ( or anybody ) could dream of. The game features 28 great already playable tracks and many that you can download from other people from online as well as the option to customize and create your own track. You can also customize and create your own mods ( drivers ) and karts. The game also features the availabilty to play against others online and between you and your friends by yourselves. This games also features much more than just racing and customization; while racing you have challanges you can complete to unlock more options for customization of mods and for karts. You also have grudge challenges, these are similar to boss battles in which you must beat an elite racer ( a racer that is better than the average opponent ) who if you beat, you get the pink slip to their mod and kart. You also have modjobs ( achievements similar to the ps3's trophies ) which also give you the chance to add to your collection of mod and kart comization items and give an extra flair to the game. Lastly, the game features a storyline that is outragously funny without using any profain language. I recomend this game to anyone who wants a good laugh and a good time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iceman14
Jacksonville FL
 
Please wait while more information about Iceman14 is loaded.
Additional information about Iceman14 could not be loaded.
Great Game
Posted 12/24/10
I thought this game was a very good game and the best part of it is creating the tracks and the karts but the one down size of the game is the drifting every time i try to drift i always find my self crashing into a wall. overall its a good game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for ModNation Racers
A fun kart title that will change racing games forever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/10
Game Pro100
This is a fun title that anyone can pick up and learn the ropes fast enough, but is not easy to beat. This is not a game that you beat in one sitting, no way. Even though the whole game is based around cartoon racing, this game would appeal to all ages and talent. This game gives you many medals and rewards to achieve, which give a challenge to players. This is a very good, but common type of racing game in JUST the racing aspect of the game, what ISNT common is that you and your friend can both have it but if someone played both of the games the only thing that would be the same is the music, interface and the title. This game is all but totally changeable and customizable. Now, the story line isn't much to talk about, but it is a fun addition to this already great game, judging that must racing type games don't even have a story line, this one is very good. This is just about it except, that this game is worth buying for sure.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for ModNation Racers
Racing On The Go!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/10
Jak793
Modnation Racers is Sony's new Play Create Share game that allows players to race in single player or with your friends , create mods, carts and tracks, and then share them with the Modnation community and it is loads of fun. Just think of the game play of Mario carts and the customization of Little Big Planet, to the extreme! One good thing about Modnation Racers is its single player. It's one of the first racing games with a story and its not bad. It's filled with lots of characters with funny expressions and smart and silly remarks. The story isn't exactly amazing, but its a nice touch and keeps the story from just being a list of races and objectives. The multilayer is also good, there is offline, where you and your friends can meet up and race, and there is also online where you can play with other people who are also online. Racing is a great aspect of the game. There are three racing modes to choose from(Action, Pure and Last Cart Standing), when your not playing single player, and the controls are plain and simple. The game play is good in my opinion, but to others its too complicated. One thing though is that you really have to get used to the drifting. It is a big part of the game, so to get the most out of the game play, you'll have to spend a little time on drifting. But really where Modnation Racers shine is its customization. You can customize your own mod(racer), cart and tracks, and there really is a lot of variety. For example, i was creating my first mod, and i haven't unlocked all the options yet, but i was looking and there where over 200 different eyes! There were hundreds of different noses, ears and mouths too! I couldn't believe it. There aren't as many options for the carts, though there are tons, but the track customization is fantastic also. There are so many things you can do, such as raising and descending the ground, adding hundreds of props and on-track obstacles, and so much more. Overall, if you have a psp, Modnation Racers is one of those must have games and satisfy almost any gamer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for ModNation Racers
Creative Yes; Racer No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/10
never_enough_time_on_my_hands
i bought this game earlier today, because the character and vehicle customization drew me in. ONE THING EVERY BODY SHOULD KNOW this game is no where near as good as the ps3 version, my ps3 owner friend bought the ps3 version while I, a ps3 and psp owner who is on a tight budget settled for this, we played them at the same time and while at the place in the career mode, he unlocked FAR more customization items than mine even had available. now obviously the psp version cant possibly compete with its console version, but the gameplay was different too, i far i could tell (i spent most of the time playing the psp version). I must give the developer credit for such a well customizable game, but the AI for the drivers is far too competitive, i felt like i was being teamed up on time and again. and the other drivers were REALLY skilled, more skilled than i am anyway, and they get smarter as each race goes by. please please don't do what i did. buy the ps3 version; definitely worth it. i am very disappointed that a handheld adaptation of a great ps3 game could suffer so much in gameplay and customization.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for ModNation Racers
if you like mario kart here u go
Posted on:5/23/10
LIJAR
this game is hot . because if you like mario kart you have got to get this because it is like but better but the only three differs are #1: you can create you own mod (the person in the car) #2: you can create ur own kart (suv, go karts, atvs , airplanes with wheels and etc.) #3:u can create ur own track. plus since nitendo only has mario kart exclusively, play station should have mod nation racers exclusively!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ModNation Racers
The Perfect Race
Posted on:5/19/10
Pikijuiyii
If you like to race, create, share and use your brain to the max, then this is your game. i play the psp demo version and now i can't wait to have it in my hands. The graphics look perfect for a psp, the sound goes exellent with this type of fun game, the playability is better then mario kart. Now the best part creating your own character, kart and track it was very easy and it have a ton of easy tools to create with. This game is the biggest hit since little big planet. Score 9.5 out of 10
Review 19 for ModNation Racers
don't get it
Posted on:5/12/10
PLAYER DEADER
i play the demo on the psp but it don;t look good on it so i will just get it for ps3 cause ps3 has better picture and thing
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ModNation Racers
can't wait for this radical game
Posted on:5/11/10
loveless_117
when i downloaded the trailers and behind the scenes on modnation racers on the playstation network, i was instantly excited for this game. the preview stated that it had the "play. create. share." as they did in LittleBIGPlanet. But this is a type of game with the fun MarioKart-esque qualitites. i'm glad that sony is making a racing game like modnation racers.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
higa
del rio tx
 
Please wait while more information about higa is loaded.
Additional information about higa could not be loaded.
awsome game
Posted 12/27/10
this game is awsome on ps3 and psp i love creating new mods like reaper this game should be named best cartoon game ever in hall of v games v stands for video peace out
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>