GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar

Go wireless and extend your play range with the Wireless Wii Ultra Sensor Bar! The sleek, minimalistic design looks great in any room and eliminates the need to find an extra wall outlet. The sensor bar features adjustable settings for room size, providing superior performance in larger rooms where players are farther away. A convenient automatic shut-off mechanism conserves battery life and a handy indicator light alerts you to low battery status. As an Officially Licensed Nintendo accessory, this Sensor Bar will not void your game system warranty! Lose the wires and experience a whole new range of gaming fun with this 100% Authentic POWER A Wireless Wii Ultra Sensor Bar, Officially Licensed by Nintendo.
Average Customer Rating:
4.95
4.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
9 out of 2045%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Review 1 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Great on USB power
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/14
Rashira
Location: Michigan
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this a few years ago and I HATED it. Needed a replacement when my cat chewed up my original one. There were no wired ones in stock in the area so I settled for this. Battery life was horrible and I found myself wasting AA batteries in multiples of four in roughly 3 hours of play. Ended up getting another wired one off a friend who's wii broke. Put this one in a box during a move and forgot it. Just found it today, and I'm sick of using the wired one with the needlessly long wire while my Wii, and Wii U are right next to my TV. Being an amateur Electronics hobbyist, I opened it up, stripped the red and black wires that were connected to the battery terminals. I then did the same with a spare USB cable I had, twisted the red and black wires together, and held the connection together with some hot glue, and put some electrical tape around it. Did a little modification to the casing so that the USB cable comes out of where the batteries used to go, and bingo. I can now plug this into a USB port on my TV and it works like a charm, with less wire clutter. Highly recommended if you don't mind doing a little surgery on it....or if you don't mind wasting batteries left and right.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Great desing but battery life sucks!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/10
Lightjack90
This is a very good design for a sensor bar. It has the capability of picking up the signal from a long ranged distance. It has a timer so that you can choose for how long the sensor bar should stay on, you have the choice of allowing it to stay on for 1 or 2 hours. Appart from this feature it also allow for you to widen the range, so you can make it like a standard sensor bar or make it reach a wider area. The only problems would have to be the battery clip for the sensor bar and its battery life. The battery life on this sensor is not at all extensive, sometimes i dont use my wii for about 2 weeks and it normally runs out after like 3 times i play for about 2hrs, I recommend to have rechargeable batteries to use this product. The clip is also hard to take out easily making it bound to breaking. Overall the function of this sensor bar is of very good quality but, its power consumption is too much.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
Overall this is pretty good. The long range feature is nice, especially if you have a big TV and don't want your eyes to explode because you were too close. Even in close range it works better than the standard bar, which is why I bought it in the first place. It does go through batteries quick (for me either 4 or 8 a week depending on how much I played) so get a pack of rechargeables (might as well get some for your remotes too if you don't have a charge station of any sort.) One thing tho, don't use it for everything. If you only use it for games where you need precision, you will run through alot less batteries than if you use it for Netflix and Check Mii Out Channel. That kind of stuff really only needs the standard bar. The battery clip requires a little effort to open but it isn't "EXTREMELY HARD" as I keep seeing, and I've never , met anyone who's clip has broke. Overall a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
:o(
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
Strwbrychzck
Location: Jackson, NJ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I really want to rate this 10 stars but I just can't. I purchased this product in May to replace my original one I purchased in March that was knocked off my tv and stepped on :o( As far as usage and performance goes, it's awesome. You can set it for 1 or 2 hour usage which for me is perfect b/c it keeps me from having to be on my wii for so long. I use rechargeable batteries which isn't a problem for me w/ battery usage b/c I always charge my batteries after every use. My problem with this product began yesterday when I went to put in batteries to use it and play Michael Jackson The Experience. It would not turn on. I also put in brand new Energizer batteries from a pack that was unopened and still no power. I refuse to believe after 4 months of owning this product it has simply "burned out" but apparently that's what has seemed to happen. I am as of now awaiting an email from Power A which is the manufacturer of the product for a solution b/c it's past Game Stops 30 day period to take it back or exchange it. Like I said earlier, if you're looking for extra range for any type of games like Just Dance or Michael Jackson, it's perfect but if Power A tells me this is a common problem, I advise you not to waste your $20 :o(
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Battery Clip breaks and battery life bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
Lvgrandpa
A great idea, the wireless sensor is smart looking and sleek and looks better than the wired sensor and with no wires to worry about who could ask for anything more right? Wrong, I also have experienced the dreaded battery clip breakage while trying to change batteries again. The back panel to access the batteries is extremely difficult to remove it feels like you are going to break it while trying to remove it, it almost needs to be pried off. While the wide range setting and the 1 and 2 hour settings are great features, the fact that it burns thru batteries so quickly that one would think that this product was produced with everyready and duracell rubbing their hands together drooling over the amount of batteries they would be able to sell. When this bit of information was menitioned at one of your stores, the response from the gamer behind the counter was "yeah we know it goes thru batteries rather fast so you mightr want to invest in re-chargeable batteries, but we don't sell them here". Great idea but bad product, would not recommend this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jaswaterman
 
Please wait while more information about jaswaterman is loaded.
Additional information about jaswaterman could not be loaded.
Great buy, buy rechargable batteries.
Posted 11/24/10
The only issue with this is the battery life. If you purchase rechargable batteries then you will be satisfied.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Great...once hacked - AC - Battery Mod
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
jkovATX
Location: Austin,TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I didn't think much of this bar at first, due to 4 brand new batteries being drained in 1 week. HOWEVER...........open this bad boy up and you see a red and black wire attach to the battery dock. Find an old cell phone charger and take USB end off and you have your positive and negitive wires. Splice those to your red and black wires on the Wii sensor bar for instant AC plug modification. This is WELL worth the price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Very Nice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/09
Wease
The cable from the sensor bar that came packaged with the wii snapped in half, so I replaced it with the ultra wireless one. Its about twice as long and can adjust its peripheral from standard to wide range. And since it is wireless, I do not have to worry about the cable breaking. The bad part is that is requires 4-AA batteries. But there is a red dot that blinks when the battery is low. Also the sensor bar automatically shuts off when it is idle. The design is very smooth and curved. It conveniently slides under my HDTv and is very dependable. On the other hand, batteries should have come included with the package. Overall, it is a great product. The wireless feature eliminates the tangle of wires and allows you to reposition the sensor anywhere on your television.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Great but can drain battery.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
Mrbear322
Location: California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This Wireless Sensor Bar is great for the big rooms but can drain battery but since it drains it in about 14 hours of use for me any way i bought some rechargable batterys made by duracell it can last about 48 hours. but those type of batterys i use will run about $21 for batterys with a charger and $14 for a pack of 4 extras thease batterys realy pay its self off for the wii and can be used over and over again.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Battery Clips broke first use
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/09
scdanner
BDA Wireless Ultra Sensor Bar Review - This was a Christmas present for the kids, along with their Wii. When I went to install the batteries for our first use, one of the clip/springs was broken and thus made the bar totally useless. I have since reviewed this item on multiple sites and found others with the same issue. We will be returning this product and will be seeking a different brand as a replacement. The wireless made me nervous also, I saw some reviews where the complaints were on how much it ate up the batteries, but I couldn't get the first use out of it and cannot comment directly to it, but be cautious in your thinking if you are looking to purchase this product. It does have a nice sleek design and would have worked great with our larger TV in the family room.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
It's better than the Wii's own sensor bar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/10
mohr365
Location: Merrick, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product really works. It enhances the sensor range for the Wii. Before, with the original sensor bar, from where I sit to play games, the curser on the screen would jump sometimes. You could tell it was almost too far out of range. When I bought this Ultra sensor bar and put it to work, it's as if the remote is right next to the TV. It was smooth, clean, and VERY simple to navigate now. This is a must buy for anyone... even if you are buying the Wii for the first time, buy this bar as well. Definately worth the $20.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
No wire included
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/13
wiidad
Location: DE
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
purchased for $20 or so at GS. Brought home and VERY disappointed to see that despite being described as wireless OR wired, it didn't come with the wire. Wireless option not important and i wasn't looking forward to buying batteries. do it anyway, first set o' batteries lasts 20 minutes. figured they were bad batteries, buy brand new ones, this time sensor bar shutting off after 30 seconds. I suspect something wrong with device as no reviews anywhere report this problem. so i went to radio shack, bought an enercell AC to DC adapter with an "H" adapter plug and it works fine. that was another 20 bucks. I'da been better off just finding a used wii sensor bar on ebay for 4 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 12 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Sucks battery life!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
cboy619
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this to replace the severed chord of the original, this will suck the batteries dry in no time. When the batteries are new it works great, batteries are also hard to get out, the best way we get them out is to knock it on the side of the couch, they all fall out eay.
If you can find a chorded one, you should get that instead.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
The sensor bar goes "Ultra!"
Posted on:9/16/09
Unplugged
After my first wired sensor bar had broken from a worn out wire, I turned to the wireless sensor bar that was available at the time. It was blocky, hard to work with, and the off button you had to hold down for several seconds for it to shut off. Now with the "Wi ultra sensor bar" coming in soon, I will be able to replace the piece rust called a sensor bar and go back to productive gaming. From what I have seen the design looks slim, nice and comfortable. The color is good, and I like the idea of a warning light of low battery, instead of a high pitch squeal. I can't wait to pick it up and stop the hassle.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Battery Drainer!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
Dkcharizard65
Location: New Mexico
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It works good for a while then you get tired of buying batteries for it if you leave it on for 3 to 6 hours it dies. And you have to change the batteries out right away after there they stop working so they do start to corrod inside the sensor bar. And after a while the metal starts to weaken on the inside where it holds the batteries in place and the metal eventally breaks or snaps off or deosn't bend out like it is supposed to do and the battery falls. You are better off buying the original sensor the wii came with it's not perfect with sensing but it will help you not to spend money on batteries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Don't waste your money on this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
omnisystemplyer
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After reading the reviews, I was prepared to go through a lot of batteries. I had broke my wired sensor bar in a move and was thrilled to find a used one for cheap. It worked for 5 minutes. Now, my remotes constantly need to be reconnected every 30 seconds. I am NOT happy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
You Will spend a small fortune in batteries
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/12
RahRah125
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the sensor works great. it looks great as well. but it drains batteries like crazy and even with fresh batteries in it, it doesn't last very long. do not buy this product!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Went back to wired
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/13
MarioMama
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The low battery indicator on our Ultra Sensor Bar has blinked during operation since day one. We've used brand new batteries and fully charged batteries, but we can't get more than 20 minutes of play before it stops working. We're trying to get a refund, but we had our system installed by a "professional," and he is giving us the runaround. We've gone back to using the wired sensor that came with our Wii.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
One of the best console accessories for its price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
JSVertucci93
Location: Richland, MS
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In my opinion this is one of, if not the best console accessory. Of course this item is going to drain your battery, it is 10 led lights powered by just a few batteries. If the battery drain is too much of a problem, buy rechargeable batteries. This item combined with rechargeable batteries makes it the best Sensor Bar available for its price. $15-$20 for the Sensor bar and $10 for the rechargeable batteries that you only have to buy once is a great deal.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Death to all batteries
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
scurtu219
Location: crown point, in
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This will completely drain 4 never used before batteries in 6-10 hours. I say that is not worth the wireless convenience.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wii Ultra Wireless Sensor Bar
Worked Great... for a while
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/11
MMAJim
Location: Prescott, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I couldn't have used it for more than 2 hours before it completely broke on me. Beyond worthless now, i can't even return it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>