GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tropico 3

The time is yesterday and the Cold War is in full swing. Through means devious and dubious you have seized power in the Caribbean island country of Tropico, where you now rule as the all-powerful "El Presidente".You decide whether you want to use your army to secure your power base in the best traditions of corrupt, unscrupulous tyrants everywhere or lead your people to prosperity in your role as generous elder statesman.No matter whether you turn Tropico into a vacation paradise, a police state or a modern industrial nation - you will always have to defend your actions before your people! Wander through Tropico as El Presidente in order to intimidate political opponents, hold populist speeches or just to enjoy your country's own Caribbean flair.Don't forget to keep a sharp eye on the dangers and side-effects of your absolute power! Danger lurks on every corner, be it militant revolutionaries bent on installing a communist junta, or the machinations of the superpowers USA and the Soviet Union, both of whom would like to see a more amenable ruler in strategically important Tropico!History takes its course with events such as the Cuba crisis, papal visits and other actual decisive historical events.The only question is whether or not you can play a role in that history!
Average Customer Rating:
9.25
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tropico 3
Review 1 for Tropico 3
just plain fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/09
atlanticgamer
If you like city-builders and strategy games you'll love this game. There's plenty of depth but it's easy to get started - just building your little tropico island is fun but also there is a lot to think about in regards to taking care of the needs of your peeps...that is if you decide you care. Or if you just want to be a ruthless dictator that can be fun, too. You can't help but laugh at some of the nuances in the game. There is an almanac in the game which tells you which factions may or may not like you. Knowing which group like you or does not is very important in the game so be sure to use this handy tool. Also the game autopatches itself which is very, very helpful. I did play around with the original a while back and this definitely has more to offer and is well worth a try.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tropico 3
SimCity on a Island: fun, but not much personality
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
DeadlyPrivate
Location: Colorado, Denver
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought two games on Steam: One is Tropico 3, and the other is the original SimCity 4. I played each together, and you will be suprised to say that I enjoyed playing Tropico 3 more overall. SimCity is fun in a complicated way...like how real Mayors would do it, and I respect it for that. But Tropico 3 offers a very simple City builder. In the game, you play as a dictator of various islands in many scenarios, many of them are amusing and fun to play through in various ways. The best thing about Tropico, however, is that you can play with two mindframes: Should you help the people first, but let your debt build, Or should you focus on the money first and the peoples needs second? It's a interesting idea, but there is a problem...I really do not feel like a dictator. the game really does not have much of a personality that makes me feel connected to each island...In SimCity, you feel like every city is different and that if you remove power to the city, all the advisors would be panicking and such. In Tropico 3, removing the only farm on the island just makes your Money go down...there is no rioting or speeches, or anything really significant. Also, the actual fun of building a large city and seeing how you got from a small little town to a huge capital is wasted, as most of the cities you will build are about the size of a large village. But overall, the game is fun, but really does not provide much to love like SimCity and it's ability to make a robot destroy your city...*runs off to play SimCity*
 
My Product Recommendations
SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
9.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
Sim City Societies
4 out of 10(18)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tropico 3
Worthy Successor
Posted on:9/18/09
Anonymous
Based upon the demo, the game sticks to the formula and feel of the original. It doesn't have many major changes other than vehicles and the 3d graphics, but the many small changes add up to a well executed and good looking game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tropico 3
Played the Demo! Will be picking this up!
Posted on:9/13/09
RobTheGamer
I must say after playing the demo I was very pleasantly surprised. The graphics are excellent and the game play builds on everything that made Tropico an awesome game. Can't wait for this to officially release.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tropico 3
A beautiful, witty, and engaging city builder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/09
Trueno07
Tropico 3 is a breath of fresh air for lovers of city builder/tycoon games. Tropico 3 has a kind of atmosphere not found in most games, the lively latin music, the beautiful environments, and the engaging game play all add up to one of a better games of it's kind to come out recently. First the Gameplay: Game play is clean, fun, but not so easy to learn. Admittedly, Tropico has a bit of a learning curve. If you're new to city builders, there is a chance to learn to play but the game's tutorial is a bit useless. If you're a vet to games like Simcity, Dawn of Discovery (Anno 1404), and maybe the Roller Coaster Tycoon games, you should have no problem picking up Topico 3. On the bright side, if you learn to play the game, you'll find one (i've said it before) engaging city builder that will keep you entertained for quite awhile. Even better, it's not terribly expensive. There are several things to balance, and the game does a great job of micromanaging itself, while still giving you plenty of things to play around with. The Graphics: Tropico 3's environments are what make the game so beautiful. Sure, the buildings look great and are designed with all the spirit of the Bahamas, but the trees, the mountains, everything just looks great.. The menus are very well designed, and look great, and even though some get clumsy, it's not too bad at all. The Sound: Tropico does a great job of setting the mood. It's soundtrack may get some some peoples nerves, but personally i loved it. The voices range from "ehh" to "well done". For example, the presidente's voice is so-so but the radio DJ "Juanito" is just as loud, pushy, and witty as you would expect. The ambient sounds are also well done, as well as the menu sounds and things of that nature. When push comes to shove, i wouldn't recommend tropico to just anyone. But, if you enjoy a good City builder or strategy game, i have no doubt that Tropico will keep you entertained for many many hours.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tropico 3
EL PRESIDENTE you are back!
Posted on:10/7/09
Ronen
Recently hearing about of the new development of this PC classic gave me a flashback into the past. The old DX 7 & 8 games are classics that emphaizes the in game content and playability before graphic eye candy. But, even at the time, this was one of the more graphical enhanced DX games created. Especially for a construction stratgey game with a political twist. Not to mention, entertaining and challanging just playing in sandbox mode. So when I had the opportunity to play the NEW Tropico(3), I was impressed. Not only did the game preserve much of the fundemental elements(military/rebel coup's, bribes, assasinations, riot/crowd control, political idict's with the US and/or Russia) of the original classic and up-to-date graphics. It added more content(roads, cars, buildings, political indicts, El Presidente himself, election speeches, and more!) including challanges(scenario's with missions and objectives) and a "El Presidente" campaign mode. The game not only offers new options and content, but a new, more enhanced, and flexible in-game world. The gaming engine and format is very identical to many of the Kalypso strategy games of recent. But, with the elements and content of a original classic that will grap your attention for many many hours! All said and done, easily a 8.5+/10 rating. Welcome back, El Presidente!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tropico 3
fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
Robogame
Location: Virginia beach VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is better than sim city and zoo tycoon together its just like real life events of dictator ship but it is a fun game and its funny when you set up a rule where someone who liters gets shot on site and after all its TROPICO its a paradise game try to be re-elected as el presidente many times and its set the cold war and i guess your either on the american side or the Russian side doesn't really matter its fun especially tropico 4 many people do not know what tropico 1 and 2 were like but who cares this is tropico 3 and 4 for the pc Xbox 360 and i think PS3 so who ever reads this try it out .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tropico 3
Played the DEMO!
Posted on:9/21/09
Camthylion
Game was really solid, I was really surprised! It takes a lot to get me to sit down & play this style of game because I feel so burned out on them but this game was really fun & it has great graphics and smart AI with easy to use controls. I can honestly say I felt like I was really a leader of a small 3rd world faction or Country. I plan on buying this game when it comes out it will be well worth the money.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.