GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 120GB System

The PS3 system is now slimmer and lighter than ever before. While the form factor may have changed, thePS3 system still comes with free access to the PlayStation®Network, built-in Wi-Fi, and hard disk drivestorage for games, music, videos, and photos. Plus, the PS3 system is the only gaming console with a Blu-rayplayer to give you the best high-definition viewing experience on your television. With five times the capacity ofstandard DVDs, Blu-ray discs gives you more realistic and immersive gameplay that can only be possible on thePS3 system with games such as Gran Turismo® 5, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and MAG.
Average Customer Rating:
9.05
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (197 reviews)
10 stars
112
9 stars
24
8 stars
7
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
146 out of 16091%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
PS3 is the system to go for
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
Jsanoxd
Location: Galactic Space Arcade
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Remember the whole console war about the 360 and PS3? Now it's the Xbox One and PS4. But this is the console that started it all, the one that brought PlayStation into a whole new way. It works perfectly, and it's quality is amazing. I don't know what material the controller or console is made out of, but it feels soft and comfortable. There are so many great exclusives such as Gran Turismo, Killzone, and even more. This console is a very good console, and I totally recommend a purchase.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Best Console Of This Generation!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/13
BF3Nation
Location: Mt. Olympus
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Fanboy rants aside, let me point out that I was always on Xbox up until September of 2011... I owned the original Xbox & a 360 Elite which I still have! I made the switch mainly for BF3 & for friends that had PS3 & once I got on, I never looked back! It can do EVERYTHING the Xbox 360 can do, minus one thing. Party Chat, for me however, that isn't that big a deal. A lot of the features Xbox has NOW, the PS3 has had for years! Playing online multiplayer is 100% FREE unlike on Xbox. The PS3 is the #1 used device to stream Netflix. Nextflix said that, not me... TONS of AWESOME exclusives. Subscription service called PlayStation Plus gives you 18 FREE games every month & we're talking GOOD games... AAA Games! Exclusive Beta access, major discounts on games, game trials & more. Cool thing is, it's completely optional & not having doesn't effect your gaming ability in any way! PlayStation Home is like a Sims MMO where you can get online with people from all around the world, chat, meet new people, create a party & launch games with those parties, buy a house & furnish it, buy new clothes & gear for you Avatar, play games, watch movies. Pretty much real life, but a video game. Great for teens! The PlayStation 3 is the clear cut winner for this generation of consoles in my book & if you're looking to buy one, I hope my little review here, helps shed some light on why it's such an awesome choice!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
get the wii instead.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
rockstar123
Location: fairfax VA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the ps3 is awful. and so are the games. there are NO MARIO GAMES AND ONLY 3 SONIC GAMES, SONIC THE HEDGEHOG 2006, A.K.A "ONE OF THE WORST SONIC GAMES EVER" IS ONE OF THEM. so if you do not buy that one then you will only have sonic unleashed, and sonic generations. the wii has mario games, sonic games, you can make miis and store them in the mii plaza and use these miis in games, you can look at the weather around the world. can the ps3 do any of those things? NO. but the wii can do all of those things. and all of the games are boring for kids (6-20). just get the wii it's games are better, it can do all of the things that I mentioned before and it has MARIO AND SONIC GAMES.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
this did good for me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
jjhs2012
Location: johnsburg Il
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it was great, it performed well plus it never over heats. I think anyone who buys this will be satified.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Good But Not At All The Best
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
Mwah
Location: Illinois
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At first the playstation was ok. Then playstion was hacked and was offline for a bit. Never dropped the controller yet the back right bumper somehow popped off :( Online play is sort of laggy which is to be expected as its free. Updates take about a lifetime and happen frequently. I hate that! If your looking for something that just works for the most part playstation 3 will do. About a month ago I switched to Xbox 360. OMG friggin amazing! Private chats and partys. Lol and no my controller hasnt broke. Only dropped it once. Very seldom does it have lag. If it does its cuz of another players bad internet conection. You have to pay for Xbox Live but its totally worth it. So much more content and applications. Graphics are in hd if the game itself supports it which most do not. I am quite happy with this one. Ive always hated Xbox but now it seems playstation needs to step up its game. Never switching back tho. Oh and another thing. I have to say that if your really into gaming then this beauty is for you......and me lol
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
great system, aside from no ps2 backward compatabi
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/12
hovde
Location: Concordia, MO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
i bought this system brand new back when they first came out with slims, at the time i didnt know they couldnt play ps2 games, spent hours playing games and downloading things, paying ps1 games, listening to music, watching movies, etc. it has never given me any trouble, never had ylod or anything, but extremely bummed my 300 bucks (thats what it costed for a 120 gb console at the time) didnt allow me to play ps2 games too, but not too long ago they started making ps2 collections on discs and putting ps2 games for download on psn so in a way, now you can play SOME ps2 games, a very slim selection, if you got the right copy of twisted metal, you can download twisted metal black, and psn has games like the god of war, devil may cry, and jak and daxter series available for hd download, while they have games like bloodrayne, maximo ghosts to glory and some others for download as original ps2 games. maybe eventually theyll upload all ps2 games for availability.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Hard drive breaks easily
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
yomac55
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I barely had this system for 2 years (not even) and without warning my hard drive breaks and all my memory is lost! My ps3 wasn't even acting slow or unusal but suddenly my game froze for awhile so i was forced to turn it off. Now I can't even turn it on because when i do the system says we can will fix evrthing once its finished loading. But when it finishs the system just keeps reloading the same thing! Now I'll probably get less money to turn it in!!!! >:( I took good care of my system too but Sony obvisously didn't make good system!!! DON'T BUY IT WITHOUT A LONG WARRANTY!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Wouldn't be a gamer without it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
hockeyfanatic98
Location: Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Look let me get straight to the point about this console, its great. No,wait not great what's the word EPIC!!!! Yes, EPIC. Look the Playstation 3 has the best 1st party games in the industry. What can compare to the likes of Uncharted or inFAMOUS. Nothing,yes nothing. Also this systems graphics are unmatched. Now, I'm not saying that the other consoles graphics suck I'm merely saying that they're a bit better. Another thing that this baby has to offer is its Blu-Ray player. The best part about this is that a Blu-Ray disk (PS3) can hold more memory than an HD DVD (Xbox 360). That is why this is such a EPIC system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Great system but what is up ?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
mickey9568
Location: vancouver wa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well i have been playing xbox since i was kid. and between if i had to pick i like the xbox better. but i aslo love my ps3. alot of fun works great good games. free internet. really not many complaints. but there is one i will share. what makes me mad is we put so much money into these. and then the make it so it can't run ps2 games. its stupid not fare. and we all know why the did it so the can get more money. but if you look at it the have plenty of money more then enough. a day needs come when we matter. not just money. we make it so the can do this stuff and the take away something that could be amazing. same with xbox the take xbox games away. then the want you to buy there new system. all i am saying is i just wish the could for once just. keep it were it is at ! i am not turning any of them down. i have been playing games since i was child love them and will continue to play them. and hope that i will be able to afford what the bring next
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
BEST SYSTEM FOR YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
theegyptiangamer
Location: parlin , newjersey
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have owned this system for over a year now and im very pleased with my hdmi and battlefield 3 and crysis 2 and my other good games the graphics blew me away. Plus its even cheaper than the 250gb xbox 360 slim I would definetely reccomend this product for any hardcore gamers and plus its free with a built in blueray player and free online play i can gurantee you'll not be dissapointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
worth the money buy it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
TripleXXXGamerboy387
Location: Indiana, IN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
really, who wouldnt ask for more in a gaming console?: plays blu-ray movies netflix play demo games and so much more! trust me when i say that this system suits any type of gamer out there..... buy it! worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
overall what i expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
vanillamilkshake1
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when i bought this system it was a little rusty playing the first time it was little slow but i would expect it, the graphics are amazing you can play online for free and the blu-ray built in is amazing, so is the functionality, not the best but good, the system freezes on occasions, maybe once a month if that. when i bought this system it was the releasing year it came out so it was 300 for 120 gb now, as you can see it has dropped, but overall right now i think for 250 dollars this system is a great deal, i definetly recommend this console for anything from hard gamers to family netflix and blu-ray watchers it is great and i definetly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Worth the money, by far.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
MrWoogles17
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Great console for the buy, excellent graphics and overall design. It has a great selection of games to choose form for any time of gamer. The only downside is that it doesn't have backwards compatibility with Ps2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
The Best system ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
Flyersfan1215
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
PS3 is the best 3rd generation system ever. This would top wii and xbox 360 the graphics are great and it's free for psn.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Speedyspeedboy
 
Please wait while more information about Speedyspeedboy is loaded.
Additional information about Speedyspeedboy could not be loaded.
Get your info right
Posted 12/25/11
3rd generation system? We're in the 7th sonyfangirl. Don't try and bash the other two consoles when the ps3 is in last place in the console war. I own all three and this the "best system ever" is the most expensive doorstop that I currently own.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
AAAAWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
hoopsstar
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The ps3 is amazing. The graphics are amazing. If you are considering an xbox 360 or a ps3 wait to see what your friends are gong to buy b4 you buy one. i had my ps3 for almost two years and it works great. the only thing that is bad about the ps3 is that the updates take a while and it makes some noise when you first turn it on for about 20 seconds but then it is quiet again. the controllers have great quality. ive dropped my controller many many times and it still works great. the online is free which is a huge plus. i have never cleaned my ps3 and it runs like its brand new. The games are amazing and addicting. There is no reason why you shouldnt gt it. GREAT SYSTEM!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Garbage get Xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
Mike6589999
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its garbage it cant play ps2 games bluray and hard drive suck xbox 360 is better by far......
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 63 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Not A Fanboy, But PS3 is Perferred.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
ForTheWIn
Location: San Diego, California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have The Xbox Elite and I'm getting this for Christmas with the money I get. The look is really smooth, I can't tell if I like the Glossy finish more, or this other feel. I feel like PS3 has a better selection of games, more exclusives and other additions. I have to admit, The Microsoft Kinect is far better than the Playstation Move, in my opinion, but online is free. All the chats and other quirks on Xbox Live that you don't get on the PS3, I don't care about ,frankly. I have been playing Xbox since I was a little kid, I'm 13, and the original Xbox was the greatest. I loved Halo, Return to castle Wolfenstein, and Half-life 2. I played those all the time. But now, Halo is great, I still play it, I don't like Gears of War, (3rd Person Sucks) and now for the Pros and Cons.
Pros: Blue Ray Player, Wireless Connection Built In, Better Exclusives like Killzone, God of War, Resistance, Little Big Planet Uncharted and Infamous. Free Online and Internet Wireless Connection.
Cons: I have to say, from what I've seen, the Xbox has slight better graphics. The Red Screen of Death (My first PS3 broke to that.) Not backwards compatible with PS2 games. That's about it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
death1701
port huron mich
 
Please wait while more information about death1701 is loaded.
Additional information about death1701 could not be loaded.
new????
Posted 4/5/12
the 120 has been discontinued. no longer offered anywhere else. not new! this has been collecting dust for a year or two.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
The best system ive ever bought
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
50UNDW4V3
Location: brooklyn,ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I recived this system during late 2009 and no matter what happened to it, it would NOT break. The upcoming games are phenomonal. Its just a very good system overall. Im not saying choose it over any other system but if you want a console that wont break down, good exclusive games, software and online play, GO WITH THE PLAYSTATION 3!!!
Also it is Very universal with todays technology. For example if you just bought a ps3 and you have online but no headset, you can sync any bluetooth with your ps3 system to use as your headset online.
I still play this game today. Games for the whole family. Blu-ray player you Cant go wrong
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
cant be beat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
HonestPs3Gamer
Location: louisa,ky
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
plug this thing up to the internet and you will have a powerhouse at your finger tips. its free to play online and it plays blue-ray movies. it only does everything. i dont really have anything bad to say about this thing exept for the withdrawls you will have when your not around it but the symptoms will disapear when the ps vita comes out because you will have a portable ps3 in the palms of your hands. but i got to go, im having ps3 withdrawls.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 120GB System
Seen better ps3 versions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
ggggggggg
Location: Illonois
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had this for over a year now and the hard drive corrupts easily and the blu ray drive failed on September 9, 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>