GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guild Wars 2

A full 250 years after the original Guild Wars, massive upheavals, cataclysms, and globe-spanning events have changed the world of Tyria. Human civilization is in decline. Other races are rising up, taking control over large portions of the world; the balance of power has shifted. The dragons have awoken.
Average Customer Rating:
8.705
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (217 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
38 out of 4486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guild Wars 2
Review 1 for Guild Wars 2
Rising MMO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/14
Iconix
Location: Lake Arrowhead, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
With no subscription fee, FREE DLC every two weeks, and a vast world to explore and conquer, you can't find a better MMO. I have played WoW (World of Warcraft) since the Burning Crusade and i can tell you WoW is excellent, but is getting out of date. Guild Wars 2 brings you a personal story in which your experience revolves around and adapts to. It brings active combat in which you can dodge out of the way of players attacks. The graphics are gorgeous, but if you do not have a good-high end computer, it may struggle. All in all it is a great game that I would recommend to anyone looking to get into MMOs, or experienced players. This game is the future of MMOs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Guild Wars 2
MMO review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/14
Swedish
Location: SWE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Guild wars 2 is a new step and a beacon for all mmo players who are tired of monthly fee, the xp system is flawless and fun game. Buy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Guild Wars 2
A New Standard For MMOs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Guild Wars 2 is a vast improvement over the first game in many aspects. For a free-to-play MMO (that means absolutely no subscription fee, just buy the game and you're set) it's about as good as it gets. For starters, there are 5 races to choose from now: Human, Charr, Asura, Sylvari, and Norn. Each can be customized in detail and have their own race-specific skills in addition to the ones determined by your chosen weapon / profession.
There are 8 professions: Warrior, Guardian (the replacement for the Paragon and Monk classes, essentially), Ranger, Thief, Engineer (a new profession that focuses on explosives, firearms, ect.), Elementalist, Mesmer, and Necromancer. The profession you choose will determine the bulk of your available skills, but now each weapon type has it's own 1-5 skill set--which are easy to unlock and switch between--and every weapon functions differently depending on your profession. Skills number 6-0 are able to be changed out freely and are unlocked by "skill points" which can be obtained by gaining levels and other tasks (6 is reserved for your healing ability, while 0 is for the elite). That's right, no more buying skills or hunting them down from monsters! Another great thing is, every character is capable of healing themselves effectively--that means no dedicated healing class. No revive is needed to clog up your skill bar, either...just kneel down to bring other players back on their feet (it'll take some time though, so be wary of enemies). The max level is 80, but you'll continue to gain skill points with experience gain.
In addition to all of the aforementioned improvements, PvE has improved greatly too. The world is open now, and you are able to encounter other players even if they aren't in your party. Dynamic events occur randomly for passers-by, and it's great fun to pitch in and save a town, beat down a giant champion monster, ect. You'll still need to enter an instance for your personal story, which keeps things from getting too chaotic.
The Living Story is an awesome concept--about every two weeks there's an entirely different scenario going on which yields rewards and achievements. It might not live up to expectations sometimes, though...as the ramped-up production times often result in glitchy spots and can get in the way of other world events. For the most part, one can't complain--it's free content to keep the experience fresh.
Also new is the Black Lion Trading Post. No need to stand out in town and shout to sell stuff to other players...just press O to open up the trading post menu and post it with your desired price or sell to a bidder! You can do this at any time out in the world, so it's a great way to get rid of unwanted items in your backpack...but you will have to return to an official trading post site to claim your money.
These are just a few of the things that make Guild Wars 2 a truly enjoyable MMO. The gameplay is fluid, the graphics are very nice on the best setting, and there's always plenty to do and work towards. And once you get tired of PvE, there's always PvP and WvW stuff to do--but that's another can of worms I won't get into here. Hopefully Arenanet will continue to expand Tyria via an expansion or new campaign soon...because as sizable as the main continent is, it's really only about half filled in (take the time to get 100% world completion and you'll see). As of right now though, you can't go wrong with GW 2 to satisfy your MMO cravings.
 
My Product Recommendations
World of Warcraft Battlechest
8.2 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Guild Wars 2
Awesome, but a warning
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
Nr392
This game is amazing. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay awesome, etc. The ending was a bit of a disappointment, but you have to remember that everything is free after purchase except for future expansions. A warning, though, for anyone who plans on buying this game: this game uses a large amount of space on your computer and requires a very good graphics card to run properly. You WILL have immense lag if you do not have a proper graphics card.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Guild Wars 2
Incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
Nr392
This game is amazing. It's incredible that you pay one time and get a full MMO out of it. This is one of the few companies that truly cares about their customers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Guild Wars 2
flawless
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/12
daveyboy
Location: bristol va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
you never run out of things to do i did not take up with this game at first but after i started to understand what i was suppose to do it really is flawless the graphics are not dissapointing even though you can play it with amds intergrated graphics the music is great it is a flash back to the old one a lot of the classic stuff you can use from the old one if you have played the old one and did a good bit in it you pick from 5 races human-char-asura-sylvari- and norn i was a bit upset they did not put the dwarf in the game when the dwarf was a big part of the story in the 1st one professions is huntsman and cooking they is more but those are the 2 i picked the classes is warrior-engineer-thief-ranger-guardian-necro-mesmer- and ele not did any pvp yet but they is always something to do in the pve world they is a lot to take in on this game worth the money pick it up if you like mmorpgs such as wow even if you did not like the first one much which at times i didnt this one is still worth your attention they may offer a trial for the game just remember that hearts on the map and events are your outside quests a long with your main quest and you get xp for everything almost even chopping wood and mining and harvesting the only thing i would have liked to seen that is not their i do not think is fishing but not sure on that if you are into mmorpgs pick up this gw2
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Guild Wars 2
Sloppy Mess
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
numar
Location: Simi Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many great ideas had me really liking this game but with the list of bugs that are unfixed and now their patching is causing crashes and freezes its over for them. On to your next game. The numbers dropped so fast that your game is boring now.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guild Wars 2
Almost Perfect Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/12
Masterkira
Location: Nashville, TN
This game is huge. First off, the level cap goes to 80, and the higher the level, the more challenging it get's, from getting to the view points, to fighting the bosses they through at you. Their is so much content in this game that it will keep you entertained for day on in. One can switch their weapon, each having a different skill set, for both weapon and class. Theirs even a separate storyline, with fully voiced dialogue. Within the game has world-verse-world, PVP and PVE. If one has a good enough graphics card, the graphics of the game is really well done. Not only is the gameplay unique and fun to play with, the music in the game just makes it that much better. The music is composed by none other, Jeremy Soule. What really brings it to a 10/10 is that you get all this, and their is no monthly charge, that's right! Once you buy it, it's yours. Now the bad aspects, their is no trading, and at times, waiting que for W.V.W. and P.V.P is slow. But those are only minor things in comparison to what one get's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guild Wars 2
Where to begin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
kurgun
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I like this game it's great when you get to play it. 3/4 of your time will be downloading the daily updates from patch servers. I feel like I've gotten to actually play the game less than the constant patching. It's not fair to the gamers that play fairly to punish them with daily patches. It's probably the biggest drawback to the entire experience of the game. I was hoping for better quests too, the hearts thing gets old quickly. Still a lag fest as well at times, not entirely too keen on the interface either, it's clean but there's many hidden windows/tabs that you just don't see. It's a great game for the fact there is no monthly fee, but there's a lot more drawbacks, like the patching being the major one which will eventually bore me away from even playing this title in the future if they don't stop with all the patching, it's extremely annoying that it's daily. Other than that it's a solid title.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guild Wars 2
Something for Everyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
sigmapsicharlie
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
OK I'm not going to go into detail about gameplay or graphics, but I will say that this game has every kind of awesome you would want in a game. If you are a PVPer or RPGer, or if you love challenging dungeons or World PvP, this game has it. It is gorgeous and deserves all the hype. Let me tell you this as I finish, this game is not easy and takes some learning, but is extremely rewarding when you kill a boss. Anyways, great game and I can't stop playing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guild Wars 2
Renewel of the MMO Genre
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
FoxSeiko
Location: Madison, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been a huge fan of the Guild Wars series since Alpha testing of Guild Wars 1. When they announced Guild Wars 2 a few years ago, I was very excited but kind of worried of what they had changed, but to my surprise the game is amazing. The graphics are great for a MMO, the voice acting is great (with some pretty funny scenes too). The races are amazing and unique, each with their own story lines, with each their own choices. It feels like a MMO world instead of a fetching quest repeat game. The game takes some skill to play and is difficult at first but it gets easier. This game offers a lot of different options to complete quests instead of being a cookie cutter quest line. I highly recommend this game to ANY PC gamer.
Also, forgot to mention, NO MONTHLY SUBSCRIPTION! You pay the flat 59.99 and that is it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guild Wars 2
Dat game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
Anonymous
Location: Toronto, ON
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its awesome. What else can I say? YabadabaYabadapooo. Really, in all honesty, this game is completly amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guild Wars 2
Finally...an MMO that gets it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
Cynister1
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game incorporates all of the best parts of several MMOs and does not seem to have too many weaknesses. PvE, WvW, PvP, crafting, Guilds, Auction, Trading, its all there. Casual to Hardcore. And....NO GRINDING!! You level in a very fun way without killing xx mobs, or gathering xx resources....daily rewards, monthly rewards...all passively attained! This game has an immense environment too. Way to much exploration can be done if you're up to it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Guild Wars 2
Nothing exciting
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
DustLilac
Location: South
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought the game on the day it launched. It's only been two weeks and I'm completely bored. First of all, there is horrible lag. Secondly, there just isn't that much to do. Compared to WoW, the game seems horribly shallow. You do not feel like you are in an actual world. The storylines that I have played are not very exciting. The races seem to have no differences, except graphically. Gameplay itself really isn't mainstream in my opinion. Bottom line -- very disappointing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FFXIVLover
Lansing, MI
 
Please wait while more information about FFXIVLover is loaded.
Additional information about FFXIVLover could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
What game are you playing??
Posted 9/13/12
First off, you have horrible lag?? Either your computer is really bad or your internet is really bad. It is running flawlessly on high settings on my mediocre Dell desktop. I also play it on my horrible $300 Compaq laptop that I bought a few years ago for school...(there is some lag on the laptop obviously but ive been playing on it fine). Secondly, nothing to do? There stuff to do EVERYWHERE! Hearts quests, world events everywhere, complex crafting, PvP, WvW, Storyline quests...dude, open your eyes!!! Third, I will admit that the storylines aren't as good as SWTOR, but they do keep my interest. Forth, there are no differences in the races? A Charr and a Norn are HUGE. The human is normal sized, the Sylvari are slightly smaller and the Asura are small. Have you compared sizes at all or are you really THAT blind?? Have you tried platforming with a Charr compared to an Asura for a Vista point?? HUGE DIFFERENCE..and yes, platforming skills are needed at some points of this game believe it or not. While were on the subject, each CLASS has different abilities for each weapon and the play style is 100% different for each class. But, your right about one thing: Gameplay is not mainstream. This is why the game is so great! Go run back to your Pandas at WoW and keep playing the same thing you have been playing for the past 8 years. I will be enjoying a fresh, new, innovative game that keeps me occupied for hours!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Guild Wars 2
Complicated @ first, work like a charm @ 2nd
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/12
etirto
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It took time for casual games to truly understand the gameplay of the game. It's not "that" unimaginably complicated, but it's more than what WoW or other online games have offered before. But, when you get your hands grasped on the game; understand how to loot all the crafting materials & how to increase lvl without a full 'Usual' grinding MMO's method; needless to say, i have to say GW2 is one of my most interesting game i've ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Guild Wars 2
good game bad servers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/12
Kyron5
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has good in depth gameplay but the server system totally sucks if you have friends on different servers. It can be determental to people that have friends on different servers down the line as well as it will cost money to transfer to thier servers form your starting one. Over all though the games graphics storyline and gameplay are good other wise just don't really know what else to say.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aeiric
New Pal
 
Please wait while more information about Aeiric is loaded.
Additional information about Aeiric could not be loaded.
Hang on, let me get this straight...
Posted 9/16/12
You and your friends couldn't take two seconds to say "Hey dude, you got the game? Cool, I'm on Henge of Denravi, make sure to choose that server." That's pretty sad.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Guild Wars 2
Didn't quite live up to the hype...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/12
DrDivine
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really wanted to like Guild Wars, I really did. The graphics are beautiful and I was so hyped on getting this game. Unfortunately, the game just did not live up to my expectations. Maybe I was asking for too much, but I just did not have fun playing this game. Leveling was boring and repetitive, and while some of the voice acting was good, other times it was really laughable. The graphics are excellent, but the races themselves aren't very interesting. I liked the idea of the Sylvari, but after hearing them talk, it sort of took some of the magic away. My favorite has to be the Asura, the animations are hilarious and well done. Unfortunately though, this isn't enough to bring the whole game over. As far as free to play (minus the disc purchase) games go, this is a good choice, no monthly fees, and it's got a fair amount of content to keep you entertained. For me though, as a long time WoW player, I wanted this game to be the game that convinces me to finally switch over to a new game. Mists of Pandaria, though, has some surprisingly good content that kept me more entertained in the beta than Guild Wars 2 did in the entire game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Guild Wars 2
Takes a little bit to get used to..but...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
Fred918
Location: PA
Guild Wars 2 was not what i expected, and it took me a little bit to get used to it, but once I got used to it, it turned out to be one of the best games i have ever played! I have no regrets with my purchase of this game. Its given me a new perspective on how MMORPG's should be. but note, it is very different form Guild Wars 1. So don't be thinking that its just and upgraded version of the original Guild Wars. This game is brand new with its own stile. Im going to hit on some of the good and bad points now. The Good. Amazing graphics, truly outstanding with the almost painting like atmosphere that flows every where. Its graphics system is a little like "The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword," but don't get me wrong, it most certainly does NOT look like a kids game, not in the very least. To get an idea oh how amazing the graphics are, take a look at the picture of my Silvari Elimentist at the bottom. Note, the graphics are not going to surpass "Battlefield 3" or Modern Warfare 3 bye any means, but this is an MMO, so keep that in mind. The Good, out standing gameplay with an engrossing story line. The hole take on the story line is a huge step up from GW1. With an almost painting presentation on the video scenes. And bye that i mean it actually looks like there in a painting with the characters,max of 2, standing out front. This stile of cinematic's works, surprisingly quite well. and with its mixture of in game video scenes, combined with the painting styled ones, really sucks you into the game. The Good, Many Many ways to play. There are so many different ways to play this game. Most of how your story will turn out is depicted on your fist choices when you make your character. but there are also so many dividing points along the way. Such as decisions you must make. like "should we kill the undead that are attacking Lions Arch with an army of Silvari, which has a very high chance of seceding, or should we send out experimental Gollum's that lay down land mines, where there would be no loss of any life, excluding the undead, but there is a greater margin for things to go wrong." Things like this are what really makes the story line interesting and gives the players more control than i've seen in an MMORPG before. The Good. So much more to do then just the story. up till now i've been talking a great deal a bought the story line of GW2, but don't get me wrong on that either. There is so much more in GW2 then just the story line. There are many dungeons, mini dungeons, Forts, Towns, Advents, "which i think is one of the most enjoyable parts of GW2, but ill let you fiend out what those are on your own, in game :)." And the entire "WvW" AKA World Verses World. WvW alone is a game in its self, and is extremely huge and mine blowing. The Good. Much more open then any game i have played before. Theres a new take on how much freedom you should have to walk around in MMORPG's America, and its EPIC! In GW2 there is so much more room to explore now, almost no dividing lines, except a portal every now and again that is used for separating map areas. and there is almost no place where other players cant just come running out of no where to rescue you from a painful demise when you picked a fight with a foe that is a bit to tuff for your level. There are players everywhere, constantly doing something. be it haling apples for a farmer, killing giant worms, stopping a centaur raid on a camp, or just walking around killing defenseless bunny rabbits for the fun of it. GW2 Is a Living, Breathing, Changing, Moving world with almost endless things to do. The Bad. there isn't really that many things wrong with Guild Wars 2 except for, a few glitches, lag, its difficult finding your friends to play with, and again WvW has same huge amounts of lag. other then that though, amazing game. Now stop reading this review and buy the game, if there is any copy's left.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ScootFla
Lakeland, FLA
 
Please wait while more information about ScootFla is loaded.
Additional information about ScootFla could not be loaded.
Are there dictionaries in the game?
Posted 9/16/12
Thanks for the review. While the bad comments were mixed in everywhere within your review (not just at the end as promised), it did convince me to try the game out. I wanted to know though if there were dictionaries in the game. I ask because your review is totally sic. Sic means misspellings when it's something that was typed. There are a lot of misspelled words in your review, but that is okay as I understood enough to know the difference between haling apples and hauling them. Thanks!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Guild Wars 2
Not like other MMOs and that is a good thing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
BtownMA
Location: MA, USA
I have played a lot of MMOs for a long time and this one by far is the best one I have ever played. The fighting system is wonderful. I'm not stuck on one group of spells, skills, or weapons that I have to hit in order for max effectiveness that can get boring. I can change on the fly in combat gaining different abilities and buffs. Every weapon or spell gives me a different set of attacks for both my main and off hand. It very easy flowing. A ranger can call different pets in combat on the fly and change from range to close combat, AOE or one-on-one in a blink of an eye. You have to doge and move and not just stand there hitting buttons. By far the best I have played in that account. And no more fighting over gathering, crafting, looting, or bosses; all are shared by everyone. Bag space is shared by all your toons on your account. The game allows you and encourages players to help other players. You want more people around. Plus everything scales. If you go to a zone that is lower than you your "level" effectiveness is reduced to the top for that zone. You still have all your skills, but the bad guys are not push-overs. The world is forever moving and it feels alive more than any other MMO I have played. Added the no monthly cost and constant up-dates makes this game a winner in my book. You can't get much more value for the money. There is very little time wasting in the game, you want to help other players, and there are all sorts of hidden chests in remote locations for people who like to explore . . . a little something for everyone. And to top it all off there are personal quests that you can do or not, up to you. However, I can see some players getting frustrated because it is a different set up than all other MMOs (for examples there is not "Tank" or "Healer", etc because everyone is everything . . . or stand-and-hit-buttons because you have to move and change weapons or spells in combat), but I find it refreshing. It short, it's not like other MMOs and if you try and play it like the others, you are missing out on a big part of the game. I can go on-and-on, but just play it for yourself, it is for sure worth the $60.00.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Guild Wars 2
A new milestone in MMO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
Nirazy
Location: Moscow
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Truly sad a new era of MMO experience. Addictive as wow, grapical and atmosperic as Skyrim, featuring completely new battle system and world vs. world PVP so epic like you are filming in Lord of the Rings.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>