GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Backbreaker

Backbreaker is the full-on 11VS. 11, high-impact pro football that outruns, outhits, and flat-out dominates the games of the past. It's a new generation of football for a new generation of fans.
Average Customer Rating:
7.286
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
14 out of 2167%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Backbreaker
Review 1 for Backbreaker
Breath Of Fresh Air
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/10
StreetFighter Fan
Backbreaker is awesome, it plays totally different from madden which i love because backbreaker is exactly the breath of fresh air this stagnant football genre needs. Its a real next gen game while EA's madden series remains in the stone age, the camera angle puts you right in the middle of the action making your read more quickly in the pocket while avoiding the pass rush just like in real football. Some gamers might not like this game because they don't want to learn something new and different, but if you give the game a chance and really dive into it and get used to the controls you just might come away addicted to the game. Backbreaker has changed the game of football and taken it to the next level, only question is can EA keep up....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Backbreaker
It's...moderately AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/10
Just_that_guy
The graphics are amazing, they make me feel like I actually slipped and fell with all of the other guys even though that was the problem I slipped and fell. And the cause of that was the controls my fingers sometimes get a little flickety on the analog sticks and it's making me constantly fall. But any other thing about this game like tackle alley the advanced team customization the feel that I'm actually running with the ball which is pretty awesome as long as you don't get hit. And playing tackle alley with somebody is just the bomb especially online which might be your friends. The best part I think is just playing on the football field but I hate how in arcade mode when it just gives you the 4 plays that have stupid names like run left or run right or throw. So for all you people that actually know the plays do the pro mode it'll be much easier on you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ThaSteelersPlaya43
 
Please wait while more information about ThaSteelersPlaya43 is loaded.
Additional information about ThaSteelersPlaya43 could not be loaded.
Takes Madden Out Of The Picture
Posted 12/21/11
This game is so unique in soo many ways. My most favorite thing about this game is the tackling. Its so realistic and you will never see the same tackle twice like you see in madden. Its kinda like a ragdoll effect, which is fun! I can see the game being a big hit in many years.........
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Backbreaker
WOW THIS IS AWSOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/10
VahallaAwaitsMe
ok the first thing im going to say is THIS IS NOT MADDEN, IF YOU LOVE MADDEN PLEASE RENT BEFORE YOU BUY, ok this game is awsome i love it, its as in depth as madden with franchising and buying players and getting free agents all of that you can do, the custom team is so in depth its amazing the controls are simple it takes a little to get used to but still fun the whole point of this game is not to take on madden at all its just a hard hitting fun football game its like all pro football and the blits put together but its not to arcady it just feels right for a game, the graphics are awsome, the thing with madden is all of the players look like robots and its all pre rendered animations meaning some guy is in a green room and does all of the animations which at times looks good but its not, this game is all AI and the game engine is the same as in GTA 4 and Red Dead , if dont know what i mean just look at somevideos online and it will show you, this game is awsome and i highly recommend because i dont like madden at all but this game is very fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Backbreaker
madden killer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
usfbullsfan895
Location: lakeland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
way better than madden or any other football game. it puts u in the action and has way better hits than madden and everything. team customizing is beast it lets u do everything even the endzone art. my overall impression is i cant wait till the ea sports contract is up with the nfl so these guys can make a nfl game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ford36
 
Please wait while more information about Ford36 is loaded.
Additional information about Ford36 could not be loaded.
NO!
Posted 1/4/11
this game is jus the worst!
Customer Avatar
DMTSUPERSTAR123
Pittsford
 
Please wait while more information about DMTSUPERSTAR123 is loaded.
Additional information about DMTSUPERSTAR123 could not be loaded.
The best game!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 12/14/10
it beats every football game by a long shot. There is made up teams but it is still good.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Backbreaker
The real thing.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
joeggernaut256
Location: al
If you like actual REAL football give this game a try. If your scared to buy it rent it . I had maybe one or two games where I actually had an easy time. Most the time the games play like a real life football game. Back and forth with not much scoring. Sometimes back and forth high scoring. It kept it from getting boring . Most people say this game "sucks" because its actually more challenging then madden.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Backbreaker
Great physics
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
FunkyA
this game is fun but has werid camera angles and some times you dont see the other player but the tackes and physcis and movement are like madden but x 10 it a football game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Backbreaker
a New GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/10
bigandy
This game is a new game .Unlike any football games to come before it. Now if your a big fan of madden you will not like this game ,But if you are like so many of us who have been disappointed in madden again and again. You will likely love this game. Now first the Graphics looks is amazing no other way to put it . But sometimes you will be hating the Camera Angles in this game. Now When it comes to the controls wow.... This is why I if you love madden you will hate this game. The controls are set up for this very fast game play. So most action is done with the right analog stick whether running or passing the ball.But after a little while after getting use to the controls. This game will play like no other. Options In the option of this game are few but they can change how well you like the game. So play with option a little. For example with one change you now have the ablilty to chose from all plays in the play book not just what the coach gives you. Now the most important one of all GAME PLAY This game plays like no other .Big hits no graphic and ball glitches like madden or other things like ghost players that I have seen yet .This game is just down right realist .That it ,it is realist . But on the down side running the ball is hard to do and passing can be as well. Now I cant tell you much about the running because I'm a passing freak.At time passing can be very hard to do.whether it be getting sack or just missing the receiver. You will also see many catches that will make you watch the reply again and again because your QB fit the ball in suck a tight spot and completed it with out the ball passing through a other player. And my favorite is interception will happen a lot in this game both offense and defense but I have not seen yet where the ball went through the reviver and got pick by a defender
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Backbreaker
Not a Madden Killer!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/10
macmann
I was excited to see that Madden had some competition untill I played Backbreaker. This game is one of the most poorly done Video Sports games I have played in years. The good things about the game is first The Team creator is pretty deep as far as creating the uniform and colors. The player editor is pretty generic as it a player editor not a creator. Gameplay is very choppy trying to throw the ball is almost impossible and then controlling the proper reciever is impossible. The sound track well there isnt one, I heard one song every kick off and every instant replay so be prepared for boredom. There is no comentators as for as play by play goes you will hear a guy say something over the stadium speakers about the current down , The AI is absoulutley ridiculous when it comes to proper knowledge of football, I guess maybe they should of possible employed someone famillar with American football when creating a game about it. While I played this game all I could think of was that I wanted to go back a play Madden like one would take a shower after playing in garbage. I truly am Thankfull that we have Madden and you will also once you take a look at Backbreaker . Please dont waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Backbreaker
Madden Destroyer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/11
sasfsda
10x better than madden they actually listen to the customers with physics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Backbreaker
Most Realistic Football Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
JaySmoothe
Location: Marana/Tucson, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yea, no official rosters, but that doesn't rule Backbreaker out. Realistic hits, camera angles, and stadiums dominate this game. There are many positives on this game, but controls is not one of them. Of course Madden fans would not appreciate the controls, but you learn to get over that. The physics in this game are so great. The back of the game says "No two tackles look the same" . 100% truth. You can create your own team and players to play with to bring your team through the ranks. There is an eight team league, a sixteen team league, and the official thirty two team league. Its a fun challenge to get up to the thirty two team league, which has the Backbreaker Bowl. -AntiMadden
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Backbreaker
I now consider MADDEN TO BE PONG!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/10
Cyclone_23x
This game is truly amazing! While at first I did struggle in many aspects of the game but that is probably because I am so used to Madden that it took my awhile to get in sync with the game. This game was difficult at first but then again what game isn't. This game beats Madden in every single aspect in my opinion. No more seeing the same tackle 7 times in one game. I had first heard of this game after playing Backbreaker for the iPhone and learned that it was coming out for the PS3 and 360. I reserved it just to make sure I'd get my copy and lucky for me and anyone else who reserved theirs' at Gamestop I was able to get the game early on Saturday the 29th. This game is by far the best football game out there. Now while it may not have NFL teams you can just as easily create them all and create your own league using all the teams. The custimization level of creating a team is endless. This games graphics are the best of any other game in the sports genre. The way that the players move and interact with each other is just like in real life rather than having a preset tackle chosen from a list (Madden). If you are a football fan then this game is a must have. If you are skeptical because of other reviews then at least rent the game and give it a try. Don't give up after the first hour or so because once you get the hang of this game then you will see how amazing it is. BTW...Madden is Pong compared to this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Backbreaker
EA will have this 10 years from now
Posted on:5/13/10
Anonymous
I was at GameStop and decided to pick up some of the old 2K games. 6-7 years ago those games look better then Madden does now. Their presentation is awesome. 2k8 for PS3 has better graphics then Madden 10 does and that game is 3 years old. Things like having your favorite plays, a post, half-time and post game shows with tons of highlights are things Madden is just not getting around to doing. 2k8 has tons of shots of players with helmets off on the sidelines, something Madden 11 is finally getting around to doing. Look at Madden 10's weekly franchise mode show vs 2k5. 2k5 has Free Agency and contract news, injury news, video game highlights, etc... Just a much better presentation. About the only thing Madden does better is the passing game and they go to the extreme of almost making it too easy to pass to the flats and post. This year NCAA 11 is supposed to convert to an ESPN format with Chris Berman, FINALLY. As for Backbreaker, I am hoping there is a Demo released today or next week. It looks like a fun game, something NCAA 10 was not this year. If it makes a big splash I hope it does get into Madden. But man, to have a new 2k game for the PS3, that would be awesome.
Review 13 for Backbreaker
Kablammo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
Czaplik
Location: Perkasie
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the hits are awesome. this game is great for anyone. madden got boring but this never fails
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Backbreaker
OK Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/10
insinty86
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This has a good tackle alley mode, but the rest is ok.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Backbreaker
Creativity
Posted on:5/28/10
NinerFan85
Ya know, I am tired of getting a Madden game and start creating a team just to find out that they have the same boring logos that they have had for the last 4 years. Get some creativity EA!!! On top of that, What is up with the superstar mode? It was awesome the first year when there were interviews, the draft was watchable (kinda) and you had roles to play on the team. In Madden 10 the money obviously went elsewhere since the superstar mode was as boring as playing against the computer on Rookie with the AI turned all the way down. I truly hope this Backbreaker game gives EA a reason to step up their game and make Madden fun and interesting again. If not, you can count me as a Backbreaker franchise fan.
Review 16 for Backbreaker
REALLY TERRIBLE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/12
guccimike
Location: virginia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
to all those who call this the madden killer you aren't a real gamer. You don't know what you are talking about this game is terrible. the graphics are good not great. the controls are terrible maybe if the controls were better and i had better control of the team versus one individual player zoomed in it would be fun. This is like playing madden superstar just 50x worse. dont waste your money stick with madden or blitz.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Backbreaker
Why should you buy this game?
Posted on:2/26/10
Bulldawg2323
1) Replayability: The infinite combinations of random contact scenarios (thanks to Euphoria). Cutting edge Graphics, and just plain NATURAL football! 2) Customization: Leagues, Teams, Players, Logos, etc. Giving you the ability to create your very own League, Or re-create existing leagues. -- On top of that, why not just pick this up to get a taste of what Euphoria can bring to the sports gaming world. Finally a truely "Next Gen" football experience is being delivered to us, ironically by a company based out of Oxford, England. I guess if anyone is going to release a worth-while football simulation, it's a Company that's Name says it all. "NATURAL MOTION" !!
Review 18 for Backbreaker
No players = no problem
Posted on:3/23/10
RayIX
This game looks great to me because of the over the top nature it takes without going too far like Blitz: The League. As for the lack of an NFL license, so what? Most of you might not know this, but until this last year, the best selling and highest rated soccer game was Pro Evolution Soccer (Winning Eleven). While EA's Fifa has all the licenses, PES was viewed as the best game, and the fact that it only had half (if even that many) of teams and players did not hold it back because it's gameplay was by far superior. If this game plays and feels much better then Madden, then it will be the football experience people like myself have been waiting for.
Review 19 for Backbreaker
Looks Awesome, but Bad Timing!
Posted on:2/22/10
frogman8787
I think this game looks great with the new engine, making ever ytackel and play comletely different. Bu there is a major fla in this game, and that is the release date!! I think this game will be very successfull with people that really need a break from the repetitive Madden games, (me being one of those people!) but I think that realeasing it in May might urt the sales. People don't want to play football games in the spring/summer time. I think if you push this release date back, or promote this game in the fall/winter time, it will be a huge hit and i most certainly expect to see it in my ps3 when im hanging out with my buds on Sunday.
Review 20 for Backbreaker
bad game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
football101
Location: green cove,flordia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I cant belive I wasted my money on this game.ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>