GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metro 2033

Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth's surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind.
Average Customer Rating:
8.379
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
10 stars
46
9 stars
26
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
88 out of 10385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metro 2033
Review 1 for Metro 2033
feels just as great as the fallout series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
Drunk3nxN1nja
Location: Riverside,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will never trust ign again. Why? Because I do not know why this game got a 6.9 this game deserves way better and the 6.9 was the reason why i didnt buy this game when it came out. But eventually I bought it a year later for a mere 20 bucks. Now i realize this game deserves more than that. This game has an awsome, unique atmosphere that no other survival horror or post apoctoliptical game has ever delievered. The metro tunnels are always scary even though in some parts nothing comes out though you are almost always with a partner.Though there are just a few guns, the gun gameplay is awsome and this game has a great but short story. While in the story it is just sad that people kill their own kind at that time when the mutants are the real threat. its like people will never change. " if we don't end war, war will end us."
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
druinox
Mex
 
Please wait while more information about druinox is loaded.
Additional information about druinox could not be loaded.
Amazing
Posted 12/6/11
simply the best sci-fi horror shooter of all time, can't wait for the secuel!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Metro 2033
when i put in this game i was like wow amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/11
VvCRYS1SvV
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
get this game if you like shooter games part 2 is gonna be amazing
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metro 2033
Interesting Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
Michealchu
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There's good reviews and bad reviews for this game.
but honestly..
If you're pretty good @ FPS games, you could probably blow through this game with a certain degree of difficulty and might even enjoy it. But if FPS is not your thing, I wouldn't recommend this game. -you'll get owned and frustrated. people keep complaining about the gas masks and filters cracking and running out. I had absolutely no problem with any of this. I played through once on normal difficulty with almost no problems at all. Storyline is pretty interesting, but there are a lot of holes here and there that will leave you wondering what is going on.
If anything, the most disappointing aspect of the game is the ending. Its confusing and terrible. You go through 8 -12 hours killing freakish monsters and trying to conserve ammo only to be rewarded with terrible ending that made no sense at all. I felt like a kid who got socks for Christmas instead of that awesome new video game my parents kept hinting me about.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metro 2033
You have to know how to play the game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/10
JComrade
After reading the negative feedback on this game it answers a simple question, do you know how to play the game? This game is very interactive and you play a important role of surving to try to save your people. "Bullets are your money!?" I find this to be a good idea making the game a challenge along with survival, which brings out the realism. You have to search for the bullets and conserve them, I had no trouble purchasing items nor killing the creatures. The gasmask feature is my favorite, after wearing the gasmask for long periods the lens starts to sweat like as a real one would do. The audio is muff while wearing the gasmask, like a real one. Everyone seems to compare it Fallout 3, I dont seem why, both games are different. Metro 2033 is based on an acutal Novel, which I loved the story line. Overall one of the best shooters I ever played. So the bottom line is this, if you dont know how to play the game then you will not enjoy it. But if you enjoyed it like I did, then you will find this game to be 10/10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metro 2033
feel the radiation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
brokennanochip7
Location: chillicothe,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
after playing metro, you could say fallout is a more light hearted experience , and metro is a proper apocalypse,where most of the living haven't seen the sky and to go surface side you need a gas mask, i must say i was impressed with this game the mechinics are fresh and original the game reminds me of old survival horror games conserving scarce ammunition and supplies not to mention the ammuntion your fireing is the world's currency that you need to resupply yourself with not to mention the story is intoxicating ,and the game builds up tension better then a mystory novel,there were few things i wished for while i played the game the try tension of the game came from sneaking around silently killing enemies i just wish i could drag the bodies into some dark corner,and that the voice acting was better its not that its terrible ,its that everyone sounds as if they share the same DNA , but that shouldn't hold you back from buying it if your a fan of sci-fy or classic survival horror games i highly recommened this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metro 2033
Stunning.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/10
NickRoszkiewicz
When I played this game if felt as if I got >INTO< the actual story. When I first played this I was like maybe this game wont be like Battlefield Ban Company 2. So when I started I was nervous that it may be a bad game. Well I was VERY VERY wrong! About 1/2 an hour into it I was caught like a spartan and a plasma grenade. I played until my eyes were bright red and I could hear Russians yelling & shooting. Now usually post-nuclear games such as Fallout 3 has an o.k. storyline. But this game is certainly unlike no other. Stunning storyline, Graphics are sharper than ever, and with the gasmask feature put into this game they really stay true to its word that you WILL NEED FILTERS. To be realistic about this game there are some "flaws" such as the sound is kinda good but you can also tell they loop the sounds but what game doesn't to that? So if you are into something different and fun I would invest in Metro 2033. So get ready and strap on your gasmask. Welcome to Moscow...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Metro 2033
Don't Buy!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/10
Mattz12
This game is not what I expected at all. When I wasn't frantically searching for bullets, I was wasting about 15 bullets on each enemy because they just don't die. The checkpoints are few and far between, so be prepared to go back 5 or more minutes if you die. The weapons are just plain terrible. In addition, changing weapons takes forever and is very annoying when you're being attacked by mutants. In addition, even some of the knives have a limited number of uses (kind of like the gravity hammer in Halo...except with only five attacks). Also, when you pick up ammo, it doesn't auto-reload for you, so when you try to shoot something after being out of ammo and picking up more ammo, you end up attempting to shoot an unloaded gun. Most of the first half is spent either running around not doing anything or watching cut scenes. I've read that this game is similar to Modern Warfare. However, I wouldn't make this comparison at all. The controls are almost identical to CoD, but that is all. Don't waste
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metro 2033
A great classic style game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/10
valiant
people expect games to hold your hand and walk you through the entire experience holding your hand. This isn't the case with this game, if you remember the Duke Nukem and Turok days you will enjoy this game. If you are a 12 year old that thinks they are good at shooters because they play CoD:MW2 than you will not like this game. The graphics are amazing though it has loading issues that are not anywhere close to what mass effect has. The shooting is a bit weak with certain enemies, This becomes a problem when the smaller annoyance enemies don't die. The story is absolutely great. If you enjoyed Bioshock you will surely like this game, It is based on a book by the same name. My biggest complaint are the controllers the shooting comes vary loose by default and it took me a little while to set it up properly, also the set-up for the buttons is a bit odd but not bad. Overall a good buy if you enjoy a classic shooter strictly for the "hardcore" gamer. though it is better on PC.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Metro 2033
One of the best shooter out this year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/10
BillyBoi
This game is excellent in every aspect. The challenge is unbelievable, especially on hard. The only down side is that there is no multi-player, hopefully they make a multi-player in DLC. Anyone who rates this game below an 8 wouldn't know a good game if it whacked them in the face. This is one of my favorite games of the year so far. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves fps and action. The game is based on a book written by a Russian author, I haven't read the book yet, it just came out in an English version. The book is also supposed to be very good. The premise of the book and game is based on the apocalypse where most of the worlds population dies from a nuclear explosion. The ones that survive move to the subway system in Moscow because the air above ground is toxic to breath, hence the name metro 2033. Go out and buy this game today, Its a must have!!!!! This game scored a 9 out of 10 in Game Informer magazine, it doesn't get much better than that!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Metro 2033
Almost there!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/10
Just Parker
Metro, has a beginning scene that almost sets the standard to high for the rest of the game. As the game starts, everything seems to be what you want and expect from a next generation shooter. The story will pull you in wanting more right from the start. The graphics are very detailed and the sounds had kept me on the edge of my seat for the entire game. The controls and game play have much room for improvement but if you are not looking for a reason to make excuses and complain it can all be overlooked easily. Playing the game on the normal difficulty setting is best. Enemies seem to take a clip of bullets quite well so I recommend not rushing through the game and keep your eyes open for ammo and filters for your gas mask which plays a big and unique part of the games experience. This is not a game you can just run and gun and expect to have any chance to survive. You will find your self breaking masks and loosing ammo very quickly. So if you’re a gamer that enjoys to play a game for what it is fully worth and enjoy a intriguing story that leaves you asking for more, I recommend metro 2033..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metro 2033
AMAZING GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/10
BassDave
I wanted to try this game out because I heard that its really realistic. When I played this game I was hooked from beginning to end. The storyline is so humble yet spooky and amazing, and I love the fact that you have to find your own ammo to stay alive in this game and you always have to watch your back because the monsters in this game like to sneak up on you. The stealth missions are breath-taking, you can either sneak passed your enimies or shoot your way through, that is what I love about it. This game has really cool weapons too, like the Revolver and the AK-47 and THROWING KNIFES! The graphics are simply amazing, everything is detailed from the surroundings to the people. It feels like you're really there. I'd recomend this game to anyone who is a fan of stealth, shooter, and rpg games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metro 2033
really awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/10
thealbinokidnextdoor
First off,this game is alot like fallout 3,except it has a much better storyline to it.The one thing I was sort of dissapointed about was that u cant take other peoples armor in the game,only take the bullets and supplies on them and around,like ammunition,money,gas masks,and weapons[if they have them].The story line is very good.Its cool how they do the story line because they foreshadow it.It is pretty realistic too.its not like halo with mega jumps, very quick reloads, and fast turn arounds,but like somebody who just picked up a gun and started fighting, it doesnt have fast reloads or anything.And u dont have rly quick turns or anything.Its also unique how they use military gradd rounds for money, and u can fire them for more effective damage than ones made underground.If u liked fallout, and would like to get this,expect more of a preset story line type of game.for those of u who didnt rly like the wide openess of fallout 3,this game is definetly for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Metro 2033
A gem in a sea of blah.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/11
FatalSneeze
Location: Dracut, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let's face it. FPS. Post-nuclear war. Russia. BLAH! Right? Well yeah, usually, but not here! Metro 2033 shows what those games should be doing. This game has many things going for it. The story is excellent, the weapons are fun, and the monsters are vicious. But the atmosphere is amazing! Everything from the claustriphobic tunnels to the frozen wasteland that used to be Russia are done BEAUTIFULLY. One thing comes to mind: The gasmask. When you go out of the tunnels, you have to wear a gasmask due to radiation or something, and this mask, oddly enough, adds to the atmosphere. You can see the cracks in the mask, the moisture of your breath condensing around the edges, and you can hear Atryom ( the guy you play as) wheezing into the filter of the mask. Seriously, if at all possible, play this game in a cold, dark room with headphones on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GOLFJBIRE000000
 
Please wait while more information about GOLFJBIRE000000 is loaded.
Additional information about GOLFJBIRE000000 could not be loaded.
10
Posted 7/11/11
AN AWESOME GAME
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Metro 2033
Amazing game that keeps you on the edge of your seat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/10
stratrocker2
I bought this game expecting a cope of fallout 3. In comparison both have rather average gunplay, but where this game really takes off is it's atmosphere. From the beggining you get a feeling of being there. The game seems to grip you and not let go. The fact that you have to constantly be aware keeps you on edge. You not only have to watch for enemies, but also on every aspect of your character. There is truly never a dull moment within this game. One thing I enjoy is the element of stealth. You don't have to sneak, but it is an option. This is what makes the game awesome. Whether you want to go ; or Silently sneak up and take them down silently, it's up to you. I would recomend this game to anyone who loves a game you can really put your self into. The only thing I can say is that personally I find it difficult at times, but that does not dampen the experience. If you are looking for a good game that never fails to please. Then this may be for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tacplayr
 
Please wait while more information about tacplayr is loaded.
Additional information about tacplayr could not be loaded.
Not What I thought....But still GREAT!
Posted 11/3/10
This game was overall not bad at all and had a lot of positive aspects to it. The aiming took a little to adjust to basing off of the other 1st person shooter games I play but like i said it was only a matter of time before you got used to it. The setting was awesome, the mood really stood out in this rather than fallout 3 where it was just walking around doing fun things, this definitely kept you with your eyes open and ready for anything to jump out from the corner. The guns I thought were incredible even though at very few times during the game did I come enemies who took bullets and basically stuffed them inside them saying back to me i only got shot by 15 bullets now shoot me just a few more and i'll be dead eventually. You will always know now from reading this that aiming at the upper part of the body is the hot spot. The last thing is that the variety of guns is pretty wide. The first run through the game I was extremely pulled into it and didnt bother buying any new guns because I appreciated the ones I had. The silenced guns as well as the pneumatic weapons greatly increased the stealth opportunities that could be taken and overall added to the games play-through story. This game is not a must buy but if your looking for a fun 1st person shooter with a great story line, none the less, Metro2033 is a pretty good choice.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Metro 2033
Destruction and more destruction
Posted on:1/13/10
fjga
the graphics for Metro 2033 seems to be great, storyline if it is like the book (great) it should be interesting even though some people already know how it is supposed to end. unless, the storyline follows the book to some instance and then it tooks a different turn. the game itself remindsme of fallout the only diference is that ones is a RPG and the ohter a Shooter, but the same casualities of always. bad guys did somenthing wrong that turn animals and people in fearless monsters that the main character has to beat. well, tell a cowboy story know! i am not a designer of games nor a writer as you could see in my writting, but what i know is that in order to conquer the video game market someone has to come with different storylines in games, maybe a slightly change in character and endings. P.S. please developers or game deigners do not mess up in the ending of great games. like: borderlands, greeat game but unprofessional ending, for crying out loud, seriously do it with time do not throw whatever in the ending .thanks
Review 16 for Metro 2033
Great 360 Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/10
Magic Man
Let me start by saying this game is very scary (at some moments) unfortunetly its not always that scary, even htough I wish it was. This game exeles at sound which is what helps this game alot in the scare department. The controlles do lag sometimes, and the controller set up makes this game feel very lose sometimes. This game has a very wierd storyline (yes I have read the book, and I still don't completly get the story), but at they end of the book, and the game there is a very nice supprise ending that will make really love this game. The graphics for this game a very good, ti made me feel like I was really under a subway system with mutated creatures chasing me. This i sprobobley one of the hardest games i've ever played. The designers of the game (4games) did a very nice job i really wish they tried to scare people a little more, and if they could fix the controlles. This game get a 9/10 for great , and fun gameplay. P.S: The add on coming for this game is going to have a co-op and multiplayer option which is really nice.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Metro 2033
A masterpiece; FPS with a Half-Life 2 vibe
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metro is one of the rare games that transcends genres and even mediums. It is a book told in game form and a really good one at that. Graphics are good without being amazing but they, along with the music, set the tone and setting PERFECTLY, giving you that full immersion that great games can occasionally do. It starts as a simple journey from Point A to Point B but becomes very interesting very quickly.
The gameplay is good but not outstanding. I'd strongly recommend turning the look sensitivity up if you've played some other FPSs. The selection of weapons is relatively varied and in an interesting twist bullets ARE the common currency. High-Grade Military Rounds are your "money" to buy new guns, health-kits, granades, etc. This leads to an interesting dilemma where you have to weigh your priorities and playing style; you can use the high-grade bullets to take down a tough enemy or sneak past and save them for that sniper rifle or shotgun. I'd compare the combat-part to Half-Life 2 perhaps..... it's not as tight as COD or Halo but is sturdy enough to where you can get your headshots and precision sniper shots with a little practice.
Another place where Metro has a close similarity to HL2 is the use of music and visuals to create an immersive experience.... as drawn-in to City 17 as I was with Half-Life 2, I was just as enthralled by the Russian Metro System. Metro really is a survival horror game moreso then Resident Evil 5 was..... you have to make your bullets count (you won't find enough to go spraying a room blindly with a machine gun) and hearing claws scraping and growls around the corner/in the air vents/behind a window are used to perfection to create a constant tension that builds throughout the whole game.
Metro 2033 is an amazing game that I would recommend to anyone, even someone who doesn't like First-Person-Shooters. It can be a bit difficult but that adds to the hanging-on-a-thread feeling you have throughout the game. The story is very interesting and there are actually 2 separate endings based on some of your in-game decisions. If this has been a game that you've considered picking up or have been wavering on..... hesitate no more. Be warned, though, if you are looking for a Bulletstorm/Halo/Gears of War slugathon this might not be exactly what you are looking for. I'd describe this game as a book that just happens to be in game form (and yes, I'm aware that this game is based on a book..). I'd almost call it a work of art..... Regardless it is definitely worth the current price and I'd strongly recommend it, especially if you are a fan of the Half-Life or Bioshock Games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Infinitegamer977
California
 
Please wait while more information about Infinitegamer977 is loaded.
Additional information about Infinitegamer977 could not be loaded.
Just like fallout series
Posted 8/9/14
I just loved the game because it was a little like fallout
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Metro 2033
Hidden Gem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
Anemicnapalm
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I found this game by these reviews although i had heard of Metro 2033 it had slipped through the cracks of other title i had purchased , i took a look at the reviews and they were all pretty much positive so i said why not.....and i wil have to agree Metro 2033 is a great game ,although its a bit slow in the beginning it picks up and keeps going strong till the end, basically 2033 Nuclear war has destroyed the world the surviving humans are living in the existing metro tunnels, trying to survive from fallout, mutants, German SS. With an outstanding sense of danger good story and immersive environments . Exceeded my expectations, game has good graphics and effects as well . sooooo i admit it is quit difficult at times, yu can always dumb down the difficulty . This is a Russian made game ported to the US, and i have to say our communist friends did a great job with metro 2033.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
billbob
 
Please wait while more information about billbob is loaded.
Additional information about billbob could not be loaded.
Posted 6/8/12
Russia is not communist anymore
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Metro 2033
Great and sometimes creepy storyline
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/11
Overwhelmed
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metro 2033 is a fantastic game for many reasons and, in my opinion, it may be one the most underated games of all time. Let me start off by saying that the graphics are pretty good, the atmosphere is absolutely amazing also! My only complaint about this game would have to be that the gameplay is a little weird and I feel sometimes gunshots dont register.But, the story makes up for this flaw. The story is amazing (my favorite of all time), at first it may be kind of confusing, but to fully understand it you should definitely play the game more than once. At times this game can be creepy, and i jumped a couple of times. So heres a suggestion, play the game calm and slowly and ALWAYS watch your back! I would definitely reccomend this to a friend, it IS a must buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Metro 2033
Great story line but a little hard to get used to.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/10
MERC 777
i just bought the game yesterday and i just beat it today. the first thing i noticed about the game is the graphics. the detail on everything it amazing. all of the surroundings are crazy and everything looks like it really would in real life. next the storyline is amazing it really got me hooked to the game and mad me keep playing more and more and more. the first thing bad i noticed about the game is the amount of bullets(money) that you could obtain in the game. you can never find enough to buy anything and you always run out of them quick in battle. another thing id the gas mask filters. it really suck when you run out of them when you need them and when you run out you might find yourself loading last saves so you could go back and buy more but once you get the hang of the game it gets easier and more fun and you start to get more stuff and understand how the game works. over all i think this is an awesome game once you get the hang of it and it has an great story line. i would not recommend this game to some one who get frustrated easily
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>