GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metro 2033

Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth's surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind.
Average Customer Rating:
8.379
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
10 stars
46
9 stars
26
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
88 out of 10385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metro 2033
Review 1 for Metro 2033
feel the radiation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
brokennanochip7
Location: chillicothe,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
after playing metro, you could say fallout is a more light hearted experience , and metro is a proper apocalypse,where most of the living haven't seen the sky and to go surface side you need a gas mask, i must say i was impressed with this game the mechinics are fresh and original the game reminds me of old survival horror games conserving scarce ammunition and supplies not to mention the ammuntion your fireing is the world's currency that you need to resupply yourself with not to mention the story is intoxicating ,and the game builds up tension better then a mystory novel,there were few things i wished for while i played the game the try tension of the game came from sneaking around silently killing enemies i just wish i could drag the bodies into some dark corner,and that the voice acting was better its not that its terrible ,its that everyone sounds as if they share the same DNA , but that shouldn't hold you back from buying it if your a fan of sci-fy or classic survival horror games i highly recommened this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metro 2033
Huge fan of survival horror games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
MuffinTyrant
Location: Scottville MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love survival horror games as the title suggests and this was not really the usual type of survival horror game I play but it was incredibly fun. PS: For the recommendations Arma 2 = Day Z
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
ARMA 2
7.7 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Metro 2033
Great story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/13
Jb0ne8o4
Location: Richmond,Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A short campaign overall.This game has an amazing story and very deep story line, I can't wait to play the sequel!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Metro 2033
Save Bullets!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
VAUGHNRACING
Location: Kento ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
amazing gameplay loved the challenge and the alt. ending was great cant wait till the next one gunna be amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Metro 2033
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
falloutpro6
i love me a great post apocalyptic game! this was perfect! i loved how gripping it was, and how real it was! excellent game overall!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Metro 2033
Hated it!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/13
Behemoth2484
Location: West Warwick, RI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bought it earlier today (used thankfully!) and returned it not even an hour later. Stay away and save your money!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metro 2033
scary but good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/13
agemaner
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
game was epic. scary as heck though. honestly i think it was creepier/scarier than dead space. but really epic game. keeps u on your toes. i recommend using head phones to keep u even more on edge especially at night time. o and spoiler if u see a librarian use 10 shots from auto shotty and u might live. just sayin
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Metro 2033
Great Game with room for improvement
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
HoosierIU
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Do not listen to the people that hate this game. This game is beautiful, weird, and tragic. It has all the elements of call of duty and fallout 3 combined. While this game has some flaws such as lags, weapon malfunctions, if you have patience, this game is great. Some stealth parts are very difficult but the game is down right fun. Hopefully Metro 2033: Last Light comes out with less bugs and it will make a fantastic sequel
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Metro 2033
Post-apocalyptic in Russia.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
Xbox098
Location: Houma, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My friend requested this game a long time ago and I never bought it, well that was a HUGE mistake. I bought this game a few weeks ago and it's so fun, pretty scary and just a great story. I still have yet to beat this game because I take games slow for some reason, but I can assure you that if you buy this game you will not be disappointed. The graphics are good, gameplay is alright, not the best, but you get used to it, the sound is eerie in most scenes and it's just a masterpiece, definitely buy this game, and Metro Last Night looks even better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Metro 2033
This is the best unknown game of all time!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
idontknowhahahahaha
Location: CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just purchased Metro 2033 on Xbox live, and let me tell you, why this game isn't one of the most popular titles ever, I don't know. The graphics are amazing, the feel of it is creepy, the sound track fits the game perfectly, and the gameplay is insanely fun. Although there isn't much of a hud, that's good! It makes the game feel more realistic. The only downside I can see to this game is that there are smaller amount of weapons(about 10 total) that you can use, but this does not take away from the value of the game at all!! GET THIS GAME!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Metro 2033
Just played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/12
CrabApples
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just finally got this game.. And i was impressed to say the least. I wasn't expecting much to be honest but this is one of the best games I've ever played. I played through my first time with absolute violence and then my second time without any and it was STILL amazing both times. Try this game out.. Its old so there's only so many copies of it left. But if you find a used one just buy it. Anyone who loves a good shooter will love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Metro 2033
bought game returned it and bought it again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/12
4ssAss1n
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought the game when it first came out returned it and bought it again because i missed it. A must buy take it from a hardcore gamer you will love it along with the game play and i loved the ending i just cant wait for last light
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Metro 2033
One of the greatest unknown shooters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
KingRafiki
Location: Grapevine, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I downloaded this from the xbox live marketplace about 4 months ago. Only took me about 8 hours to beat but it was AMAZING. Similar in a sense to fallout but with alot more fear while playing. Kind of like some resident evil games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Metro 2033
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
Reaper1
Location: Nowhere
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
one of the best games i've ever played. it could have been longer. it only to me 6 hours to complete it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Metro 2033
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
101202
Location: farmington, MN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is very story driven with some horror i love this game and would recommend it to anyone on earth.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Metro 2033
A masterpiece; FPS with a Half-Life 2 vibe
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metro is one of the rare games that transcends genres and even mediums. It is a book told in game form and a really good one at that. Graphics are good without being amazing but they, along with the music, set the tone and setting PERFECTLY, giving you that full immersion that great games can occasionally do. It starts as a simple journey from Point A to Point B but becomes very interesting very quickly.
The gameplay is good but not outstanding. I'd strongly recommend turning the look sensitivity up if you've played some other FPSs. The selection of weapons is relatively varied and in an interesting twist bullets ARE the common currency. High-Grade Military Rounds are your "money" to buy new guns, health-kits, granades, etc. This leads to an interesting dilemma where you have to weigh your priorities and playing style; you can use the high-grade bullets to take down a tough enemy or sneak past and save them for that sniper rifle or shotgun. I'd compare the combat-part to Half-Life 2 perhaps..... it's not as tight as COD or Halo but is sturdy enough to where you can get your headshots and precision sniper shots with a little practice.
Another place where Metro has a close similarity to HL2 is the use of music and visuals to create an immersive experience.... as drawn-in to City 17 as I was with Half-Life 2, I was just as enthralled by the Russian Metro System. Metro really is a survival horror game moreso then Resident Evil 5 was..... you have to make your bullets count (you won't find enough to go spraying a room blindly with a machine gun) and hearing claws scraping and growls around the corner/in the air vents/behind a window are used to perfection to create a constant tension that builds throughout the whole game.
Metro 2033 is an amazing game that I would recommend to anyone, even someone who doesn't like First-Person-Shooters. It can be a bit difficult but that adds to the hanging-on-a-thread feeling you have throughout the game. The story is very interesting and there are actually 2 separate endings based on some of your in-game decisions. If this has been a game that you've considered picking up or have been wavering on..... hesitate no more. Be warned, though, if you are looking for a Bulletstorm/Halo/Gears of War slugathon this might not be exactly what you are looking for. I'd describe this game as a book that just happens to be in game form (and yes, I'm aware that this game is based on a book..). I'd almost call it a work of art..... Regardless it is definitely worth the current price and I'd strongly recommend it, especially if you are a fan of the Half-Life or Bioshock Games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metro 2033
Almost Gold
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
Kasrkin
Location: Kindred,ND
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I rated everything 10/10, because it deserved it. The only thing that is bad with the game is the occasional confusion on where to go. The gameplay is fun and grueling! There are some places you just want to quit the game, because it requires you to think and form a strategy. I was stuck in (SPOILER) the mission with the Reds vs. Fourth Reich. It took me ten times to form a plan that worked and then 2 more times to perfect it. This game is not for the shoot and run kind of people. It is for the thinkers and the strategists. The graphic are ok. Moscow, I admit, could have been done better. I just beat this game for my second time, and the atmosphere of it keeps dragging me back to the game! I can't wait for the next Metro to come out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metro 2033
Tries too hard
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
Hermenthotip
Location: Butte, MT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a pretty fun game, and the graphics are pretty good. I'm still not entirely sure why a game that came out in 2010 is still $25 though. But it tries too hard to be scary and it fails. With great, scary survival-horror games these days like Dead Space and the F.E.A.R franchise, Metro 2033 seems mild. It's not scary at all. It's more of just an action game, rather than survival-horror. If you're looking to be scared by a game, get Dead Space, or F.E.A.R 2, not this. If you're just looking for a fun action shooter, get Metro 2033.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Metro 2033
Hidden Gem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
Anemicnapalm
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I found this game by these reviews although i had heard of Metro 2033 it had slipped through the cracks of other title i had purchased , i took a look at the reviews and they were all pretty much positive so i said why not.....and i wil have to agree Metro 2033 is a great game ,although its a bit slow in the beginning it picks up and keeps going strong till the end, basically 2033 Nuclear war has destroyed the world the surviving humans are living in the existing metro tunnels, trying to survive from fallout, mutants, German SS. With an outstanding sense of danger good story and immersive environments . Exceeded my expectations, game has good graphics and effects as well . sooooo i admit it is quit difficult at times, yu can always dumb down the difficulty . This is a Russian made game ported to the US, and i have to say our communist friends did a great job with metro 2033.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
billbob
 
Please wait while more information about billbob is loaded.
Additional information about billbob could not be loaded.
Posted 6/8/12
Russia is not communist anymore
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Metro 2033
A Realistic Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
BigDaddyD3lta
Location: Them moon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. It's acually realistic, if there was an apocalypse, this is exactly how it would turn out. The story line is epic, first person shooter are always fun plus the use of gasks masks in blows me away. You even have to charge up your electronics, I havnt played any other games that you have to do this, its awesome.They put alot of effort in this game and it's deffinitly worth getting. Im 17 years old and I enjoy survival games like this, other games blow when it comes to reality, this game nailed it. Most games already do the important stuff for you, but this, you get to do it for yourself. Love this game and forever will.
Hope you like my review.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>