GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Metro 2033

Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth's surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind.
Average Customer Rating:
8.8
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metro 2033
Review 1 for Metro 2033
Awesome for a story driven game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/10
Parkinsl
Normally I like open games where you can explore the world you've been planted in. Metro is story driven so you have to move along eventually, but your not pushed along like some games. The characters that guide you to the next level of the stories generally wait for you to do any back tracing for goodies. Some of the fighting was pretty intense, I enjoyed them quite a bit. I understood that this story is based on a russian book published in europe. I actually tried to get this book but have had some difficulty. Anyways, I liked the game quite a bit. It reminded me of Fallout 3 or STALKER Call of Pripyat in its storylines, but the russian nuances and art work make the game have a new and interesting feel to it. HARDWARE PROBLEMS: I noted that in the beggining I had a terrible time with frame rates even with a quadcore pc with plenty of memory and an Nvidia 9800 GT. I noted that in the game settings the physics check box says ADVANCED physics, so I unchecked it. The game ran well after that.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metro 2033
Great play and scary
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/11
codmetal2112
Location: Knoxville,TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a great play for gamers of Fallout 3 and F.E.A.R. Amazing Graphics and gameplay. Emphasizes survival especially with the DLC. Its scary both on the physical and mental fronts. But it is a game for thought and you will die at times so it is not an easy game. Story is like fallout 3 but gameplay is quite different, comaprable to New Vegas's Hardcore mode. The graphics are exquisite especially with the flow of the environments, but the character designs could use work, will be looking for character improvements on Metro: Last Night.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metro 2033
Almost perfect!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
g0thv4l1k
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing, superior story line, great graphics, a load of fun, and a fantastic system, would recommend this game to any first person shooter or anyone just looking for great storytelling!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metro 2033
The most atmospheric FPS shooter you'll play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/14
Radiance277777
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are looking to play a fast paced, short, insanely atmospheric single player campaign, this is it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Metro 2033
Dark and difficult
Posted on:5/3/10
CarlC
Crysis fans take note... everything you loved about those graphics apply here...if you have the horsepower to run it. I am really enjoying it. Play is difficult and you die (ALOT). But at each level there is a trick to get through and eventually you figure it out. A really good investment.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metro 2033
not fallout 3
Posted on:4/26/10
Tipsytutel
Well if you like a game that has to load the next frames after every chapter and is so hard you get more frustrated and mad then having fun, this games for you. The only reason I stayed with it was because I totally got mad at dieing all the time. Never a chance our rest point to look around for ammo, gas mask filters etc. All ways out classed and low on ammo. Going around in circles to find were to go. Finally just took it off. Its a long way from Fallout 3 which left you room to look around and take a little time to find items. Waste of my time.
1 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SoldSnake
 
Please wait while more information about SoldSnake is loaded.
Additional information about SoldSnake could not be loaded.
Totally biased opinion
Posted 10/28/10
You're basing this game on another game in a completely different genre. This game is completely more shooter-oriented than Fallout 3, which could have not even have had a first person view and you wouldn't even have noticed. It's not supposed to be Fallout, and it does a few things very well. You, however, sound like you need to get over your criticism and look at it differently: that it's not Fallout 3, and it was never meant to be Fallout 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Metro 2033
Awesome Game, Just had a few problems.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
JazzFlute
Location: Wayland, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the game, i got it for my xbox a while back and loved it so much i needed it for my PC. Thanks to the recent deal i got it for a really good price and i had to snatch it up. The only problem was when i downloaded it it said it was missing a "PhysXLoader.dll" file from the game. After finding this out i re-downloaded it and had the same problem. Anyone know how to fix it?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mojtaba
Iran
 
Please wait while more information about Mojtaba is loaded.
Additional information about Mojtaba could not be loaded.
Are you kidding?
Posted 11/28/12
Just Install Nvidia PhysX and it's over. Enjoy The Ukrainian First Person Shooter and pray for me!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Metro 2033
Can't wait...
Posted on:3/2/10
Tassen
I can't wait for this game to get released. It looks absolutely amazing from the screen shots and videos released so far. If it is only half as good as the Stalker trilogy, it is a must have.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.