GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Ocean: Last Hope International

The year is A.D. 2087. In the aftermath of World War III, Earth has been ravaged and the population decimated by a deteriorating environment. The countries that survived have joined together to form the Greater Unified Nations and turned their eyes skyward...to space. Edge Maverick and his childhood friend Reimi Saionji are chosen as pioneer members of the Space Reconnaissance Force, which was created to seek out new worlds beyond the stars. Their ship, the Calnus, takes its place on the lunar launch pad along with four other starships of the first reconnaissance fleet. These ships - humanity's last hope - blast off one-by-one and sail into the awaiting wormhole that leads to the vast star ocean. And so, Edge and his crew begin their voyage in search of a new haven for humanity...and a second chance.
Average Customer Rating:
9.318
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 2291%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Review 1 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Recycled Garbage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/13
SeaLionsRCool
Location: Spokane, WA
This game is absolutely horrible for a star ocean fan or someone that has played any quality games. They made the game ridiciously hard and it is way off balanced. The characters and story are not the greatest.
There is however a bit of fan service to the original SNES Star Ocean (though most of America and the world outside of the eastern hemisphere more than likely wouldn't know it). There is also a bit of fan service from the Star Ocean : The Second Story. I could honestly see the development of this game and its mechanics being great or bright ideas.
Especially with people that have worked on previous games or similiar titles. I can tell some brainstorming went down in a room with a group of people. Even then I would recommend not buying or playing this game.
You really get the feeling that you are flat out not supposed to succeed or move forward.
Alot of sounds and battle actions recycled from star ocean till the end of time.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
New favorite game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
Naime
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Along with Persona 3, this is my favorite game of all time. Although the Japanese voice acting is much better (an accessible option in-game allows the player to play the Japanese dub with the English sub titles), the English voice acting is somewhat decent (for some of the characters).
Although Star Ocean Till the End of Time was the first JRPG that I have ever played entirely through, I did not feel as deep of a connection to it as I did to Star Ocean the Last Hope. The characters in Star Ocean the Last Hope gradually develop throughout the game. I have never seen characters that developed so well throughout that course of time, so I was very pleased by this.
Pros:
Music
Combat
Graphics
Story
More realistic than other games
Riding on giant bunnies
Reasonable length between towns, cities, etc
Plentiful quests
Cool outfits
Great plot twist *cries*
Improved symbology (does way more damage than in other games)
Improved healing and support
Unique enemies
Less grinding than the other games
Long cutscenes (personal preference)
Character development
Improved item creation
Private Actions with characters
Faize
Cons:
Frustrating boss battles
Lymle's voice (although I still love the character)
Long time between save points
Story was too short
Save points do not heal (like all Star Ocean games)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
The Last Hope ^_^
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/13
Brye
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Star Ocean: The Last Hope is a really Phenomenal RPG. i would definitely Recommend this to hardcore gamers. ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Great game with some missteps.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/13
Muslimsk8r
Location: Greensboro, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is my first foray into the star ocean franchise and I must say I am not happy that I missed the others. The combat in this game is excellent and outside of the sometimes wonky AI bring to the game everything that I would expect it to do. The graphics are vibrant and the worlds are large which caters to alot of exploration. And this brings us to the sound quality which has a great musical score but horrific voice acting. When you cringe to go talk to some charcters you know something is wrong ( lymle, the girl in the communications center, the fat admiral in the intro cutscenes the list goes on and on). Overall however, outside of the voice acting this is a great game which is now hard to find so if you have a copy hold unto it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
A fun and challenging JRPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
Arcfan10000
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Im more of a fan of Star Ocean 2: The second story, so i didnt know
what to expect because I didnt like Til the end of Time.
As a matter of fact I played 2-3 hours of Til the End of time and lost interest completely. The characters were not that good in my opinion.
Thankfully the game has elements that will remind you of Star Ocean 2.
And there is remixed music from planet Roak that was on the first Star Ocean. There is also Star Ocean 2 music tracks in the game but I have not gotten that far yet. But im getting there.
I wanted a more difficult challenge so I played on Galaxy Level, not Earth Level. It made the game way harder than I was expecting. So if your wanting a challenge then I highly recommend this mode. The characters on this game are better than the ones on Til the End of Time. Private Actions and Customizing weapons and armor also come back to the series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Greatest RPG I've played in a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/12
Immortalnerd
Location: Rutland, VT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is beautiful. From the story to the smallest thing you can think of. It has a lot of gameplay. Unfortunately it doesnt have NG+ but your data does carry over. If you haven't played it yet then you should. 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
great rpg game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
chris30rko
Location: hagerstown maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
star ocean is a great rpg game great grapics and music a must have for rpg gamers. it also has great gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
One of the best RPG'S out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
MASDGTHYJJ
Location: Sac
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well when i 1st got this game i put it in my ps3 right away i started the game then about an hour in the game you got to roam and fight monsters i hated it because i kept dieing it was really hard but of course i was playing on the hardest mode but then i figured it out this isnt just a typical button smashing game you actually have to use alot of strategy its a really neat set up and after a while you can master it and thats when the game gets really fun well in this game the graphics are amazing brought to the fullest to the ps3 the gameplay never gets boring its not to hard but definetly not easy the story is excelent very good twist and very very very very long i really enjoyed how you could change from character to character and you get alot and there very awesome looking. I would say the only bad thing about this game would have to be the camera viewing its crazy and its really hard to focus in tight end areas well overall this game was great and if you have a ps3 its a must have:)(it reminds me of the series .hack, and .hack G.U very simalur)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
A Must Buy For Any JRPG Fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
SquallLeonhart
Location: Balamb, USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best JRPG on the PS3, and even better, since it's the international version you can switch the voice acting to Japanese. Although not many people will use this feature, it does have the talented voice actress Miyuki Sawashiro, who has also starred in the animes, Durarara!! and Canaan. But back to the game. It has amazing gameplay and likeable characters. The graphics are comparable to Final Fantasy XIII's. Star Ocean is a somewhat linear series but it has the feel of an open world it. The only bad part I notice is that it will lag once in a while during battles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UnhappyCustomer5154
Mineral Wells
 
Please wait while more information about UnhappyCustomer5154 is loaded.
Additional information about UnhappyCustomer5154 could not be loaded.
Not Avalible Online...
Posted 8/7/12
I would love to get this game but it isn't avalible online or in the closest store I would have to drive an hour to the closest store that might have this game and I don't have the money for that. Is there no other way I can get this online?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Cleared it, Man!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/11
Joshinator
Location: Waterford, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cooliest game ever and i've beaten it for the first time. Last time i reached the final round, it was quite frusturating at first because i couldn't beat last year, but THIS year i did. I hope i can go for a second try and if i beat that game a couple of times, i should name it the "Most JRPG game of the year!". It looks like my game is on the sixth year in the making. You wanna know why? Because my game is stcking with me Until 2017. Anyone who doesn't have that game like i do or anyone else, get it because that is the BOOOMMMBBB!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ginio619
 
Please wait while more information about Ginio619 is loaded.
Additional information about Ginio619 could not be loaded.
A childrens game.
Posted 4/16/11
Has action, adventure battle style is cool as heck but the story line in one of the most without a doubt pathetic i ever played. Talk about trying to teach someone about the value of friendship.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
One of the Best RPG's to PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
TDAKitana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will go out on a limb and say that this is the BEST RPG i have ever played.
I started with the starocean franchise with star ocean 3, and star ocean 4 did NOT dissapoint me.
The game play is amazing, it's pretty challenging.
The graphics and sounds are excellent.
There is so much to do after the main game.
the only drawback is i LOVE collecting platinum trophies.
If you wanna buy this game just to get the plat trophy, please don't
this is the hardest platinum for the ps3, needing 500+ hours.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leopectus
Harrisburg, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Leopectus is loaded.
Additional information about Leopectus could not be loaded.
Darn...
Posted 4/18/11
I would actually be a brand new player to the Star Ocean Universe...I've had may friends recommend the series to me over the years as I am a HUGE J-RPG fan (Wrote a review on Ar Tonelico 3 recently).
However, I'm also a big time trophy nut...and a 500 hour platinum? I've dealt with Cross Edge and Record of Agarest War (both 200+ hr Platinums) but that's just outlandish....I suppose I could put my OCD to bed if the game is truly that amazing but that's really dissuasive.
Let me know if you think it is worth forgoing the Platinum.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
A Mostly Subjective Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/11
deliquium
For starters, I've been a fan of the series since the second installment. Star Ocean is known for its epic storytelling, full-active battles, moderate puzzles, in-depth item creation, and a number of secret dungeons, events, items, and endings. Despite many of the reviews here, The Last Hope doesn't exactly live up to its predecessors, even if it's a good game overall. And even if you've never played a Star Ocean before, you may want to know some things.
Gameplay: The camera sucks. It's dizzying and wanders around inexplicably. This is most noticeable in small rooms and tight hallways where the camera is zoomed in. There is a "Dash" feature that allows you to sprint for an extremely short distance (out of battle). It's "supposed" to be use to avoid/ambush enemies. When traveling long distances, you'll find yourself constantly dashing in order to save time, and you'll have to listen to the annoying grunts of your main character the whole way.
Battle: The battle system is slightly dumbed down from the previous iteration. There is one attack button and a largely useless jump button, while the shoulder buttons are used for quick-casting spells and techniques. The battle skills are largely awesome, but many of the spell animations look lazy or bland.
Enemy targeting can get REALLY annoying (mainly if you're trying to steal). The character you're controlling at the time auto-targets an enemy based on either proximity or threat level. You may press Select to target someone else, but oftentimes the game will re-select the old target before you can even attack. Fighting the friendly AI can be more challenging than fighting the enemy AI.
The Anti-Attack Aura from the third Star Ocean was replaced with automatic guarding. The new Blindside feature can be used to exploit enemy AI for nearly game-breaking results. The battles themselves are only challenging if you're under-leveled. This is recommended if you want it to be a tough RPG.
Story and Characters: Simply put, they're not as good as Star Ocean 2 or 3. Some characters are absurdly childish and think in ways that make no logical sense. There are also no secret characters, which is unfortunate to fans of the franchise. Thankfully, nearly all the characters are useful and you're guaranteed to find a party of four you actually like. I suppose the story itself gets a passing grade. Not great but not bad. Every ending can be attained in one playthrough, but some are secret.
Other: If you're a completionist, you'll find this game more than frustrating. Expect 400 or more hours of boring if you want the Platinum. There are many repetitive (yet skippable) side quests that require item-farming. Several items and quests are missable.
Ultimately it's a solid RPG that anyone should be able to complete. Item Creation is simpler than it was before, which is both good and bad. The private actions can be pretty funny and the bonus content is very fulfilling as always. Oh, and the voice acting is as horrible as ever.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chris30rko
hagerstown maryland
 
Please wait while more information about chris30rko is loaded.
Additional information about chris30rko could not be loaded.
star ocean is one of its kind
Posted 12/30/11
star ocean is a great game it has great grapics and good gameplay the music is good and weapons is good a must have for rpg gamers star ocean international is one of its kind.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Beautiful Story and Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Star Ocean: Last Hope International is the fourth installment in the series since it began in '96. However, this game is actually a prequel in terms of its storyline to the previous titles. I have been a fan of this RPG franchise for a long time and am very pleased with this addition. It brings back features from previous games that veterans will enjoy yet has enough new concepts that anyone will enjoy.
The game takes place after World War III that has left the Earth in a state of dismay where humans must find another residence somewhere in space. The protagonist is Edge Maverick, a young man who eventually takes on the responsibility of commandeering your spaceship the Calnus with his childhood friend Reimi. You explore outer space in search of a way to save humanity but along the way you visit many beautiful worlds, meeting interesting characters, and travel through time.
Traveling through space and visiting planets allowed you to meet a very memorable cast of characters such as Lymle, a prodigy girl with extraordinary magical powers, Bacchus, a cyborg with great physical and technological powers, as well as Faize, an elf-like character that is Edge's protege. There are many more characters but I really felt a connection with them and they ALL played a role in the overall plot. Each character has their own combos and abilities and you get rewards for accomplishing certain tasks. You fight in real time and I loved the battle system; it was the perfect combination between strategy and real-time action.
The graphics were vibrant and brought the environment to life. You could also craft materials while aboard the Calnus for main story and side story quests (ranging from weapons to miscellaneous items). One of my favorite side quests was in the arena. Here you could have gladiatorial arena battles where you work your way up the ladder to become the #1 team. There was also a racing component where you could raise a pet and customize it to race in a particular course. You received currency that counted towards cool prizes.
The private action sequences were also great. These are essentially interactions with characters where presented with a series of questions, answering the right one will gain you points. Enough of these will enable you to see certain special endings upon completion of the game. You could also travel back and forth freely between planets instead of just running through the main storyline. Lastly, the voice acting was solid and the soundtrack was beautiful.
Star Ocean: The Last Hope International is an awesome RPG that you should definitely get even if you aren't traditionally a fan of the genre. I thought it was a combination of elements every game should have; a great story combined with equivalent graphics, sound, and game play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Great Graphics, Great Story, Awesome Battle System
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
jeffeng
Location: Queens, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played Star Ocean 3 on my PS2 before. Once I bought a PS3, I bought this game right away. Because I love star ocean's battle system(i think action-RPG would be even better though) and story a lot. There is a few i want to talk about though. Even though this is really a great game to play. But there are also a few annoying things on this game. This game is really for hardcore games only. Because the dungeon on this game is very very very complicated, confused, and annoying. I almost stucked on all the dungeon in this game. I have to go to the internet to look at walkthrough to get through dungeon. And the dungeons are very long and lack of save points(It takes 2-3 hours for me to get to another save point. If i want to save, i have to walk all the way back in the beginning of dungeon to save). But still its worth to play this game. The graphics, story, and battle system is very good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Long lasting experience :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
Jayebirdie
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing! The best thing about this game is that it is really really long. Now a days you can beat most games in a day if you play it non-stop. There are many Side-Quest to do. There are a lot of extra stuff in the game like another dungeon after the main boss. The Item creation is neat and the battle trophies are pretty cool. This game is very challenging. The main story is well put together and the cut scenes are amazing. You will have to strategize in order to win the battles in this game. Its get easier once you play it for a little while. (gotta love the blindside.) The game will leave you guessing until the end. Twist and turns in the story will leave you breathless so to speak. This game will challenge you I guarantee it. The only thing I didn't like about this game is the little girl who kept saying KAY in every sentence. Anyone who has played this game will know what I'm talking about.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Tri-Ace has done it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
Kiyomi
Location: My House
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I first became interested in the Star Ocean series with the third one, Star Ocean: Till the End of Time, so I thought this would be a good investment for my PS3 to buy this one. Oh my how right I was, Star Ocean: The Last Hope is even better than the previous one! It's free battle style and character appeal are phenominal along with their humor in their cut scenes and PAs (private actions). Those who are hardcore fans of the Tales of Symphonia series will find this game to be appealing along with fans of Final Fantasy. All in all, I HIGHLY recommend getting this game if you own an Xbox360 or PS3 but be aware that this game will take more than 50 hours to complete just on the main story alone. 10 of 10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
8.5 is a nice rating!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/10
jokericon00
Introduction: This is my first time playing any game from the Star Ocean Franchise, I usually only stick to Final Fantasy; This game was very good. Pros: The absolute best thing about Star Ocean is the combat! You had to strategize to win a lot of your battles, which made the game fun and challenging. Some characters you had to level up above a certain level, just so they can be playable. Mostly the symbologist needs the most work, if you wanted to play with that character. The meleee fighters in this game were BEAST! I recommend sticking with Edge, Arumat, Bacchus, and Reimi. You will win all of your fights sticking with these characters. The rush gauge was very helpful in combat, and it saved you from spending great amounts of MP. The beat system was very useful, and Beat S & B were the best ones to use. Parts of the story were very entertaining, and it helped you learned more about the history of the game and characters. Another useful thing about this game was the item creation system. There were so many useful items, and you will need to progress in the game. The Colosseum is the best place to be; this is the second greatest feature that they added to the game. If you want to level up your characters fast, and fight challenging enemies; the Colosseum is the best place to be. Cons: Although I liked this video game, there was a lot of things that needed to be redefined. First, I will start with the quest. The quest were fun and they gave you valuable items, but it took forever to get most of them completed. Some of the quest were pointless, because the items and experience they give you were useless. Some quest ask you to wait two hours later, so that you can complete it at a later time. The items for some of those quest were pointless, and sometimes you had to complete that quest, so that you can advance to a better side quest. I thought the symbologist characters were useless, especially when their attack power is weak, and some of the healing properties are available to most characters who were not symbol users. Some of the special attacks could have been a bit more flashy. The absolute worst part of this game was the new skills that you acquire as you gain higher levels. The skills at higher levels were terrible, and some of them didn't even do damage to the enemy. Some of the better skills were after you beat the game, and at that point they were pretty much worthless. Overall: The game was really good, and the melee fighters had some of the best skills ever. The story and character powers needed a bit of worker, but you can work with it if you have patience. Leveling up you characters is very easy to do, and some of the fights are very fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Faboulous!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/10
Dreaming Lunatic
I just got this game due to a video preview my friend showed me. I absolutely love it! From the graphics, to the story, to the characters, I adore it all! However, i did find that the game reminded me a lot of Tales of Symphonia & Tales of the Abyss, two of my all time favorite games. The thing all these games have in common is the battle system, which is what really sucked me into this game. This game is just amazing, I would suggest it to any "Tales of" fan or even a new gamer! However, if you are already a fan of Star Ocean. here's a great addition to your collection! Seriously, I think I can play for hours(I was up to six just now), unfortunately, playing without stopping isn't possible due to sleep & hunger, wish I could though with this absolutely amazing game in my possession! Of course, if you just want to try it I suggest renting it before buying if you are unsure, though I'm sure you'll enjoy it so much you won't ever go back to returm your rented version!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Star Ocean & PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/10
Star Ocean fan
I'm glad SO:LH int. arrived on PS3, I knew it was comming. Story is excatly like the 360 version, the PS3 exc. features are a small + though. If anyone has played SO:till end of time, they will enjoy this game. I will continue playing Last Hope once I get a bigger TV because some fonts on the screen are too small for me to see. I own the entire SO collection including the org. Star Ocean which was released only in Japan for the Super Famicom. (until the PSP re-make came to U.S. in 2008) I also own SO:Blue Sphere which was JP only for the gameboy color. Hoping for a re-make on either DS or PSP, but it's unlikely to happen.... I'm a litle sad that the series has come to an end. I hope Final Fantasy keeps going for a few more years, I used to buy every RPG I saw back in the days of PS & PS2, but I don't do that anymore because I don't have time to play them all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Star Ocean: Last Hope International
Best in the Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/10
Dagger_Tribal
As someone who's played the previous three installments of this series, I had a lot of expectations. Amazingly they were all met and then some. Anyone who's played a Star Ocean before, knows the general challenge level. Max level for your characters is always 255, at least one large bonus dungeon that pushes your skills to the limit, and Item Creation for hours of enjoyment. Item Creation in this one is taken a step further from Til the End of Time. You must first invent the item recipes, then collect the items needed to craft them. The battle system is just like previous installments, but going back to a four character party unlike Till the End of TIme. The interface in this international version is interchangeable between an anime style and modern, cg character style. Voice overs and be heard in English or Japanese. I thought the English voices were fine, but I know A LOT of people of hard to please in that department. The music is so obviously Star Ocean-style, if you've played the previous games, and you hear the tracks, you're like "Yes!! This is Star Ocean!!" Great soundtrack. Characters may be customized with a variety of special skills, symbology (magic), and customizable equipment. Skills, like in previous games, can be leveled up to become more powerful. A variety of combos are available and the BEAT system, which allows the characters to focus stats in certain areas based on their own fighting styles. The main storyline length is very long, to me anyway. I like to take my time. I just beat the main storyline yesterday at about 70 hours, but that was with all the TONS of quests that can be done, and I still haven't finished them all. The storyline itself is actually really good. There were some unexpected twists that were really great and each character has an ending that can be unlocked at the end. Graphics of course were good. 720p, if you have an HDTV, it will look great. Overall this is my favorite of the series. And I can say that since I've played them all. The main character Edge is my favorite main protagonist also. I highly recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>