GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alan Wake

In this long-awaited exclusive Xbox 360 title, fill the shoes of one Alan Wake, a man who makes his living from the terror of others as a best-selling suspense novelist. Trapped in the deceptively peaceful Washington town of Bright Falls, where he came to escape the trauma of losing his fiancée, Alan must piece together a mystery to prevent himself from being trapped inside a nightmarish world forever.An intense psychological thriller from Remedy, the creators of Max Payne, Alan Wake raises the bar for future games, creating a true cinematic experience. Explore an expansive world filled with missions, unique puzzles, intense combat, and horrifying enemies. Dig into a twisting and multi-layered story filled with suspense, engaging characters, and shocking revelations.
Average Customer Rating:
8.939
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (198 reviews)
10 stars
87
9 stars
37
8 stars
23
7 stars
3
6 stars
5
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
151 out of 16592%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alan Wake
Review 1 for Alan Wake
Great Gaming Experiance
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
FaithThatFailedYou
Location: Savannah, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up Alan Wake becuase I heard that it was a decent RPG with a compelling story. I had no idea how much fun and enjoyable this game would be. I am addicted to online shooters and play them constantly, but this game was so great that COD and Gears temporarilly lost appeal. Great story, tempo, characters, etc. This game competes with the Fable series in my opinion and is most likely one of, if not the best platform RPG for the 360. I know it doesnt look like much, but for the used price it is absolutly worth a BUY. DONT THINK, GET THIS GAME!!! You will not be dissapointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alan Wake
Amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
CapnBenstead
Location: Springville, New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just can't express enough about how I LOVE this game! It was an absolute masterpiece from start to finish. Just buy it. I promise you will NOT regret it. It's only draw back is repetitive gameplay BUT, the mind-blowing story makes up for it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Alan Wake
Great but...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
Mindspark
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It had great Graphics and sound. But You run out of battery's and health to fast, the story is good though. Great game for hardcore gamers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 4 for Alan Wake
I WANT ALAN WAKE 2 PLEASE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/14
FPSGamer19720
Location: New Castle, DE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, I have been waiting and waiting and waiting. Please please make ALAN WAKE 2. This one of the BEST GAMES ON XBOX 360, if you haven't played it yet, GO BUY IT NOW, you will not be disappointed, no wonder after 4 years it is still one of the best games, cuz the STORY is awesome, the GRAPHICS are awesome, the GAMEPLAY is awesome. I am getting so tired of play the same ol COD style types of games, this was FRESH and EXCITING with the dark night and shadows. Please make an ALAN WAKE 2, I think enough people know that this game ROCKS, and I bet a million dollars that it will SELL HUGE compared to the first one. ps. I don't have a million dollars but if I did, I would use it to make ALAN WAKE 2. So if you have $20 bucks laying around, and you never played or seen this game, GO TO GAMESTOP RIGHT NOW AND GO BUY IT. I would still go out an pay $60 for this game, that is how good it is. ps. Best time to play it is at 12 Midnight with all the LIGHTS TURNED OFF, every Holloween my family and I play this at night. It is our Alan Wake Video Game reunion. GO BUY IT, thanks for reading. :O)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Alan Wake
Fight with light for your wife!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
MAXHUNTER
Location: Churubusco,IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alan Wake is a psychological horrer game that will leave you on the edge of your seat because you the story is that dramatic. With 6 episodes, 100 strange coffe thermoses, 106 pages of a manuscript you don't remember writing, and radios, signs give you of an understanding of what happens in Bright Falls. Here is a list of the six episodes.
1: Nightmare
2:Taken
3: Ransom
4: The Truth
5: The Clicker
6: Departure
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Alan Wake
Amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/13
jjxo
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A unique and outstanding psychological thriller. Has a great cinematic story line that keeps you drawn in and attached to the character. Once you start you won't want to stop playing. Great for people that enjoy a good, well made story line in a game. Definitely one of the top games on the xbox 360.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Alan Wake
Perfect Story and Sound
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
colinnn111
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played lots of games and this one had the best sound effects i have ever heard and was just so fun. Things jump out at you a lot witch made the game very fun. Also it had the BEST STORY I have ever seen i have seen thousands of games and play hundreads i play games all day long. This Game had a great story
 
My Product Recommendations
Alan Wake's American Nightmare - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.4 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Alan Wake
NEEDS a sequel
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
Dissonantshred
Location: Pottstown, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wasn't much into this when I first started playing it. It's a different kind of game. Not the usual mystery/suspense game. But once I played a bit further I was hooked. The atmospheres are amazing, as it takes place in the Pacific Northwest. The graphics of views from cliffs overlooking lakes, down mountainous roads, through trees are all great. The story also keeps one's attention. The game left me wanting more and a sequel is definitely needed. Although, as of a few weeks ago in my searches there is no news of one yet, and the game has been out for a few years. I'd be extremely surprised and disappointed if this is it. This game is highly recommended!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Alan Wake
Edge of your seat.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/13
MajorGamer51
From the very beginning till the very end, the story of Alan Wake keeps you sitting on the edge wondering what will happen next. Right when one story appears to be real, darkness comes and a new story is told. The game closely resembles Survival Horror games and is a masterpiece in dialog and story telling. I highly recommend this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Alan Wake
Roller Coaster Ride!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
thelastofus
Location: Cumming, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I may have thought that this game was total and utter wreck the first time i played it, but I eventually liked how scary and heartracing it got to. It was annoying at one point cause it wasn't helping on where to go, but as soon it gets coasting, it gets really good. As said in my review summary its like a roller coaster. Its slow in the beginning but after you get past that first drop its a great ride the rest of the way! (Space Mountain and Rock N Roller Coaster can relate to that). Trust me, I'm not scared of anything, but this game will get you scared for the time being of you playing the game. I highly recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Alan Wake
I Now Carry a Flashlight
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
SPIarmor42
Alan Wake is one of those few games that has everything. The graphics look great, the game play isn't stale or frustrating, and the story is incredible. It's one of those games that sucks you and refuses to let go.
I would like to warn you though, if you decide to buy the second one, American Nightmare, the story won't make sense. Even though the two games are barely linked, you still need to play the original AND the two DLCs to understand the conflict in American Nightmare. I played the demo for it before I bought the two games, and I know realize that I need the two DLCs to figure out where Mr. Scratch comes into the story (you'll figure out what I'm talking about if you play the demo and/or the game).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Alan Wake's American Nightmare - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.4 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Alan Wake
Like a movie!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
Robocool
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a masterpiece. The story is AWESOME!! Graphics are just perfect, sound is good, and gameplay is exciting!! PLAY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Alan Wake
Very good story
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/12
Thatwizardguy
Location: Places
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a very good deal especialy at twenty dollars. And for that twenty dollars you'll get a amazingly griping story and a decent amount of play time. The graphics for the most part are okay the lip syncing isn't very good at all, and the combat flows okay even if there are a few small difficulty sipkes here and there. And the page collectibles can take away from the tension by spoiling the story. But the collectibles will make you wan't to go back and play agin on the higher difficulty settings to get all of them. All in all I had a good time and there are by far worse games to spend your money on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Alan Wake
Not Scary While Its Awesome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
GamerToTheMaximum
Location: Bright Falls
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I like this game. I always run out of ammo and yet have not made it to the nearest gas station. I don't want to spoil stuff, but this game is great for everyone who doesn't like freaky horrors.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Alan Wake
should be a novel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
Hugh
Location: Roseville Mi.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
hey guys , it will not be a mistake if you get alan wake this is not a fake for heaven sake so pick up the control and shake and bake and when you're ready it's then you can awake , it's the real deal I must relay to you so get it now or you would be a fool ! games are getting better and better w/o a doubt and this will be one you'll be talking about ...
CAN YOU DIG IIIIIIIT ?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Alan Wake
I Already Wrote A Review, But...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
mitchinator
Location: Portland,Oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alan Wake. Alan Wake is my favorite game of all time. The atmosphere, the story, the graphics, the gameplay! I believe, that this game is close to perfection. The game has such an incredible story, that it is impossible to summarize in just a few sentences. Also, Remedy also nailed the atmosphere. It's dark, twisted, no one can be trusted. Characters in this game also move this game along. I was engaged in Alan's story from beginning to end. The game world feels as if it is real and on the map, and it really captures the dark and eerie tone. The graphics are nothing short of incredible. Fog surrounds you, trees sway in the fast winds, diners and gas station lights can be seen in the distance, and light posts at the top of the hills make you thrive for victory. In the game, you fight a lot of shadow figures. They attack you with various melee items. So you better stock up on batteries and bullets because it's going to be a long night. The game might not have the most compelling gameplay, but by the end of a battle, you feel accomplished. The game is difficult, but not on the level of Max Payne 3, or Splinter Cell. Alan Wake has terrific gameplay and satisfying levels. However, you might not love the ending. I on the other hand, loved it. Though it is very incomplete and complex, I understood it and found it to be a thrilling conclusion. As you can tell, I adored this game. Very little survival horror titles can deliver on the high notes of this incredible game. This game is very overlooked but it deserves much more love. Alan Wake is the reason why I play video games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Alan Wake
awesome experience to be in
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
phenom11legend
Location: phoenix
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game last week .. pre-owned, it didn't work so I had to change. I had to go to a gamestop near by to replace it, once i started playing I can't stop playing. The story is kind of confusing, but once you get the story and characters you will have a good story and great playing time.. I think you should give these a chance .. you won't regret it.. Just don't get it, if your not into rpg games, because you won't like it..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Alan Wake
Best story line ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
benphish
Location: nh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alan Wake is a very unique game. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end of the game and all of it's dlcs. This is a great game that is a lot of fun to play. If you don't have this game, buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Alan Wake
Awesome!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
mo62
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
must have adventure, action thriller. this game is great go buy a copy right now you wont regret it.it has an awesome story with excellent graphics. you will easily be addicted to this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Alan Wake
Gripping, Chilling, fun, and...confusing...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Anonymous
Location: statesboro, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Simply put this game is beautiful. Sometimes the animation can seem a little lame when characters are talking... but that's something that helped distract me from some of the very frightening moments of this game. The graphics are amazing and the game play is generally very good though slightly repetitive (but what game isn't in some way). The story and cut scenes are what make this game, the way each episode is introduced made me chuckle but also made me more interested and excited to play each time I turned on the console. I don't want to spoil anything but after playing i'm in desperate need of downloading the DLC to continue this well thought out story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>