GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alan Wake

In this long-awaited exclusive Xbox 360 title, fill the shoes of one Alan Wake, a man who makes his living from the terror of others as a best-selling suspense novelist. Trapped in the deceptively peaceful Washington town of Bright Falls, where he came to escape the trauma of losing his fiancée, Alan must piece together a mystery to prevent himself from being trapped inside a nightmarish world forever.An intense psychological thriller from Remedy, the creators of Max Payne, Alan Wake raises the bar for future games, creating a true cinematic experience. Explore an expansive world filled with missions, unique puzzles, intense combat, and horrifying enemies. Dig into a twisting and multi-layered story filled with suspense, engaging characters, and shocking revelations.
Average Customer Rating:
8.946
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (199 reviews)
10 stars
88
9 stars
37
8 stars
23
7 stars
3
6 stars
5
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
152 out of 16692%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alan Wake
Review 1 for Alan Wake
A brilliant game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/11
HelloMortals
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game in incredible. It has an amazing story line, some of the best graphics on consoles, great voice acting, perfect soundtrack and the gameplay works great and is a lot of fun. BUY THIS GAME! This superb game really deserves a sequel, so buy it and start supporting great games/developers before all were left with is the mediocre Call of Duty and its uninspired clones...
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alan Wake
Would make an epic MOVIE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
TheRealPy70man1ac
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought Alan wake as an impulse buy off of the Xbox Live Market place. After downloading it i was wondering what it was like. None of my friends (Online and off) have played it. I knew what it was kinda like from pictures and watching a small trailer but I wasn't hooked just yet. But, as soon as I shot my first 'Taken' I said to myself "I think this could be fun..." and I was right. This game was LONG. I beat games in usually less than $* hours but not this. I took about 4 days to beat it. I played nothing but this for four days! Most games nowadays are short or not interesting enough for a decent campaign. alan wake would be an EXCELLENT movie, like no joke the plot is solid and the acting could use a tad bit of tweaking but overall if they made it into a movie I would see it... again and again! I think if you want a game that has epic story, setting, gameplay, graphics, and even dementia then by all means buy or rent this. Worth your time!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alan Wake
Definelty a perfect game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/10
A-man67
Alright, the first thing you should know is that this a marvelous game. It may have taken 5 years to complete, but it was well worth it. The storyline is very good and the cut-scenes can be hilarious. I really like the fact that just about every object in the whole game you can interact with. The controls are great and very easy to learn, and the music in the game is beautiful. It is very cool that it is like playing a book. It is cool that you can find manuscript pages. Me and my brother love this game, we have just recently beat it and we were both thrilled at how remarkable the game was. My brother isn't even into games like this, and he still loved it. It isn't often that you see a perfect game, and this is one. (SPOILER ALERT) This game will have a sequel, and it will either be downloadable content, or an actual game. The ending of this game leaves more questions than answered, but they will all be answered. This game has beautiful graphics and left me awestruck. Flawless game, well worth the wait.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alan Wake
Best thriller/horror known to man
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
Sonic889
Location: Bloomington, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alan Wake has such twists and weird facts and stuff, that you have try to put the pieces together but don't know how to solve the mystery. The story of this reminds of the movie Darkness Falls where the town was attacked by the tooth fairy that killed everyone if they went in the dark, or Gears of War with the Krill that would eat you alive in the dark lol. You use light and guns and light weapons like flare guns and flashbangs to combat your foes. Alan Wake is a normal human not some bullet time, kung-fu maniac/munitions expert like most games, his movements are consisent with a normal person, his dodging his firing of a weapon even when you sprint excessively you sluggishly run as your sprint recharges like a normal person. Each time you think your safe something has gotten to you, though this game wasn't really as scary as some other games like Doom 3, Dead Space, RLH, or F.E.A.R.
NO matter what kind of gamer you are, if you love a great story that will keep you guessing what's gonna happen next you'll love Alan Wake.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alan Wake
Simply, Wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/10
Alan Wake fan
Alan Wake was a great adventure full of suprises and, as they advertise, cinimatic moments. The lenght was perfect with six episodes that take about an hour and a half to three hours in time. If you leave in the middle of an episode, to take a break, you can continue it at anytime. From almost the exact same moment as you left. This game also has excellent challage. The story line can somtimes be confusing if you miss a few clues so be sure to go back and look for missing info. I myself am used to Modern Warfare controls and the controls to this game are very similar, in my opinion. I love how almost all of the mage is in night and keeps you on edge. Very Awesome. The game alos has various tv shows that you can watch. Night Springs, is very similar to the tv show Twilight Zone, with the same creepyness. Also, for added effect, you must play this game at night, because of all the thrilling and suprising moments. Don't let the price of this game discourage you, this game is well worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alan Wake
Overhyped
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/11
Anonymous
Location: Jacksonville,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To be completely honest, I was very excited to play this game due to the hype it had received in the reviews. The premise was very innovative, but I feel there was a lot they could've done more.The Pros are simple: Graphically this game is stunning and the premise of the story is finely crafted but no where near executed to its full potential. This game is not scary and it would be an insult to games like Silent Hill to call this game a psychological thriller.
The dialogue alone is enough to make you want to play this game, it completely negates any eerie mood the setting has set up. Its corny how he reiterates his actions every step of the way, I get that its suppose to be like a book but come on.
The core game play could've been better, the point the flashlight at the taken then shoot him is cool, but its also very repetitive. If you run out of bullets, there is no melee option. In the survival genre there are a lot of better options. This game is a rainy day rental, at best.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SteveTheMime
 
Please wait while more information about SteveTheMime is loaded.
Additional information about SteveTheMime could not be loaded.
Posted 12/10/11
It seems a little odd to compare a teen rated game to silent hill because it is obviously not going to have explicitly gory or disturbing images, either way I'd go look for something else because I get the feeling you don't consider any game worthy of the title of "psychological thriller" unless it has that.
Customer Avatar
SimonSays
 
Please wait while more information about SimonSays is loaded.
Additional information about SimonSays could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
C'mon man
Posted 10/13/11
Dude, Alan Wake is a masterpiece. It is, and probably always will be, my favorite game ever made. All the things you said was bad, are some of the best parts of the game. It saddens me that you didn't see the game for the piece of art that it is.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Alan Wake
Good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/10
BossGamer
I just beat Alan wake and it was a good game. It is a little scary the enemies are power the only thing i hated about the game is that when Alan runs he gets tired so quick i mean say if you are all out of bullets you will have to run but as soon as he slow down the taken enemies will catch up to you and hit you but it is still a very good game i wound give it a 9.0. The best things i like about the game is the graphics,sound,,and the characters like berry. The best part in the game is when You are with berry on the stage and fireworks are 1 of your light source and theres ammo everywhere. i think every xbox 360 owner should have this game. I did not really like the ending of the game alice voice change in sound of a demon and says Alan wake up. I also completed the add on the signal and at the end of that hes falls to the ground and says how do i get out of here. He trapped in his nightmare i cant wait for the second add on comes out i will get it. My xbox live gamertag is IcedGamefreak.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Alan Wake
A Mindblowing Ride
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/10
wicket42
Location: Brownsburg, IN
This is a game about a novelist, Alan Wake who is trying to get his kidnapped wife back. Alan and his wife Alice are going on a vacation to the small tourist town of Bright Falls. While at their cabin, Alan and Alice have a fight and which leads to Alan exiting the cabin. then while he walking to regain his thoughts he hears screams coming from the cabin. Alan goes back to the cabin to find that Alice has been kidnapped. He blacks out and wakes up to discover that he is behind the wheel of his car, that has crashed. He gets out of the car and realizes that he can't remember what he was doing or where he was going. He then goes through a a series of increasingly strange events and he works to discover just what is truly going on and what he has to do with it. The games story is head-and-shoulders above its competition. intriguing, mindblowing and filled with twists and turns, it is something that will keep you thinking long after you are done with the story. The combat system of the game is unlike any other there is. You need to use light to weaken your enemies and then you can finish them off with an assortment of weapons. This is a horror game, you feel scared as the strange, possessed figures come closer, you try to fend them off with your flashlight but are constantly overwhelmed. This makes you always want to be in the light, for in the light is the only place you are truly safe. Alan wake is a game that I would recommend to anyone who is looking for single player adventure game. Its complex storyline keeps you guessing until the end and then the end makes you want the DLC and the DLC makes you want a sequel. The more I think about Alan Wakes story the more I like it. Sure, it has some annoying gameplay bugs but the unique storyline and combat system completely makes up for any problem in this game. I highly recommend that you buy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alan Wake
Very addicting and Fun Game but only a Rent
Posted on:5/6/10
360 Pirate xD
My first review of a game yes i already have it i got it for free haha but enough of that the graphics are good it reminds me so much of silent hill its kinda weird at first but the more the story goes along the more you get it well for gameplay theres only a few weapons that ive encountered so far and im pretty far into the game there is the revolver pretty standard you'll mostly use this weapon the whole time, the rifle very powerful you find this in the later levels, and the shotgun theres two types a pump action and a automatic both come in very handy, the flashbang and flares, theres not that many different enemies and the only way to kill them is to shine your flash light at them and get the darkness off of em and then shoot or flashbang em its like watching a horror movie its addicting and fun i theres options for downloadable content but of course i cant download nothing because of a banned xbox but i think this game is only good for a rent im sure i wont play this again after i beat it.
Review 10 for Alan Wake
good but not great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/11
DatFunkyCheese
Location: New York
Well when i saw the previews for this game on tv and what not. i thought to myself wow this might be another like silent hill game where its a thiller/adventure game. and should take a long time to finish. well i just baught it a few days ago and when i started it was actully pretty interesting with the story being great and the graphics were amazing. i got to the point where you need to rescue your wife from the kidnapper going through the woods and stuff. i relized that the levels are VERY VERY long. alot of running around and getting no where. then with the whole "oh point the flashlight at your enemy for a few seconds them you can shoot them" if you get surrounded with no flares with nothing but your flashlight and pistol by the time you expose one taken to shoot him the lumberjack behind you already has his big axe up side your head and your dead. i think this game could be a bit more succesful if you didnt have to shine a light at your enemy just to get a shot to kill them. but thats just me
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alan Wake
Absolutely spectacular
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
doratheexplorer
Location: Superior, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow. Alan Wake is by far one of the coolest games around. The concept of light and darkness fighting each other is a thrill ride through the forest. You play as Alan Wake [clearly] and must save your wife from the darkness. With that said though, this game is SUPER cheesy. At points, I almost felt embarrassed playing this. On the other hand, this game is one of the greatest 3rd person shooters I have ever played. Most of the time, you are running through a dark forest hoping nothing pops out at you and tries to hit you in the face with an axe. This game will make you jump quite a bit, just be warned. While you play it through, you will realise that the levels are super long, but the entire game itself is pretty short. It is 6 levels long, which personally is too short for a $20 game. Replaying it is fun for a while, it will probably last you a year or two, but after that you know what will happen and where all of the guys pop out from, Get this game if you are looking for something new, thrilling, an open world, and one of the greatest third person shooters ever made.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alan Wake
Overall a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/11
jerseymike
Location: Colts Neck, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just bought this game about 5 days ago. It started off pretty slow, however once the story started moving i couldn't stop playing. The whole weird concept of the game was something a little different, which i enjoyed. The only thing that bothered me with the actual gameplay was the way the camera was set up, putting you on the right or left side of the screen, instead of the center. Some parts of the game were really creepy, and actually had me scared while i was playing, as well as when i turned off my xbox 360. The game was pretty short though, being able to beat it in about 3 or 4 days. I also think that the downloadable episodes should have instead been included on game instead, just because the story was so good that you didn't want it to end. If you are interested in getting the downloadable content, re play games, or just like owning games then this is definitely a great game to own. If you only want to play the disc based game, and once you beat it you won't play it again, then rent it. The game really is great, but it is short, which makes for a good rent or buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alan Wake
What a great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/10
WÅR
This game is remarkable. I have to admit i never really heard of Alan Wake till about a week before release. So i watched some trailers and gameplay from youtube and i was hooked instantly. This game reminded me of Resident Evil meets Stephen King. To me, if these two were to have a baby, Alan Wake was the child. Anyway, the first thing i noticed was how beautiful the game was, and the controls are not difficult once you play the game for about 15 mins or so and learn where everything is. The storyline is great but i wish it did not move so fast. And what i mean by that is, By episode 4, you pretty much know what happened to Alan. The only other thing i wasnt to impressed with was the sound sync. Sometimes the you can tell the sound was not quite to par with the mouths, but was easliy overlooked. The story drives you into this world and i honestly could not put the controller down. This game is a must buy and i recomend everyone who has a Xbox360 to at least play this game once. You will not be dissappointed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Alan Wake
Fear and Longevity
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/10
WhoDoVoodooYouDo
I was hoping for more scares, but it seems just like every other thing attached to the "Thriller/Horror" genres just aren't delivering the fear like that once did. . . probably just my age. This fact does not detract from solid gameplay and a good interface. It delivers amazing visual and sustain a creepy atmosphere. The storyline is something I will rant over and over about for quite sometime, although it's a short lived experience delivering less than 10 hours of gameplay it was still a really enjoyable 10 hours with a storyline and atmosphere that kept you hanging on. The game only has two downsides, one of which will be remedied by July with downloadable expansion material and the other was the lack of fear. The game didn't classify itself as a Horror game and quite specifically states on the box a psychological thriller which it is in fact. All in all a great game. I highly recommend and would suggest to anyone who enjoys solid gameplay and a good story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Alan Wake
I WANT ALAN WAKE 2 PLEASE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/14
FPSGamer19720
Location: New Castle, DE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, I have been waiting and waiting and waiting. Please please make ALAN WAKE 2. This one of the BEST GAMES ON XBOX 360, if you haven't played it yet, GO BUY IT NOW, you will not be disappointed, no wonder after 4 years it is still one of the best games, cuz the STORY is awesome, the GRAPHICS are awesome, the GAMEPLAY is awesome. I am getting so tired of play the same ol COD style types of games, this was FRESH and EXCITING with the dark night and shadows. Please make an ALAN WAKE 2, I think enough people know that this game ROCKS, and I bet a million dollars that it will SELL HUGE compared to the first one. ps. I don't have a million dollars but if I did, I would use it to make ALAN WAKE 2. So if you have $20 bucks laying around, and you never played or seen this game, GO TO GAMESTOP RIGHT NOW AND GO BUY IT. I would still go out an pay $60 for this game, that is how good it is. ps. Best time to play it is at 12 Midnight with all the LIGHTS TURNED OFF, every Holloween my family and I play this at night. It is our Alan Wake Video Game reunion. GO BUY IT, thanks for reading. :O)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Alan Wake
Hmmm...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
Shane7595
Well, I have been excited for this game ever since it was first announced 5 years ago. Once i picked it up, I played it, and was hooked at the beginning, but the controls got repetitive about halfway through and lost their unique value. The storyline of it was great, up until the very end, i believe. It isn't very good the second playthrough, as I tried and was completely bored, so it does not have replay value, in my opinion; however, it IS worth at least a rent but as for now, I will be bringing this game back to pre-order Fable III or Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, which seem much more promising, and didnt take 5 years to complete. All in all, it is an ok game, but nothing outstanding. This game's GREATEST feat is it's sense of originality, and is something that many gamers have never seen before, so it is interesting, but I would not recommend you to spend money to buy this game. On average, it takes about 7 hours to complete on normal difficulty. :/
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alan Wake
Looks like a movie, plays like a game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
mattgamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SYNOPSIS: Alan Wake is a video game about a writer who goes on vacation with his wife Alice. Not all is well though, and the next thing Alan knows, she's gone. Now Alan is on a mission to find his beloved. On the way, he also finds manuscript pages of a book that says it is written by him, but with no memory of writing it. Nightmares come alive when Alan soon finds out the manuscript pages are becoming real and deadly. REVIEW: Alan Wake is a very action packed, intense, and mysterious game. The graphics are beautiful as well as the detail; so well it looks like every cutscene is part of a movie. The plot of the game is amazing. It holds you on the edge of your seat to see what will happen next as you play. The sound is fantastic. It makes me feel like I'm really there and sets the mood of the creepy atmosphere. The gameplay is very fun but a bit unlike some other games. It's a 3rd person shooter and the controls are a bit confusing to get at first, like any other game, but soon it seems natural to you. Overall, this game is a must-have for any gamer's collection. I'd say if you get a chance, to look into it, and hopefully buy it. You won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alan Wake
Allow Me To Shed Some Light
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/11
Crackmandan
Location: San Francisco, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is and is going to be, one of those games that will stand out for a long time to come. The story sucks you in and doesn't let go until the very end. When the end does come you sit there wishing there was more.
Some say the game is to short, I would only half agree. Maybe the game feels like it's short because for once people are blazing through the game because they enjoy it so much. I can only speak for myself when I say, I've been waiting for a game like this for a long time.
This is the only game (other than Resident Evil 1) that left me with that satisfied feeling yet wanting more. This piece of art is creative, fun, makes you jumpy and forces you to come to conclusions that will only be destroyed as the story unfolds further.
Do yourself a favor and run to your nearest Game Stop and purchase this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alan Wake
Refreshing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
ken229
Location: sd
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pros:
-Controls are very fluid and easy
-Amazing narative
-Graphics/sound are very pretty and help set the tone
-well paced game
-Great DLC
Cons:
- thet havent made Alan Wake 2 yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alan Wake
I'm glad I didn't trade it in!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/10
Adam Reeb
I picked up Alan Wake the day it came out along with Red Dead Redemption. I got home and just threw it on the table. I finally got to it about 3 days later and got to a point where I was having trouble figuring out the controls. I ceased to play it for about two weeks. I was so close to trading this game in but I gave it another shot and WOW am I glad I didn't. I got so wrapped into the storyline. I am a frequent watch of TV shows like Supernatural and True Blood so playing this game gave me the same feeling I get when I get left with a cliffhanger on those TV shows. I loved how each new chapter did a "Previously on Alan Wake" bit. It kept me informed on whats happeneing rather than moving on a forgetting little things of the storyline that matters. The controls are a bit shady but like previously stated in other posts you can change them. If you love a great story line and constant action, then this is your game. It would be nice if they made an actual TV series out of this game. If you don't buy it, at least rent it and test it out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>