GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller

The SteelSeries 3GC Controller for PC and Mac is a comfortable precision game controller featuring an intuitivebutton layout and a design optimized for ease of use with driverless plug-and-play features. The Dual AnalogSticks ensure precision for aiming, looking and moving, while the vibration feedback immerses the player inthe game. The SteelSeries 3GC features 12 action buttons and a D-pad. All buttons can be customized andprogrammed according to the user's needs. The Turbo mode allows for auto rapid fire modes.
Average Customer Rating:
5.4
5.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
12 out of 2548%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Review 1 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
CinereuS
Location: Texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is pretty god. It's comfortable in my hands, and it's very similiar to the PS2 controller, so it's pretty easy to get used to. However, since most games have poor gamepad support, it's nearly required to get xPadder. Other then that, it's great for just $20.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Section 8 - Prejudice
8.3 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
DOOM III
9.8 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Great Controller but requires lots of configuring
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
sillkent
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So i decided i needed a controller for my pc.. what should i get? not too cheap but not too expensive. I found this great controller, it will work with most emulators (project64, virtualboyadvance, desmume etc..) and you can play it with anything you want if you use xpadder. MAKE SURE TO TURN TURBO MODE OFF, OR YOUR RIGHT STICK AND DPAD WILL NOT WORK. That's my only complaint. All in all, it's a great controller and i would definitely recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Very dissapointed!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/10
StuThaJoo
I recently just got into PC gaming. More specifically old school emulators but I also do enjoy other FPS's on PC. When I first used the controller I thought to myself "This things great, I'm getting another!". It's pretty comfortable, has rumble capabilities (perfect for n64 emulators), and has a whole mess of buttons to use. Then about an hour later of death after death I figured out that the joystick responsiveness is either full or nothing. There is no speed control for the sticks. This makes it impossible to play any game where accuracy is necessary. Even when used as a mouse you simply can't get it onto a target to click without scrolling back and forth about 5 or 6 times. You just cant push it a little bit to go slow if you catch my drift. So if you don't need the rumble feedback I would recommend the Logitech dual action controller. I really like that one especially after using this heep. .
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
10 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Don't buy it! really...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/10
rickTraice
I bought this controller just because I read the review on this site and I said "How bad could it be?" well guess what? is horrible. It feels so cheap and it doesn't do what it's suppose to! Well, I tried this on some emulators for nes and snes, some times it response, some times it doesn't, some times it does whatever the hell it wants. I was playing Street fighter 2 and I was trying to make a haduken but Ryu just kept walking forward like an idiot. In super mario bros. 3 happens the same, everything was going well, and then mario started walking forward by its own until he died (how sad). The controller it's not comfortable at all, I connected to my ps3 and guess what? It works, but just really bad, it has the same problems just like the emulators. In short words: DON'T BUY IT. (unless you're curious like me haha)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
i2EzRampage
 
Please wait while more information about i2EzRampage is loaded.
Additional information about i2EzRampage could not be loaded.
It wont work on emulators
Posted 12/26/14
It doesn't work on emulators l the time because they don't use the same programming for controls especially when it comes to controllers since they are usually optimized for use with a keyboard of a computer and not a game pad
Customer Avatar
JayyCee
OC, CA
 
Please wait while more information about JayyCee is loaded.
Additional information about JayyCee could not be loaded.
For all of you that said it doesnt work
Posted 7/2/11
you need to program the buttons so it works properly for every game you need to set it up to your prefences its not that it doesnt work. You just werent doing it right.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/10
SpinDragun
Location: PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this controller for really only 1 game (Nascar 2003 in case u were wondering). keeping in mind i'm using a laptop, i went to college (freshman year) and found out my dorm didn't have wifi, i started using emulators. that's when i finally found another use for this controller. it works great w/ the N64 emulators, it just needs a little configuring 1st.
i've pretty much played only on sony game systems (PS1, 2, 3 and PSP) my whole life and this controlled seems like a good match to those. there are probably better ones out there, but for $20 this is pretty good. overall i can't really complain about how it works.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Great!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/10
Anonymous
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The control is great. Its very much like a ps3 control and the button work great. Comfortable to hold and analogs work great. The only bad thing about it is the arrow keys. the arrow keys are like an xbox control. it would be better if it was more like an original ps3 control
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/15
Chacalit
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller to play steam and PC games. It took me awhile to figure out how to make it work but now I love it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Good, but could be better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/10
weegee
Location: Anonymous
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great controller, but it has a few minor difficulties. I was trying to play a game, I needed to go up to the game selection, but it won't let me without having to use LOTS of speed. Either than that, great on emulators, other PC games, and an outstanding rumble feature. I say it would not be a waste of money.
 
My Product Recommendations
Joystick, SteelSeries 1GC Controller
6.9 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
Keyboard, Zboard StarCraft II Keyset
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Don't buy if you use Windows 8
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/15
gamerguy53406
Location: Racine, WI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller as a upgrade from a Logitech one I was using before. I got the controller home and plugged it in only to find out that it will not work with any of my games on Steam. After some digging around online I found out that there are NO support drivers on the SteelSeries site. I also found a support article on the Windows site that stated this specific controller is NOT supported by Windows 8. It will only work correctly if you have Windows 7 or Vista or happen to find some random software hack to get the computer to recognize it properly. I plan on just going back to using my old PC controller.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 10 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Great for the casual gamer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
Imposter2012
Location: Sacramento
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller is fantastic its a tad bit hard to get used to and i don't recommend it for the hardcore gamers..........but! the controller is great for the low price and works as expected.I should point out as it dosent say anywhere on the package this but if the mode button is green then it disables everything good about the controller your going to want to keep the light red.......let me explain
Green Light:(basically a ps1 controller)
Disables any analog capability(meaning the sticks act as the d-pad)
Disables right analog stick entirely
Red Light:(Acts as a ps2 controller)
Both sticks act as should with Analog capability.
Anyways better end it here the controllers great if your looking for something cheap and easy to use but if your looking for something for the hardcore gamer consider the below recommendations.
 
My Product Recommendations
Logitech F710 Wireless Gamepad
9.3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
Logitech F510 Rumble Gamepad
7.3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 11 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
So So.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/13
Bmoney2201
Location: beverly MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked this up becuase I needed a controller to play some of my steam games on my macbook. I didn't have much time or money, and this was the cheapest option that was a full controller. First off, it says it is compatible with mac and pc. It is compatible with both, and I had no problem starting it up. Except that it says it has a rumble feature which I believe. But it tells you in the instruction booklet that to enable the rumble feature you have to download the driver at their website, so I went to their website, found the product, clicked on it, and went to downloads. Except, they didn't have the driver for mac! So I downloaded it anyways, thinking it could be one of those downloads that automactically senses what kind of os you have, I opened it up, and it was just a driver for pc it turns out. So if you have a mac, and need a controller, I reccomend this one, except don't be dissapointed that you can't use the rumble feature on it. Also in the instruction manual, it has absolutely no instructions on how to install it on your mac (but it's not like it's that hard to install, you plug it in, launch your game, and bam, your done.) So overall it's OK.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
DO NOT BUY THIS YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
thyty
Location: somehere,usa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
after 3 months this controller has died on me it will no longer be regonized by windows because the cord has malfunctioned i should have just got a 360 for windows controller dont waste your money get something with out wires again do not buy this should belong in a toilet with all the other garbage like it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Meh, better than no Gamepad at all.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
RzDestroyer
Location: Methuen, MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I only really bought this because I didn't have the money for a wired Xbox 360 Controller. My suggestion: Only buy this as a last resort.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
No Xinput, all is not lost. Read Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/13
SKunkman76
Location: Oroville
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this controller for some steam games. After it not working on some game I went to investigate and found out this controller doesn't have Xinput driver, it does support Directinput. All is not lost though and I found a program called Xbox 360 Controller Emulator that makes the computer think that you have a 360 controller plugged in. Also if that doesn't seem to work for you needs a hand little program called Joy2Keys works pretty good. So if you cant find or afford a wired Xbox 360 controller this Controller + Xbox Controller Emu should work for you. I don't understand why a company especially one that makes gaming controls would release this controller without Xinput........
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Very little use
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/12
Kiujazi
Location: Tennessee
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So, as I've just gotten into PC gaming in the past few months I decided "Hey, I need another controller for my pc!" Since I use both emulators and play games on Steam I figured it would help a lot for times when I play games like Super Meat Boy or Castle Crashers. Well, I bought the steelseries 3GC for $20. Not a bad deal as it has two joysticks, turbo, decent grip etc etc. Well I tried it on my emulators and it worked fine. Heck I even tried it with Lego Batman 2 and it worked on that. Then I tried loading up Duke Nukem Forever. I had my controller plugged in, all ready to kick some tail when I noticed that I couldn't do anything. After a few minutes I closed the game, made sure my drivers were updated and tried again only for the same thing to happen. Thinking it could be the game (after all it worked fine while playing other stuff) I loaded up Castle Crashers when lo and behold the same thing happened. Needless to say, after doing some research it turns out the SteelSeries is outdated when it comes to input (I'm not sure whether to call it a program or software so I apologize) but while most games use Xinput, that causes this controller to be non compatible with it the game. Needless to say I tried it on a few more games only for none of them to work. Long story short. Buy yourself an Xbox 360 Wired controller and save yourself the hassle and frustration in the end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
NO NO NO
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/11
eXodus79
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I purchased this controller hoping it would satisfy my need for a cheap PC controller to play NBA 2K11. Didn't work! Only the L2, R2, and right joystick responded, and I couldn't reprogram the joystick at all for the game. I am returning this junk. I am also following some advise and hunting down a wired Xbox 360 controller. Hopefully that will meet the need and I can continue my less expensive PC gaming fetish! FYI I'm playing on a Dell XPS17 Windows 7 64-bit.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
Meh
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/11
LarryTheFairy666
Location: Idaho
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller as replacement for my mouse & keyboard when i game. However, after installing the device (which took about 40 seconds) I opened up my game (Section 8: Prejudice) and found out it did not work at all. I pressed several buttons and changed the mode, no result. It also did not work for Oblivion. I assume that it works for some games based on the few good ratings it has. The controller is also bulky, slightly heavy, and looks too much like the PS2 controller
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/10
Ario
Location: Gorham ME
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This was a cool controller, the buttons worked, and though it is a bit pricey,
it work great when playing games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
What a waste of money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
Hiyabusared
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is garbage. The comfort level is trash, it's very flimsy and also I bought cause I wanted a pc gamepad and out of the package the thing didn't even work. Went back got another, same thing. The programmable turbo button didn't even function correctly. The driver in which i installed and reinstalled 3x failed too. This is terrible I actually ended up buying the afterglow 360 controller and it worked 100x better. In my honest opinion stay and save your money and your time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 20 for Joystick, SteelSeries 3GC Controller
IT IS REALLY GOOD!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
jacky
Location: palm desert, ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it is really good it has not broken yet. I would recomend it highly
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>