GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

EA SPORTS MMA

EA SPORTS MMA brings the authenticity of the world's most intense combat sport home like never before. Choose from the world's top fighters or climb the ranks of the worldwide circuit with your created prodigy to become the ultimate MMA champion. Travel the globe and learn a multitude of fighting techniques and skills from masters in each discipline. Select from various weight classes, rule sets, and take on all challengers in multiple cage types or a ring. The challenge continues online with the most robust offering for any MMA videogame, including the ability to create and share custom fighters, prize fights, and more. Are you ready? Let's get it on!
Average Customer Rating:
7.2
7.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 out of 2564%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EA SPORTS MMA
Review 1 for EA SPORTS MMA
you guys r crazy
Posted on:6/28/10
Lou Banga
ufc 2010 is totally garbage they kiddyfied the game so that any idiot would b able to play it not to mention the auto block yaaa thats so realistic u can totally throw punches and hold position in real life. and this was suppose the be the most realistic fighting game ever. personally i thought 2009 was a masterpeice and was a very challenging game. 2010 is stupid with the submission controls how do you hold a submission like that its not possible. hopefully ea sports does mma some justice cuz ufc had a totally awesome franchise in the works now im not so sure i know if the controls dont change 4 ufc i will not buy another one its stupid how u have 2 transition 4 everything even standind up makes the game very unfun. so for those of you who are acting like 2010 is good what are you smokin cuz 2010 is horrible not to mention all the bugs with the game how do you release a game of that magnitude with that many screw up thq is garbage and they turned the ufc franchise into the next generation wwe completely sad.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EA SPORTS MMA
Very Good Start EA
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/11
KiddPhilly
EA MMA is pretty good for a start. Controls are solid, the career isn't hard, and there's some good music to be heard(so long as you can weed through the bad stuff). Things I'm looking to see improved in the next EA MMA are: 1. Knockouts; it's just too hard to KO a guy. You have to keep punching away at them or they don't get KO'd. I wanna see the strike system of UFC in here, where you fight for a while and the guy ends up rocked, then you go in for the kill. 2. Submissions; The submission system in this game is wonderful. Don't change that! This kind of ties in to the KO system. I rely too much on submissions because It's too tiring to try for a KO. Some advice for players: LEARN THE TRIANGLE CHOKE! It will save your life! I can't tell you how many fights I've won because of it. Some people like to keep you on the ground all the time, so make em pay! 3. Clinch: Clinching just sucks and it slows everything down. Maybe remove that lol.
Like I said, this was a great first try for EA. This game is very good and very underrated. Don't buy in to UFC fanboys, this game if far better than Undisputed will ever be!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EA SPORTS MMA
Very Underrated.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/10
Mitchdf10
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Like most gamers, when I played the demo online for EA MMA, I was like what the heck is this. The controllers were very weird and overall gameplay seemed to lag. Now mind you that I also own UFC 2010 so I may have been comparing alittle too much. Me being a hardcore MMA fan I went ahead and bought EA MMA anyway. This game is excellent. The controllers are actually not hard at all to get used too and the ground game is miles ahead of the UFC games. I love the submissions and you dont feel like your going to pull a tendon in your wrist like you do on UFC. I think overall EA MMA is better than UFC. The only advantage UFC has over this is the fighter roster, but you still have some good fighters on MMA. Dont sleep on this game, Im telling you and the career mode is great with fighter entrances and a good soundtrack.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EA SPORTS MMA
it comes down to gameplay!
Posted on:3/27/10
rolln808
i dont think people realize how many big name fighters are OUTSIDE of the ufc and will be in this game. sure, the casual mma fan will not recognize some of them, but the regulars will be happy. i hear what people are saying about graphics, but in the end, if EA can find a way to improve on THQ's submission and grappling system, they have a chance to really take a bite out of undisputed. if the new final fantasy proved anything its that focusing on graphics too much will not make up for lack of gameplya. EA's big win already is the inclusion of pride style rules, with knees to the ground, headstomps, and kicks. dont get me wrong, im a fan of undisputed, but the grappling system was more than fustrating, and the whole button mashing thing shouldnt be a part of a 2010 game imo. i will end up buying both, and look forward to EA giving THQ a run for their money, cuz in the end only the gamers will win if thats the case.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EA SPORTS MMA
Better than UFC
Posted on:10/1/10
Anonymous
Location: San Jose, CA
I played UFC 2010 for about 3 weeks and sold it, i loved how complicated it was to transition and get out of submissions, the game made the gamer get inside of the head of MMA fighter. ( you have to know your stuff). I down loaded the demo for EA sports MMA and i was blown away, not only does it beat UFC it destroyed it! There is no franchise out there competing against EA Sports thats going to get close. this game is real in every aspect from the grappling, striking, and to the ground game. UFC is only good for a gamer who is looking to fight with the spider silva or GSP. this game is for real MMA gamers world wide.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EA SPORTS MMA
Online Review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
xMekamix
Location: Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not trying to get into a fan boy rant because I hate those type of reviews. I will start by saying I own both UFC 09 and 10 and were a fan of both. I beat both games in career mode with every weight class.
My issue with UFC is the balancing. If u have good ground game and know Ju-Jitsu u can use that to you're advantage and win most of the time.
Which is fine because I happen to love Ju-Jitsu but its MMA not a Ju-Jitsu / wrestling game only. There for I like the balanced features of EA's MMA because any one can escape subs and keep it standing if they want.
Now to the good stuff.
Ea MMA just has way more to offer and more variety then UFC...
Online u can compete in officially sponsored tournaments with chance to win real life prizes. I competed in a light weight tourney sponsored by Rockstar Energy did not do to well but it is fun.
I hope EA continues down that path because being able to compete for real life prizes brings more competitiveness to the fight my opinion.
I like the fact that if u are a Ju-Jitsu guy u can increase ur Ju-Jitsu belt rank u start out as white belt of course then progress on up to black.
Both games are good and both have there weaknesses but my friends find it more enjoyable playing EA's MMA its just easier to grasp but don't let that statement put u off because there is plenty of varieties and plenty to offer.
In UFC when playing on line I along with most people notice how much more powerful the CAF ( user made fighter ) is compared to the rest of the real life combatants roster. Ea has better balancing in my opinion in that sense u cna play with any of the main roster and hold you're own against CAF or user made fighters.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EA SPORTS MMA
UFC all day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
LWC4life
Location: chicago illinois
this game is not that good. Then only thing you do is online or career mode. It get's boring!. The career mode is not bad, i like how you can travel to different gyms and in different environments. I like how the moves are different than UFC, so it's not the same stuff i do. I like how you can download your face onto the game!!!. I watch UFC a lot and around wrestling a lot. I barley know most the fighters. I only know 7 the most. NO ONE watches strikeforce as much as UFC. The commentary is not that exciting. JOE and MaRK are the best mma broadcasters. BUY UFC!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EA SPORTS MMA
finally a mma game 4 strikers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/10
joseph1985
Location: denver,co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think it is the best mma game so far ufc undisputed more 4 wrestlers the way the controls r using the right stick 2 strike better than fighting off takedowns and submissions also dont like having the same speed and power 4 everything like in ufc it is stupid feet hands and all other movements r different from each other career mode is much much better in mma than ufc undisputed but as much as i like this game improvements can b made in how fast stanima goes and takes forever 2 come back create a fighter better in ufc and needs more striking options training is 2 easy and most of all none of these games use reach and jabs the way they should or dont give the option 2 choose reach length hope they keep making more and dont quit with this first try
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EA SPORTS MMA
Very Underrated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
TheNatural
Location: Fort Payne, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For some reason this game is very underrated. This is mma at its best no questions asked. You can change the controls if you dont like joystick punches. Ufc fighters ARE in the game, they are downloadable. The gameplay is almost perfect and so are the graphics. Buy this game for a true MMA experience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EA SPORTS MMA
Judging by the demo, this MMA game gets it right!
Posted on:10/1/10
Robj
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I own Undisputed 2010. There are some things I really like about it and some things I really hate about it. I liked the career mode. I played with my created fighter FAR more than any UFC stars. I DON'T like the submission system. It requires very little strategy. If you can shine like a madman, you can submit...a human oppenent. It's way too hard to sub the computer. Why should I have to beat the CPU within an inch of death to get a sub? Why should I have to drain their stamina for two rounds? Why can't I BLOCK a submission attempt? In steps EA Sports MMA. I can block submission attempts. I can submit the computer if they don't block my attempt, because they don't use the dumb shine system. The ground game is also far more realistic. The ground game features a Deny/Advance system. When on the ground I have the option to either block my opponent from advancing (if they attempt to advance position ie: move from my closed guard to half guard, etc.), or advance my own position (ie: move my opponent from my half guard to my closed guard, etc.), OR block their attacks. There is timing involved, and it makes the game feel far more strategic on the ground. You can't just hold the 'deny' button. It won't work. You have to TIME it, and with a little practice you can do this regulary. The thing is they can punch you in the face while you sit waiting for them to try and advance their position. You have to be smart and choose when to block, when to deny, and when to advance. I personally study Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, so the ground/submission game were my biggest concerns and this game NAILS it. This game is everything UFC Undisputed 2010 SHOULD have been. I will pre-order. First day purchase for me. :)
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EA SPORTS MMA
might be better than ufc.............
Posted on:4/17/10
NsideDuece
Obviously at this point no one really knows much about the game but I've heard that it'll be out towards the end of the year, maybe around Christmas time. If you're a fan of MMA in general, why wouldn't you get this game? I plan on getting both this and UFC. There are those who only know UFC fighters so they only want to praise that game and not give this one a chance. Who knows....it may be horrible but it may also be good. If you haven't seen some of the videos and screenshots already out, go to the EA Sports website to see them. The fighters have entrances before the fight, there are several different venues to fight in, as opposed to UFC that has only 2, you can fight in different styles of cages or in a ring. From what I've seen in these preview videos, the game looks awesome.........however, the big question mark will be gameplay and online. If EA can make those two things work, the game will be great. Also, they better have Alistair Overeem in this game and either EA MMA or UFC undisputed needs to have Vitor Belfort...not sure if he's in the UFC right now.
Review 12 for EA SPORTS MMA
More about the game than the fighters
Posted on:8/13/10
Tall David
I agree that Strike Force isn't as recognized as UFC. But THQ made a very difficult game when it came time for the submissions. If you couldn't get the technique just right then you were forced to stand up to go through the game. Which my brother had the version for 360 before he ultimately traded it in because the game just got too frustrating. I am all for a game that will give you a challenge. But really if you can't even get the submission system down that is a big problem. Also right now Strike Force has the opportunity to kick THQ in the pants. For one you're going to have all of your attributes increased after you fight. This is better than UFC where it seemed like it was a chore to train. The Live Broadcast mode to compete for real world prizes. That alone should tell you EA is trying to out do THQ. Secondly the Fight Night Controls for the punching. So you have total control to be able to duck, side step, parry. Its better than UFC's sway motion which didn't work half of the time. Strike Force is going to let the game speak because that is how they will get their fighters recognized on a bigger landscape. Full Entrances, Different rules for where ever you compete. Different style MMA cages. Plus the career mode sounds a lot better. If the controls are better for the stand up, and the submission controls don't make me want to throw the game out of window while I'm driving then I've got literally hours to test myself against the computer, and also against the online fighters. Oh and you do get to choose various styles for your created fighter. That's more than the UFC ever offered. I'm the experience will be better than UFC Undisputed which THQ dropped the ball on. A quality game is better than one with name value
10 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EA SPORTS MMA
Overall its more fun than ufc no doubt.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
dsk543
Location: eartg
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When it first came out i didnt care much for it but i recently bought it and its so fun i wanna stop playing it lol. You can change the controls to the ufc controls if your not used to ea's controls. So many fighters as well such as my favorite Randy "The Natural" Couture. Graphics are outstanding. and sound is great. career mode is fun but gets boring after you go 20-0.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EA SPORTS MMA
Trading My UFC Game 4 this :)
Posted on:9/23/10
cookie
Location: NY
The online play 4 the UFC 2010 is horrible... I just hope the online play 4 this game is a lot better... I have high hopes 4 this game...
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EA SPORTS MMA
Def better than UFC.
Posted on:9/30/10
VYatTen2132
Location: Wisconsin
I played the demo for this game and i love it. Everything just feels better about the game. The striking uses fight night's total striking control and it works very well. The grappling both standing and on the ground is top notch. I like the fact that they show the entrances to the fighters too. Im not quite sure how i feel about a regular clock instead of an accelerated clock. Its got its pros and cons. In the demo, they did not have any commentary. I know that in the full game they will so im not too worried. My only real complaint is that Mayhem is better in almost every category compared to Jake Shields. Other than that its a great game with a phenomenal roster. Cant wait for it to come out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EA SPORTS MMA
Way Better Than UFC Game!
Posted on:7/17/10
Agent23_Solis41
UFC is fun, no doubt bout tht, but after bout 2 weeks it gets old. This games graphics are way better, almost like Fight Night Round 4's graphics. And it's waaaaaay smoother than UFC, this game is gonna be legit, plus its alot of under-rated Strikeforce stars lik Cung Lee, Bobby Lashley, and King Mo. Plus there's finally a MMA game with Randy Couture. Game is gonna be awesome, so all these UFC game lovers need stop hatin and giv the game its props
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EA SPORTS MMA
NICE
Posted on:7/8/10
MMAKID
I own UFC 2010 but im still gonna get this one looks nice and i cant Wait to play under the pride rules
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EA SPORTS MMA
much better than ufc 10
Posted on:7/22/10
Anonymous
EA sports have really gone all out with this new mma installment. When i look at some of these preview comments alot of you guys have no idea what your talking about. this game is going to be completely different than ufc 10. For starters EA is making this game, as apposed to outdated and louisy THQ. When i went on YouTube to look at some of the videos that break down this new EA game you cant help but notice the uneducated response's to the game. It really baffles me that people think that ufc 10 is going to be better than EA's mma. EA has put a little over 2 years into this project as apposed to thq who just threw together a sloppy game with many problems. UFC undisputed 10, and ufc undisputed 09 are pretty much the same game with new fighters.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EA SPORTS MMA
Don't Wast Your Money!!!
Posted on:10/12/10
Anonymous
Location: Copiague, NY
This game is terrible, very awkward control, the game play is nothing spectacular. If you want to play an mma video game play UFC. Even after mastering the controls in the demo and beating the computer in the demo it didnt feel at the least satisfying or enjoyable. Save your money!!!! I've never left a comment about a game or felt it necessary too, until now. Don't bother with this game, play the demo prior to if u plan on buying this game or dont believe me.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
tn.cordova
ea sports mma
Posted 1/23/11
i never got this game yet but i no that its going to be the best game ever my brother want it he keep telling me about it but i dont like games like that i dont like boxing football and stuff like that
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for EA SPORTS MMA
Big Stress Reliever.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
IrishStryker24
Location: Columbus, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is so much better than UFC undisputed. The Only Downfall is the graphics. The ground gameplay isnt confusing and insanely hard like in UFC Undisputed. The submission controls are easy to learn and follow. Career mode is pretty good and your not forced to retire after so many fights. The striking is insane (in a good way). It does take a long flurry of punches to actually knock somebody out but its worth buying and trying out yourself.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>