GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

3D Dot Game Heroes

From the makers of the award winning Demon's Souls comes the ultimate retro gaming experience: 3D Dot Game Heroes. An homage to the all time classic action/adventure and RPGs, 3DDGH delivers incredibly satisfying old school gameplay, beautiful visuals, and endless inside jokes, winks, and nudges for people who grew up in the golden age of gaming!
Average Customer Rating:
8.938
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
5
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1688%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Review 1 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Brings back awesome old memories with a twist!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
Erviper88
Location: Albuquerque NM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing! if you are into Zelda (which whoever has played it is!) you need this game! they made it to tribute the older zeldas it very similar but makes its own twist to it that helps it be great! The music goes perfect with every scene! This game is a must buy! and at the price buy it its a steal! If you arent sure take my word its amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Worth ONE playthrough
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/13
DigleDante
Location: Gamestop.com :P
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
3D Dot Game Heroes is a unique game for its time. Its basically LoZ: Link to the Past redone with blocks. Compared to Link to the Past this game would fall REALLY flat. But anywho, if your a fan of RPG's and been wanting a classis Zelda like feel this is it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
This is a love letter to the art form!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
xXgeekpr0nXx
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm in love with this game. 3D Dot Heroes is a true gamer's game. And no, I don't mean "Call of Duty, Madden, 'ROID RAGE" gamers.. I mean true fans of the art form. Especially those of us who have grown up with our Ataris, Intellivisions, Commodore 64s, NES and up.. from The Legend of Zelda to Demon Souls, it's all here! It's games like this that could help save Nintendo.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
GOOD GAME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
MentoL23
Location: Manchester, NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think there's alot going on here and that's Fun and Entertainment. and the customize characters is great for all AGES
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Memory Lane
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
GreyKnight
Location: Albuquerque
I finally caved and bought this game, and only resisted this long because I wasn't quite sure what it would be like. So, I bought it, took it home, pooped it in and the first thing I did was design a Deadpool sprite to be my main character. After that, I promptly started the story. It is definitely very similar to the first Legend of Zelda games; even the music is close to being plagiarized. However, I didn't find a problem with this as I love those games. Gameplay was a fresh new appeal, and the different characters you can choose from, or make yourself, is great. The sounds take you back to the 8-bit era, as that is what they all are, but it was nice to get some nostalgia. If you are a fan of those games, I would get this. You will have a great time and many good memories will spring back up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Old-school Gameplay yet Fresh to Play.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/11
BonesJustice
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
3D Dot Game Heroes feels like an updated classic. If you enjoyed Zelda back on the NES, SNES or any Gameboy handheld, your in for a treat. The gameplay is simple but still challenging. The music fits the game nicely. The sounds are classic. The graphics basically consists of a legos look. There are about 20 different swords in the game which are upgradable. Classic side-arms like the bomb, bommerang, bow&arrow, grappling hook and more. Dozens of avatars to choose from. Each playthrough will take between 5-15 hours to complete depending on how you play and if you use a stragedy guide. There are multiple difficulties. The tower defense mini-game is very, and I mean VERY, addicting if you like those type of games. Theres about a dozen total maps of tower defense and some are very unique. A lot of townsfolk have hilarious things to say. This game is perfect for those looking for some nostalgic Zelda-style gameplay. You can master this game and come back to it a few months later just to do it again. I reccommend checking out a video or two on the gameplay to see if this game is for you.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Haven't I played this before...?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/11
SavyinSeattle
Location: Seattle
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As soon as the game started I was thought to myself "this all looks familiar". If you're a long time gamer then it will to you too. It's a BLATANT rip-off of The Legend of Zelda:A Link to the Past. The map is laid our the same, the bosses and enemies are similar as well as the sound and music. All they did was dress it all up in a hip and fancy pixel format (that gets old in a hurry) and sell it cheap. If you're looking for a throw back/ tribute to a classic game of the past, then pick it up. If you're looking for something new and exciting, save the $30 for dance lessons...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Erviper88
Albuquerque NM
 
Please wait while more information about Erviper88 is loaded.
Additional information about Erviper88 could not be loaded.
Its a tribute to zelda
Posted 2/23/12
This game was made as a tribute to zelda link to the past. Thats what makes it so great. its memorys with a twist that make it so fun.
Customer Avatar
Joseph60659
 
Please wait while more information about Joseph60659 is loaded.
Additional information about Joseph60659 could not be loaded.
2 things wrong with your statement.
Posted 2/3/11
1.) It's not a rip off. 2.) It pays homage to The Legend of Zelda for the NES.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
recomended for zelda fans with a PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/10
Mijizzle
Location: Pomona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is so sick! as soon i seen the good reviews i had to try it out for myself and i dont regret buying it it maybe a zelda look alike but that makes it so awesome especially since your able to customize your character and the game also has its qualties that make it preety unique. i made my character link as a joke =P
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/10
AtariMaxx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great. It is similar to the old Zelda for the NES which makes it cool. The character customization is awesome too. This game is a must buy for PS3 owners.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Good ol Days
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/10
Angelus_II
When 3-D Dot Game Heroes was announced, I actually didnt know what to think of it. Was it a rip off, or was it really paying homage to the games of the past? After playing it, I still can't decide whether or not it is or isn't and yet, I enjoyed it quite a bit. Here's my review. As if to throw you back into the 8 bit era of video games, 3-D Dot Game provides a refreshing experience to those looking to go back in time. Complete with classic music, typical storyline, and dialogue that makes you want to lol, this game has all of what makes a classic game, classic. At first glance, those who have played a lot of classic games, know exactly what this game is already about, and can pretty much go through this game with relative ease. So those who are looking for a challenege might be a little dissapointed, but I believe the true point of the game, is to provide a balance for any gamer to pick up and experience. Overall, this game is better off played and truly experienced for yourself then taking the word of others. Those who truly appreciate gaming would find this to be a great addition to their collection. If you're still relatively new to gaming, this might have you scratching your head.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
quick 2 cents
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/10
some dude in the know
biggity biggity bad A. this game is so much fun to play. all i really have to say is DARTH VADER!!!! but i can't post this without 750 "Characters" so here i go. ZELDA, Final Fantasy, Final Fantasy 2, Final Fantasy 3, Final Fantasy 4. It is so much like all of those. Also, Pokemon, but with swords. and WAY BETTER GRAPHICS. AWESOME! THAT's IT? 418 characters?! come on, why does this have to have a minimum of 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. 750. oh yea, "TROGDOR!" sorry, my friend is watching those "youtube videos" only about a hundred and seventy characters left. "Come mr. Tally-man, tally me banana, daylight come and me wan go home." sorry to all of u that kept reading after Darth Vader.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Couldnt be any better than playing Zelda itself
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/10
PSN: rivencleft
This game is just perfect, I am an avid fan of the Zelda series going back to the NES system and this is basically a tribute to the first three Zelda games, especially Link to the Past. Same style map layouts, dungeon layouts, quests, basically a perfect clone, but in it's own game. A wonderful buy if i must say and I do. Another great perk to this game is the complete character customization, you can create ANY 3D dot game hero you want, if you wanted to create Link you can, reconfigure their preset heroes, or just create something stupidly odd, it's definitely a must, especially to get the creation trophy for your psn account. Listen to what every is saying on here and buy this game, or at least rent it, I doubt you to be unsatisfied, especially if you're a classic Zelda fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Stay Retro My Friends
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/10
Z-MAN 89
3D Dot Game Hero es is a must have for fans of Zelda and any retro game alike .3DDGH is by far the most entertaining game I've played since the nes bringing back old school in a new and creative way. the character customization is the best due to the fact that you build your hero pixel by pixel, if your not the most creative person theres dozens of heroes ready to go,you can also trade your heroes with friends . the story is not to original but the fact it points out its own unoriginality is very entertaining. the weapons are awesome you actually use a shark for a sword.you can also upgrade your weapons length width power and special abilities. over all it is a blast from the past that no one saw coming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
3D Dot Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/10
m.fitz
This game couldn't have been better if Miyamoto made it himself. I have been a Legend of Zelda fan since the original on NES. 3D Dot Game Heroes is a combination of The Legend of Zelda and A Link to the Past on SNES. There have been many copycats over the years who haven't gotten it right but I'm happy to say that Atlus and From came through with a great game that brought me right back to the golden age of gaming. Mixing the old with the new is not easy but 3DDGH does it seamlessly. If you've played the games I've mentioned the first couple hours will seem easy but don't get too comfortable because you'll find yourself leaving a temple to fill up empty jars with red potion in no time. If you're a newcomer to the Zelda like action adventure don't be nervous because the first few hours will train you well. I would recomend this game to anyone and everyone. I hope the people at From Software and Atlus continue down this path. I'm not done but already want a sequal. Best $40 remake Ocarina!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Take a retro journey!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/10
Brian P.
This game is a loving reminder of why we all loved the original Legend of Zelda on the NES. The graphics have been updated but all of the challenges & fun are still there. Remeber the boomerang, the lamps, the bombs, the bow & arrows? They are all back!! Atlus did a wonderful job with recreating the retro music too. The dungeons are challenging as well. Not only does this game remind you of Zelda but it also reminded me of the original Final Fantasy for the NES. You can choose from many pre-loaded charaters to start with or create your own. You can choose how fast you want the text to scroll. You also get a fairy to join you on your quest! The game begins in 2D to tell the backstory of the game but when you get to play it jumps to 3D! I highly recommed this game to everyone!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
Welcome back to the golden ages
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/10
CrowIV
If you like Zelda, you will love this game. Great game for anyone that enjoys retro gaming along with a funny storyline. I would recommend this game to children along with full grown adults its that good. If I were you i would stop reading this right now and get up to your local Gamestop and pick up a copy. Has a good length to the game. Easy to pick up controls. Very similar to Zelda interface layout. Game is very easy at first but later bosses will have you retrying. New feature to go back and fight previous bosses. Same retro sound we all love in the golden ages. Some people would argue about the graphics, but this game is set up to look retro in block form. To me that couldn't of done better. Atlus did a great job reviving old game play to those that aren't that crazy with today's RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
cant wait man!!!!
Posted on:5/5/10
hyrulefinalboss77
omg finally well its not a zelda but the game play is the exact same thing good for ppl that dont have a wii if you wanna play the powerhouse title that is zelda i cant wait only a few days left
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
its questionable and retro....wait the price is what
Posted on:5/4/10
research then review later play now
yes my friends, once again RPG adventure games such as the legend of zelda are back, and the first thing im going to do in this game is make my guy a 3D version of Link from the 80's. I may be in college but i know reto when i see it and i cant wait. and what about the price? $39.99? are we changing prices on all games, is this company just going for more of a "inexpensive but fun" like in the 90's, or are developers playing russian roulette with prices now. Any way the game kinda brings a good memory back to 32-64 bit games. it looks good, sounds good, and hopefully will BE good. CAN"T WAIT
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
onlydadopest
Posted on:5/1/10
onlydadopest
i can't wait to play this. it look so interesting, it has the old style gameplay like zelda and the old type of music. i preorder my copy and i'm looking foward to a other rpg game because i already beat ff13.
Review 20 for 3D Dot Game Heroes
WANT IT SO BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/1/10
Ash Skywalker
so asome i so want this game so bad i got the wii for chismas and i bout zelda 2 and it is so asome so i cant wait to get this game iv wached the vidoes and they were so asome
1 2 next>>