GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition

The critically-acclaimed chapter of the Resident Evil franchise returns with more content than ever before in Resident Evil 5: Gold Edition. Included is the original best-selling game and all downloadable content, including new playable episodes that take you even deeper into Resident Evil lore. From the ashes of old conflicts, a new terror arises. The Umbrella Corporation and its crop of lethal viruses have been destroyed and contained. But a new, more dangerous threat has emerged. Years after surviving the events in Raccoon City, Chris Redfield has been fighting the scourge of bio-organic weapons all over the world. Now a member of the Bio-terrorism Security Assessment Alliance (BSAA), Chris is sent to Africa to investigate a biological agent that is transforming the populace into aggressive and disturbing creatures. Joined by another local BSAA agent, Sheva Alomar, the two must work together to solve the truth behind the disturbing turn of events. Featuring a revolutionary new co-op mode of gameplay, Resident Evil 5 will let players experience fear together as terror moves out of the shadows and into the light of day.
Average Customer Rating:
9.154
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
12
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 out of 5290%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Review 1 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
A Great Evil for 2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
Mitorher
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've loved resident evil since the day I was born (Don't ask me how that's possible), and this installment is great! Even though it sways away from horror a tad bit it still functions well. Lost in Nightmares, now that's a different story. It scared the carp out of me, every core filled with Guardian's of Insanity (If playing on the hardest mode available). The Coop system is greatly introduced, and The Mercenaries/Reunion is totally worth it! I love Rebecca n' good o' Barry. The soundtrack is amazing , the graphics are on the spot! What else is there too say?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
very good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/13
Papichulo8812
Location: L.A, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game has so many dlcs included that u never get bored of playing it. love da gold edition. completely worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
A must have for any and all Resident Evil Fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
mockingjay
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first bought this game I didn't expect much seeing as usually I would have heard about it from my friends by now, but I was so surprised by how amazing this game turned out to be.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Great package!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/12
QueenB
Definitely better than the original game. Also, I love how Jill has completely replaced Sheva on the box cover. :p
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Great Package
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Knight1114
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition Includes all DLC, Extr Costumes, and Re5 itself. Re5 is different from previous RE entries (I consider Re4 to still have a decent amount of the survival horror), as it REALLY strays away from the survival horror RE is known for, and changes into an Action-Packed game. While the main game is full of action, the Lost in Nightmares DLC will take old time RE fans to the past, as they enter a mansion similar to the on in RE1 and revive the survival horror they once knew, and it even allows them to change it back to the old-school camera for a while! The Desperate Escape DLC continues on the action the main game has shown us and the Versus mode DLC is a fun (though, unfitting for a RE game) gamemode as you fight other players or defeat Majini in an attempt to obtain the highest score solo or on teams.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
resident evil is so downn
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
thekingofgaming
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game did not live up to the hype... i try racoon city and this one... none of them give me a good impression... like when you shoot you cant move anywhere which is really annoying. the gameplay are the same over and over again. dont buy this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
deathtribute
Location: south carlina,sc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Resident Evil 5: Gold Edition is hard at the begining but get easyer later own but if u like game that go from hard to easy u should buy this game i like it. it has good grafics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Great action game - Bad horror survival game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
flipmode91
Location: Fallbrook, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Once I've completed the game a couple of times through, I noticed the secondary partner's AI wasn't too sharp. They tend to get in the way when you're playing professional mode - I just wish their was an option where you could choose to go alone or not. Anyway; this game is great for an action game, it just seemed a lot less thrilling than the previous games before this title and killing zombies are so easy that I can use a stun rod alone through multiple levels. Will I play this game again? Of course! It's still awesome, I just wish it were more gory and creepy with smaller rooms, less enemies and harder to kill enemies... The graphics for this game is top notch, considering the year it was released. Story line is headstrong and re-playable; it's like a long movie that you get to play through. I would recommend this game for those of you that prefer action over horror.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Yes. . .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/12
ImMikey
Location: Kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've read several comments stating that this addition of the Resident Evil games doesn't belong in the franchise, but in my personal opinion I was very satisfied with this one. I had previously purchased it upon release for the 360 and was very addicted to it at the time. I sold my first copy awhile back, but then decided to purchase the Gold Edition the PS3 a few year after for only $18.00, and am still quite satisfied with the game. The graphics are still very much impressive and the replayability high. I would say it'd be up to par with RE4. Couple downfalls I could identify would be the lack of AI intelligence (nothing surprising), and the lack of diversity with characters in the Mercenaries Mode. In the Gold Edition, I did enjoy playing Jill and the additional missions that came with the GE. Overall, for those that are fans of the Resident Evil Franchise, RE5 will make a good addition to any fans' collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Good....but not an RE
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
GinDevil
I believe that this game is quite good for an action shooter. But I would've rathered them have an older horror survivor feel to it. They took out almost if not all the horror of the older games. You never have to worry about ammo or healing items. While older in the series have you running around, limited of both. As I said, its a good game, just not an RE game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Get this Edition!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
Capcomfan2010
Location: Joliet, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
RE5 not the worst Resident Evil to ever be made but not the best either this game tends to stray away from the roots of resident evil and has an action based gametype. Over all it's a good game but it's not going to be that game where you can't get enough of it. Also I recommend that you buy this edition due to the fact that this comes with all the DLC and it saves you money if you get any other edition you will not have the complete game as there are side stories that were included in the DLC.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
its awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
gamerdudedada
Location: salt lake
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the best I had the whole story and I never get bored of playing resident evil.can't wait till resident evil 6 comes out it gunna be awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Love origional RE5 and want gold edition but.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
lilviv77
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love RE5 and really want gold edition but i cant find it on the XBOX360 can anybody tell me why they dont have RE5 Gold on the 360 please
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GinDevil
 
Please wait while more information about GinDevil is loaded.
Additional information about GinDevil could not be loaded.
Why
Posted 3/21/12
Because what was "Gold Edition" on 360w as just a resident evil five game with a ticket to download the DLC, so really you got another copy of five and the dlc
Customer Avatar
carl1234
ganton,sa
 
Please wait while more information about carl1234 is loaded.
Additional information about carl1234 could not be loaded.
xbox fails
Posted 2/14/12
because xbox is horrible get a ps3
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
A must have for Resident Evil Fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/12
TheVideoGameExpert
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Resident Evil series is the best Survival/Zombie games, and definatly worth the extra money for the DLC Gold Edition comes with. With the Gold edition you get two extra missions, Lost in Nightmaes, and Desprate Escape, those cost 4.99 each,which takes up $10 of the $20 you'll pay when you buy this game. But you dont just get two extra missions you get Verses mode and Mersernary's Return mode Which is 4.99 Each Also, So really you could say your only paying for the DLC, and not even the game, over-all if you your a fan of Resident Evil. You would be crazy to pass this up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
great deal $20 for gold edition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
madd3n
Location: new york, ny
Right now this costs 20$ cheap price for gold edition. Even if this costs $100 id still buy this. This is a great deal. full of action, weapons, and dlc that the original copy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
best co-op game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
hammy2
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awsome with freinds(specially offline). but single player is an other story. iff you dont have any friends you have to deal with one of the worst AI partner in video game history(ex: i found a green herb, but i didnt have any room in my invatory, so i let my partner grab it and i thought she would hold it, but then see take it out and uses it on me and i had full health). both of the dlc(lost in nightmare and desprite escape) are fun and replayable. the replay value for this game is high because if you beat the game you can play as sheva in single player. also, when you beat the game you get unlimated ammo with ALL your guns! so if you think of buying this game you should, because you will have a lot of fun with your best friend!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
RESIDENT EVIL 5 (Scary Voice) IS FUN!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
Chup
Location: San Antonio, Tx
okay bottom line if your a resident evil fan get it, not all that scary but still good co-op is awesome and the story you have to see for your self it's just awesome but gold edition is worth getting rather then buyin the original version and downloading all the content but please do get it especially at a low price!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
superawesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
zombiekiller23
Location: ME
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is not like other RE games I own most of them I am adictided to this just as much as MW3 but it needs more horor in the story line but i beat the game in about a week i still have mass apeal to RE games btw i got this last chistmas Id rec this to any zombie killers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Gold Is Better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
MyFirstThoughts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
if you liked RE4 you'll love this
same gameplay but new story and new twists
ontop of the game you get bunch of extra DLC goodies already included on the disc such as new costumes and 2 smaller RE games
it will keep you playing for a while
Graphics - graphics are well done , that is expected since its capcom and last RE games were great , just wish they made it for 1080p
Sound - great sound , but can be repitive , such as the character repsonses and running into zombies
Gameplay - same as RE4 running around in 3rd person , except you have a partner most of the time and youll love her or hate her, you can see what i mean when you play it but overall this is must buy its great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition
Great Game for all Gamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
Mercadon80
Location: Lakewood, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the resident evil series and this is the best installment in the series. Amazing story and great story line.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>