GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy XIII

In FINAL FANTASY XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny?
Average Customer Rating:
7.49
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (604 reviews)
10 stars
142
9 stars
77
8 stars
45
7 stars
23
6 stars
22
5 stars
17
4 stars
18
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 star
31
291 out of 40472%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIII
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XIII
Absolutely fell in love!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
cemowilliams
Location: Charlotte, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a huge Mario fan so trying this out was difficult at first because I had to get used to the movements and how to work the controller but after that it was a wrap! I love the graphics. So realistic and the story line is awesome. I am now hooked on Final Fantasy. Great game but can be difficult if you don't have the time or strategy. I didn't use the strategy guide but did search a few online cheats. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XIII
A Good Start
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
Mitorher
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Final Fantasy 13 has been reviving negative reviews for reasons that can be looked upon. Square Enix knew what they where doing when 13 came out. Any hardcore Final Fantasy fan would love 13. The graphics are smooth and wonderful! The ATB system is simply wonderful and should be praised as a great battle system. My only complaint: Stiffness. It feels as if the characters are too stiff when battling which feels totally awkward. The game is a challenge that I'm sure any gamer would love to beat!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XIII
Final Fantasy is AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/13
ForeverAGamer
Location: I'm not telling you! O_O
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Final Fantasy XIII is a SPLENDID game. Ignore the haters. The story is awesome and unique.The combat gameplay is strategic. Sound effects are awesome, great environments, and epic bgm. Only 2 HUGE complaints I have are that for some reason, when I go to the save station and try to save or whatever, I mash the dpad and spin the analog all over the place and it takes FOREVER for the game to respond. idk if this is the game or my PS3 or controller (even though they work PERFECTLY when I play other games), but yeah, pretty big problem. :/ Also, once you reach Chapter 11, everyone is SO MUCH STRONGER THAN YOU! You have to do lots and lots of leveling to survive through the rest of the game. Other than that, awesome job, Square Enix! ^_^
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
IGN review!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XIII
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
natsu1234
Location: Bennington,NE
Final Fantasy XIII is OK but i think Final Fantasy XIII-2 is wayyyyyyyyyyy much better then ff13 you can try if you want.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XIII
bang for a couple of bucks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/13
THEONLY1
Location: keansburg,nj
Just got today for 6.99 at gamestop story is solid it's like your in a. Movie wasn't expecting to have this much fun with it ,really easy to pick up and play and after I beat this one I will be getting the sequel was blown away how nice the graphics were in the game as well
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XIII
Great game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
Netfive
Location: Taylor michigan
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Very fun good game. At the beigninning it isnt all that great but later into the the game it super fun and addicting
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XIII
Great game, very underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
JoshA
Location: Pawtucket
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I always thought all Final Fantasy games after 10 sucked, but one day I decided to just try out FF13. I had low expectations, but I bought it with the rationalization that it can't be that bad, It's a Final Fantasy. It didn't take me long to realize 13 was a great game. The story is very intricate and intriguing, I love it. Perhaps the complexity of the story is why people bash it. If you can't comprehend a complex story then go back to Call Of Duty because Final Fantasy isn't for you. The linearity of the game is heavily criticized but I honestly never had a problem with it. If you want exploration, tough monsters, and mini games you can find all of that in Gran Pulse towards the end of the game. The battles are also commonly criticized for being boring because you enter commands and watch your party act. This is just a more active version of previous Final Fantasy's so saying this game ruined Final Fantasy is outrageous and those who say that are lost in nostalgia so no matter what Square does they won't approve. I'm digressing however. Final Fantasy 13's battles kept me really captivated. the easy battles can get boring after too many of them, but the boss battles really are thrilling. It has fantastic music, story telling, character development and pretty good dialog. I advise any RPG lover to buy this game with an open mind.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XIII
A story of 6 and the 1 l'Cie.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/13
Eternix13
Location: Sebring, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Final Fantasy is different from the old school one's but every single one of them are a fantasy in my mind. In the end Lightning and the others reached their goal.....or so we thought.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XIII
Phenomenal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/13
Brye
Location: Milton, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
FINAL FANTASY XIII is my personal favorite. i was just amazed of how the games graphics, Enviornment, storyline, and character art design looked so incredibly detailed and with alot of color. it may not be what other fans expext it to be, but it is Definitely worth playing, in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XIII
One of the best final fantasy games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
Tster
Location: Ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
*Is too lazy to write a real review* Its a really good game But you have to really give it a chance i hated it the first time i played but after abt an hour i loved it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XIII
Stellar Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
SeaLionsRCool
Location: WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't played a video game or owned a console in six or seven years. I bought a ps3 two or three weeks ago and have purchased several games. This being one of them.
This game is beyond excellent and greatly exceeded my expectations. I can see the works from the hands of the chrono and star ocean series.
I also feel the same steampunk and final fantasy feeling from FF7-9 and some of the nintendo games. It is nice they managed to create such a wonderful masterpeice. I cannot stop myself from watching the intro cinema everytime I boot the game. It is so beautiful and lifelike.
This game is truly a work of art. It was everything final fantasy was ever supposed to be. Every battle and every enemy carefully placed and crafted. This game has its challenging moments and the different characters are all fun. I truly enjoyed this game. I couldn't put it down.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XIII
Amazing game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/13
bervalois
Location: Brazil
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The first time I played I must admit it wasn't my favorite game. I wasn't used to the Crystarium, nor to buff and debuff enemies. This ruined my game, because I couldn't defeat a single fiend, what made me stop playing. After a couple of months I decided to start it again. Fortunately I get used to the game. I spent more the 80 hours playing, and I still play it today! It's just awesome. It's a very good piece por RPG players, specially Final Fantasy fans like me!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XIII
Great story line.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/13
raceredge
Location: Wa
This game I would recommend if you like to fight some tough enemies. This game is not very easy unless you know how to beat the game. The graphics are great and the story line is great as well. There are some parts that are strange but over all its a great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XIII
FF XIII....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
Sy777
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Not a bad game, but when viewed in the shadow of the previous FF's, like FFX, this game proves nothing but pretty pictures. This game isn't too bad, i have finally started seriously playing this even though I got it day one. I finally got the platinum, so I believe I have some credibility. I also played most other FF's so I think I know what makes and breaks FF. Obviously, graphics are awesome. The cutscenes are absolutely stunning. Gameplay is not bad at all. The paradigm system isn't too bad, keeping most of the same elements from the other FF's ( meaning you can move and just enter commands). Character who can switch combat roles, from magic to attack, or buffing to debuffing, will ultimately decide a battles outcome. The fact that more sentinels (defensive role) in the party will deduce more damage is interesting and adds some variation to deal with certain enemies. The voice acting is pretty bad though. Story is wayyyyy to dramatic. They make a big deal about stupid things. Sazh is a total loser. Snow is over dramatic. Vanille is constantly making moans or weird noises, while being an unappealing narrator. Hope is seriously a little boy who should carry around a teddy bear or a moogle doll instead of a boomerang. Fang and Lightning though were the only characters I could put up with. Story is linear, taking FOREVER to unlock your leader or any attempts of exploration, which prove useless until the end of the game due to the fact that the enemies you encounter are completely out of your league. Story is not rich like FFX, which had a very compelling story and PERFECT voice actors. Crystaryium (leveling system) is a sphere grid knock off that is also pretty much linear. Side quests were not really fun, but more painful and difficult. In the end, this game is a mediocre FF game and deserved better. The soundtrack was pretty good ( not a surprise with Uematsu) but there was no feeling to this game. The ending was pretty awesome, but the sequel to this game is an abomination. JUST LIKE X-2. We can only pray for Versus XIII, Squares last chance to revive a dead fantasy. BUT NO, LIGHTNING RETURNS INSTEAD.....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XIII
Another exelent game from Square Enix
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
saphire212diva
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not really sure why people are complaining so much about this game. While the music score might not be as good as past Final Fantasies, it is still beautiful and perfect for the game. Not to mention the animation is absolutely stunning. I don't own and/or know of a game with better animation.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XIII
Just...why? Why would you?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/12
HollowSunsets
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
"Make like an arrow through time and speed your way to Serah." Its lines like these that keeps that copy of FFXIII on my shelf dusty and untouched. Only reason why I still have it is because no one wants it. The graphics and lovely, and the gameplay is alright. Not the best I've played. But what makes this game absolutely irredeemable is the soundtrack..ugh. FFX-2 all over again, with embarrassing electronica and j-pop. THE VOICE ACTING. GOD. WHY. JUST WHY. The dialogue isn't enough. The voice actors are bland and tasteless. Maybe it's because I've been playing games like Dragon Age: Origins and Mass Effect with fantastic voice acting, but honestly, I can not play this game because of the voice acting. It's just too terrible for me to stand.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wazz
New Tripoli, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Wazz is loaded.
Additional information about Wazz could not be loaded.
Confused?
Posted 10/29/12
I think you posted this on the wrong game. XIII-2 has the electronica music and stuff, this is XIII.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XIII
Not the Traditional Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
Wazz
Location: New Tripoli, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As the title says, this isn't a traditional Final Fantasy. They revamped everything from the previous games and changed a lot of features. I've put in well over 300 hours into this game. So I've decided to write this review and pick apart each section. Gameplay: The gameplay is solid. The battle system is unique and intuitive. They have a feature called "Paradigm Shift" which trails away from the traditional style of fighting. You have to form a strategy with the characters in your party. You have Commandos which are straight up attackers. Ravagers who use magic to build up the "stagger" bar and exploit their elemental weaknesses. (Staggering your open weakens them greatly allowing you to inflict massive amounts of damage.) Sentinels are the tanks, they can provoke the enemy to attacking just them while defending against their attacks. Saboteurs inflict status ailments to weaken the opponent and to offer new ways to exploit them. Synergists buff your party by increasing their defensive and offensive capabilities. Finally Medic are the healers. They make sure you don't die. So with those 6 classes, you have a wide range possibilities to "take down the enemy." There are a few flaws with it though, each time you perform a paradigm shift, there is an animation you have to watch that can get annoying when you're trying to beat an enemy in an allotted time. The game is very linear. For about 80% of the game you are going from point A to point B and fighting battles along the way. Again, not very Final Fantasy like, but that stops for a bit when you get towards the end of the game and have the ability to explore a vast area. Story: When I first played through the story I thought to myself "I'm so confused." but I played it again, and again, and again and began to understand it a lot more. The story is extremely good if you understand it. The characters weren't all that likable at first, but as time went on I grew to like them more and more, even Vanille, who has become one of my all time favorite Final Fantasy characters. This game requires patience and an open mind. If you don't have them, you won't like it. Graphics: Graphically, this game is a 10. I haven't seen better graphics in a game before. They have 2 different kinds of graphics though, they have the amazing gameplay graphics, and the godlike pre-rendered cutscene graphics, which are by far the greatest you'll see in this generation as well. Square has always been one to make great looking games and they didn't disappoint this time, unless you got it for Xbox 360. Don't get it for Xbox, the graphics aren't nearly as good. Overview: All in all this game is just like every other game. It has it's pros and it's cons. If you can look past the cons, you'll realize just how great of a game this is and it's worth the price, especially since it's a lot cheaper now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Final Fantasy XIII
Well... Ummmm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/12
Beeelzebube
I want to avoid talking about the bad as much as possible. The music in this game is what you would come to expect from a Final Fantasy game, very well done. And the graphics, well they're really amazing, but that doesn't make up for the bad... The story is what you would expect in a Japanese RPG game, you have your stupid emotionless characters, your way too happy characters, your way too sad characters, and much more. The poor cast of characters ruined the game's story for me. The gameplay is almost nonexistent, all you do is mindlessly attack then heal while the game plays out like a movie. This is the formula for every Final Fantasy, however, this game does this wrong because the game is WAY too linear. All you do is go in a straight line, the ENTIRE time. Other final fantasies have awesome exploration, this game completely lacks this. All in all this game is downright terrible and I wouldn't recommend it at all.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Final Fantasy XIII
One of the best stories you'll ever experience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
bbchain
Location: Columbia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you're in the mood for a more open-world game this may not be the thing for you, and that's okay. But if you want a gorgeous, plot-driven adventure with a revolutionary and challenging battle system and a compelling plot, there is no better choice than Final Fantasy XIII.
First off, this game is a big change in direction for the Final Fantasy series. It has a FFX type linearity to it with more focus on the story and a battle system that turns the familiar ATB gauge into a core feature along with a twist to the Job system, giving each character a set of roles and the ability to script these roles into a set of paradigms to switch between during battle.
The main draw to this game, though, is the story. If you're walking into this game expecting a typical hero's journey, think again. Final Fantasy XIII delivers nothing short of a masterpiece, weaving the tale of six relatable characters whose lives intertwined during the fateful days leading up to them becoming "l'cie", essentially slaves to false demigods, and how they band together to defy their fate. Through its numerous beautiful cutscenes, the game focuses on the intricately deep stories of each character and explores themes of forgiveness, sacrifice, inner strength and over all, the indomitable force of human will in the face of oppression and strife. FFXIII also has some of the most beautiful scenery and graphics you will ever see on the PS3 and 360.
Though it is a departure from the classic Final Fantasy titles, to the patient gamer looking for something fresh, Final Fantasy XIII will prove to be a masterpiece of a game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Final Fantasy XIII
Added to the list
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
KitKat19
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
FFXIII was a good game to me. I love the graphics of this game. The characters look real vivid and real. I also like the battle system. I like how they have paradigm shifts. I can change into any attack mode I like. Well, I love the game and the story. I feel the story feels like it has a real background story to it. Great game though. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy game. Just added to my list ^^.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>