GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Glory of Heracles

The wonder of ancient Greece comes to life on Jan. 18, when Glory of Heracles launches exclusively for the portable Nintendo DS and Nintendo DSi systems. The game marks the first in the popular Japanese Heracles series to launch in the United States.The game is inspired by Greek mythology and written by Kazushige Nojima of Final Fantasy fame. The traditional role-playing game features an engrossing story and a robust battle system. You can roam the countryside as they encounter new characters and gain experience, or they can visit familiar ancient settings like Athens and Sparta.Although the plot is fictional, many of the people and places in the game are based on familiar Greek mythology. An extensive glossary provides more details about the places and characters that heroic Heracles encounters. You will be treated to animated cut scenes on the screens of their Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSi systems.You can opt to use the stylus or control pad and buttons to control movement in the game, while the touch screen is required to complete optional challenges used to power up spells or skills during battle.
Average Customer Rating:
9.375
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Glory of Heracles
Review 1 for Glory of Heracles
Awsome RPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/10
Oblivion12345
I usually only play weird games for 10-year olds, but when Glory of Heracles came out, I knew I needed it. I LOVE Greek mythology. And this was the perfect game for me. I'm stuck on getting throught the Maze of Heroes, battleing Hypno again is a pain, but I still love evrything about it. It can only get better in the character and world graphics.The character traits are good, the magic is powerful and helpful, the items make it that much better, and the customization of battle equipment takes a lot of time, but is really fun to just plan out each character's battle tactics. The battle system is OK, taking turns to do attacks you tell them to do. But the different monsters and bosses you battle I love. I loved all these creatures in stories, now I get to battle them. Overall, this game is really really good for what its worth.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Glory of Heracles
BUY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/10
Scare crow
I bet your wondering is this a game i want to buy. YES! this game has got it all great story great characters great plot. There for a while your like whats going on? but then it starts to come all together. this game is like a little final fantasy a little dragon quest mix in with a bunch of Greek myth and it makes a fantastic game. I'm mean Ive bought many games but this is my very favorite and guess what it was one of the cheapest! you start out with two people and then you start to meet others. you and all your friends that join you are immortal and none of you remember why that's why you set out on your journey but fate has other ideas. from Sparta to Athens, by sea,land, or air its a battle to the end. If you like any R.P.G.'s you'll have to get this one for your collection. over all I rate this game 9 out of 10. ENJOY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Glory of Heracles
Solid DS RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/10
nycmode
The Nintendo DS continues its impressive run of portable RPG/Strategy games with this gem! Glory of Heracles takes a lot of good traditional elements and combines it with a clever magic (mini-game) system and adds a bit of Greek Mythology in for good measure. The game, like many DS RPGs out there these days, begins with a pretty standard (some what contrived) storyline. You're a hero, you wake up with your memory all but erased, and over time you work to recover your memory (and do some other big things like save the world) along the way. Sounds familiar? The story here won't blow you away but it will keep you interested enough with a few twists and turns, and again if you're a Greek myth fan, you'll be happy either way. As for the mechanics, the battle system is what you would expect. You can choose attack commands, magic spells, special skills, etc. One plus is that unlike some other RPGs, here you can augment your magic power by selecting an optional mini game after you cast your spell. The mini game gives you the opportunity to jack up your magic attack power ... but with the risk of failing as well. It's a nice little compliment to a traditional formula. I also like how you can do 'overkills' by attacking a downed foe and using the residual ether to replace a little MP that you need. It's a nice additional bit of strategy which is always welcome for a long game like this. Battles tend to go pretty fast and the encounters within the dungeons and in the overworld are all random-based. The happen pretty frequently, but the fun battle system keeps the monotony down. Having the ability to collect items and forge your own weapons also adds to the fun. Otherwise, the sounds and graphics are all reasonably done. The stylus plays a big role in this game. The music is decent and overall it's a solid product for any RPG fan out there. I would have given it a slightly higher review if not for a few places that were rough around the edges (grx could be a little cleaner, story could be a bit less trite, etc.) but overall if you're a fan of the genre, this game should suit you fine.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RufusB
 
Please wait while more information about RufusB is loaded.
Additional information about RufusB could not be loaded.
How is this first party?
Posted 1/21/11
Towns are empty, combat is repetative and characters are abysmal. How is this a first party title? I put 15 hours into this and no matter how much I tried, I could not enjoy this. The combat system was unique, and I did enjoy that. Sadly, graphics, characters, "story" all let me down.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Glory of Heracles
Very Good RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
ThreeEchoBravo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a great RPG for the DS. It is more of a mature flavor than some other DS titles, but not inappropriate for kids. The battle tactics are where this game really stands out. Like many RPGs the characters become more powerful through experience and by acquiring new weapons, armor, and items. The Greek mythology is an interesting flavor. Boss battles are challenging, but not so much that they are frustrating. They require you to adapt to whatever twist the boss throws you, and almost each time it's a different twist, which makes it really cool. One frustrating part is the random battle frequency is very high. The story arc is pretty linear, with not much room for exploring or problem-solving. As the story goes you're kind of just along for the ride without feeling like you have much involvement in it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Glory of Heracles
Couldn't put it down!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
At first glimspe you think this game is another mediocre game Nintendo made to "TRY!" to appeal to the RPG fanatics (such as myself), but boy was I wrong. I literally did not want to put this game down. The story was great, the gameplay even better, and it was different than most RPGs I have played recently. The battle system is amazing compared to most other RPGs on the DS (like instead of just hitting A and selecting the option you wanna use and see a cool animation). They incorporated the touch screen use with powering up spells and skills. Other than that it's kind of boring with the amount of random battles you have to encounter, but the story more than makes up for it. For $15 New or $5 Pre-Owned, I highly reccomend getting this gem!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Glory of Heracles
Greek Mythology meets wonderful story telling
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/11
WhiteRabbit17
Location: Woodbridge, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely adore thsi game, and have played it twice through. Whatever do you do when you're immortal, with no memory of who you are. Easy, you follow fate! Now what happens if ypu're the famed Heracles AND you've lost your memory. Now that a Heroes adventure indeed. The characters are witting and humorous and the plot remains easy to follow. The power up by Praying to the Gods in temples or before the foot of Prometheus. So much Greek mythology is woven into the story as well. Graphic are beautifully smooth and the music is cute. A top ten fave game for me. =)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lazydude101
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Lazydude101 is loaded.
Additional information about Lazydude101 could not be loaded.
Better than I thought!
Posted 1/2/13
I srsly thought this game was a cheap, 10 minute made game, but I was wrong. The graphics were pretty good,(a bit goofy-looking) and the story line was kind of boring and was too long, but the characters also complained about how many detours they had to take, which made me a bit reassured about the storyline. The main character was a bit TOO quite, but I liked this game.(=
Customer Avatar
transformerguy
Elkhart, IN
 
Please wait while more information about transformerguy is loaded.
Additional information about transformerguy could not be loaded.
What's next
Posted 7/22/11
So you have beaten the game twice, right? Well, I am at the end, heading down into the underworld to defeat typhon. What happens after you beat him? Is the game just over, or are you able to wander around the world?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Glory of Heracles
How an RPG should be
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
axeltank06
Location: Glendale, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
An excellent story that has twists and turns, engaging and interesting characters, beautiful graphics and musical score, witty & funny dialogue and an easy to use battle and inventory system are all high points of any good RPG. Glory of Heracles has all this in spades. If you're a fan of RPG's (even just a little), appreciate a good story, or need a great way to kill time without spending over thirty dollars; seriously pick up this gem and give it a go. Personally, I'm seriously hoping for a sequel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Glory of Heracles
Great for the DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
transformerguy
Location: Elkhart, IN
I got this game from my family for chrismas. I liked right off the bat because the graphics are really good, considering the fact that this iis a DS game, and the graphics are normaly really bad. And the plot line is very good. It is always building on it's self. I would tell anybody that this is a very good game, and that they should get it. And I can't wait for the sequal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.